X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Port Campbell Hostel Reviews

18 Tregea St, Port Campbell, Port Campbell, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
633 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

All the facilities are big, clean and well equipped, with a carpark easily accessible from the rooms (nice when you have a heavy backpack) and easy walking distance from Poet Campbell town centre and beach, and 10 minutes drive from the 12 Apostles.

  • 2nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

1st time in mixed dorm no real problem but would prefer it if male & female slept in own bunks


100%

Excellent all round! Stay here just one night but was very impressed with the cleanliness, facilities, showers with cubicle to put your clothes etc, loads of toilets and showers, helpful staff, good wifi on ground floor, BBQ area. So much to offer.


94%

Friendly staff and very helpful. Central location. Had a really great stay!


100%

Thank you very much! Me and my friends enjoyed our stay a lot! The hostel is really clean, the receptionist is super super nice :) and the services are excellent!

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I loved everything about this place. The common area in ground floor is how I had imagined ideal hostels would be. I was offered free milk by the friendly receptionist- and who doesn't like free stuff ;) will stay here again for sure !!!

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The showers and toilettes are cubes in the hallway. The hostel was booked out and ppl were showering until late and starting at 4.30am again, which was pretty noisy as you hear the water and the banging of the doors in the room. Didn't sleep much. Annoying music was playing in the common room with no variety (same artist for hours). Kitchen was nice and well equipped. Wifi works just in the common area. Everything was clean.


71%

Good and clean hostel. But missed a lot of charing station in the rooms (just 2 plugs in a room for 4 persons!) and no lights for each bed.


89%

Very impressed. Calm, clean and well located. Excellent value.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed here for one night while doing The Great Ocean Road. Staff and new management were fantastic. Our car broke down 20 minutes away from the hostel and the manager came out to look for us. He also helped us in locating a tow truck the following day and helped us get back to Melbourne! Hostel itself is bright, modern, spacious and in a great location. If you are doing The Great Ocean, stay here!


100%

Great location, great place to stay especially for the over 60's, as it was great to mix with the younger crowd. Huge benefit of socialising whilst using the kitchen and sourcing the best spots to visit. Hosts had invaluable local knowledge of the best local walks and beaches to visit. Highly recommend it.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place along the GOR managed by professional staff. We stayed in the 7p dorm and it was spacious and very clean. Has a large common area downstairs for games, reading or meeting fellow travellers, and great kitchen facilities. The bathrooms are in the hall and can get a bit noisy, but hot water operating hours are limited. Just fyi; port campbell itself is nice but not really a place worth spending a lot of time.


83%

The room was great and although having showers and toilets running parrelell to rooms is convenient it makes for a very noisy night :(.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice place, close to the twelve apostles, so if you want to take dusk or dawn photos, this is a great place.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location. Booked a deluxe room for me , wife and kid. The room was exceptionally clean. Friendly staff and great atmosphere. The free wifi was accessible from the room which was at the ground level. It wouldn't work for the dorm rooms which were upstairs.

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

A lovely place to stay while doing the Great Ocean Road. Very clean, very friendly staff. Free wifi a plus. communal bathrooms and showers were always clean although no hot water on my second evening hopefully a one off. Really great hostel. Atmosphere very difficult due to most people staying one night i think but i certainly enjoyed my time here.


100%

it’s clean and good location.With a big kitchen u can cook yourself.

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

it was a really nice stay in this hostel, the kitchen was clean, free coffee, tea and sugar! Just one thing was really not good: The showers were cold and the hostel itself is a bit too cold. We weren't able to have a shower, because we were freezing in the shower! If that gets better, it's the perfect hostel! :)

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

We like the atmosphere and the cleanliness of hostel!! awesome place to stay! The shower light will goes off if more than 10 mins, for green environmental.😉


91%

Amazing stay as part of the GOW100s. Thanks!

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Port Campbell Hostels

Please give us your feedback