X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Point Break Backpackers Reviews

6 Union Street, New Brighton, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
388 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 63%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

We arranged late check in with the hostel, but the code they gave us to open the side door didn't work, nor did the doorbell to ring the night manager.


60%

Ok hostel but very pricey for what you get. Good atmosphere. One of the 8 bed dorms has no windows (it's not nice).


34%

Bad located, messy, strange people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Were sorry you felt that being at the beach was a bad location all other guest really enjoy the beach. Were not sure what you mean by strange people but are guests are travellers like yourself from different cultures sometimes might seem unusual. We are always trying to improve and thank you for your comments we hope you have safe travel.

100%

This was just a brief stopover, but the staff was very helpful!


80%

The staff are really friendly and so helpfully. Only thing is the location is out on city centre, which I personal enjoyed but many may not want to take a 30min bus ride. Only downer to the hostel, was that it was very cold and at night I needed extra blanket!


66%

Location is not the best, 30 minutes busdrive away from the city with no nightbuses. All hostels in Christchurch are quite expensive, but one has to keep in mind that staying at the point break means also paying 3.5$ for the bus each time one wants to get to the city.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

My girlfriend got bites all over the body after staying here for one night (Though I did not). The kitchen wasn't clean at all and the stove wasn't good either.


23%

The staff and specially the owner are antipathic. The kitchen, the bathroom and the rooms are often dirty. I definitely don't recommend this backpacker.

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Pro: Close to the Library, were you can use the free Wifi; Free breakfast (but only during weekdays), Close to the Beach and the Supermarket; Cheap Surfboard hire Con: the hostel smells a bit weird; the womens showers were not very clean; the kitchen ist very small compared to the number of guests; you take the bus to go to the city center (7$ return); there is not mutch to see out there...


63%

Staff was friendly and helpful. The location is great when you want to spend time at the beach. The bus stop to Christchurch is right outside the hostel, but it takes a while to get there. The kitchen could be cleaner.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Rooms were pretty tiny but ok. Unfortunately located a 25 min bus ride from Christchurch which is not too convenient. Overall it was clean and ok but not a hostel where you would stay a week or longer.


69%

Nice Hostel... The beach is not far away and it's easy to catch the bus into the city!


60%

only 2 showers are NOT enough!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Were sorry you felt that way we actually have 5 showers for everyone. We have continual hot water which alot of backpackers don't have. We hope to increase the ability to put another shower in, we have only taken over this backpackers and trying to make it better for you. Hope you have a great time in New Zealand. Cheers Staff at Point Break

43%

Internet is to expensive! Rooms are too small! The kitchen is dirty... Just choose another backpack!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thank you for your feedback. Im surprised you think our internet is expensive as we it is only $1.00 for 100mb. that is cheap in New Zealand. We strive on keeping our backpackers clean but when our guests don't clean up after themselves it can become a problem. Thank you for your comments.

80%

Friendly staff, nice location by the beach, nice cafè with good food, good prices, room spacious enough, only inconvenients small kitchen and limited toilettes for all that people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We hope you have a great journey. Best of luck. Cheers Staff at the Point :))



View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback