X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Popol Vuh Reviews

Calle 2 norte con zona federal mar�tima y 5a Av., Col. Centro, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
533 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I've enjoyed the stay. Guy from reception was very helpful - big thanks for that. Just the fact that you may get bitten from mosquitos etc while you're just in (or on the way to) the shared bathroom is a bit annoying... (so maybe I'll grab room with private bath next time)

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice, chilled hostel near the beach and town center. The small communal area in the middle is nice for relaxing and eating. Toilets and showers are grungy but work fine. Staff was friendly and helpful.


63%

They dont have any air conditioner in the rooms. The guy at the front is helpful but not really welcoming, its kinda just a blah expression which isnt bad. The ladys that clean dont really say much either. The showers are community showers, which were okay, water flows out lightly. It is near the boardwalk which was cool for when you get drunk and the beach is 2 mins away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much Saul for your review. We do have rooms with air conditioner , however the room you booked was the cheapest one with a fan and you never asked for an upgrade.

77%

I just spent the night in Playa and wanted an affordable room to myself before flying back home the next morning. The room as well as the shower was not the nicest but definitely okay for the price! Other than that the room was basic with two beds and a fan, exactly what I was looking for! Staff was friendly and location is great!


97%

Great location. Friendly staff. Thanks so much

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Variety of different rooms. Some are better than others. You get what you pay for. I stayed a few extra days in the Nice one and one day in the cheapest one after my girlfriend left early. Both lived up to my expectations. The nice one had air-conditioning, television, refrigerator, and shower with great water pressure. The cheaper one was cinderblock walls a fan and shared bathroom.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Relaxed hostel with a really good vibe and an amazing court yard. Very close to the bus station and beach.


60%

Way too expensive for its value. Great location and 100% clean. However, shower was in a dreadful state making terrible noises and low pressure. The tab water was a lost cause as it was impossible to open it without being soaked. Wouldn't mind that had not we paid usd 80 a night !!!! We had 4 nights and we cancel the last 2. We booked a 4 star hotel for half the price and 4 blocks away.

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Fabien, the guy running the place was extremely helpful and a good guy all-around. Great location right on the beach.


97%

Staff were so helpful! Great place to stay.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Very central location. The guy at reception likes music very loud but offers to turn it down if it bothers. Basic room with wifi and fan. Does the job. Bathroom very clean. They also have small cabins on 2 floors. Clean too but mosquito can easily come in by the roof. It was still ok at time of travel (end of May). Not much English spoken by staff.


100%

Great place to stay! The location is very good and it's is really close to the best places in Playa del Carmen but at nigh there is not noise and you can relax and have a good night.


83%

Room we had didn't look anywhere as nice as the photos online. Probably should have paid a little extra for the rooms with private bathroom. Staff really friendly.

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The place to stay. Near ADO bus station, just beside the beach and near all the bars and restaurants. Not breakfast included but there is a well-equiped place to cook :). The rooms are very hot though, there are only 2 toilets and 3 showers.. when not crowded is ok.


100%

What can you expect for $12 a night. Clean bed, lock on the door. Right by the beach. Oh and hammocks. Shared bathroom was small but in good shape.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

the staff was so frienly and nice enough to help us out.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Any time again! we stayed there for 6 nights an everything was nice - thanks!!!

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

It's not a resort - the rooms are pretty basic (no towel hooks, etc), but it's great value for money, and has an awesome location and atmosphere. Perfect for chilling out and exploring Playa. Get away from 5th Ave and you'll find a more genuine Mexico.


91%

Chelas breakfast the best!! Los desayunos de chela los mejores!!!!


80%

It has a perfect location! We chose the cheapest rooms though - so I guess we got what we paid for, but they were not very nice. There was something on our bed sheets looking like some insect/bird excrement...not nice. Except for that, nice place:)


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Playa del Carmen Hostels

Please give us your feedback