X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Plaza Catalunya Hostel Barcelona Reviews

Plaza Catalunya Diputació, 251, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
169 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

the best hostel in my life!!!a special staff!!!Gianluca will answer 'every wish and always with a sincere smile!!

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

When Luca opened the door with homemade pasta waiting, we just knew... Every last thing is done to make sure guests who come to Hostel Catalunya walk into a home! And for travelers who have been on the move for a long time, it is really a gift. The strong hot showers, the great cooking facilities, cozy living room lounge and daily morning cafés were just some of the perks. Luca, Harriet +Peter(s) work an amazing balancing act & create a wonderful experience and atmosphere. See you again:) Zabia


100%

My stay was astounding. By far, one of the best hostels in Europe! If you stay at the Living Room Plaza Catalunya, expect 5-star treatment, great facilities, excellent staff, cozy amenities like the kitchen, and the LIVING ROOM. You won't be disappointed if you book a room or bed at the Living Room Plaza Catalunya. I highly recommend a stay at this property as an expert world traveler in hostelling on 5 continents.


80%

We just book this hostel to sleep one night after a party in Barcelone and it was good, we don't use the facilities, but looks good. Good welcome !

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I HAD A GREAT TIME! VERY CLOSE TO THE CITY CENTER. THEY MAKE YOU FEEL AT HOME AND ENJOY TIME THERE!!

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great Location. Staff is very nice. We got privat twin room. W ould be nicer as i was traveling with my boyfriend a weekend away to have either two separate twin beds or double bed. instead there were 6 beds (3 two level beds). The room was big and spacesious. It was great to have private bathroom. Overall nice place for budget travel. Was kind of stressfull to have to check out either after 11am or the day before as you feel restricted about your schedule but staff is willing to help.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

There are only 3 bathrooms for the whole hostel, and they are not in a super state (one is extra small, another one is always flooded and last one is more or less okay, but not practical: no towels on the ground, no space for your belongings). Plus, the organization of the staff is not good at all; especially concerning payments. They asked us to pay although we already had, and were suspicious about it... It was not so bad, but definitely could have been better !

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

This is a party hostel. The staff were smoking (not tobacco) when we arrived and the party went on until 1 am or so. If you like partying this might be for you, but if you like to sleep you should probably book someplace else. Very good price and location.


71%

there were no lockers ,the reception and lounge was the same place (small entrance of the flat)


74%

Cosy little hostel. Nice atmosphere, friendly staff. Stayed in 12 bed dorm. Had only booked one night online in case I didn't like the hostel but decided to stay. Was a little disappointed to find out that the price rises each night until I was paying 10 euros more than on my initial night. I was also without a locker for the first two nights as they were having problems with the key. Still, I really enjoyed staying here but would recommend paying in advance so you know what you're paying

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

On arrival we were told we would have to share a bed, even though we had reserved 2 beds. There were 4/5 people still turning up expecting a bed who had made no reservation and getting their own beds! 4 other English lads also had the same issue, the staff was awful, Sean was laughing at the fact we had to share and he didn't really see it as a problem which suggests it's normal for this hostel! Wouldn't stay here again.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

One of the worth hostel I ever been... very small, bad matress, people were smoking on the little balcony in the room. The only raison I've been there is because it's was full eveywhere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obviously you didn`t share the good atmosphere from Plaza Catalunya, as it`s a small hostel for those who like to stay with other young people...Probably you were looking for other kind of hostel, a huge one, where you aren`t close to other people and don`t need to talk with anyone. About s.o. smoking in the balcony: we are not policemen and it`s sth that you easily could have avoided just by talking to that person and asking him/her to go downstairs to smoke. But for that you need to talk first

69%

The facilities of this hostel would be better if the staff paid more atention. The bathrooms were full of empty shampoo bottles and in one shower there were disposable shaving razors just lying on the floor! The staff doesn't seem professional or preoccupied with avoiding these situations. But, overall the facilities were good, there was no climatization in our room so it got uncomfortable. There was one toilet wich was on a cubicle that was too small for anyone.


89%

They are all really helpful and nice guys. 10/10 would come again




View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback