Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.8
Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First Located at Pollock Halls, 18 Holyrood Park Road, Edinburgh.
Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First
Scotland
Edinburgh EH16 5AY Pollock Halls, 18 Holyrood Park Road
89% 168
55.9402117 -3.1731605
Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Sep 2016
9.4

Pollock halls is a great place to stay. It's right near Arthur's Seat, which is my favourite place in the city. It's a bit of a walk from the city centre if that's what you're looking for, but still manageable if you don't mind walking (which I don't). The beds are decently comfortable, but especially so for the price. Rooms are nice, private and secure. I would easily stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
7.4

The most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in, barely slept for two nights (and I am usually not fussy). Great breakfast. Clean in general.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
8.9

Good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2016
10.0

The nicest hostel I've stayed in ...quite luxurious with all linens & breakfast included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
8.3

A nice place to stay, The hostel have a great view, and also provide a good breakfast. Only the facilities in the room mignt be too old.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
8.3

Really inexpensive choice to make if you're interested in having a private space and saving money while in Edinburgh. Rooms (which keep in mind are literally student dorms w/o the students - so you're sleeping on a twin mattress in quite a small space) were very clean and complete with a little tea kettle, your own sink, and room-keeping each morning. Showers and bathrooms are shared on the floors. Pantry spaces were super clean and modern. Just a bit far from main town!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2016
8.9

Great Breakfast, all you can eat from 7:30am to 10am.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
8.9

Loved staying here. Is an easy bus up to the city and the local area with the cafes and bars is great. Breakfast is better than most hotels I've stayed at. The only let down was the shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mattbowling1974
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
9.4

Excellent stay. Breakfast is superb. Very good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
8.6

Positives: Easy check-in Decent price for Edinburgh Breakfast was good Place was clean Two Pokestops on campus! ;) Not-so-positives: Found out about halfway my stay that these were the freshmen dorms for the university Pretty poorly/cheaply built building when it comes to sound traveling through walls; as a result, slept terribly I was the only person on my entire wing for a week, which made for a sometimes creepy (The Shining-like) atmosphere, especially at night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.