Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Plaza Catalunya Hostel Barcelona

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 6.2
Plaza Catalunya Hostel Barcelona Located at Plaza Catalunya Diputació, 251, , Barcelona.
Plaza Catalunya Hostel Barcelona
Spain
Barcelona Catalonia 08007 Plaza Catalunya Diputació, 251
69% 331
41.3890310 2.1650688
Plaza Catalunya Hostel Barcelona
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • bcancel91
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
6.6

Staff and location were amazing, though the hostel was not. The hostel needs a lot of renovation and the bathrooms are consistently faulty or completely out of order. The common area was turned into a 12 person dorm the night we checked in, resulting in a crowded living environment. Owner comes around every few days or so and is rude to his employees in front of the guests. Stayed for 11 nights. Location is their saving grace.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2016
9.1

A little small but a great location and has awesome friendly staff who help make the place what it is. All around just a great experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
2.6

Worst experience ever: 1- this is not an hostel; this is a residential apartment filled with bunk beds 2 - you cannot enter the hostel after 3am until 7am (so if you go out at night you'll have to sleep in the street in that period) 3 - the bathrooms are unclean and there's not toilet paper 4- do yourself a favour and don't book this; pay a little more and sleep in a place with minimal conditions

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
9.4

The staff make this place a truely awesome place to stay. It's also in an awesome location- close to everything but far enough that you can still get a good night sleep without being woken up by street noises. I'm definitely staying here when I come back to Barcelona. Just one word of advice: bring locks for your bags because the amount of lockers available are limited. But regardless, I highly recommend this place!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jul 2016
6.9

Plaza Catalunya Hostel was in a great location, just two minutes from the centre of town and near good public transport. The staff are so friendly and took us all out and showed real enthusiasm in their jobs. However the facilities were not the best and it was more like an apartment than a hostel, also no lockers for your belongings (!!) However for the cheap price it was great value for money and the lovely staff overrode any aesthetic discrepancies.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jul 2016
10.0

Such a lovely stay at Plaza Catalunya. The staff are such lovely people and had an an amazing stay there. Really relaxed atmosphere. Definitely my go to spot in Barcelona 😀😀😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
9.4

Awesome...just the right thing if you are addicted to traveling. Had an amazing time with you guys!! Hope to see you soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
10.0

Such a great hostel, friendly staff and so affordable :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much, to this two young women,that have shown so much friendliness and good vibes towards the staff and the hostel. Look forward to meeting you again. Plaza Catalunya Hostel Team

17th May 2016
3.4

Seriously, how does this place has such a high rating? Worst ever been... No organization at all, they just put some beds around and named it a hostel. -14 beds instead of 12. -Rude and ignorant staff. They didn't even have change on my 20 euro note and didn't care. I had to go out and get coins. -Bad room, full of dust, no bedsheets or covers and chairs in the middle of nowhere. Bags, towels and underwear everywhere. -Guys drinking and cheering at the living room late at night. -Dirty toilet.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay in the hostel. We are working to improve the organization of the hostel but atmosphere is really nice. Many guests enjoy the hostel and they have told us about their nice experience. This might be the explanation for the high rating. Thank you. Plaza Catalunya Hostel Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2016
3.4

This place is very unorganized and gross. They didn't have my deposit money when I wanted to check out. No lockers to lock anything away. Staff was nice but unhelpful. They have a great location but that's it. Don't stay here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay in the hostel like many other people do. We always try to have a good atmosphere so guests are happy and enjoy the communication with other guests. We are a hostel, not a hotel. Thank you. Plaza Catalunya Hostel Management

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.