Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pollock Halls - Edinburgh First

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
26th Aug 2017
8.6

Affordable private room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2017
9.1

Brilliant choice. Good location. Easy and cheap access to city centre. Very clean. Breakfast was awesome. Better than most 5 star hotels. Fantastic value for money. Will definitely use again if available on future visits.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2017
9.4

Everything was excellent apart from the low water pressure in my shower. It's easy to see why this hostel sells out almost a year in advance of every Edinburgh Fesitval.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
4th Aug 2017
8.6

Great place to stay with private room. It of a walk from the city centre with luggage but otherwise pretty great

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
10.0

Nice and clean. Great staff. Te perfect place to stay if a simple dorm style hostel is your kind of thing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
10.0

Convenient location. Nice staff. The people were helpful when I had any questions. The breakfast will fill you up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2017
8.9

I loved having a private room for not much more than I would be sharing one at a hostel. They also provided towels and a bathmat, which was great! Breakfast was included and the food was perfectly acceptable. You're right by Arthur's Seat, which is great for people looking to do the nature thing. The only downside is that it's a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile, where all the shopping and the two biggest attractions are--Edinburgh Castle and the Palace at Holyroodhouse.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • danikashay
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jul 2017
8.9

Dorm room atmosphere versus hostel for a more quiet feel. After a month of travel, it was nice to have my own space! The provided breakfasts were incredible and just what I needed, while also having access to lunch and dinner (for an additional cost). The bus station was near, and a very quick drive into the hustle and bustle. Highly recommend — and it is also leaning near Arthur's Seat. Stay here if you want calm views of the hillside!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
9.1

Goo, clean place to stay. Rooms seem to have pretty thin walls as I could hear my neighbors both in their rooms and also in the hallways. Breakfast was the typical cafeteria style food but was decent and edible for sure. The location was about a 25/30 minute outside of the main city center/royal mile but was about a 7-10 minute taxi ride for around 6 pounds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
7.4

Good value

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×