X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ponsonby Backpackers Reviews

2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
413 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

We arrived early in the morning and they had given us the wrong code to get in. Eventually someone on the staff came to let us in but was extremely rude and continued to be rude throughout our whole stay and was not helpful at all. The bathrooms had mold growing in them and we're very small. The room was clean though and fine enough. Would probably not go back.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, I'm sorry to hear you'd been sent the wrong door codes & that a member of our staff was not their usual helpful self.We pride ourself on having amazing staff, as you can read in previous reviews,& can only apologise that this wasn't reflected during your stay.We have just had our bathrooms deep cleaned to do away with all the mould, as unfortunately this can happen in winter due to the hot and cold weather causing condensation. Thanks the PB Team

86%

A great place to stay in Auckland.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The PB - Team

69%

Nice hostel, decent size kitchen, nice garden relax area, staff were helpful too. Overall, a good hostel, but could do with some more bathroom space.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our awesome kitchen facilities and our spacious outside area. Our staff work really hard to make sure you have a great stay with us and im happy to hear you found them helpful. :) We do have four bathrooms on site which we feel is adequate for the number of guests we have staying, however they can get a little busy at peak times. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The PB TeamPonsonby

71%

The location is good if you want to go out in Ponsonby. The room rate for a double room is the same as a hotel in the city but the facilities are far more run down and dated, plus you have a shared bathroom. It was relatively clean and the rooms were warm. The 9:45 check out is brutal though especially on a weekend.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed our awesome location in Ponsonby, as we do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb. Our double rooms are the standard hostel rates and are one of the cheapest in our area. :) We are pleased to hear you found your room clean & warm. Our check out time is the norm time for all hostels as we need to get the rooms cleaned for the next guest arrival. :) Enjoy the rest of your travels Thanks the PB Team

80%

Overall nice hostel. Great location. Tiny bathroom and showers tho.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hostel and our awesome location in Ponsonby. Our showers are a wee bit small however we do keep them nice and clean. If you're ever back in Auckland we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks The PB team

94%

Ponsonby Backpackers is set in a nice neighborhood within walking distance of downtown Auckland. There's a grocery store just down the hill and many shops/restaurants right around the corner. Best staff! Very friendly & helpful. Radiators in each room in case you're cold. Free to borrow towel! Kitchen has variety of spices and other ingredients you can borrow, a big plus! A few burners on the stoves are dead, but enough work to get by. Ovens work. Only 1 hour free Internet per guest, then $.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed our awesome location in Ponsonby. We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb. Ponsonby is great for bars and eateries and still easy to get into the city. Always pleasing to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. :) We've also had the burners fixed too since your stay. If you're ever back in Auckland we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Thanks The PB team

80%

Ponsonby hostel is located close to great restaurants and bars. The staff is very friendly and the hostel has a chilled atmosphere. The only problem that I had is that the kitchen is locked later in the night and closed until 7am... so I had an early check out and I was not able to pick up my food from the kitchen :( I have never been to a hostel before where they lock the kitchen and I was not aware of that so I lost all my food. Except fr this little problem I liked the hostel very much.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our awesome location in Ponsonby and our friendly staff. Yes like most hostel we do close the kitchen at night this is to minimise the noise at nights to respect fellow travellers and there is also a safety element to think of too. If you're ever back in Auckland we would love to have you stay with us again. Enjoy the rest of your travels. The PB Team :)

74%

Bit expensive for what you get but then again is in very good location - easy walk into Auckland and great access to buses. Think it's more for people staying a while?

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, You will actually find that we are one of the cheapest hostels in our area for bed nights. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our awesome location in Ponsonby and overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found your way around easily. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love to have you stay with us. :) Enjoy the rest of your travels The PB team ;)

89%

Great hostel, nice people & a good location.

  • 10th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels I have stayed in. Clean, comfy beds, helpful friendly staff. Bus stop to town is right outside and ponsonby street is a cool place for bars and eating out. Common room and kitchens were big and easy to use. This is a chill rather than party hostel which I really liked. Only criticism was the showers were a bit cramped but they were very clean. Would recommend to friends and stay here again.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us an awesome review, Really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed a good night's sleep throughout your stay. Always pleasing to hear the staff were helpful and friendly. We do find ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb- Ponsonby is great for bars and eateries and it's still easy to get into the city. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. :) Thanks PB Team

80%

The hostel was nice, it was calm and had comfy beds. My room had a locker (small) in which you could store valuable items. The hostel is located in a really cute street and there are restaurants nearby. The only thing I would change is the bathroom (the space for the shower is really small) and the Internet (you have to pay).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our comfy beds. Ponsonby is an awesome suburb and is great for bars and eateries and it's still easy to get into the city. Our bathroom are a wee bit small, however we do keep them nice and clean. :) If you are ever in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels - The PB team.

83%

Very nice stay in this old house. Located in a very nice surroundings and not so far from city centre (15min by walk). The atmosphère was friendly and it was nice to sitting in the garden to discuss, eat or have a drink with other people. Thanks guys! Nicolas

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Propre, bien situé et disposant d'un staff chaleureux et bienveillant : Je recommande!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us and loved our location in Ponsonby - We do find ourselves lucky to be located in a great suburb- Ponsonby is great for bars and eateries and it's still easy to get into the city. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels - The PB team.

91%

20 minutes walk from the city centre, very quiet location and also close to the supermarket, restaurants and bars. Staff were helpful, kitchen was well stocked and common area was great. Would stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels - The PB team.

89%

Great hostel and really enjoyed my stay here. A little strange that WiFi was charged for and kept logging you out so you had to constantly reenter the password.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are always happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Every guest receives 3-hours of log-in/logout wifi upon check-in, whereas most hostels you do have to pay for wifi straight away. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels - The PB team.

80%

Rooms were good and clean, the staff make people know about the different location of the bathrooms. Staff easily approachable and helpful. About 30 minute walk from center but lots of restaurants in the area. Free one hour of Wi-Fi per stay. Good common areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed stay with us and found the staff to be approachable and helpful as they take great pleasure in helping our guests out and supplying a friendly, warming atmosphere :) We hope to see you again here at Ponsonby! Enjoy the rest of your travels! The PB Team.

86%

Nice hostel little bit far out of the centre but the innerlink rides only between 7am-11pm so if you are late it's a long walk especially the last part is steep on Franklin Rd when you walk uphill. But the hostel was cosy, chill, laid back and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked our cosy, laid back, clean hostel. We are a nice little suburb just 20 minutes from Auckland city centre, which like you said is easy accessible with the innerlink or a taxi is only $10. Enjoy the rest of your travels - The PB team

89%

It's for Japanese. 初めてのバックパッカーズホテルの利用でした。 4人部屋で3泊しました。部屋には2段ベッドが2台あり、それでも荷物が置けるくらいの広さはありました。 また個人用の鍵付きロッカーもあったので、とても便利でした。 トイレやシャワーなど、設備は古いですが清潔にしてあり、毎日清掃してくれているようでした。 夜も混雑することはほとんどありませんでした。 シティまでは歩いて30分、バスだと10〜15分ほどです。 いま人気のPonsonbyエリアで静かに過ごしたい方におすすめです!

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent hostel with a great atmosphere. The guy from Germany working at the front desk was so amazing. Great music playing, lovely garden area in the back for eating meals, hostel BBQ events and more. My favorite hostel stay in all of new zealand.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for making time to leave us an awesome review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the great atmosphere the staff have created. We are pretty lucky to have Ben on board, he's a great team player and works really hard on keeping the place fun. He's great at getting the guests socializing with each other by hosting BBQ's and other like events. If you are ever in Auckland again we would love for you to come back and stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels - PB Team

89%

Nice small hostel, good kitchen facilities and nice garden.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our awesome garden and kitchen facilities. We do hope you will come and visit us again next time you are visiting Auckland! Thanks- The Ponsonby BP Team

« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback