X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ponsonby Backpackers Reviews

2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
453 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Nice Hostel, very helpful and friendly stuff. Just the bathroom is maybe too small.

  • 6th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking to time leave us a review, Nice to hear you enjoyed you're stay with us and found the staff to be 'helpful and friendly' . Our bathrooms are on the small side however we do work really hard to keep them nice and clean. If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

86%

Lovely hostel a little bit out of town. Clean kitchen and a nice space outside for eating. Good bed and showers the only downside was how hot the room was as it stopped us sleeping could do with investing in some fans!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be clean. We're happy that you enjoyed our comfy beds and hot showers. We are experiencing a very hot summer which is making out hostel very warm and humid. If you're every in Auckland again we would love to have you stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

94%

Amazing little hostel. Great relaxed atmosphere and easy to feel part of a 'family'. It's just like home!

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for leaving feedback with us, Nice of you to refer to us as an 'amazing little hostel' :) We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our relaxed atmosphere and that you felt like part of the family. It was great to have you stay with us. If you're ever back in Auckland be sure to come back and stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks PB team

89%

Gorgeous little hostel right next to ponsonby road for all your eating and drinking needs and epic views of the Auckland skyline as well. Staff are extremely helpful and a mind of information on the city and 3rs free wifi on check in is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We do consider ourselves fortunate to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries near by. We are really lucky to have such an amazing team here at Ponsonby who work hard to give our guests a great experience during their stay with us. We are happy to hear you made the most of the 3 free WiFi on arrival too. If you are ever in Ponsonby again we would love to have you stay with us again. Thanks The PB - Team :)

66%

No food in rooms to help keep them clean. Rules about spreading luggage about versus keeping it neatly stowed under the bunks or tucked in corners. I arrived in the middle of the night and the room was absolutely a mess which made walking in the dark dangerous and I'm sure noisy for dorm slumberers. Provide a secure place for people to lock luggage before/after check-out rather than just under the stairs when the door is kept open during business hours.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, Unfortunately we can't control everyone's behavior in the hostel and we try not to enforce to many negative rules. We do however advise guests on arrival that everyone has to respect the other guests in the hostel, sorry that the people in your room did not a adhere to this. We do have a secure locker storage on the grounds, sorry if this was not made aware to you? We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The PB- Team :)

74%

Ponsonby has lots of restaurant and bars. Cute atmosphere, large outdoor space. Decently clean. Let's you store luggage if you're coming back into Auckland!


100%

Friendly staff, great atmosphere, relaxed and comfy! Thanks, always again!:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us such an awesome review, Amazing to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and that you loved our great atmosphere. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love to have you stay with us. Thanks The PB - Team :)

86%

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit in Auckland, and with Ponsonby Backpackers hostel. The staff was patient and helpful. The vibe was very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be patient and helpful and that you also enjoyed our chilled out vibe. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The P-B Team :)

100%

Friendly helpful nice clean well located - I will definitely stay over there again if going back to Auckland ! Thanks a lot

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for leaving us an awesome review, Very happy to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful and that you found us clean. :) We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb- Ponsonby is great for bars and eateries and it's still easy to get into the city. Always pleasing to hear you would stay with us again. If you're ever back in Auckland we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

83%

Had a lovely 6 nights here, met some great people and it really started to feel like home so we were sad to leave! The area is great and in a way it's nice to not be in the centre of city but still have a bank, post office, library and cafes nearby. The only problem we had was the wifi, you only got 3 hours free which you had to use all at once and then had to pay for anymore which was expensive. The lounge is the cosiest room and the outside seating area is really good with outdoor heating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and got to meet some great people. We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb- Ponsonby is great for bars and eateries. Unfortunaltly you do have to pay for Wifi which is standard in most hostels but we're glad you enjoyed the 3 hours free on arrival. :) If you're ever back in Auckland we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team

89%

Everyone here was super nice, it felt more like a house then a hostel. In a really nice area too. Would definitely recomend.

  • 27th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, Always happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found everyone to be super nice. We try to create a homely atmosphere and glad you got that feeling. :) We do find ourselves very lucky to be located in a great suburb - Ponsonby is great for bars and eateries. Happy to hear you would recommend us to. If you're ever back in Auckland we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

91%

We had a great time at Ponsonby's, very professional staff, facilities were very clean. The building really is charming, and the location is quite nice, close to good restaurants on ponsonby Rd, 20min walk to the city. L The night was quiet, even if the walls are thin and you can hear people talking in the living room. Totally would recommend for more than one night.

