Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Playa del Ritmo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 238 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 238 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jun 2017
8.0

Great location! I stayed in a private room and the walls are paper thin. You can hear EVERYTHING. Everyday we saw roaches, ants, and even a scorpion in the sheets! Staff (with the exception of the housekeepers) wasn't super helpful and bar service was super lacking. I really enjoyed the menu and the music selection. I felt very safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We are deeply sorry about the inconvenience caused during your stay. We are working to improve our services and control the insects in the area. All Playa del Ritmo team work hard to keep the hostel as clean as possible at all times but as you could see we are surrounded by a lot of vegetation and nature, on the other hand we are glad that you enjoyed our menu and music and it's good to know that you Felt safe during your stay We aspire and hope that you consider staying with us again in the future.

18th Jun 2017
9.4

This place is wonderful. Right in front of a beach, dorms are in small "houses" with locks, A/C and nice facilities. No lockers in dorms. Food is delicious and a good value, staff is helpful. Only thing is it's 20 minutes from Santa Marta downtown but that's what you're signing up for: away from crowds. Would certainly stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there! thank you for your review about us, we really glad to meet you, and its very important to us the fact that you enjoyed your time with us, thanks for your niceness during your stay, We hope to see you again and all the Playa del Ritmo Team send the best vibes to the rest of your trip.

13th Jun 2017
8.3

A lovely room facing the ocean and clean, empty beach. Unfortunately the refrigerator wasn't working while we were there, which made cooking for ourselves trickier, but the staff accommodated as best they could.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your comment, it`s really good to know that you had enjoy your stay and our beach, we are sorry about the refrigerador issue, as you said we made the best we could, we are working on it, in order to provide a better service. We hope to see you again, thank you for being a nice Guest and have a nice and safe trip :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2017
9.7

A great place to stay near Santa Marta. It's only a short bus ride to the city center. Staff was extremely friendly and the location is unbeatable if you want to be on a clean beach. There are many amenities such as kayaks, paddle boards and a beach volleyball court that you can use for free. The hostel was very clean and the beds were really comfortable. They serve great meals (all vegetarian) and have a full service bar. You can purchase everything through your tab, which is really nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi!! Thanks for your awesome review about us, we are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay, the food, our amenities and the chill out experience that we have in Playa del Ritmo, come back anytime you want. We hope to see you soon

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
10.0

Andrés, Carolina, Marco, Melisa and EVERYONE at Playa Del Ritmo are incredibly helpful and welcoming! Gorgeous beach, great swimming, kayaks, hammocks, yoga, yummy vegetarian food, great music and fun nightlife at the bar. Typical spartan rooms typical of a hostel, but the bedding is clean and air conditioning works. What a great value. Live music some nights too. We usually like to try new places but we will definitely come back to Playa del Ritmo. Great vibe. LOVE THIS PLACE!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Nancy!!!! thank you for your excellent rate, we miss you both by now, thank you for all the beautiful, musical moments and for share all your love and joy with us. We really hope to see you and Luke really soon, maybe next month? haha LOL! Have a nice travel way back home.

24th May 2017
8.0

The rooms and buildings are VERY basic, feel bit unwelcoming. No lockers in the rooms and because of it lost some money from my moneybelt, hence the negative scores. BUT, just 10 minutes from the airport and 50m from the beach. Great bar, good food, great staff.. Melissa

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Tommy, we really sorry about the money issue, we do have lockers but in the second floor, We had never this kind of inconvenience before. Nevertheless thank you for stay with us we are glad to know that you enjoyed the bar the food and the Playa del Ritmo experience. We hope that you visit us again.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2017
10.0

Playa Del Ritmo is the most amazing hostel I’ve ever stayed in. We booked 3 nights to start, extended 4 more and really did not want to leave. The hostel is located right on a quite beautiful beach, which was the view from our room. Every meal we had here was delicious. What really made this place special was the staff. Everyone was kind and helpful. They all showed a passion for the hostel and their job. It was more of a family vibe at Ritmo. I cannot wait to return for an extend stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi !!!! thanks for your Beautiful comment about us, we really miss you by now, thanks for being an amazing guest, you also made our days very special, thanks for share your love with us, we will wait for you, please come back anytime you want. we send you cat kisses from everyone here! haha LOL

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th May 2017
8.0

We stayed in a double room and a friend in the dorm. Place is located great direct at the beach. Rooms are really nice eventhough the walls in the double rooms are really thin:) so you can literally here your neighbour do everything;) shower, brush their teeth n other stuff;) The hostel has a cozy restaurant and bar. On thing to adress is: you are not allowed to bring your own alcohol in to the hostel. We didnt know this at the first place. But signs tell you so!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Michael, thank you for your review it's really important to us, we hope that you enjoyed your summer time here in Playa del ritmo. We expect to see you again!

  • jamielwebber7842
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
3rd May 2017
8.0

Great staff, delicious food, beautiful view! A bit farther than we had thought from Santa Marta and not much to do around the hostel, but we had a great time there for just one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, we are glad to know that all of you enjoyed your night with us and the food! hope to see you soon girls!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Apr 2017
9.7

Awesome place if you want to chill out and relax! My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and I wish it had been longer. You wake up literally right in the beach, the bar is awesome with cheap drinks, great music and games to keep you occupied if it rains or want to escape the sun, and the vegetarian food is fantastic. The staff were all lovely and attentive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey Oliver thank you for your Great review. we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, please come back soon, we are your Home in the Caribbean

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.