X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Point Break Backpackers Reviews

6 Union Street, New Brighton, Christchurch, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
389 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 62%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

It was good, just far from de city center


54%

We arranged late check in with the hostel, but the code they gave us to open the side door didn't work, nor did the doorbell to ring the night manager.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you had trouble getting in sometimes its difficult to work the lock buttons to get the door to open. Im not sure why the bell did not work we have checked this and it is working. We appreciate your comments and we try very hard to improve the hostel for our guests. We hope you have safe travel and enjoyed New Zealand. Cheers Staff at Point Break

60%

Ok hostel but very pricey for what you get. Good atmosphere. One of the 8 bed dorms has no windows (it's not nice).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, Im surprised you feel the hostel is pricey, we are the cheapest in Chirstchurch? We also are affected by the earthquake so our insurance has gone up almost 3 times more and so has electricity, water etc. We try our best to keep prices down. Were sorry you did'nt like the room, but we are hoping to change it so it can have a window, we have only been here a year. We hope you have safe travel and come see us again. Cheers Staff at Point Break

34%

Bad located, messy, strange people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Were sorry you felt that being at the beach was a bad location all other guest really enjoy the beach. Were not sure what you mean by strange people but are guests are travellers like yourself from different cultures sometimes might seem unusual. We are always trying to improve and thank you for your comments we hope you have safe travel.

100%

This was just a brief stopover, but the staff was very helpful!


80%

The staff are really friendly and so helpfully. Only thing is the location is out on city centre, which I personal enjoyed but many may not want to take a 30min bus ride. Only downer to the hostel, was that it was very cold and at night I needed extra blanket!


66%

Location is not the best, 30 minutes busdrive away from the city with no nightbuses. All hostels in Christchurch are quite expensive, but one has to keep in mind that staying at the point break means also paying 3.5$ for the bus each time one wants to get to the city.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

My girlfriend got bites all over the body after staying here for one night (Though I did not). The kitchen wasn't clean at all and the stove wasn't good either.


23%

The staff and specially the owner are antipathic. The kitchen, the bathroom and the rooms are often dirty. I definitely don't recommend this backpacker.

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)




View all Christchurch Hostels

Please give us your feedback