Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Playa del Ritmo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
Playa del Ritmo Located at Pozos Colorados, in front of Sierra Laguna, , Santa Marta.
Playa del Ritmo
Colombia
Santa Marta Magdalena 470006 Pozos Colorados, in front of Sierra Laguna
87% 144
11.1723653 -74.2343678
Playa del Ritmo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Nov 2016
9.1

This hostel is great, few things could be changed to be aware of. No wifi in rooms, just at the bar. Strict policy that you can't bring your own alcohol on the premises. If you're caught with alcohol you have to pay 35 mil per bottle/can. They force you to buy their alcohol, which is bar price and there isn't really food within walking distance besides theirs, but their food is really delicious. Washer but no dryer. Nice view, dogs and cats, nice helpful staff. Stayed here twice on purpose

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
5th Nov 2016
6.0

Wouldn't recommend this hostel. Yes it's great that it's on the beach, but the beach itself isn't very nice and that's all the hostel's got. It had zero atmosphere, the bar always felt like it was closing time, and they have loads of rules, including charging you 35000 COP per bottle if you bring alcohol into the hostel from outside. Normally I like hostel dogs, but theirs were out of control. One bit a guy on the beach and the staff didn't even offer him help.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola, We are deeply sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. Maybe you are looking for a more "Party Hostel" which we aren't. Under Colombian regulations, you are not allowed to bring your own alcohol because we can�t guarantee if it's complaining with all quality standards. Some people got sick for buying and drinking alcohol from the street. Our dogs are well controlled. We bring all the healthy measure in case anyone got bit. Nevertheless, thank you for appreciation and we expect you will have better experiences on your trail ;)

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Oct 2016
8.9

staff is reeeaaaly friendly, clean, nice bar, direct at the beach, good vibrations :) totally recommend it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola ;) Thank you so much for this nice opinion about Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel and Bar! We are greatful for your recommendation, and we will be still working hard to maintain our customer experience and enhance our concept. We will take chance of this opportunity to invite you to our Tripadvisor profile, as well as our social networks identities in which you will be witness of all our improvements on our customer experience and logding concept. Remember Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel will always be your home on the Caribbean Sea anytime you want.... Please, come back soon!!!! Johann D�az Customer - Experience Marketing - Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
8.3

Young and chilled staff. you can spend some Relaxing days there - directly at the beach, but there is nothing else. Sometimes there is no water.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola ;) Thank you so much for this nice opinion about Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel and Bar! We are greatful for your recommendation, and we will be still working hard to maintain our customer experience and enhance our concept. We would like to thank you about your comment that will aloe us to improve our customer experience ;) We will take chance of this opportunity to invite you to our Tripadvisor profile, as well as our social networks identities in which you will be witness of all our improvements on our customer experience and logding concept. Remember Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel will always be your home on the Caribbean Sea anytime you want.... Please, come back soon!!!! Johann D�az Customer - Experience Marketing - Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel

  • leonardobefera4449
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Aug 2016
9.1

If you need a couple of relaxing days during your trip, this is the right place. Enjoy the silence and the beach, from dusk till dawn. Very welcoming and kind staff - especially Paulo. I definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your nice review! Please keep in mind Playa is your home in the Colombian Caribbean Sea whenever you want! We´re so glad you spent a wonderful time here. Please, come back soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
8th Aug 2016
8.6

Great Hostel! Right at the beach and it has everything you need. Lovely staff who are very fun to hang out with. It's a bit remote from everything, but exactly right if you just want to relax for a bit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola ;) Thank you so much for this nice opinion about Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel and Bar! We are greatful for your recommendation, and we will be still working hard to maintain our customer experience and enhance our concept. We will take chance of this opportunity to invite you to our Tripadvisor profile, as well as our social networks identities in which you will be witness of all our improvements on our customer experience and logding concept. Remember Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel will always be your home on the Caribbean Sea anytime you want.... Please, come back soon!!!! Johann Di�az Customer - Experience Marketing - Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2016
6.3

My bunk bed fell apart and crashed in the middle of the night. Luckily nobody was seriously hurt. "Accidents happen," was the response of the staff. They gave me a couple beers and a new bed... and still charged me for everything. Hm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello ;) First fo all, we would thank you for your staying and your comment. We are ensured that all our bunk beds won´t fall apart as yours. It wasn´t intentional, and we as latins we say "Accidents happens" as a way to distension the situation. We had changed you from room and offered a new bunk bed for your comfort and safety. We have a very good staff focused on customer service, as you could notice when we do our best to find your iphone and send it to Medellin assuming all the freight costs. Please, accept us our appologies if the comment offend you. Respecting the bill, The reception area offers you to not pay the night. Nevertheless, remember this is your home on the Caribbean whenever you want. Have a nice weekend. Johann Díaz - Customer and Experience Marketing

  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
6.0

The hostel was nice, the staff was friendly and it's the only hostel in Santa Marta with a beach. But the hostel is really far from the city center (20min by cab) and there is nothing nearby. The rooms were really basic and the one we were staying in had a broken mosquito net so we got bitten by mosquitos the 2 nights we were there. The bar offers many options to drink&eat and it's nice to chill there. But all the dogs hanging around the bar makes it less pleasant as they are constantly begging

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear!! Thank you so much for this nice review about Playa del Ritmo! I This is the best chance to let you know that we have improved our mosquito nets in all the rooms available. About the dogs, they make Playa a more touching place where you can feel at home. They are really nice with everybody :) We are greatful for your recommendation, and we will be still working hard to maintain our customer experience and enhance our concept. We are glad to anounce that we will have more nautical equipment for leisure :) Remember Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel will always be your home on the Caribbean Sea anytime you want.... Please, come back soon!!!! Johann Díaz Customer - Experience Marketing

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2016
9.7

An absolutely fantastic hostel that we stayed at on two occasions as it was so great! The most lovely staff that help with any problems and are always available. Despite being a bit out of town, the hostel is right on the beach with free use of the paddle boards/kayaks etc and being on the beach creates a lovely atmosphere for the bar/restaurant. Great food and drinks. Clean and towels given for both beach and showering. Can't recommend playa del ritmo enough, a truly fabulous hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola ;) Thank you so much for this nice opinion about Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel and Bar! We are greatful for your recommendation, and we will be still working hard to maintain our customer experience and enhance our concept. We will take chance of this opportunity to invite you to our Tripadvisor profile, as well as our social networks identities in which you will be witness of all our improvements on our customer experience and logding concept. Remember Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel will always be your home on the Caribbean Sea anytime you want.... Please, come back soon!!!! Johann Díaz Customer - Experience Marketing - Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel

  • whbennett11
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
9.1

Fab fab hostel. Stayed to 4 nights in the end as apposed to 2. Brilliant staff and a brilliant restaurant/bar vibe. Free kayaks etc and good wifi. Easy enough to get a cab to city centre - 10 mins. So nice to just chill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear!! Thank you so much for this nice review about Playa del Ritmo! It´s such an honour you are considering us as one of your favourite hostels! We are greatful for your recommendation, and we will be still working hard to maintain our customer experience and enhance our concept. We are glad to anounce that we will have more nautical equipment for leisure:) Remember Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel will always be your home on the Caribbean Sea anytime you want.... Please, come back soon!!!! Johann Díaz Customer - Experience Marketing

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.