X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Ponsonby Backpackers Reviews

2 franklin rd , ponsonby , auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
305 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Staff very helpful it's not bang central but 15-20 Mins from centre. Great place to stay though


74%

Not a bad place, bathrooms were teeny and the beds were slightly rickety. Nice and quiet though, and staff were friendly enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you felt our bathrooms were small, however we do keep them spotlessly clean, we hope that it didn't affect your stay too much. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our peaceful location and friendly staff. Please do visit us again next time you are in Auckland- Thanks, The Ponsonby Team

91%

Great place to stay. Clean and the atmosphere was great (Best common room so far). Staff were friendly and very helpful (I'm looking at you Holy). The only problem was that the kitchen closes at 10:30pm, but I guess it adds to security. Would recommend to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave your awesome feedback! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt welcomed by myself. It's also great to hear that you made use of our comfy common room. Unfortunately we do have to close the kitchen at night as it is a direct entrance to the building, so we do need to do this for security reasons. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future! :) Enjoy your NZ adventures. Cheers, Holly

86%

I loved this place!! Amazing people, cosy hostel, awesome atmosphere...I was sad to leave! Will definitely be coming back!

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely feedback! We look forward to seeing you again very soon! :-)

86%

Staff was great with suggestions of things to do and places to see. Definitely suggest staying here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey guys! Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback! Hope you had (are having?) an amazing trip! Take care, The Ponsonby Bp Team

94%

Our stay at Ponsonby Backpackers was the perfect start for our journey through New Zealand. The staff was super friendly and always ready to help. The atmosphere in Ponsonby is very welcoming and relaxing and you easily can meet great people! For all these reasons we were sorry to leave and would come back any time! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Make sure you do come and visit us again next time you are in Auckland. Thanks, The Ponsonby Team

83%

It was a really nice hostel, in a good location with friendly people. The only problem I had was that the bathroom was a little too small, especially when there were two or more people in there and one of the showers was a very tight squeeze to get into.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad you liked our location and friendliness :-) Sorry you felt that bathrooms were a little small, hopefully this didn't affect your stay too much! Hope to see you next time! Thanks- The PB Team

74%

We had a snorer in our room so sleep was impossible even with ear plugs! Eventually told the staff who advised they would sort it out - should have done it earlier!

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry that you had some discomfort during your stay due to the "snorer" in your room. Please do bear in mind however that you were staying in a dorm room of a backpackers and there is usually going to be someone snoring in the room. We received no other complaints from other guests. It may be wise next time to book a private room if you are a light sleeper. Hope to see you next time- Thanks The Ponsonby Backpackers Team

89%

More like a home than a hostel. Great place to stay in Auckland, met some really cool people, good space to hang outside on sunny days if kicking around the hostel and Ponsonby is a great neighbourhood.


91%

Amazing place to stay for a short or long time. It's a place that really feels like home, quiet and respectful. The Ponsonby area is great for dining, drinking and full of artistic people. Women bathroom are pretty small and paying for the Wifi is annoying but the garden, BBQ and TV areas are great to enjoy with the other guests. I will comme back there for sure.


83%

Sehr enge und wenige Klos und Duschen, aber sonst nichts zu bemängeln. Hervorzuheben sind die erfreulich kompetente Mitarbeiter.

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for making time to leave us a review. Staff are our no1 asset here at Pb! Enjoy beautiful NZ

86%

Poderia ter internet gratuíta.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for making time to leave us a review,Enjoy the rest of your trip and be great to see you again here at Pb!

100%

Great hostel in a great part of town! It's on the smaller side, which gives it a really and homey feel. They have all sorts of spices and even some cooking oils for use in the kitchen along with free tea and coffee. There's a cute backyard too. Really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the flawless review :) :) :) Our backyard and "Home away from Home feel is deffintly one of our highlights!



View all Auckland Hostels

Please give us your feedback