Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Popol Vuh

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 627 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 627 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Mar 2017
10.0

I highly recommend staying here. My partner and I felt very safe, lgbt-friendly, and the atmosphere is chill and peaceful. The location is unbeatable for the price, right on the beach, behind another small building. The common are is a large leafy garden with hammocks, a clean kitchen, and clean bathrooms. The entrance is a few steps away from the lively 5th avenue. I stayed at 2 different hostels in playa and this was by far the best. I will stay here again next time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
8.3

110 steps from the door of our room to the edge of the water, so you can't get much better than that. We stayed in one of the more 'rustic' cabins with the thatch roof and loft. If you have an aversion to bugs, the room has large gaps in the thatch and screens. It was $60 a night, and it wasn't worth that. Again, the location is the best, but even with that the room isn't worth more than $40.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
8.3

Great friendly, helpful staff - thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
10.0

This hostel is awesome - a laid back vibe, helpful and friendly staff, appealing facilities, and a great location. It's a very short walk from the downtown bus station so easy to get to the Cancun airport, and then the beach and great restaurants are right there. It's also tucked away which makes it safe & quiet. I loved the room, our little porch, & the fact that we could be outdoors under shelter using the kitchen & table in the courtyard. The hammocks and big shady tree were wonderful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
8.9

Very friendly and hospitable staff. Location is unbelievably good. Close to the beach and Main Street. Rooms a little basic but decent and clean enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jan 2017
10.0

Alejandro and Fabian were very nice and accommodating, our room was always clean and the showers always had hot water. The whole staff was very friendly. Quick access to the beach and if you ask for blankets and sheets they give you. I would recommend staying here. We had a good experience and we love the hostel we stayed at. 😊 There's always a cleaning women on site, access to the beach, clean rooms. Good service.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
8.0

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights during the bpm festival in playa del carmen. We shared a private room with the shared bathroom. The room had one large fan which kept us cool enough during our stay! The hostel was very quiet and relaxed, which we thoroughly enjoyed as an escape from the craziness of 5th avenue. If you want to meet people then this is probably not the place for you, but for budget accomodation that is relaxing and relatively clean then I would 100% recommend this place!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
8.3

Stayed here for only a night. The location is great and the room size was awesome. Not much to complain about, good experience all around. Wifi was decent

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
8.9

Stayed as a solo traveler for a couple days in December. Great location, literally meters from the beach. Very chill atmosphere, the hammocks pretty much symbolize the vibe here. Fabian was a great host and like the rest of the staff made every effort to make folks feel comfortable. Got to relax, meet and visit with some great new folks also staying in the location. Wifi was solid. For a back to basics,ultra-simple and chill place to stay, no better place in Playa.Would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.