Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Popol Vuh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 587 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 587 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
Popol Vuh Located at Calle 2 norte con zona federal martima y 5a Av., Col. Centro, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen.
Popol Vuh
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Playa del Carmen 77710 Calle 2 norte con zona federal mar�tima y 5a Av., Col. Centro, Quintana Roo
84% 587
20.6230444 -87.0740747
Popol Vuh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.0

The Location is great. Next to the beach and 5th avenida. "Hostel" is exaggerated - it has more the character of a camping place." Rooms" are small and not very comfortable, the showers are ok, but the lavatories were full of fungus we didn't even want to touch. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. All in all a great place which needs a little bit more care

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
8.6

Very nice place. You can't expect better location in Playa del Carmen for a quite affordable budget. The staff is relaxed and helpfull. I recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
10.0

Right on the beach. Staff was really accommodating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
9.1

If you're after a serene, basic place to kick back by the ocean, you've found it. My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights after a week in Vegas, and it was EXACTLY what the doctor ordered. Heads up, this is a very quiet (and therefore chilled) place. Hammocks, in the garden, backs right onto the Playa Beach. Bliss.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2016
8.9

Had a blast! Maybe 150ft from the beach in one direction and the same to a street full of shops in the other direction. Clean bedding, serviceable kitchen outside and double locks on the door for girls like me and my cousin traveling without a guy. No one can help the mosquitos so bring the bug spray! Bathroom could use an updated and maybe sweeping the floor a bit more but otherwise a great value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
5.7

Spent 5 nights in this hostel. The Internet connection was poor, it kept disconnecting. The accommodation was very basic, the rooms reminded me of a garden shed. The door didn't lock from the inside so security wasn't great, though the gates to the street were locked at 11. Great location, hostel right by the beach and many bars and restaurants. The showers were cold and just "felt dirty". Was competitively priced so worth staying if you're on a tight budget/like camping.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • markgudmens5888
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th May 2016
7.4

Great location right near the ADO bus station and main party area. Great place to stay if you are flying out of Cancun and need to catch a bus to the airport. Stayed in room 6 and it was nearly unbearable to sleep because of the heat even with a high powered fan. Great courtyard to relax with a nice ocean breeze to keep you cool until its time to sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th May 2016
10.0

If you are looking to stay at a relaxing,very simple hostel with excellent staff and close to everything then book your room now! Staff went above and beyond to make our stay excellent especially Fabian. The shared bathroom, room, and kitchen were always clean. Shower water was very hot! Room was simple with a bed and fan,but exactly what we wanted. We booked a room without a/c and didn't want tv. Location best- Beach access, 3 minute walk to bus station, and 5th Ave night life. Best place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
8.9

Popol Vuh, great place, so close to the beach the sand comes right up to your door, about 20 metres from waters edge, friendly helpful staff, very close to bus terminal from Cancun (about 200 metres, or one block) and ferry terminal to Cozumel (about 400 metres past pretty church and town square) and right near the entertainment area but not at all noisey at night,... Great place, simple quaint room,... I stayed 2 nights 21-22 April 2016, highly recommended, no frills accommodation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
9.1

First time being at this place & it was such a great time! The location it's amazing, just a few steps from the beach & a few steps from "Quinta Avenida" (one of the most busiest streets in Playa del Carmen. The room was clean as well as the bathroom. Wifi connection was a little poor, but you're supposed to get away from all your electronics & relax, right? People there are nice & the stuff is very helpful. Will definitely come back to Popol Vuh in the future!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.