Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ponsonby Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 554 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 554 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
Ponsonby Backpackers Located at 2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, , Auckland.
Ponsonby Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland ponsonby 1011 2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland
88% 554
-36.8530290 174.7458744
Ponsonby Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
8.0

Building is kind of old. The street around the corner has all the restaurants you can enjoy. We've tried Little Easy just opposite the road, it was awesome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
7.7

It was fine. Cool old house, but the bathrooms aren't wonderful. Only stayed for one night, so didn't really bother me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, Always nice to hear that you loved our old 19th century villa, it definitely has lots of character and charm. We are currently renovating one of our showers and apoogize for any inconvenience this might have caused you during your stay with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Nov 2016
9.4

Great staff, great atmosphere, very clean and the garden is nice. However, the bathrooms are very small, the wifi is not free and quiet hours start at 10:30. The kitchen also closes at night, so no midnight snacks. I plan on staying again despite these flaws.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, It's always nice to hear that you found the staff to be great and the atmosphere great too. :) The bathrooms are a wee bit on the small side but we do our best to keep them nice and clean. :) We do charge for internet however it's very reasonably priced and we do give you 1 hour free to help you get started. :) We do close the kitchen at night as do most hostels, this is for safety reasons. Awesome to hear that you would stay again with us. If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • tpollard5
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
10.0

Staff are all helpful, friendly and fantastic fun. Creates a great atmosphere in the hostel - really inclusive and friendly. Location in Ponsonby is great - right next to some amazing coffee shops and bars, and only a 20 minute walk into town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us such an awesome review, We are so lucky to have such an awesome team here at Ponsonby who always create a fun, friendly atmosphere. We do consider ourselves to be very lucky to be located in such an awesome suburb - Ponsonby has some of the best bars and restaurants in Auckland. If you are every back in Auckalnd again we would love to have you come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • uktom2780
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Nov 2016
9.4

Great location close to town and very helpful staff. Marked down on facilities as charge for wifi (though minimal).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a great review, We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries nearby and still with easy access in to the city. Always great to hear that you found us to be very helpful. We do charge for internet however it's very reasonably priced and we do give you 1 hour free to help you get started. :) If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Nov 2016
6.0

The location was good, nearby lots of shops and places to eat. The bathroom was not the nicest, one shower was out of order the whole time which only left one to share between 10+ women - always a queue! The rooms were very basic and pillows were so flat they were basically redundant. Overall an ok base but have definitely stayed in better places for similar prices.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, We do consider ourselves to be very lucky to be located in such an awesome suburb - Ponsonby has some of the best bars and restaurants in Auckland and still with easy access in to the city. We were replacing one of showers during your stay with us, i can only aplogize for the inconvenience this caused during your stay. We do have other showers and toilets in other lcations throughout the hostel, sorry if this was not brought to your attention during your stay with us. :( We have now changed the pillows that were in your room, thank you for bringing it to our attention. We do hope that you come back and change your mind :) Enjoy the rest of your travels. The PB Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
9.7

This is a great hostel with friendly staff. It's really clean and tidy with a nice social vibe. The only downside is the 10.30pm noise cut off which is a pain due to Ponsonby being a very expensive area to drink in but I understand why they require it due to the placement of some of the bedrooms. Don't bother getting a private dorm unless you're really bothered about privacy as they aren't in the main building so you have to go outside to use the bathroom and they're cold.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us such an awesome review, We are stoked to hear that you found us to be 'great with friendly staff'. Our housekeepers work really hard to maintain a high standard of cleanliness. We do have to shut the noise down to respect other guests whom might be up early to travel. We are not a party hostel and consider 10.30pm a very reasonable time to cut off the drinking, as like you have said Ponsonby has some great bars to keep the party going. :) Most of our private rooms are in the main building and we only have two private rooms in our other building, I'm sorry that you seem to be misinformed about this. If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

2nd Nov 2016
9.7

Great friendly hostel! So many travelers to meet, great outdoor area to hangout in. Kitchen was big and very efficient storage. Smaller hostel vibes, comfy beds, and just overall wonderful. Negatives are only a few showers for the hostel and bathrooms were a bit out of the way from rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us such an awesome review, We are very lucky to have such an awesome team here at Ponsonby who are always friendly and helpful towards al our awesome guests. We are happy to hear that you made lots of great new friends during your stay with us. Stoked that you enjoyed all our amazing facilities from our outside area to our awesome kitchen. During your stay with us we were getting one of our showers renovated hence why it might have seemed that we didnt have enough showers. Sorry for any inconvenience that caused you. If you are every in Auckland again we would love to have you stay with us. The PB Team :)

30th Oct 2016
9.1

Really lovely hostel and great atmosphere. Feels homey and like a boutique (not factory) hostel. The only downside is it's pretty far from everything

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, Always great to hear that you found our hostel to be really lovely with a great atmosphere. Sorry to hear you didnt like being so far out of the city as most people come to Ponsonby for that reason as it such a coo little suburb. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Oct 2016
8.9

The wifi is not good. Also, not free. However, there are lots of cool cafes nearby with free wifi. Laundry is expensive there (4$ for wash and 4$ for dry and 0.50 for washing powder). Really cool area and beautiful building. Staff were amazing! Ponsonby is one of my fav neighbourhoods in Auckland and everything is totally walkable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are sorry to hear that the WiFi wasn't running well during your stay with us as thisis not the norm. We do charge for internet however it is very reasonable ane we do give 1 hour free to get you started. :) Always great to hear that the "staff were amazing" We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries nearby and still with easy access in to the city. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The PB Team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.