Hostelworld.com

Ponsonby Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 497 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 497 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
Ponsonby Backpackers Located at 2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, , Auckland.
Ponsonby Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland ponsonby 1011 2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland
81% 497
-36.8530290 174.7458744
Ponsonby Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd May 2016
6.6

I would've rated this hostel quite high if it weren't for one thing. The staff and the permanent residents (who consist about 99 % of the people in the house) were obviously fed up with short-term visitors and made it known. Easily approachable by the green Inner Link city bus. Cool neighborhood. Nice view over the city skyline.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'd like to address the issues raised here as they contradict all other reviews we have received about both staff and atmosphere within the hostel. We consistently get praised at the friendliness of our staff both on hostelworld, other review platforms and when people leave the hostel in person. It's shame that this did not come across on the night you stayed as our staff love socialising with new guests and swapping stories. We do not have a lot of long termers as this is not the vibe we try to create within the hostel. It's great that you liked the hostel itself and saw the awesome Auckland skyline from Ponsonby road, (it's particularly cool to see at sunrise). We hope that if you are in Auckland again, you return so we can prove your previous visit was a one off. The PB Team :)

  • SarahDallas
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
10.0

Lovely hostel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, facilities were clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for leaving us such an awesome review. Its great that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking. Our staff love chatting with guests and helping with any questions they might have in regards to the hostel or travelling in New Zealand. We would love for you to stay again if you return to Auckland. The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
7.7

A bit of a party hostel, how much you like this place probably will come down to whether or not that is what you are looking for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great that you reviewed our staff and location so highly. We do not see ourselves as a party hostel, guests are allowed to drink, but the garden area and kitchen close at 10.30 in order to let guests and neighbors have some undisturbed sleep. All guests wishing to continue drinking are encouraged to visit the bars in this wonderful area. We hope to see you again if you stay in Auckland. The PB Team :)

15th Apr 2016
6.0

Its a party hostel!!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It''s great that you rated us highly on our staff members and our location, these are 2 things that we are very proud of. We do not see ourselves as a party hostel, quite the opposite. While drinking is allowed we close the garden and kitchen at 10.30 so other guests (and the surrounding neighbors) are able to get some sleep. We encourage guests who do wish to keep the party going, to head out to Ponsonby road and explore the fantastic bars on offer. We sincerely hope you stay with us again if you return to Auckland and see why others have rated us so highly. The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
8.6

Nice staff and good sized rooms. Only downside is the showers are very small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Its great that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with your room. Our staff love chatting with guests so its great that this came across. As we are situated in an older building, the showers may seem a little on the small side but we feel the rest of our great facilities more than make up for this. We hope you return to stay with us if you are ever in Auckland again! The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Apr 2016
9.1

We stayed in a twin room with shared bathroom which was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great for bars, restaurants etc and there is a regular bus to Auckland centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found us "clean and comfortable". We are lucky to have such an awesome team here at Ponsonby who like you say are always "friendly and helpful. We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in such an awesome suburb - Ponsonby is great for bars and places to eat. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love to have you come back and stay with us. Thanks the PB - Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
7.4

I spent one night at double bed room. It was noisy until 2.30am with loud music and drunk guests. They were walking and knocking around listening music after their party as there was no staff after 10pm. Room was nice and tidy. And super hot ;) One of shower, water doesn't drain well. It wasn't nice having shower there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We encourage all guests who wish to continue drinking after 10 to go out and explore all the bars Ponsonby road has to offer so that other guests who wish to have a quiet night can get some sleep or simply relax without loud music. While reception is closed, we do have a phone you can call during the night for any issues, and a staff member will help resolve the problem. It's great that you enjoyed the room and found it "nice and tidy" on arrival. We hope you return if you are in Auckland again so we can show you why so many others choose to stay here. :) The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
8.6

Great location for Ponsonby's main street and the supermarket, and it's only a 20 minute walk into the city for the Sky Tower buses.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are right next to Ponsonby road, with its restaurants, bars and quirky shops. It's good to hear you made the most of these while staying with us. We also have buses to the city, where you can make the most of what the City has to offer. From island visits to bungee jumps, we can help you book these here! We hope you stop by again if you return to Auckland. The PB Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2016
8.6

Great place to stay in Auckland, nice staffs, nice cosy atmosphere. The parking is only on the street, sometimes quite full.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy that you found us to be a "great place to stay" and that you enjoyed our cosy atmosphere and that you also found our staff to be nice. :) We do have 3 car park spots onsite and when these are full there is usually off street parking near by so sorry that you did struggle to get a spot. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love to have you come back and stay with us. Thanks the PB - Team :)

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Mar 2016
8.0

Ponsonby Backpackers is in a trendy location with lots of foodie places around. The staff are all super nice and helpful and can tell you all about the best deals for pizzas and day trips to Waiheke! Only minus is, that the bathroom area gets pretty grim at times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear that you made the most of our location to try out the local restaurants and eateries (including pizza on deal). It's a shame that the bathrooms weren't to your standard as we check them throughout the day to make sure all is clean and tidy. If you had mentioned to the 'super nice' staff on shift they would have sorted the problem as soon as possible. We hope you stay again if you are in Auckland. The PB Team :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.