Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Playa del Ritmo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 125 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 125 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
Playa del Ritmo Located at Pozos Colorados, in front of Sierra Laguna, , Santa Marta.
Playa del Ritmo
Colombia
Santa Marta Magdalena 47001 Pozos Colorados, in front of Sierra Laguna
84% 125
11.1723653 -74.2343678
Playa del Ritmo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
6.0

The hostel was nice, the staff was friendly and it's the only hostel in Santa Marta with a beach. But the hostel is really far from the city center (20min by cab) and there is nothing nearby. The rooms were really basic and the one we were staying in had a broken mosquito net so we got bitten by mosquitos the 2 nights we were there. The bar offers many options to drink&eat and it's nice to chill there. But all the dogs hanging around the bar makes it less pleasant as they are constantly begging

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2016
9.7

An absolutely fantastic hostel that we stayed at on two occasions as it was so great! The most lovely staff that help with any problems and are always available. Despite being a bit out of town, the hostel is right on the beach with free use of the paddle boards/kayaks etc and being on the beach creates a lovely atmosphere for the bar/restaurant. Great food and drinks. Clean and towels given for both beach and showering. Can't recommend playa del ritmo enough, a truly fabulous hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • whbennett11
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
9.1

Fab fab hostel. Stayed to 4 nights in the end as apposed to 2. Brilliant staff and a brilliant restaurant/bar vibe. Free kayaks etc and good wifi. Easy enough to get a cab to city centre - 10 mins. So nice to just chill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
8.0

It was a last-minute stay, but this place is an amazing property. I looked out my window to see the beach! They have paddle boarding, kayaking and many other activities that are available to hostel-stayers. Friendly staff and fun bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
9.4

Excellent location by the beach, nice clean rooms for a relaxing weekend. But the walls are so thin you can hear all your neighbors speak.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
9.7

Fantastic place, staff are so friendly here. Rooms are big and airy, with air con. Very chilled vibe, free kayaks, paddle boards, volleyball. Free to swim and paddle anywhere in the bay basically, and walk up and down the beach. Food was decent, but its worth getting them to call a cab to take you into santa marta to experience the fantastic bars and restaurants there (Ouzo and el bistro!). Theres laundry available, and they~ll watch your bags after youve checked out. No security lockers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st May 2016
2.3

God this was a sad experience. Felt like a motel at the side of the road in North Vegas (where you go once you've been kicked out of Vegas, primarily for the cheats and the hookers with venereal disease). It was so empty. In the middle of a nowhere. Ugly beach- but in all fairness all the beaches in Santa Marta were ugly. I just felt bad for everyone involved. I would buy this hostel just to relieve the owner of the debt I'm sure he's in. I could feel the ache of the place. It breathed sadness.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi: First of all, we would thank you for your Subjective Comment. On belhaf of Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel, we would like to give you the appropiate answer. As you could noticed and could get informed when you were doing your booking at Hostelworld.com, we are located in an strategically area at 7 mins from the Airport, and 15 minutes from Santa Marta by Car. Almost all our positive reviews highlight our chilling and nice environment, as well as our Beachfront. With all your due respect, you are being totally rude with such comments towards Santa Marta, Las Vegas, and specially being so OFFENSIVE with women in general, even if they are Sexual Workers. We suggest less and and more life balance in your life since in general all of your comments are similar aganist other Hostels. If you don´t like to stay on a place, you are free to choose to leave. Please make use of your own criteria. Instead of being a constructive critic, we consider your opinion disrepectul and out of context. Have a nice day.

25th May 2016
8.3

The hostel is right on he beach, it's a rustic place, no a/c but a small fan at every bunk., could use a bit more TLC. The location is nice if you want to get away from everything , the place is not very close to the shops, markets, and eateries of Santa Marta. I had no problems there and the staff was extremely accommodating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
2.9

Sketchy area that you can not walk around at at night (we were walking to the bus, which is just a two minute walk, and people told us to walk faster or run to the stop). The beach is filthy. The wifi is spotty. Truly, the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. The redeeming quality is that the guests that stayed there were cool. But do not stay here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi: Thank you for your Subjective opinion. On behalf of Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel, we want to inform you that those days we had issues with Internet since we were imporving it, according to our occupancy and capacity. Nevertheless, we offered other Internet connections to solve the problem. We are located near to a mangroove area, as it can noticed in photos, maps, and information in general. Our staff is really helpful and they are enhancing their english level. That´s why if you don´t get satisfiyed with a proper answer, you can ask for a better explanation. We are sorry your experience wasn´t been good. We may sugest a different type of accomodation next time. Best regards.

30th Apr 2016
10.0

It was great, people are nice and peaceful. It's awesome if you just want to meet people, be at the beach and have fun. It just doesn't include breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.