Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ponsonby Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 686 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 686 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Bermuda, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
8.6

Such a cute hostel with lovely staff and in a great area!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
9.4

As an old gezzer, was made very welcomed and the place had a nice vibe the guys at reception could not do enough answering my question's, happy daze

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
8.3

I booked 5 beds in a 7bedder dorm already occupied by 2 men. The last bed was perched dangerously near the ceiling. The stairs going up there was at a right angle corner-dangerous. Please do something. There is only 1 light in the centre of the big room-wouldb better to have at least two. Toilets clean. Facilities for cooking sufficient. Very convenient to Ponsonby Road shops and supermarket.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
9.1

Very cozy and welcoming Hostel which feels like home. Super nice and helpful staff and perfect location to explore ponsonby. Half an hour walk to downtown which is not too bad either. Would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th May 2017
9.1

This Hostel is absolutely marvelous. The staff are so kind and helpful. The showers are great, the kitchen is a good size with lots of room for every person's food. Lots of lounging areas inside and outside for you to hang out. The only thing that kinda sucked was there was construction going on on the street when I stayed, but that's nothing. Great Hostel, would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • leicesterfox
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
16th May 2017
6.6

Not enough showers and toilets to go around. Especially for the amount of rooms the place has. No free WiFi was a bit of a shocker to me. Been to cheaper hostels in the boonies which offer free unlimited WiFi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, Sorry to hear that you thought that we did not have enough shower facilities, as we do have two shower facilities in the main house and two more outside in our other buildings. We do also meet the required bed ratio to shower facilities needed for our hostel. :) We do charge for internet however it's very reasonably priced and we do give you 1 hour free to help you get started. Internet is expensive in New Zealand and you will find that most small hostel will charge you to use it, to help cover the cost. :) We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The PB Team :)

6th May 2017
8.3

Cool hostel with a lovely garden. Really close to ponsonby road. Rooms were pretty spacious but beds didn't have individual lights or sockets which was a bit annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our awesome garden areas. We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries near by and with easy access into the city. With us being an old 19th century villa the wiring in the rooms is slighty odd in places, making it hard to get lights near the beds. If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

4th May 2017
10.0

A great little hostel in a great location next to a hip little neighborhood with many bars and restaurants. The atmosphere is friendly and the staff was wonderfully helpful helping organize my trip and in making my stay here a great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
10.0

Amazing place to stay friendly staff, clean,good price nice kitchen laundry

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us such an awesome review, We are stoked to hear that you thought of us to be an 'amazing place to stay with friendly staff' :) Our housekeeping staff work hard to keep the place up to a high standard of cleanliness and we are glad that you found this too. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love to have you come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

22nd Apr 2017
9.4

A great place to stay. Location is perfect and right next to Ponsonby road. Great facilities and friendly staff. I forgot some items on my stay and the staff was nice enough to contact me and hold the items until I returned to three days later. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, We are stoked that you found us to be 'a great place to stay'. We do consider ourselves extremely lucky to have such an awesome team here at Ponsonby who will always make our guests feel welcome. We do consider ourselves fortunate to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries near by and with easy access into the city. Stoked that you came back and stayed with us and that you would recommed us to other travelers. We would love for you to come back and stay with us if you're in back in Auckland. Thanks The PB Team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.