Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ponsonby Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 519 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 519 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
Ponsonby Backpackers Located at 2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, , Auckland.
Ponsonby Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland ponsonby 1011 2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland
83% 519
-36.8530290 174.7458744
Ponsonby Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
9.1

It was an ok place to stay. There were a lot of long term working holiday visa people there. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The parking is limited to 2 off street parking bays. There is Street parking but it is restricted to 120 mins btwn 8 am and 6pm m-f. It's right by a bus stop and very convenient. There are 2 big supermarkets within walking distance The reason I took off points was because of the cleanliness: the bathrooms could be cleaned more frequently.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.3

Really nice hostel BUT I found it hard to connect with staff. I used to do reception in a London hostel and we really loved talking to people who stayed. There was a nice girl but no offence the guy needs to work on his friendliness. I'm sure your all great people so it'd be cool to let us know you or at least smile and say hi. The hostel is really cool it just needs some personality. I know works not always fun and sometimes being nice to the customer sucks but I won't bite!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us review, Happy to hear that you enjoyed our hostel. Sorry that you found one of our staff memebers unfreindly during your stay, as this is not the norm. He is actaully no longer with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and if you are ever in Auckland we would love for you to come back and stay so we can change your opionon on how awesome our staff really are. Thanks the PB team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jun 2016
8.9

Staff were great. Only negative is, on the website, it advertises parking. It is in fact limited and there are only two spaces.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for leaving us a review. It's great that you found our staff great as we love chatting with guests and giving them tips for exploring the country. As you explained we do have parking in front of the garage for 2 cars. There is parking around Ponsonby down the residential streets as well in case these spaces are full (as long as spaces aren't time signposted). We hope you had an awesome stay and look forward to seeing you again if you stay in Auckland. The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2016
10.0

Absolutely fantastic!!! Very warm and friendly environment, I didn't want to leave!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us such an awesome review. It's good to hear that you found the atmosphere to your liking. We are a pretty chilled out hostel and love when guests get stuck in to our 'warm and friendly environment'. It's great that you enjoyed your stay here and we hope you come back to stay with us if you return to Auckland. The PB Team :)

6th Jun 2016
10.0

This hostel is super clean! Staff and other guests were the most friendly I've met in nz. The laundry and kitchen are accessible and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for leaving us such an awesome review. We try our best to keep the hostel as clean as possible so all guests have the best stay. It's great that you liked our staff and got on well with all the other guests. We hope you had an awesome stay and stop by if you are in Auckland again. The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
7.1

I stayed there for just one night, the staff gave me the wrong code number to get back into the building, so I had to wake them up as soon as I tried to open the door (luckily was just 5 min later cause I forgot something). They were very rude to me and disrespectful even if it wasn't my fault. Anything else was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to see that you thought our hostel was good and that you rated us highly. I would, however, like to clear up any confusion as to the events that occurred the night of your stay. We had changed the door code that day to increase security within the hostel. It appears your key had been missed when the new codes were changed. I apologise this was the case but can assure you all keys now have the correct code after we changed yours. We have a night phone that can be called if there are any issues at all after reception closes which is clearly displayed. It just so happens that when you and your friends (who were not guests) arrived back at the hostel in the middle of the night (long after reception closed), intoxicated, shouting and banging on the door, that our staff were around to let you in. Our staff are constantly praised for being friendly so I'm sorry that this did not come across. I'm sure they were simply trying to stop the noise your group was creating to avoid waking up other guests staying in the hostel. We hope you enjoyed your night and continue to enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand. The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd May 2016
6.6

I would've rated this hostel quite high if it weren't for one thing. The staff and the permanent residents (who consist about 99 % of the people in the house) were obviously fed up with short-term visitors and made it known. Easily approachable by the green Inner Link city bus. Cool neighborhood. Nice view over the city skyline.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'd like to address the issues raised here as they contradict all other reviews we have received about both staff and atmosphere within the hostel. We consistently get praised at the friendliness of our staff both on hostelworld, other review platforms and when people leave the hostel in person. It's shame that this did not come across on the night you stayed as our staff love socialising with new guests and swapping stories. We do not have a lot of long termers as this is not the vibe we try to create within the hostel. It's great that you liked the hostel itself and saw the awesome Auckland skyline from Ponsonby road, (it's particularly cool to see at sunrise). We hope that if you are in Auckland again, you return so we can prove your previous visit was a one off. The PB Team :)

  • SarahDallas
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
10.0

Lovely hostel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, facilities were clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for leaving us such an awesome review. Its great that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking. Our staff love chatting with guests and helping with any questions they might have in regards to the hostel or travelling in New Zealand. We would love for you to stay again if you return to Auckland. The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
7.7

A bit of a party hostel, how much you like this place probably will come down to whether or not that is what you are looking for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great that you reviewed our staff and location so highly. We do not see ourselves as a party hostel, guests are allowed to drink, but the garden area and kitchen close at 10.30 in order to let guests and neighbors have some undisturbed sleep. All guests wishing to continue drinking are encouraged to visit the bars in this wonderful area. We hope to see you again if you stay in Auckland. The PB Team :)

15th Apr 2016
6.0

Its a party hostel!!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It''s great that you rated us highly on our staff members and our location, these are 2 things that we are very proud of. We do not see ourselves as a party hostel, quite the opposite. While drinking is allowed we close the garden and kitchen at 10.30 so other guests (and the surrounding neighbors) are able to get some sleep. We encourage guests who do wish to keep the party going, to head out to Ponsonby road and explore the fantastic bars on offer. We sincerely hope you stay with us again if you return to Auckland and see why others have rated us so highly. The PB Team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.