X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Point Break Backpackers Reviews

6 Union Street, New Brighton, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
403 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 60%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Staff is nice and helpfull. I wished the lockers were in better shape to keep my valuables safe. Good value.


86%

Except for the remote location (20 min bus drive) and the limited free wifi it's a great place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jonathan Thank you for your in put, we would like you to know we have just improved our wifi to extend to the whole building. Things take time to get right and we are trying we hope you come see us again and good luck with your travels. Point Break Crew

66%

Point break is an ok place to stay one night. It's not super clean, it smells like they've been spraying it down with glade. It's sad that there is so little to do in Christchurch, since it's so beautiful there. Especially down by the pier.

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Would be good if there was more kitchen worktop space and newer hobs. Staff friendly and helpful, short walk to beach and supermarket.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The hostel was further away from the main part of town than expected and it was located in a deserted part of town. We actually cut our stay short and moved to a different location.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

My key got stuck in the door and was very difficult to get got. The window would not close properly, so it was cold and loud from the evening foot and vehicle traffic. The furniture was extremely old and falling apart (to include one of the beds). The Internet does not work in the rooms. I had to use the Internet in staircase or in the cafe area. Not very convenient. The food was good. The lady who ran the kitchen was very friendly.


60%

Bought internet and then it was down so couldn't use it...


34%

the worst place i've been.. sooooo dirty!!! And smelling horrible!!! And bad atmosphere!

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

It was good, just far from de city center


54%

We arranged late check in with the hostel, but the code they gave us to open the side door didn't work, nor did the doorbell to ring the night manager.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you had trouble getting in sometimes its difficult to work the lock buttons to get the door to open. Im not sure why the bell did not work we have checked this and it is working. We appreciate your comments and we try very hard to improve the hostel for our guests. We hope you have safe travel and enjoyed New Zealand. Cheers Staff at Point Break

60%

Ok hostel but very pricey for what you get. Good atmosphere. One of the 8 bed dorms has no windows (it's not nice).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, Im surprised you feel the hostel is pricey, we are the cheapest in Chirstchurch? We also are affected by the earthquake so our insurance has gone up almost 3 times more and so has electricity, water etc. We try our best to keep prices down. Were sorry you did'nt like the room, but we are hoping to change it so it can have a window, we have only been here a year. We hope you have safe travel and come see us again. Cheers Staff at Point Break

34%

Bad located, messy, strange people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Were sorry you felt that being at the beach was a bad location all other guest really enjoy the beach. Were not sure what you mean by strange people but are guests are travellers like yourself from different cultures sometimes might seem unusual. We are always trying to improve and thank you for your comments we hope you have safe travel.



View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback