Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Playa del Ritmo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 213 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 213 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Apr 2017
9.7

Awesome place if you want to chill out and relax! My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and I wish it had been longer. You wake up literally right in the beach, the bar is awesome with cheap drinks, great music and games to keep you occupied if it rains or want to escape the sun, and the vegetarian food is fantastic. The staff were all lovely and attentive.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
9.7

This place is awesome. Staff is helpful, friendly and accommodating. It has reasonable prices, a happy hour and I didn't even notice their food was vegan/vegetarian...which is a huge compliment. They also have all sorts of games, paddle boards, hammocks. I'd love to come back and stay for a month.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Kevin! thank you for your review, we love to know that you enjoyed your stay with us :). We will waiting for you, we hope soon!! Cheers from Playa del Ritmo

17th Apr 2017
7.7

Only stayed there since it was close to the airport for my flight the next morning, pretty basic hostel. The good is that they have very good vegeterian food, and also they are on the beach and have kayaks u can use to go on the ocean. otherwise far from everything and remote.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Godarz! we are glad you enjoyed our vegetarian food :), about the location we are in a quite exclusive area, for that reason we don´t have a lot of things around, but we are close to the highway where you can take transport easily to any place in Santa Marta. Thanks for your review its important to us!

  • MhS2017
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
7.1

The hostel is right on the beach which is great, but you're 15 mins in a taxi away from anything else. The staff are very welcoming, friendly and attentive. The bar food is good but only vegetarian and the portions are quite small. We booked a superior double room as a treat at the end of our trip, but it was very basic. There was no water for 2 whole days, toilets and showers, which was a real pain coming back from the beach, so we had the check out early.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Matt! first of all thank you for your review it´s very important for us!, we are so sorry about the water issue. We did everything possible to supply the hostel but unfortunately there is a drought problem in the area that got out of our hands, we are improving our water reserves so it will not happen again, also we are gonna check the portions of our food. We really hope to see you again!

  • thejesstination
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
9.7

The ENTIRE staff is awesome. Usually at beach hostels it's hard to tell who works there; so laid back. Giraldo, Carolina, Andrés, Diana, Juan David, and everyone else who took care of me worked their butts off. The city was experiencing a water shortage during my stay but they tried their best to accommodate. The food is delicious, & my room was clean and comfy. The beach was clean, calm waters and pretty clear when the boats and jet skis were not around. I will definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Jess!!! thank you for your review and good energy, we love to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, please come back anytime you want, remember that we are your home in the Colombian Caribbean. Cheers from Santa Marta!

14th Apr 2017
8.0

This is a great hostel if you just want to chill out. FYI, its about a 15-20 min taxi ride away from SM. The beach is nice and not too crowded, staff was pretty cool, rooms are typical for beach hostels. There's only wifi in the restaurant and reception, which is nice to chill out, but probably not good if you need to be connected at all times. Only problem was that there was no water for 3 days. They kept saying to wait, but it never worked.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
8.6

This hostel is perfectly situated on the ocean and the bar to beach facilities are absolutely amazing. The food is delicious and it was easy to grab a shady spot on the beach with three chairs to enjoy the day. They provided beach towels and the staff was friendly. The only downside was their water levels were low when we arrived so there was no water for 90% of our 24 hours spent there. That said I'm still glad we stayed!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Lydia! thank you for your comments, we are glad to read that you enjoyed the beach, the food and your stay with us. Sorry about the water we tried everything to supply the hostel, unfortunately was a drought problem in the area. we hope to see you again here :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2017
9.7

Great location on the beach, but about a 10-15 minute drive out of Santa Marta, so it can be difficult to get to. Great bar and restaurant with delicious vegetarian food. However, if you are not fond of stray dogs, there are lots around the hostel and on the beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola Maria ;) Thanks for your great comment and rate about us :) We are so delighted you liked our vegetarian food and you enjoyed our Bar. We wish you are having a great experience in Colombia, and please keep in mind we will wait for you whenever you want :) Cheers from Playa del Ritmo Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2017
4.9

The Beach is black and not very nice. The staff was not very helpful or friendly and there was no water half the time I was there and the other half it was brown! The rooms were old and dirty and I was generally disappointed. Highly recommend taking a room with aircon as they are nicer and it is needed as the place is very hot. The only plus was the atmosphere at the bar night. Food could be improved too. Bring some fruit and stuff.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola Signe, We have to say that we are deeply sorry if you didn't´t comfortable here with us. It didn't seems like that :( About the water, we are in high season in Santa Marta and there are some shortcuts. We needed to hire a Cistern Truck service to bring water from deep wells. The weather is specially hot at this time, and thanks for your opinion about the food. we are always looking the way to bring better and tastier receipts :) Anyways, thanks for coming and we wish you nice travels. Playa del Ritmo Team

  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Mar 2017
10.0

Loved this place! Extended my stay 3 times, stayed here 10 days. Staff is supernice, beach is super, and they play good music all the time in the bar. The only con is that the portion of food you get is way to small. I was ok, but guys I talked to wre always more hungry. The entire meny is also vegetarian, so I guess that does not help eather, but the food is really good tho. Free kayak and padleboard for rent is also perfect, along with beachtowel. And also, go dive with Dimitrix. SUPERawesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola Kristin, Definitely you had enjoyed your time here ;) Thanks for saying our playlist is really good, that helps to maintain a great atmosphere here. According with the Vegetarian menu, we have some basic options which are extremely delicious :) More options will be available in the future. The Beach and the Caribbean is our main activity center, and we specially recommend Dimitrix as the best scuba teacher in Town. Please come back soon, and remember we will be always your home on the Caribbean ;) Cheers Andrés and the Greatest team in Playa :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.