Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ponsonby Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 585 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 585 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
Ponsonby Backpackers Located at 2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, , Auckland.
Ponsonby Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland ponsonby 1011 2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland
85% 585
-36.8530290 174.7458744
Ponsonby Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jan 2017
8.6

Would definitely recommend Ponsonby Backpackers! The location is great, just a bit outside of the CBD in the trendy suburb of Ponsonby which has great shops, food and bars. Beds were very comfortable. Good facilities. Only downside is that you have to pay for the wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
9.1

Great locations, directly at ponsonby road with a lot of bars, restaurants and cool stores. Supermarkets are close by. It only takes like a 20min walk into the city. The stuff was just great and very helfpul and kind. Very cool atmosphere and very cool backpackers to share drinks and stories.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for making time to leave us a review, We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries nearby and still with easy access in to the city. Stoked to hear that you found the staff 'great and very helpful' and that you enjoyed our relax atmosphere and made new friends to share your stories with. If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jan 2017
6.9

Stayed in a twin room (bunk beds). The room is really tiny, probably about 2 x 2 m, so a shoebox where you would only go back to sleep - but the price reflects this, esp. considering it's in Ponsonby. It's also a fairly easy walk from Intercity bus stop (20 mins) in CBD so the location is A+. There's also a nice & quiet backyard to chill and bathrooms are clean. No free wifi (though the first 3 hours are free) but the room doesn't get reception.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are sorry to hear that you found your room small however you found the price to be on ponit. :) We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries nearby and still with easy access in to the city. We are happy that you enjoyed our awesome facilities and found us to be clean. We do charge for internet however it's very reasonably priced and we do give you 1 hour free to help you get started. :) If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

4th Jan 2017
9.4

What an amazing hostel! The staff was so welcoming and helpful and I met so many great travelers while staying here! It has a great vibe and is walking distance to pretty much anything you could ever want in Auckland, I only took the bus to get to the airport and the rest of the time got by just fine on foot from here. Definitely the cleanest and nicest stay you'll get in Auckland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us such an awesome review, We are happy that you found us to be 'an amazing hostel' We are really lucky to have some amazing staff here at Ponsonby who will go out their way to help all our amazing guests. We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries nearby and still with easy access in to the city. We are stoked that you refer to us as the 'cleanest and nicest stay in Auckland' :) We would love to have you stay with us again if you are ever back in Auckland. The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Dec 2016
8.9

Superb location, great staff and cool vibe. Wifi needs fixing though... any hostel that caters to an international clientele should have great, free wifi! Ponsonby is an area worth walking around for the views, hipster vibe and cool people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries near by and also easy access into the city. We are very lucky to have such an awesome team here at Ponsonby that create a great vibe. You do have to pay for the WiFi (not uncommon in New Zealand you'll find) however it is reasonably cheap and we do give 1 hour free on arrival to get you started If you are every in Auckland again we would love to have you stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Dec 2016
9.1

My wife and I spent 3 days staying at the Ponsonby Backpackers in Auckland, New Zealand. The backpackers was very clean, very safe and conveniently located close to shops, restaurants, pubs and bars. I felt that most of the staff were very friendly and helpful, others seemed a bit grumpy or at the very least disinterested, not enough to put me off my stay though. I will definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear that you found us clean and safe. We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries near by and also easy access into the city. Sorry that some of the staff seemed grumpy as this is not the norm as you will read in other reviews. Stoked to hear that you would stay with us again. If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
4.0

Staff were non engaging ... quick brief welcome.. when I asked about a local map didn't have one. Room ok and toilet/ shower area basic. No where I could charge my phone downstairs. Noisy outside at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. It's really disappointing that you didn't find the staff friendly as this is something that everyone says we are the best at and we believe that to be a huge aspect of our hostel. They are lots of sockets to charge your phone downstairs, I'm sure if you asked the team on reception they would have pointed you in the right direction. It can get a wee bit noisy outside with everyone having dinner and a few beers, however we make sure we close the outside area everynight at 10.30pm. We hope that you come back one day so we can change your opinion on our hostel Thanks The PB Team :)

30th Nov 2016
9.7

Ponsonby is an awesome location. The staff is very knowledgeable of the area and have fantastic suggestions. Plenty of refrigerator space and the people it draws are from all walks of life.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us an awesome review, We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries nearby. We are very lucky to have such an awesome team here at Ponsonby who make all our guests feel welcome and are always wiling to share their knowledge. Stoked that you enjoyed our facilities and meet lots of new people from around the world. If you are every in Auckland again we would love to have you stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Nov 2016
7.7

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beds were ok. Small lockers available in room. Close to main road with bus and manageable walk to downtown. Right off main street with various priced restaurants and more pricey boutiques and a few grocery stores close by. Kitchen can get a bit busy when there's lots of people there but there's lots of places to hang out outside or in the den and I found it to be a relaxed atmosphere. Would recommend this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us an awesome review, We do have an awesome team here that are always happy to help and always interested in guests plans. We do consider ourselves to be very lucky to be located in such an awesome suburb - Ponsonby has some of the best bars and restaurants in Auckland and still with easy access in to the city. The kitchen can get a wee bit busy during dinner times however it always works out. ;) Nice to hear you enjoyed our relaxed atmosphere and that you would recommed us to other travels. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
8.0

Building is kind of old. The street around the corner has all the restaurants you can enjoy. We've tried Little Easy just opposite the road, it was awesome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are glad you liked our old 19th century house, it sure has a lot of character. :) We do consider ourselves to be very lucky to be located in such an awesome suburb - Ponsonby has some of the best bars and restaurants in Auckland including Little Easy which is one of our favuorites too. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The PB Team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.