Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Point Break Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.1
Good 570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.1
Good 570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • stewarthastings902
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Mar 2017
6.6

New Brighton is quite far out of the city but perfect for the beach if you want that, just seems a completely dead ghost town really. Hostel is ok, just not clean and quite worn and old looking. Free breakfast doesn't exist unless you point it out to them (they claimed it's winter only) but they made me some toast and a coffee after I showed them the Hostelworld app. Great cafe downstairs and helpful staff, but as someone else mentioned, lots of unfriendly warning signs all over the place

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We have removed all the nasty signage and it looks great. We try to change the breakfast information but it keeps saying free very fustrating both to us and travlers. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your adventure Regards The Point Break Team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
6.3

The area is a bit shady.....and its far from the city center....but nothing a $4 bus ride can't fix....just don't get drunk and miss the last bus or ur screwed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. The buses run from early morning until nearly midnight and there is a taxi service. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Christchurch and New Zealand. The Point Break Team

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
6.9

I enjoyed my stay. The staff were freindly and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
3.1

This hostel needs a place for people to party all night long without disturbing people who need to get a good night's sleep. Five or six people's desire to party ALL night was given consideration over all the rest of the people staying there. There were 7 other people in my room and they all wanted the fighting on the street and partying all night to quit. I asked the manager to see to this. He said there was little he could do.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very sorry that your sleep was interrupted, but if they are partying on the street we have no legal jurisdiction. As for partying in the kitchen the night manager asked them to quiten down as soon the problem was brought to his attention. We have to give some leniency as these people are on holiday and you are staying in a backpackers that caters to young people. I hope your travels improved.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
2.6

The place felt so unsafe as soon as I got there someone said make sure you lock all your stuff up and I could see why, there's drugs about the place and the people who are hanging out there make you feel on edge. The worst hostel in NZ even the place as a whole feels unsafe

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're sorry that you felt unsafe, if you had contacted our staff we could have assesed and helped to rectify the situation. Some good advise to keep your valuables safe and locked up as the accommodation is dormitory style and therefore we cannot be responsible for your private property. We hope the rest of your travels are enjoyable.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.