Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ponsonby Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 709 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 709 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
9.7

Eva and Fred are great staff!! Showers are nice and clean and have good water pressure and always hot water. Location is nice and safe area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2017
10.0

It is a very clean facility with attentive and friendly staff. The other guests are typically very friendly and easy to talk to. I have found it to be the most accessible hostel from that perspective since arriving in New Zealand. It isn't a party hostel but definitely a must if you are looking for a more laid back, family feel with good conversation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2017
9.7

A really lovely hostel in the trendy Ponsonby neighbourhood. Not centrally located, but was its charm. The staff and guests were very friendly,l and welcoming. It's the perfect hostel to meet people if you've just arrived on a working holiday visa. Many guests were organising little day trips amongst themselves and cooking meals together.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • laurahhh5448
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Jul 2017
8.9

Very nice hostel, lovely building and garden, super friendly and helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
8.9

Although the hostel a not centrally located in Auckland, the centre is within walking distance, maybe 20mins. The staff are really helpful, the hostel had everything I needed, a nice outside area to sit in. Shame I was only staying one night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our awesome location in Ponsonby with easy access to the city if needed. Stoked that you found the staff to be 'really helpful' and that we had everything you required during your stay with us.:) We would love for you to come back and stay with us if you're in back in Auckland. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Bermuda, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
8.6

Such a cute hostel with lovely staff and in a great area!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for making time to leave us a review, Great to hear that enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved everything from our awesome location in Ponsonby too our amazing staff. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • danieload380
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
19th Jun 2017
6.6

Really nice staff but not so good for travelers (suggest to change name "Backpackers"). Bit far from city center, lots of non-travelers (ppl who come for work) and not free internet (2$ for 3 hours or 5$ for 24). Even tho they told me internet in NZ is expensive (and it is) other hostels provide it included in price or lower charges. Most of hostels I stayed in NZ had internet included or like 2$ for 24 hours)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jun 2017
7.7

Cosy, homely feel. Only stayed for one night but would have liked to stay for more. Ponsonby Rd very close but extremely expensive, would recommend cooking in. Parking facilities consists of two car parks, otherwise parking is off street. Overall very quaint little hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
9.4

As an old gezzer, was made very welcomed and the place had a nice vibe the guys at reception could not do enough answering my question's, happy daze

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, Stoked to hear that the staff made you feel welcome and answered all your questions, We are glad that you enjoyed our awesome chilled vibes. :)

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
8.3

I booked 5 beds in a 7bedder dorm already occupied by 2 men. The last bed was perched dangerously near the ceiling. The stairs going up there was at a right angle corner-dangerous. Please do something. There is only 1 light in the centre of the big room-wouldb better to have at least two. Toilets clean. Facilities for cooking sufficient. Very convenient to Ponsonby Road shops and supermarket.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your room. The high up bed in the room that you stayed in meets all safety requirements and we have never had any other complaints about this bed. We could have tried and swapped you over to another bed or room if it was brought to our attention during your stay. We are happy to hear that you found us clean and the kitchen sufficient to your needs. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The PB Team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.