Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Point Break Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 551 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 6.0
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 551 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 6.0
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.1
Point Break Backpackers Located at 6 Union Street, New Brighton, Christchurch.
Point Break Backpackers
New Zealand
Christchurch Canterbury 8061 6 Union Street, New Brighton
64% 551
-43.5083008 172.7270936
Point Break Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
4.6

- A lot of signs EVERYWHERE with so many rules, create an unfriendly atmosphere. For example, can't use pool cues outside reception hours, have to go to reception and leave a deposit. - No food/drink in rooms is annoying - ROOM KEY OPENS EVERYONE'S ROOM. MAJOR SECURITY RISK. - At the end of the day, it was a bed to sleep on and did the job.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback, we will look at changing our signs so perhaps more friendly, the reason for deposit on cue sticks as we used to have 10 now we have 2 due to damage also people spill and stain linen so to make it nice for everyone we perfer to have you eat in kitchen or tv room cleaning up after oneself, so hope your travels go well and thank you for staying

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jul 2016
4.3

Whilst the room itself was clean, it was cramped and very small, and that was for two people staying in a room meant to fit three people. Our mattresses were obviously very well-worn, with both sinking in the middle. The bathrooms needed upkeep; at the end of the day all you could smell was sewerage, and the toilets and floors required more regular cleaning. As for the kitchen...that was absolutely disgusting. We opted to eat out instead of cook there. I would not stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jun 2016
6.0

Staff were very friendly and helpful. But nothing else really impressed me. It was cold and dank, bathrooms weren't that great, kitchen was messy and the common areas not very welcoming. When we stripped our bed in the morning the pillows were disgustingly stained. TV was so dated and didn't work. Possibly one of the worst rooms I've stayed in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thank you for your feedback it helps us improve, it is winter and it is cold we try to heat as much as we can the common rooms usually are warm we will check this maybe heaters are not on correctly, kitchen is cleaned everyday but other guests need to clean up after themselves so we can only do our best, Our rooms are very clean and most guests have found them extremely good for price. This morning we had a guest who stayed in your room and were commenting on how clean and great everything was. We thank you for your comments and hope you have safe travel.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
7.7

Adequate. Did the trick!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Apr 2016
8.9

Can't fault anything in this hostel accept the distance from the city centre, but tbh i think it's more for the beach time. Either way was great here and the hot chocolate in the cafe is amazing. cool cafe to chill in downstairs too X

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Mar 2016
4.0

The dorm smelt like wet dog

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2016
6.3

At first I thought someone made food that smelt really bad but then I realized it was the kitchen. That horrible smell didn't go away!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Mar 2016
6.0

Pointbreak was clean with comfy beds . The down point was the man on reception was quite rude when I asked about my wifi not working he basically told me that my phone is wasting his wifi ! It's not good service when most travellers rely on using the wifi !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for letting us know about our recepitionist I must apologise for his unprofessional manner. I will make sure this does not happen again and I hope you will come see us again sometime. Best of Luck with your adventure travelling. Manager Point Break

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.