Hostelworld.com

Playa del Ritmo

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 119 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 119 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
Playa del Ritmo Located at Pozos Colorados, in front of Sierra Laguna, , Santa Marta.
Playa del Ritmo
Colombia
Santa Marta Magdalena 47001 Pozos Colorados, in front of Sierra Laguna
85% 119
11.1723653 -74.2343678
Playa del Ritmo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
9.4

Excellent location by the beach, nice clean rooms for a relaxing weekend. But the walls are so thin you can hear all your neighbors speak.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
9.7

Fantastic place, staff are so friendly here. Rooms are big and airy, with air con. Very chilled vibe, free kayaks, paddle boards, volleyball. Free to swim and paddle anywhere in the bay basically, and walk up and down the beach. Food was decent, but its worth getting them to call a cab to take you into santa marta to experience the fantastic bars and restaurants there (Ouzo and el bistro!). Theres laundry available, and they~ll watch your bags after youve checked out. No security lockers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st May 2016
2.3

God this was a sad experience. Felt like a motel at the side of the road in North Vegas (where you go once you've been kicked out of Vegas, primarily for the cheats and the hookers with venereal disease). It was so empty. In the middle of a nowhere. Ugly beach- but in all fairness all the beaches in Santa Marta were ugly. I just felt bad for everyone involved. I would buy this hostel just to relieve the owner of the debt I'm sure he's in. I could feel the ache of the place. It breathed sadness.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi: First of all, we would thank you for your Subjective Comment. On belhaf of Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel, we would like to give you the appropiate answer. As you could noticed and could get informed when you were doing your booking at Hostelworld.com, we are located in an strategically area at 7 mins from the Airport, and 15 minutes from Santa Marta by Car. Almost all our positive reviews highlight our chilling and nice environment, as well as our Beachfront. With all your due respect, you are being totally rude with such comments towards Santa Marta, Las Vegas, and specially being so OFFENSIVE with women in general, even if they are Sexual Workers. We suggest less and and more life balance in your life since in general all of your comments are similar aganist other Hostels. If you don´t like to stay on a place, you are free to choose to leave. Please make use of your own criteria. Instead of being a constructive critic, we consider your opinion disrepectul and out of context. Have a nice day.

25th May 2016
8.3

The hostel is right on he beach, it's a rustic place, no a/c but a small fan at every bunk., could use a bit more TLC. The location is nice if you want to get away from everything , the place is not very close to the shops, markets, and eateries of Santa Marta. I had no problems there and the staff was extremely accommodating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
2.9

Sketchy area that you can not walk around at at night (we were walking to the bus, which is just a two minute walk, and people told us to walk faster or run to the stop). The beach is filthy. The wifi is spotty. Truly, the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. The redeeming quality is that the guests that stayed there were cool. But do not stay here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi: Thank you for your Subjective opinion. On behalf of Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel, we want to inform you that those days we had issues with Internet since we were imporving it, according to our occupancy and capacity. Nevertheless, we offered other Internet connections to solve the problem. We are located near to a mangroove area, as it can noticed in photos, maps, and information in general. Our staff is really helpful and they are enhancing their english level. That´s why if you don´t get satisfiyed with a proper answer, you can ask for a better explanation. We are sorry your experience wasn´t been good. We may sugest a different type of accomodation next time. Best regards.

30th Apr 2016
10.0

It was great, people are nice and peaceful. It's awesome if you just want to meet people, be at the beach and have fun. It just doesn't include breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2016
9.7

Superb hostel on the beach around 15 minutes outside of Santa Marta. Really cosy and relaxed beachhouse atmosphere with hammocks and an extremely friendly staff team, especially Johan was very engaged in helping us with trips and making the stay perfect for us. It's quiet and windy there, so temperatures are much more enjoyable than at Santa Marta City Centre. It's a perfect place to take a rest and prepare for the surrounding treks (Tayrona Park and Cidudad Perdidad).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
10.0

You enter the gates of the hostel, walk over little colorful bridge crossing the lagoon. Then you enter the hostel and see the bar with hammocks and beautiful sea in the background. Located right between the sea and the lagoon this hostel is easy going all the way! Hanging in the hammock, chilling by the bar, kayaking along the coastline😊👌 staff is super friendly and the bar serves good food. Facilities are clean and brand new (2016) with full sea view and each room comes with private hammock

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Mar 2016
8.9

I stayed here one night before a flight (it is close to the airport) and thoroughly would recommend it! The beach is not the most beautiful BUT if you are looking for a day or two of very relaxed swimming, kayaking, sunbathing (or reading a book in a hammock as I did) - this is the perfect place. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The hostel has hammocks and chairs to relax everywhere, and a cheap bar with food. My (delux double) room was large, cool, airy, quiet and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2016
9.7

Beautiful, relaxed location, perfect for some quite time in Colombia. Beach is away form touristy area so a lot less hassle as usual. Restaurant serves great fish at the weekend and all the staff are really friendly and helpful. Close to airport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.