X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Point Break Backpackers Reviews

6 Union Street, New Brighton, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
374 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 65%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Location is not the best, 30 minutes busdrive away from the city with no nightbuses. All hostels in Christchurch are quite expensive, but one has to keep in mind that staying at the point break means also paying 3.5$ for the bus each time one wants to get to the city.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

My girlfriend got bites all over the body after staying here for one night (Though I did not). The kitchen wasn't clean at all and the stove wasn't good either.


23%

The staff and specially the owner are antipathic. The kitchen, the bathroom and the rooms are often dirty. I definitely don't recommend this backpacker.

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Pro: Close to the Library, were you can use the free Wifi; Free breakfast (but only during weekdays), Close to the Beach and the Supermarket; Cheap Surfboard hire Con: the hostel smells a bit weird; the womens showers were not very clean; the kitchen ist very small compared to the number of guests; you take the bus to go to the city center (7$ return); there is not mutch to see out there...


63%

Staff was friendly and helpful. The location is great when you want to spend time at the beach. The bus stop to Christchurch is right outside the hostel, but it takes a while to get there. The kitchen could be cleaner.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Rooms were pretty tiny but ok. Unfortunately located a 25 min bus ride from Christchurch which is not too convenient. Overall it was clean and ok but not a hostel where you would stay a week or longer.


69%

Nice Hostel... The beach is not far away and it's easy to catch the bus into the city!


60%

only 2 showers are NOT enough!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Were sorry you felt that way we actually have 5 showers for everyone. We have continual hot water which alot of backpackers don't have. We hope to increase the ability to put another shower in, we have only taken over this backpackers and trying to make it better for you. Hope you have a great time in New Zealand. Cheers Staff at Point Break

43%

Internet is to expensive! Rooms are too small! The kitchen is dirty... Just choose another backpack!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thank you for your feedback. Im surprised you think our internet is expensive as we it is only $1.00 for 100mb. that is cheap in New Zealand. We strive on keeping our backpackers clean but when our guests don't clean up after themselves it can become a problem. Thank you for your comments.

80%

Friendly staff, nice location by the beach, nice cafè with good food, good prices, room spacious enough, only inconvenients small kitchen and limited toilettes for all that people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We hope you have a great journey. Best of luck. Cheers Staff at the Point :))

74%

Awesome staff, especially the night managers!


80%

We arrived at Point Break late, past 1am but communication with the hostel was extremely easy and they were able to arrange for a late check in for us. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The beach is literally 5 min away and it is somewhat of a quiet place. There was a super market, restaurants, bars and a pizza hut ($5 dollar pizzas!!!!!) within walking distances. I do recommend booking the shuttle service to the hostel if arriving after 10pm (all buses stop at around 22:30).


46%

The area is really far away from everything. It is in no mans land and there is nothing to do around the hostel. The internet only really works when you are at the reception, so at night you don't have any. The room was really dirty and the windows gape so there is always cold air coming in. It would be smarter for you to stay in a hostel near the city center... Or near anything.

  • 20th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

very nice backpacker

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Room very basic. Computer access free but was not working most of the time. Bathrooms clean. Free breakfast from 9am to 10am was very strange timing. Surely earlier would be more appropriate.

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Well, I have to say it was better than the reviews made it out to be. Yes, it was a little dirty and smelled kind of funny, but the staff were lovely and the rooms were nice enough


20%

Stayed here for one night after a long drive from Wellington. Really really poor, staff unfriendly, not clean at all and had a mile walk just to go to the toilet. Pool table was free, but terrible had staines all over and had no cue tip on the cue. Was meant to be free breakfast, but was the cheapest cereal and when we arrived at 9.30am was nothing left. Had no atmosphere either. Sorry but wouldn't stay again.

  • 15th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Love this place. Hear they recently dropped prices which makes for even better value for money. The close proximity to the beach and ease of access to the town make for a delightful stay. The staff are more than accommodating. And go the extra mile to make sure you have a pleasant time. Breakfast being free on weekends is a huge bonus. And will definitely be staying here again soon.

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Staff definitely need to be friendlier. Felt apprehensive to ask them anything!


49%

We did not enjoy our stay here at all. The place seems to bemostly used by WHV people and rebuilders. No Flair at all, half-destroyed security lockers and an inadequately sized kitchen (also: cooking utensils only available after making a deposit... WTF?) Can't recommend this place for travelers.

  • 18th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we are currently working to try and make our backpackers more accessible and we are working on repairing those lockers. Having our kitchen utensils available after a deposit is a way for us to try and make our guest kitchen cleaner and tidier for anyone looking to cook in there. We apologize that you do not feel our long term guests were accommodation, these guests have since left our accommodation and moved on.



View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback