Hostelworld.com

Popol Vuh

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 561 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.5
Popol Vuh Located at Calle 2 norte con zona federal martima y 5a Av., Col. Centro, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen.
Popol Vuh
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Playa del Carmen 77710 Calle 2 norte con zona federal mar�tima y 5a Av., Col. Centro, Quintana Roo
77% 561
20.6230444 -87.0740747
Popol Vuh
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
8.9

Popol Vuh, great place, so close to the beach the sand comes right up to your door, about 20 metres from waters edge, friendly helpful staff, very close to bus terminal from Cancun (about 200 metres, or one block) and ferry terminal to Cozumel (about 400 metres past pretty church and town square) and right near the entertainment area but not at all noisey at night,... Great place, simple quaint room,... I stayed 2 nights 21-22 April 2016, highly recommended, no frills accommodation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
9.1

First time being at this place & it was such a great time! The location it's amazing, just a few steps from the beach & a few steps from "Quinta Avenida" (one of the most busiest streets in Playa del Carmen. The room was clean as well as the bathroom. Wifi connection was a little poor, but you're supposed to get away from all your electronics & relax, right? People there are nice & the stuff is very helpful. Will definitely come back to Popol Vuh in the future!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
10.0

Such a nice place to relax and chill, everybody is so friendly . I had a really nice time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2016
10.0

We had such a great time in popol vuh, first thing it has the perfect location, in less than 1 min you are at the beach, and also at the party-street, where all the restaurants and bars are located.. The staff is very friendly, and super clean, everyday, they did our room.. We had AC And the beds were very comfortable.. A perfect location to stay if you are travelling, it's of course not a 5 star hotel, but who needs that if you only sleep there at night..?? It's amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dancer_10316085
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Mar 2016
9.7

This was at least my 5th stay at Popol Vuh and it will not be my last. I never regret my choice to revisit the family at Popol Vuh, and benefit from their fantastic oasis-like location and non-luxury yet comfortable accommodations. For the price, this place cannot be beat. Each visit I am always pleased to see that improvements are constantly being made; since my last stay the kitchen was remodelled and a new gas stove installed, as well as a gas barbecue. Highly recommend!! Beachfront treasure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
21st Feb 2016
10.0

The same cool as 5 years ago when I have stayed here before. Great location on the beach, common place inside the courtyard for meeting with others and exchanging expirience, with hammocks and a kitchen. Also the staff guy (sorry to forget the name but being on so many places meeting many people makes us forget it) is really cool, helpful and fun to talk with.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2016
8.6

Friendly staff and Subero location just steps from the beach and good prices make this a place I have returned to many times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2016
7.1

Popol Vuh is literally steps from the beach. Nice outdoor patio. The kitchen is decent. No water, coffee, or breakfast provided. It can get a bit loud as there is a speaker system set up outside and everyone is invited to plug in their devices. Property is locked with a gate at night. Everything is a little funky and could use a deep cleaning but for the price and location you aren't going to do any better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2015
8.9

Host was great. Location is amazing. The place has an awesome vibe too. hammocks and wifi. Right in the middle of everything, and right on the beach! The problem I had was the shower kept dripping, and I couldn't sleep well as a result. My room had AC, but some of them don't. You might want to check on that in advance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • brett80005541
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
28th Dec 2015
6.9

Quite a basic hostel with a nice courtyard to relax in. Location as good as needed in playa, you can walk everywhere and get home easily from nightlife. Was not the most social hostel, if that is what you are after. The place could also use a few hooks and benches for rooms. Toilets and beds were again, basic, but nothing wrong with them.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.