Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ponsonby Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 672 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 672 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • burseyelizabeth8373
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
14th Apr 2017
4.6

I was surprised when I arrived and found that the hostel was in an old house. The room I was assigned did not look like the pictures on the website. The bathrooms were only wiped over quickly, and needed a good scrub. The whole hostel was very much showing it's age and was not what I was expecting based on rating. The people were friendly, but I would not stay again. There was no top or bottom sheet given,only ONE hour of free wifi. People live here longterm and it makes for a messy room, too.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
8.6

Ponsonby Backpackers is located in a great area that is close to lots of cafes, bars, restaurants and super market. It is great value for money and the staff are friendly and helpful. It is an easy 20 minute down hill walk into the city center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • joelcisilino
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
7.4

I stayed at the hotel for about 2 nights. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There are lots of coffee shops in the area and a grocery store within good walking distance. The hostel looks very nice. No free WiFi which was big letdown compared to other hostels I've stayed at. The kitchen is very small so it was hard to prepare meals at dinner. There was only a very small security locker offered so our bags had to be put out in the open all day. Lastly the bunk beds shake alot..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
7.4

Great location and friendly staff. However, hostel is let down by dirty bathroom and lack of secure place to store luggage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Apr 2017
7.4

Great location and reception was very helpful. Was in a 5 bed dorm which was very small and had no space for bags. I was last one in the room so had to keep my bag with me on the top bunk. Bunks shake like crazy and the room had no ventilation; it was very stuffy. Bathroom was clean but small and always crowded.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
9.1

The manager/front desk person was awesome! The room was what we expected and needed and the facilities were nice. My only suggestion would be to make it more obvious that the laundry closes at 10pm as ours got locked in overnight. Not a big deal for us but it was a little scary when we saw it didn't open until 1pm. She did give it to us first thing in the morning though, yay! Anyway, a more prominent location for the sign would be good, as you can't see it when the door is propped open.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leavig us a review, Stoked to hear that you found the Manager and front desk staff 'awesome'. Also glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities. Sorry that your laundry got locked in overnight, however we do have a huge sign on the door of opening and closing times. ;) However like you have said can be missed if the door is opened. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love to have you come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
6.6

The hostel felt homey but the room was musty. The furniture felt a bit old, which came with a sense of uncleanliness. Loved the Ponsonby neighborhood though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, We are glad to hear you loved our 'homley feel' sorry that you found the room musty. When we've had a lot of rain our old 19th century villa tends to give off that old wood smell. We do try our best to elimanate this. As we are an old 19th century villa we don't have anything too modern as it just doesn't fit in well with our old wooden surrounding's. We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb such as Ponsonby with lots of great shops and eateries near by and with easy access into the city. Enjoy the rest of your travels. The PB Team :)

  • andrea_anguiano89
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Mar 2017
9.4

I very much enjoyed my stay at Ponsonby Backpackers. It's not in the city center but it's an easy walk there and the neighborhood where it is is very nice, lots of restaurants, stores and bars at the doorstep. It's a relaxed environment, most people starting their working holiday visas. Some people also were staying long term, but still would socialize so it was cool. No free wifi, but it's only 15nzd for a week so it's not bad. My first bed was super uncomfortable though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do consider ourselves to be very lucky to be located in such an awesome suburb - Ponsonby has some of the best bars and restaurants in Auckland and still with easy access in to the city. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our relaxed atmosphere and found it easy to socialise. :) We do charge for internet however it's very reasonably priced and like you have said we do give you 1 hour free to help you get started. Sorry to hear that your first bed was uncomfortable as we have just changed mot of the matresses . I will now look into this and get swapped if needs be. :) If you're ever back in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
23rd Mar 2017
8.6

Comfortable hostel, great location, close to lots of cool cafes and shops. Good bus links to the centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for making time to leave us a review, Nice to hear that you found us comfortable and that you also enjoyed our awesome location in Ponsonby with easy access to the city. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
8.0

Ponsonby is a beautiful area with good bus links to the city. Good room with big window and secruity lockers, mattress wasn't great though. Lovely outside seating area!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, Ponsonby is a great suburb with lots of great bars and restaurants to keep you entertained day or night. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room. Sorry to hear that yotr matress wasn't great :( we have just swapped over most of the matresses and will definitely check out the bed you slep in and see if it needs replaced. :) Happy that you enjoyed our awesome outside garden area. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love to have you come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB Team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.