X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First Reviews

Pollock Halls, 18 Holyrood Park Road, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
140 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Everything was great apart from the toilets. This because they were not clean. But i guess that does not depend pn the staff, more what kind of people live in your corridor.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff contact a pleasure as all SO FRIENDLY.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Pollock Halls was a nice place to stay Nice room with comfortable bed Great breakfast WIFI Worked well Friendly Staff


89%

Everything you need for a short stay plently of toilet and showers facilities. Buses into town just across the road and a short walk to amenites. Found it quite hard to get out of the building, maybe needs more exit signs also the bed was a bit squeeky.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was perfect, looking forward to come back again.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

great value for money (the lowest prices for private rooms i found in edinburgh in high season). clean, cosy rooms, tasty breakfast included, will definitely recommend to all future travelers

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This was an excellent place to stay. Very friendly staff, excellent location and view, easy to walk to from the station even with a suitcase (about 25 mins), and all you can eat breakfast in the morning.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Regular fares are far too expensive for the youth hostel standard. Breakfast was great


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

I was very pleased with every thing and really surprised with the standard of the accommodation knowing it is normally student accommodation. The restaurant was amazing, everyone was catered for. A good breakfast set you up for the hectic day ahaed. Planning a return visit hopfully next year already. Thankyou.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Have stayed in a number of student halls over the years and this was by far the best. Despite being very busy the noise was at a minimum. The breakfasts were great; lots of choice and good standard for canteen food. Public transport links into city centre good and right by Arthurs Seat for a climb to the top.


89%

Good breakfasts. Bar meals, gloopy gravy Roomcleaning high standard


94%

I was allocated a very clean, quiet, comfortable and spacious single room with plenty of cupboards and a good bathroom although handbasin a bit small. Close to bus stop for buses into central city (Waverley railway station, Princes St, North Bridge, etc). Very good breakfast included in room rate with gluten free and vegetarian options clearly labelled. I would certainly choose to stay here again.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

a little bit of a walk from city centre, but should be no problem for most people


77%

Light house was clean and had a relaxed atmosphere. The restrooms were clean and although there were only 3 for the entire hostel, one per floor, I only found myself waiting once for 2 min for a restroom. This is a relaxed quiet hostel, they ask you to keep it down after 11 am. I did meet people there who wanted to go out and we hit a couple of bars Friday night. Saturday night I stayed in and watched a movie on their projector in their lounging room. Nice place.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Second time I stay at Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First

  • 27th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Brilliant breakfast!


89%

Good location, easy check in. Very good breakfast!

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The staff were really friendly, it was pretty close to the city centre, the area felt safe and the breakfast was amazing. The only thing was the kitchen facilities - they were locked after a certain time and there was no cutlery. Otherwise, the room itself was clean with everything you'd need, I would definitely recommend it.

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Student accommodation, available for use outside of the university period. Good, not great facilities but over the Fringe period the best value for money option in town for a late booking. 25 min walk into town to the Royal Mile.


83%

fire exits unclear at the beginning. Information was not easily understandable at first.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(102 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback