Hostelworld.com

Ponsonby Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
Ponsonby Backpackers Located at 2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, , Auckland.
Ponsonby Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland ponsonby 1011 2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland
82% 485
-36.8530290 174.7458744
Ponsonby Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
7.7

A bit of a party hostel, how much you like this place probably will come down to whether or not that is what you are looking for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
6.0

Its a party hostel!!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
8.6

Nice staff and good sized rooms. Only downside is the showers are very small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Its great that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with your room. Our staff love chatting with guests so its great that this came across. As we are situated in an older building, the showers may seem a little on the small side but we feel the rest of our great facilities more than make up for this. We hope you return to stay with us if you are ever in Auckland again! The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Apr 2016
9.1

We stayed in a twin room with shared bathroom which was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great for bars, restaurants etc and there is a regular bus to Auckland centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found us "clean and comfortable". We are lucky to have such an awesome team here at Ponsonby who like you say are always "friendly and helpful. We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in such an awesome suburb - Ponsonby is great for bars and places to eat. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love to have you come back and stay with us. Thanks the PB - Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
7.4

I spent one night at double bed room. It was noisy until 2.30am with loud music and drunk guests. They were walking and knocking around listening music after their party as there was no staff after 10pm. Room was nice and tidy. And super hot ;) One of shower, water doesn't drain well. It wasn't nice having shower there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We encourage all guests who wish to continue drinking after 10 to go out and explore all the bars Ponsonby road has to offer so that other guests who wish to have a quiet night can get some sleep or simply relax without loud music. While reception is closed, we do have a phone you can call during the night for any issues, and a staff member will help resolve the problem. It's great that you enjoyed the room and found it "nice and tidy" on arrival. We hope you return if you are in Auckland again so we can show you why so many others choose to stay here. :) The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
8.6

Great location for Ponsonby's main street and the supermarket, and it's only a 20 minute walk into the city for the Sky Tower buses.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are right next to Ponsonby road, with its restaurants, bars and quirky shops. It's good to hear you made the most of these while staying with us. We also have buses to the city, where you can make the most of what the City has to offer. From island visits to bungee jumps, we can help you book these here! We hope you stop by again if you return to Auckland. The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2016
8.6

Great place to stay in Auckland, nice staffs, nice cosy atmosphere. The parking is only on the street, sometimes quite full.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy that you found us to be a "great place to stay" and that you enjoyed our cosy atmosphere and that you also found our staff to be nice. :) We do have 3 car park spots onsite and when these are full there is usually off street parking near by so sorry that you did struggle to get a spot. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love to have you come back and stay with us. Thanks the PB - Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Mar 2016
8.0

Ponsonby Backpackers is in a trendy location with lots of foodie places around. The staff are all super nice and helpful and can tell you all about the best deals for pizzas and day trips to Waiheke! Only minus is, that the bathroom area gets pretty grim at times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear that you made the most of our location to try out the local restaurants and eateries (including pizza on deal). It's a shame that the bathrooms weren't to your standard as we check them throughout the day to make sure all is clean and tidy. If you had mentioned to the 'super nice' staff on shift they would have sorted the problem as soon as possible. We hope you stay again if you are in Auckland. The PB Team :)

22nd Feb 2016
9.7

Cute little hostel in a charming neighborhood. Great staff. Loved my stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear that you "loved" your stay with us and that you found our awesome location in Ponsonby to be charming. We do consider ourselves fortunate to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries near by and still easy enough to get into the city. We are really lucky to have such an amazing team who work hard to help our guests out wherever possible. If you are ever in Ponsonby again we would love to have you stay with us again. Thanks The PB - Team :)

18th Feb 2016
4.0

reserved single room three months prior, I was given one with window that either opened at street level with danger to security, or closed with a smell of mould. No attempt had been made to have the window secured at a position that would have allowed for air to alleviate the very bad smell in the room. Two female toilets-One with door cut into so that one could sit on the toilet. Both stunk of urine. the cleaning is sourced out. No supervision by management. Reported One week no clean. Sad new

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your time here at Ponsonby. We highly encourage anyone to tell us if they are not enjoying their stay so we can try and help and resolve any situation you might have. Our toilets are cleaned every night and not once a week as you claim. Like you have said, we do out source the cleaning of our toilets to a well known and recommended company. We have had a few issue of late with them but these have now been resolved. My staff went more than out their way to help you including the manager and as you can see from previous reviews, no one has disliked this place as much as you and we are very sad that you think this of our beautiful hostel. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travel. Thanks The PB - Team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.