Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Point Break Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 549 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 549 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.9
Point Break Backpackers Located at 6 Union Street, New Brighton, Christchurch.
Point Break Backpackers
New Zealand
Christchurch Canterbury 8061 6 Union Street, New Brighton
69% 549
-43.5083008 172.7270936
Point Break Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jun 2016
6.0

Staff were very friendly and helpful. But nothing else really impressed me. It was cold and dank, bathrooms weren't that great, kitchen was messy and the common areas not very welcoming. When we stripped our bed in the morning the pillows were disgustingly stained. TV was so dated and didn't work. Possibly one of the worst rooms I've stayed in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thank you for your feedback it helps us improve, it is winter and it is cold we try to heat as much as we can the common rooms usually are warm we will check this maybe heaters are not on correctly, kitchen is cleaned everyday but other guests need to clean up after themselves so we can only do our best, Our rooms are very clean and most guests have found them extremely good for price. This morning we had a guest who stayed in your room and were commenting on how clean and great everything was. We thank you for your comments and hope you have safe travel.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
7.7

Adequate. Did the trick!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Apr 2016
8.9

Can't fault anything in this hostel accept the distance from the city centre, but tbh i think it's more for the beach time. Either way was great here and the hot chocolate in the cafe is amazing. cool cafe to chill in downstairs too X

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Mar 2016
4.0

The dorm smelt like wet dog

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2016
6.3

At first I thought someone made food that smelt really bad but then I realized it was the kitchen. That horrible smell didn't go away!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Mar 2016
6.0

Pointbreak was clean with comfy beds . The down point was the man on reception was quite rude when I asked about my wifi not working he basically told me that my phone is wasting his wifi ! It's not good service when most travellers rely on using the wifi !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for letting us know about our recepitionist I must apologise for his unprofessional manner. I will make sure this does not happen again and I hope you will come see us again sometime. Best of Luck with your adventure travelling. Manager Point Break

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Feb 2016
5.4

Clean and average facilities but it's pretty far away from town and everyone kind of keeps to themselves. The scheduled social events don't actually happen and the wifi isn't really free. It's only 100mb a day and it goes as soon as you log on.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mbposthuma
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
28th Jan 2016
6.0

Didnt like it much here. Dorms smelled, kitchen is being cleaned from 10-11, the most busy time for breakfast. Dorms have no window wich is depressing and there's no real lounge, althoigh the cafe downstairs is nice. Very very far out of the city, you have to take the yellow busline which only runs until 11pm. Place is good for surfing because you can hire materials at the hostel, but if you want beach, just stay in the center and go to sumner beach.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2016
7.7

The room beside the kitchen is not the best if you want sleep. You can hear the people talking inside the kitchen and also the slamming from the kitchen door. They should put oil on the hinges of the door dorm. The stove of the kitchen are very old and you need a lot of time for cook.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2016
7.7

Nice hostel, big rooms, nice location by the beach, but a bit far from town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.