  • 15th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for leaving us an awesome review, We are happy to hear you had a great time and found the staff to be professional and the facilities clean. Our old 19th century villa does carry a lot of charm, which most people love. We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb- Ponsonby is great for bars and eateries and it's still easy to get into the city. If you're ever back in Auckland we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
69%

The hostel is located in a beautiful area with some good restaurants, but to be honest It's better to stay closer to the city. I had to get a bus all the time which was $2.50 so it was not really convenient. The room where I stayed the first night had the roof leaking so it was not really pleasant, the girl in the reception was very nice and she changed me to another room. It's an okay hostel, I just was able to find a better place in the city and was cheaper and with so much better Facilities

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed our awesome location. We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb in Ponsonby. We do state on our website that we are located outside the city centre and i'm sorry that you had to swap rooms due to the leak in the shower (which has now been fixed) :) I am happy to hear that our awesome staff dealt with the matter and that you were satisfied with the outcome. Thanks The PB - Team :)

60%

We arrived early in the morning and they had given us the wrong code to get in. Eventually someone on the staff came to let us in but was extremely rude and continued to be rude throughout our whole stay and was not helpful at all. The bathrooms had mold growing in them and we're very small. The room was clean though and fine enough. Would probably not go back.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, I'm sorry to hear you'd been sent the wrong door codes & that a member of our staff was not their usual helpful self.We pride ourself on having amazing staff, as you can read in previous reviews,& can only apologise that this wasn't reflected during your stay.We have just had our bathrooms deep cleaned to do away with all the mould, as unfortunately this can happen in winter due to the hot and cold weather causing condensation. Thanks the PB Team

69%

Nice hostel, decent size kitchen, nice garden relax area, staff were helpful too. Overall, a good hostel, but could do with some more bathroom space.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our awesome kitchen facilities and our spacious outside area. Our staff work really hard to make sure you have a great stay with us and im happy to hear you found them helpful. :) We do have four bathrooms on site which we feel is adequate for the number of guests we have staying, however they can get a little busy at peak times. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The PB TeamPonsonby

71%

The location is good if you want to go out in Ponsonby. The room rate for a double room is the same as a hotel in the city but the facilities are far more run down and dated, plus you have a shared bathroom. It was relatively clean and the rooms were warm. The 9:45 check out is brutal though especially on a weekend.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed our awesome location in Ponsonby, as we do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb. Our double rooms are the standard hostel rates and are one of the cheapest in our area. :) We are pleased to hear you found your room clean & warm. Our check out time is the norm time for all hostels as we need to get the rooms cleaned for the next guest arrival. :) Enjoy the rest of your travels Thanks the PB Team

80%

Overall nice hostel. Great location. Tiny bathroom and showers tho.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hostel and our awesome location in Ponsonby. Our showers are a wee bit small however we do keep them nice and clean. If you're ever back in Auckland we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The PB team

94%

Ponsonby Backpackers is set in a nice neighborhood within walking distance of downtown Auckland. There's a grocery store just down the hill and many shops/restaurants right around the corner. Best staff! Very friendly & helpful. Radiators in each room in case you're cold. Free to borrow towel! Kitchen has variety of spices and other ingredients you can borrow, a big plus! A few burners on the stoves are dead, but enough work to get by. Ovens work. Only 1 hour free Internet per guest, then $.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed our awesome location in Ponsonby. We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb. Ponsonby is great for bars and eateries and still easy to get into the city. Always pleasing to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. :) We've also had the burners fixed too since your stay. If you're ever back in Auckland we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB team

80%

Ponsonby hostel is located close to great restaurants and bars. The staff is very friendly and the hostel has a chilled atmosphere. The only problem that I had is that the kitchen is locked later in the night and closed until 7am... so I had an early check out and I was not able to pick up my food from the kitchen :( I have never been to a hostel before where they lock the kitchen and I was not aware of that so I lost all my food. Except fr this little problem I liked the hostel very much.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our awesome location in Ponsonby and our friendly staff. Yes like most hostel we do close the kitchen at night this is to minimise the noise at nights to respect fellow travellers and there is also a safety element to think of too. If you're ever back in Auckland we would love to have you stay with us again. Enjoy the rest of your travels. The PB Team :)

74%

Bit expensive for what you get but then again is in very good location - easy walk into Auckland and great access to buses. Think it's more for people staying a while?

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, You will actually find that we are one of the cheapest hostels in our area for bed nights. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our awesome location in Ponsonby and overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found your way around easily. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love to have you stay with us. :) Enjoy the rest of your travels The PB team ;)

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(275 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback