Hostelworld.com

Playa del Ritmo

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 173 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 173 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th Jan 2017
9.7

Awesome and relaxing hostel! Friendly staff, amazing location and good facilities. The restaurant/bar had good food and cocktail happy hours. All of this right at a (private) beach! Truly amazing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola ;) Thank you for your nice opinion and rating about us!! We always do our best to recreate this chilling atmosphere with kind staff, great activities, good music and the best background: The Caribbean :) Please, come back soon to your Home on the Caribbean :) Cheers!! Johann Díaz Marketing of Experiences - Playa del Ritmo

23rd Jan 2017
8.6

Overall a comfortable and fun hostel at a great price. Great location right on the beach with different activities. My only concern would be the cleanliness of the bathroom in the dorms (and no soap). Would recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola ;) We would thank you for taking your time and leave us a nice comment and rating. As you said, we are are located in one of the most tranquil beaches in Santa Marta, far away from the noise and crowds. Concerning the bathroom cleanliness, we would like to apologise and we will take your suggestion into account to enhance our procedures. We would thank for recommending us ;) Please, come back soon to your Home on the Caribbean :) Cheers!! Johann Díaz Marketing of Experiences - Playa del Ritmo

20th Jan 2017
8.0

Really nice hostel to chill out at, it is right on the beach. The food is great and the rooms are comfortable and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
5.4

Location is great if you want to spend one relaxing day on the beach otherwise be aware that it is a 25mn taxi ride away from Santa Marta. The hostel itself is quite nice, we could hear the sea from our dorm however shower could be cleaner and there is not much around so you have to eat at their restaurant which is quite expensive. Finally staff was not super helpful, they didnt know or didnt tell us you had to book Tayrona park tickets in advance, the park was full and we didnt get in.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you in advance for your comment about your stay in Playa del Ritmo. As you say, we are a Hostel that offers relaxing experiences out of crowds and city noise. We apologize for not to tell about the new booking policy imposed by the National Park System concerning about the entrance tickets. It´s a must we need to train our team to explain anyone immediately when asked. About the cleanliness, we would thank you and bring the convenient solution for a mistake that has not to happen again. Nice travels. Johann Díaz Experiencies Marketing - Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel

27th Dec 2016
10.0

Great hostel. I've been hosteling all over the world so I have high expectations. This place is great. Excellent food and drink, prime beach access and wonderful staff. It's near the airport and easily the best place to relax for a few days. 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola ;) Muchas gracias por tu comentario!! Thank you so much for your comment and it´s been a pleasure to hear that Playa del Ritmo has overpassed your expectations. We are doing our best to offer the best experiences on a nice, calm and not so crowded beach. It was nice to hear you had really relaxed stay. Please, keep by heart you are so welcome here again :) Johann Díaz Experiences Marketing - Playa del ritmo Beach Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Dec 2016
7.7

Good hostel. Staff were really nice. Not much to do but chilling on the beach for a couple days is good. Our private room was nice although a little over priced. The restaurant was really over priced, small portions and just generally sucked ( 22000 for a price of friend fish and microwaved rice wtf). There is a kitchen but no shops around so would recommend bringing your own food to cook. Other then then nice hostel and relaxed location. Enjoyed our stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! :) It´s so nice to tell that you enjoyed your stay here in Playa del Ritmo, which is located at a convenient distance from supermarkets and shopping malls. Thank you for your comment about the Restaurant. Our specialties are Bowls and Stir Fries and everyone of them is cooked at the Moment or "A La Minuta". As you told, we are the right place for being disconnected from the City and the crowds, but only 15 mins far away from Santa Marta´s Downtown. Remember Playa is your home on the Caribbean. Nice travels! Johann Díaz Experiences Marketing - Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Dec 2016
10.0

Very nice hostel right by the beach, excellent staff, and with playlists of all kinds of music you can easily dive into carribean feeling. Bar and kitchen offerings are good. Overall you will encounter a relaxed atmosphere. Definetly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola!! It´s totally awesome to know that you enjoyed our relaxed Caribbean Atmosphere. There is no better combination than good music, chilling vibes, the right sunset and the sound of the waves. Thank you for recommending us ;) Please come back to your home on the Caribbean in Colombia. Cheers and nice travels!! Johann Díaz Experiences Marketing - Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Dec 2016
10.0

From the first photos I saw of the hostel I knew it was my kind of place - colours, location,....Everyone was so helpful, always with a smile, calm and patient. Food was simple and 'free flow' coffee was ready as early as 6.00a.m. often earlier. The organization was 'there' in a way that gave the impression it was 'not there'. Everything flowed in a stress free way. Special mention has to made of the Christmas Eve dinner - getting us all together to celebrate - congratulations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola ;) Muchas gracias por tus comentarios!! It´s been a real pleasure to read and enjoy your comment about our place, where you only find stress free lifestyle and helping hands to support you in anything you need. It´s so nice to read that you enjoyed our early coffee in Colombia - The best quality coffee producer in the world ;) We are creating the right Caribbean atmosphere with colourful elements around the Hostel. It was so great to have the Christmas Eve Dinner with you and your friends. Please, come back and staying in your Home on the Caribbean ;) Johann Díaz Experiences Marketing - Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel

  • keith_barrell5953
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
9.7

This was an incredible hostel. I was going to stay for a few days and ended up becoming a bar tender there and stayed for over a month! They have everything you could possible need. They have a billiards, swimming pool, and a bar all within a few meters of each other. It is very chill during the day witih sun bathing and pool volleyball. Later in the night it becomes a party with good music, drinking games, karaoke, and occasionally someone getting thrown in the pool! you'll love your stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola, Thanks for tyour nice comment about @PlayadelRitmo :) Remember we will be your home on your next visit to the Colombian Caribbean :) Nice travels Johann Díaz Experiencias Marketing - Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel

19th Nov 2016
9.1

This hostel is great, few things could be changed to be aware of. No wifi in rooms, just at the bar. Strict policy that you can't bring your own alcohol on the premises. If you're caught with alcohol you have to pay 35 mil per bottle/can. They force you to buy their alcohol, which is bar price and there isn't really food within walking distance besides theirs, but their food is really delicious. Washer but no dryer. Nice view, dogs and cats, nice helpful staff. Stayed here twice on purpose

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi ;) Thank you in advance for your comment about Playa del Ritmo. We don�t offer Wifi at the rooms since our intention is to invite people to get disconnected, so we only have it at the Reception or at the bar so it gives you the chance of meeting others. Needless to say, we will keep it in mind ;) About the alcohol fee, it�s a way to control the access of it from outside because it�s the only chance to guarantee that no one will get sick in case of adulterated alcohol bought from the street, but you said we are bar price. Thank you about the appreciation of our food. Dryer are not common because it�s a windy place. Please, feel free to come as many as you want :) Johann D�az Marketing of Experiences - Playa del Ritmo Beach Hostel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.