Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ponsonby Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 613 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 613 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
10.0

Excellent stay ,service, cheap ,handy to town highly recommend to all aaaa

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Feb 2017
9.1

Really nice hostel, especially for Auckland. Me and my boyfriend stayed in a 4 bed dorm and we found it had lots of room. Bathrooms were clean as was the kitchen. Lots of movies to pick from in the lounge, but not tons of room for lots of people. Location was a bit out of the way, but the staff were great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
9.4

The staff is friendly, room and kitchen are very clean. Lockers are too small, sockets are not placed beside the beds

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
9.7

Great hostel, really good vibes and nice people. Nice location with great restaurants and cafes all around

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for making time to leave us an awesome review, Stoked to hear that you found us to be a great hostel with 'good vibes and nice people'. We do consider ourselves to be very lucky to be located in such an awesome suburb - Ponsonby has some of the best bars and restaurants in Auckland and still with easy access to the city. If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.3

Big Thank you to all lovely guys and gals who works here for being extremely accommodating and helpful. I had a great time thanks to you and other awesome backpackers that I was lucky to meet over my stay in Ponsonby. BUT you really have to start advertising that there is no off street parking available anywhere near you and you only have 2 spots available for all your guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, We are so lucky to have such an amazing team here at Ponsonby who are always extremely helpful and friendly to all our guests. Stoked to hear that you had a 'great' time with us and made friends with the other backpackers. We pride ourselves on being a friendly sociable hostel. :) Sorry that you found parking an issue as we don't usually have any issues in regards to guest parking. We do advertise that we have parking spots and unfortunately the off street parking is a maximum of 2 hours up unitl 6pm. This is something that has just changed recently. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love to have you come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Feb 2017
10.0

My favourite hostel so far in terms of value for money, location, atmosphere and staff. The hostel staff were so friendly and helpful. Would 100% stay here again and wished I had booked more than one night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us such an awesome review, We are so haapy to hear that we are your ' favourite' hostel so far. :) We are so lucky to have such an amazing team here at Ponsonby. Amazing to hear that you would stay with us again. :) If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
9.1

Great hostel! No faults...maybe slightly bigger lockers needed (if I'm being picky)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us such an awesome review, Amazing to hear the you found us to be a 'great' hostel with no faults. :) If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • orlaithis522
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Feb 2017
8.3

GREAT LOCATION, CLEAN AND FRIENDLY

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us an awesome review, We do consider ourselves to be very lucky to be located in such an awesome suburb - Ponsonby has some of the best bars and restaurants in Auckland. We are happy to hear you found us to be clean and friendly. If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • jahna_koehler6457
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
29th Jan 2017
8.9

We had the little cabin, was great and private! Lovely staff, very helpful when we had to leave early!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay in our cabin. :) We are really lucky to have some amazing staff here at Ponsonby who will always go out their way to help our guests. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love to have you come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

19th Jan 2017
9.1

Pros: The location is awesome. There are tons of places to eat and shop all around as well as a couple parks. The staff is friendly and helpful. People seem to follow the hostile rules pretty well. Cons: Some of the rooms are in odd places, close to the kitchen or the front door, etc. The beds we slept on were not very comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking tie to leave us a review, We do consider ourselves to be very lucky to be located in such an awesome suburb - Ponsonby has some of the best bars and restaurants in Auckland and still with easy access in to the city. Amazing to hear you found the staff 'friendly and helpful.' Sorry to hear you thought the rooms where in odd place however we are an old 19th century villa so it's hard to change things around without losing character. We have just replaced all the mattresses sorry to hear that you found them uncomfortable. If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.