Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ponsonby Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 640 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 640 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Mar 2017
6.9

Fairly big kitchen. Not too noisy when trying to sleep. I had a tiny single room, which was functional but smelt very musty. The female bathroom was kinda dingy, lino especially. Wooden 'bathmats' to stand on when you get out of the shower are pretty gross as they never dry out - plastic would be way more hygienic. Reception was closed for an hour at about 6pm when I wanted to check in which was annoying. Friendly staff though. Overall it felt old and tired but fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Mar 2017
9.1

Really cosy and cool hostel. Everything was super clean. The staff was super friendly. Only thing I didn't liked about the place was that you had to pay for the wifi and the kitchen is a bit small. Gets really crowded in the evening.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
6.6

1hr wifi? Serious? Just to make money? Thats a rip off. The hostel is nice, but thats a shame!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We do only give 1 hour free Wifi, this is not to rip you off as you suggest but other than the fact is we have to pay for it. Unfortunatly it's not free for us and WiFi in New Zealand is expensive, especially for us as we are only a small hostel. You will find that this is not uncommon as you travel around the rest of New Zealand. We are happy that you found us to be 'nice' hostel. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels Thanks The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Feb 2017
10.0

I really loved staying at the ponsonby backpackers. I stayed there for 3 nights. Rooms are spacey, nice comfy living room with TV and huge couch, amazing big kitchen with tons of utensils and many fridges. Also super nice area (Ponsonby) with cool Cafés, Bars, restaurants and Little Shops but not the downtown stuff, way more personal and lovely. Also a quiet area, so no Problem for light sleepers. Walking to the city center was about 20-30 mins. The staff was very helping and friendly! Loved It

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Feb 2017
10.0

What can I say....? What a fab place to have come to and stay in Auckland. We came for 7 nights and extended another 7, wish we could have stayed longer. The location is perfect for Ponsonby and a walk into the city. The facilities are great. The kitchen is well equipped with plenty of fridge and cupboard space. The rooms are comfy. And the best thing of all is the staff. They are super helpful, friendly and made our stay really enjoyable - thank you. Jonathan and Katie

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us such an awesome review, We are happy to hear that enjoyed your stay with, so much so that you extended longer. :) We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries near by and also easy access into the city. We are glad you enjoyed our kitchen with all it's awesome facilities to help you cook up a feast. We do consider ourselves very lucky to have such an awesome team here at Ponsonby, and it's very pleasing to hear that you found them friendly and helpful during your stay. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love to have you come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Feb 2017
10.0

Had both a fire alarm and a power cut while staying here...but I loved my stay and couldn't recommend it more! Even went away for a day so I could stay a few more nights. Felt at home, staff are all very friendly and welcoming and it's easy to meet new people. Rooms are spacious with decent size lockers, bathrooms are very clean, kitchen is very well equipped and has lots of storage. Ponsonby is a great place to be and is only a 25 minute walk into the city. Would happily come back. Thankyou!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks leaving us such an awesome review, Sorry to hear that you had the unfortunate weekend of when the fire alarm went off and the power cut that happened in Ponsonby too. :( Stoked to hear that it did not affect your stay with us in anyway. :) We are really lucky to have some amazing staff here at Ponsonby who will always go out their way to help our guests feel welcome. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all our awesome facilities from our large spacious rooms to our awesome kitchen where you can cook up a feast. We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries near by and also easy access into the city Great to hear that you would definitely return. :) If you are ever in Auckland again we would love to have you come back and stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels The PB Team :)

27th Feb 2017
8.0

Good points- this hostel is in a great location, easy to find and easy to walk into the CBD. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm and met some great people. Kitchen is well equipped and clean. Bathrooms are also clean. Perhaps more than 1 hour of free wifi would be good and a few more bathrooms would be grand. Overall I enjoyed my stay and am going back! Definitely recommend it. Staff are also very helpful and friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, We are happy to hear that you loved our great loaction in the heart of Ponsonby. Stoked that you met some great people during your stay with us. We are very lucky to have an awesome team who love their job and will always go that extra mile for our awesome guests.Our housekeeping staff work hard to keep the place up to a high standard of cleanliness We do charge for internet however it's very reasonably priced and like you have said we do give you 1 hour free to help you get started. We are very lucky to have an awesome team who love their job and who are always 'helpful and friendly' If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
10.0

This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Super clean and the staff work very hard to ensure it's kept this way. The staff are super helpful and nothing is too much. The atmosphere is chilled and friendly. This is not a party hostel, more like chilled drinks on a lazy Sunday afternoon in a beer garden, where everyday is a Sunday! Rooms are bright and airy, bathrooms are clean and kitchen is clean & well equipped. The lounge is like home from home and the outdoor seating area is the best.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us an awesome review, We are so happy to hear that you rate us as 'one of the best hostels' you have stayed in. Our housekeeping staff work hard to keep the place up to a high standard of cleanliness and we are glad that you found this too. We are really lucky to have some amazing staff here at Ponsonby who will always go out their way to help our guests and answer any questions to make things easier. Stoked that you loved our 'chilled and friendly' atmosphere and enjoyed having a beer or two in our awesome garden. If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

26th Feb 2017
9.4

Ponsonby Backpackers was a good place to stay that was conveniently located in Auckland. The atmosphere was very laid back and pleasantly quiet. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. I had a private room where security seemed very good. Overall the hostel appeared clean with the exception of the slight smell of cigarette smoke.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
10.0

This was a great hostel to go to after the long flight. The staff were very friendly and made me feel like I was part of their family. The hostel is 1 block from great restaurants and easy access to the bus. The outdoor area in back was a great place to meet and talk to people and was the popular place to be. The living room was also a great place to hang out and also felt like you were in the comfort of your own home with the large couches and great company.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.