Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Poramba Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 593 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 593 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Aug 2017
9.1

Nice atmosphere, really welcoming and helpful staff. Great location near bus station, perfect for exploring Iguazu. Kitchen could use some more/new equipment but the basics are all there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • BineK
  • Germany, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
10.0

good place to stay when in town, easy to walk to the bus station and "city circle" with restaurants. hammocks to hang out and a pool to dip your toes in...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
9.7

The staff was very helpful and friendly. They went above and beyond to make sure we had all the information we needed to enjoy our stay in Iguazú

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
6.0

The vibe at Poramba was weird. The staff would help if you asked questions but seemed pained to do so. You can't drink out of the taps here and the hostel charges for filtered water ($10/L). Breakfast is preproportioned; you are given a roll, a croissant, and a pastry with no option for more. The rooms do not have lockers; there are small lockers in the lobby. The kitchen does not have any general-use ingredients (salt, oil). I changed hostels and enjoyed the second one much more.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What we see depends mainly on what we look for. Thanks for your comments!

  • ronanmason5557
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
7th Jun 2017
7.7

Poramba does enough to get an average rating. Feels like they do the bare minimum to provide a room. Few things they could improve - some knives in the kitchen, something more than bread for breakfast, and some info on how to do the falls (seriously the only reason anyone is in town!). Don't get me wrong the hostel is good value for money and we enjoyed our stay. But if they just did a few more things it could be a great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your advice, we always take care about your experiences. It's a shame you didn't ask us, because we have a lot of information to give about what you can do in the city. Best wishes for you!

24th May 2017
6.3

Insects everywhere, mosquitoes, ants and more, in the rooms and especially in the kitchen. We tried to cook but if you leave anything out of the fridge for a second the ants are over it. The a/c didn't work in our room so it was really hot and humid. Good: the staff was very friendly and helpful and it is close to the bus station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • beckysibson1203
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
23rd May 2017
8.3

A nice place to stay with a nice ambience. The couple who own it are really friendly and really helped me with my Spanish. The room was great, clean and smelt fresh despite the constant damp humid climate there. They gave us all the info we needed to visit the falls and great advice to do the Brazilian side first. One recommendation, it would have been super helpful if staff knew more about getting to Asuncion. We ended up being ripped off by a bus company, doh!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
8.6

Staff were friendly and nice! Helped me find my way to the lookout there the rivers met. Bathroom was very small, and no separation of shower from toilet. Breakfast was typical Argentine- crescent, tea, juice. Great location- easy walk to bus station and lots of cool local shops with unique treasures nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2017
6.9

Decent enough, cramped rooms and quite small in general. Walking distance from bus terminal though which is handy. We only stayed one night for the falls on the Argentina side

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
16th Apr 2017
7.4

Good kitchen. Clean rooms. Helpful staff. Good lockers. Kept our bags after check out for the day while we went to the Falls.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.