Hostelworld.com

Popol Vuh

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
Popol Vuh Located at Calle 2 norte con zona federal martima y 5a Av., Col. Centro, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen.
Popol Vuh
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Playa del Carmen 77710 Calle 2 norte con zona federal mar�tima y 5a Av., Col. Centro, Quintana Roo
81% 570
20.6230444 -87.0740747
Popol Vuh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th May 2016
10.0

If you are looking to stay at a relaxing,very simple hostel with excellent staff and close to everything then book your room now! Staff went above and beyond to make our stay excellent especially Fabian. The shared bathroom, room, and kitchen were always clean. Shower water was very hot! Room was simple with a bed and fan,but exactly what we wanted. We booked a room without a/c and didn't want tv. Location best- Beach access, 3 minute walk to bus station, and 5th Ave night life. Best place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
8.9

Popol Vuh, great place, so close to the beach the sand comes right up to your door, about 20 metres from waters edge, friendly helpful staff, very close to bus terminal from Cancun (about 200 metres, or one block) and ferry terminal to Cozumel (about 400 metres past pretty church and town square) and right near the entertainment area but not at all noisey at night,... Great place, simple quaint room,... I stayed 2 nights 21-22 April 2016, highly recommended, no frills accommodation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
9.1

First time being at this place & it was such a great time! The location it's amazing, just a few steps from the beach & a few steps from "Quinta Avenida" (one of the most busiest streets in Playa del Carmen. The room was clean as well as the bathroom. Wifi connection was a little poor, but you're supposed to get away from all your electronics & relax, right? People there are nice & the stuff is very helpful. Will definitely come back to Popol Vuh in the future!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
10.0

ONe step from the beach, wonderful comunal areas, cooking facilities, spotless cleaning

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.7

My stay was wonderful. Opted for a room with air conditioning and my own bathroom and it was perfect. I could walk out my door and be in the water in under 90 seconds. The location was incredible. It was right off of 5th St. but in a very quiet area. The bus station, collectivos (very inexpensive air conditioned vans used by the locals), and the ferry to Cozumel were no more than a 5 minute walk away. A 15 minute walk to a Walmart let me stock my fridge for the week. Manager Fabian was awesome

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
10.0

Such a nice place to relax and chill, everybody is so friendly . I had a really nice time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2016
10.0

We had such a great time in popol vuh, first thing it has the perfect location, in less than 1 min you are at the beach, and also at the party-street, where all the restaurants and bars are located.. The staff is very friendly, and super clean, everyday, they did our room.. We had AC And the beds were very comfortable.. A perfect location to stay if you are travelling, it's of course not a 5 star hotel, but who needs that if you only sleep there at night..?? It's amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dancer_10316085
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Mar 2016
9.7

This was at least my 5th stay at Popol Vuh and it will not be my last. I never regret my choice to revisit the family at Popol Vuh, and benefit from their fantastic oasis-like location and non-luxury yet comfortable accommodations. For the price, this place cannot be beat. Each visit I am always pleased to see that improvements are constantly being made; since my last stay the kitchen was remodelled and a new gas stove installed, as well as a gas barbecue. Highly recommend!! Beachfront treasure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Feb 2016
10.0

The same cool as 5 years ago when I have stayed here before. Great location on the beach, common place inside the courtyard for meeting with others and exchanging expirience, with hammocks and a kitchen. Also the staff guy (sorry to forget the name but being on so many places meeting many people makes us forget it) is really cool, helpful and fun to talk with.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2016
8.6

Friendly staff and Subero location just steps from the beach and good prices make this a place I have returned to many times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.