Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Playa del Ritmo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 266 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Aug 2017
9.1

Epic beach location. Full bar and vegie options. Clean rooms and a very unique entrance. A bit far from Santa Marta but totally worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you very much for your nice review about us and for share your experience with other backpackers, it's good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you are having a good journey way back home.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
14th Jul 2017
9.4

Nice place to get away from the crowds for a few days and spend time on a private-feeling beach. Free kayak rentals is a plus! The restaurant/bar is good and decently priced. It is a 10-minute walk to the nearest grocery store (that we could find, anyways) and definitely takes a cab ride to get to Rodadero or Santa Marta, so it feels a bit isolated at times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you very much for taking a moment to write a review about us, it's really good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our free services and our good vibes :) we hope to see you again, Have an excellent travel way back home :)

7th Jul 2017
10.0

Location on the beach, large comfortable private rooms, gorgeous property, food in the vegetarian restaurant is outstanding, superb hostel, definitely the best I have seen in Colombia

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hi!!! thank you very much for your excellent review about us and for share your experience with other backpackers, it's really good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, come back anytime, we hope to see you again, we send you the best vibes to the rest of your trip!

2nd Jul 2017
4.3

I don't usually write reviews. I like to accept what I signed up for, but this place didn't even have toilet seats on their toilets... or shower heads for the shower. I get that it's a hostel, but this place really embellishes what it has to offer. You will feel disappointed upon arrival. And that isn't a subjective opinion. Objectively, there are nicer hostels all around the city for the same price with more amenities. To be fair, this hostel would be good for ppl with connecting flights.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thanks for taking a moment to write your opinion about us, we are sorry for not filled your expectations, we are working on improving our facilities and maintaining in all areas of the hostel including dorms, bathrooms and common areas, about your comment in which you mention that we embellish the place or that we do not show what it is and that other people may feel disappointed from their arrival, we must make it clear that at we don't embellish, edit or lie about our facilities and services also each guest is important to us for that reason we receive them with the best energy and the best care as well as you were received upon your arrival for that reason that comment it is not objective and fair. We really hope that you have a good and safe travel way back home.

  • backpack_everywhere
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
29th Jun 2017
7.7

If you're just looking for beach access this is your place. The beach is perfect, good food and drinks, but the problem is it's very isolated. It's like the all inclusive resort of hostels. It's a five minute walk to a 20 minute bus (or 10 minute taxi) to downtown Santa Marta, or you can walk along the beach to more expensive hotels. Overall the beach is the real attraction for this place. If you want more than the ocean, get a place in Santa Marta. If you want quiet waterfront, then stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, its good to know that you enjoyed our food, drinks and our Beach, about the location we are in a very exclusive area in Santa Marta for that reason you cannot find a lot of things around, but malls and supermarkets are 5 to 8 minutes from the hostel, you can take a bus or a taxi also we are Close to the highway there everyone can easly transport to averywhere in Santa Marta. Thank you for share your opinion with us and we send you the best energy for the rest of your travel.

27th Jun 2017
10.0

I REALLY enjoyed my time here! It's a paradise on the beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi !! thanks for share with us your opinion about the hostel and for being an amazing Guest, we enjoyed to have you with us. we hope to see you soon and we send you the best energy to the rest of your travel. Go safe and sound!!!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Jun 2017
10.0

Had so much fun at this hostel! Located right on the beach, great bar, super friendly staff. Incredibly good vegetarian food, nice drinks, very social atmosphere. They have kayaks, stand-up paddleboards, beer pong, massage services. Rooms are spacious & clean and beds each have an individual fan. And the hostel dogs are adorable!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you for your excellent rate and for taking a moment to share with other travellers your experience in our hostel, we are so glad to know that you had fun with us and that you enjoyed our drinks, food, free services and our Beach! come back anytime you want! cheers from your Caribbean home ;) have a nice travel way back home

21st Jun 2017
10.0

I've stayed a few times and always enjoy it! It's clean, on the beach, and has a good bar/restaurant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your excellent rate, for taking a moment to write about us and for being an amazing Guest, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay several times. We hope to see you again, and we send to you the best vibes to the rest of your trip.

19th Jun 2017
8.0

Great location! I stayed in a private room and the walls are paper thin. You can hear EVERYTHING. Everyday we saw roaches, ants, and even a scorpion in the sheets! Staff (with the exception of the housekeepers) wasn't super helpful and bar service was super lacking. I really enjoyed the menu and the music selection. I felt very safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We are deeply sorry about the inconvenience caused during your stay. We are working to improve our services and control the insects in the area. All Playa del Ritmo team work hard to keep the hostel as clean as possible at all times but as you could see we are surrounded by a lot of vegetation and nature, on the other hand we are glad that you enjoyed our menu and music and it's good to know that you Felt safe during your stay We aspire and hope that you consider staying with us again in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jun 2017
10.0

Absolutely fantastic hostel! Literally on a gorgeous beach with hammocks and free rentals of kayaks/paddle boards. Great atmosphere at the bar at night with guests and locals. Really helpful staff, couldn't recommend it more! Only downside is food god portions are small for the price, but the food is tasty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi!!! thank you very much for your excellent review about us and for being an amazing guest, was really nice to meet you, we are so glad to know that you enjoyed our vibes and services for free. About the food we are going to check the portions. We hope to see you again, have a good and safe travel way home.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.