X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First Reviews

Pollock Halls, 18 Holyrood Park Road, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
147 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

noisy doors continuously in the accommodation. They cannot close quietly under any circumstances. some younger cliental are oblivious to other people on campus and showed no consideration at 2.00 am and 3.00am in particular.


91%

Excellent place to stay during the Festival; several buses from city centre to Halls. Good facilities, excellent breakfast included. Right by Arthurs Seat for those feeling energetic and wanting good view over the city and surrounding area.


94%

A great few days in Edinburgh at Pollock Halls. I had a stunning view of Arthir's seat from my room and this more than made up for the walk to the centre (about 30mins). Staff were fantastic. Breakfasts were really good value and included everything you could wish for. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Perfect for the Book Festival/Fringe, a little walk from the city centre but there are regular buses and the walk alongside Holyrood Park was lovely. Staff were fantastic, very welcoming and helpful with regarding walking Arthurs Seat. Rooms were great for an overnight stop, clean and spacious, breakfasts were great- self service and a good selection of items. Will hopefully be returning to Edinburgh soon and would book again!

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The breakfast was really good with plenty of alternatives to choose from. This is a great place if you want a single bedroom for a good price. The only drawback is that it takes roughly 30 min to walk to Pollock Halls from the city centre, but apart from that everything was good. Would definitely return to Pollock Halls if going to Edinburgh again.


91%

Everything was great apart from the toilets. This because they were not clean. But i guess that does not depend pn the staff, more what kind of people live in your corridor.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff contact a pleasure as all SO FRIENDLY.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Pollock Halls was a nice place to stay Nice room with comfortable bed Great breakfast WIFI Worked well Friendly Staff


89%

Everything you need for a short stay plently of toilet and showers facilities. Buses into town just across the road and a short walk to amenites. Found it quite hard to get out of the building, maybe needs more exit signs also the bed was a bit squeeky.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was perfect, looking forward to come back again.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

great value for money (the lowest prices for private rooms i found in edinburgh in high season). clean, cosy rooms, tasty breakfast included, will definitely recommend to all future travelers

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This was an excellent place to stay. Very friendly staff, excellent location and view, easy to walk to from the station even with a suitcase (about 25 mins), and all you can eat breakfast in the morning.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Regular fares are far too expensive for the youth hostel standard. Breakfast was great


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

I was very pleased with every thing and really surprised with the standard of the accommodation knowing it is normally student accommodation. The restaurant was amazing, everyone was catered for. A good breakfast set you up for the hectic day ahaed. Planning a return visit hopfully next year already. Thankyou.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Have stayed in a number of student halls over the years and this was by far the best. Despite being very busy the noise was at a minimum. The breakfasts were great; lots of choice and good standard for canteen food. Public transport links into city centre good and right by Arthurs Seat for a climb to the top.


89%

Good breakfasts. Bar meals, gloopy gravy Roomcleaning high standard


94%

I was allocated a very clean, quiet, comfortable and spacious single room with plenty of cupboards and a good bathroom although handbasin a bit small. Close to bus stop for buses into central city (Waverley railway station, Princes St, North Bridge, etc). Very good breakfast included in room rate with gluten free and vegetarian options clearly labelled. I would certainly choose to stay here again.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

a little bit of a walk from city centre, but should be no problem for most people


77%

Light house was clean and had a relaxed atmosphere. The restrooms were clean and although there were only 3 for the entire hostel, one per floor, I only found myself waiting once for 2 min for a restroom. This is a relaxed quiet hostel, they ask you to keep it down after 11 am. I did meet people there who wanted to go out and we hit a couple of bars Friday night. Saturday night I stayed in and watched a movie on their projector in their lounging room. Nice place.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Second time I stay at Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First

  • 27th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(107 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback