X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Plaza Catalunya Hostel Barcelona Reviews

Plaza Catalunya Diputació, 251, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
178 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Feels like going back home with brothers and sisters! Staffs are very nice, as well as other guys staying there. There's kitchen and common room, a fun place to meet and talk to new friends. The hostel's location is very good, only few minutes walk to main attractions (the casas) , main shopping street, city center (La Ramblas) and metro line. Basic facility, moderate cleanliness. Highly recommended youngster/budget travelers.


40%

For me it was a nightmare, a filthy place. Maybe because I am old and not a party girl. Not to mention we was tired as well. The moment we left this place, we feel so much more alive. If you are introverted, looking for a place to rest after a tired day or wanting to spend your time alone. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOSTEL!! However, if you are looking for a one night stand, partying, meeting young girls and love being wasted. This is definitely your place. Booked 2 nights, stayed 1, can't get refund

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello,we are sorry for this.No reservation was made at your arrival and we accomodate you the best way we could,with one of our best private rooms.Regardind your rating on staff no other reviews reflected this,but the opposite.Furthernore other reviews confirm that this is not a filthy place but a place where you can have nice shower and a quite sleep.Due to our location,during weekends,we attract mostly young people.Regards your refund customers arent able to get a refund if cancel the same day

100%

the best hostel in my life!!!a special staff!!!Gianluca will answer 'every wish and always with a sincere smile!!

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

When Luca opened the door with homemade pasta waiting, we just knew... Every last thing is done to make sure guests who come to Hostel Catalunya walk into a home! And for travelers who have been on the move for a long time, it is really a gift. The strong hot showers, the great cooking facilities, cozy living room lounge and daily morning cafés were just some of the perks. Luca, Harriet +Peter(s) work an amazing balancing act & create a wonderful experience and atmosphere. See you again:) Zabia


100%

My stay was astounding. By far, one of the best hostels in Europe! If you stay at the Living Room Plaza Catalunya, expect 5-star treatment, great facilities, excellent staff, cozy amenities like the kitchen, and the LIVING ROOM. You won't be disappointed if you book a room or bed at the Living Room Plaza Catalunya. I highly recommend a stay at this property as an expert world traveler in hostelling on 5 continents.


80%

We just book this hostel to sleep one night after a party in Barcelone and it was good, we don't use the facilities, but looks good. Good welcome !

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I HAD A GREAT TIME! VERY CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTER. THEY MAKE YOU FEEL AT HOME AND ENJOY TIME THERE!!

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great Location. Staff is very nice. We got privat twin room. W ould be nicer as i was traveling with my boyfriend a weekend away to have either two separate twin beds or double bed. instead there were 6 beds (3 two level beds). The room was big and spacesious. It was great to have private bathroom. Overall nice place for budget travel. Was kind of stressfull to have to check out either after 11am or the day before as you feel restricted about your schedule but staff is willing to help.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

There are only 3 bathrooms for the whole hostel, and they are not in a super state (one is extra small, another one is always flooded and last one is more or less okay, but not practical: no towels on the ground, no space for your belongings). Plus, the organization of the staff is not good at all; especially concerning payments. They asked us to pay although we already had, and were suspicious about it... It was not so bad, but definitely could have been better !

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback