Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Port Macquarie Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
10.0

Had a great 3 at Port Macquarie! Hostel staff were really good fun 😊 Would definitely recommend this hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
10.0

This place is the best hostel I've stayed at. They've got everything. Pool, snooker table, X-box, beanbags. The staff are super friendly and will help you out whatever the problem. It's clean, the beds are very comfortable and the whole atmosphere is amazing. It's in a great location with several shops/bottle shops around, only a short walk to the nearest beach. Plus a vineyard 5 mins up the road! It has shuttles to the koala hospital and a kangaroo sunset tour which is a must. Love this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey guys! thank you so much for your amazing review! We had so much fun having you here with us and are glad to see that you enjoyed yourselves too! We all wish you the best on your continuing travels :) Take care and have fun! - PMB

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Feb 2017
10.0

Very nice place to stay. Very homey feel to it. Staff were lovely and very engaging with everyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heya! Thank you for the amazing review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us as much as we enjoyed having you! Feel free to come back any time, we would love to have you again! Take care and safe travels! :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Feb 2017
7.4

Hostel was in a great location and the free pick up from the bus station saved a walk up the hill with luggage! Free shuttle to koala hospital and beach was handy as well. We stayed in a 6 bed female dorm which felt a little overcrowded, there was very little room for suitcases and backpacks, and there were only 4 lockers for a 6 bed dorm which does not make any sense! Overall it was okay for a 2 night stay, but would not recommend for a long term stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy us or our backpackers. We do our best to accommodate everyone that joins us with all the free buses, wifi, burgers, games, and all the rest that we include. The 6 Bed is usually a very spacious room and although we can suggest that others keep their things tidy, we cannot be held responsible for your messy roommates. The limit on the number of lockers is to save space, and as most of our travellers travel together, they end up sharing a locker anyway. We wish you could have elaborated on the score our staff recieved from you so that we could focus on improvement. Overall, we hope you enjoyed the 2 days despite all that.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
10.0

Brilliant place! Really friendly, helpful staff. Quite a few shuttle busses to various activities throughout the week. The cleanest hostel I've stayed at in Australia! Loads of areas to socialize and meet new friends and other travelers. Definatly coming back at some stage!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for the great review! We very much enjoyed having you here and hope you can come back sometime soon! Until then, take care and safe travels! :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Feb 2017
9.7

A small hostel in a small town with a friendly atmosphere. This hostel is spotless! My room didn't have a plug which was a bit of a pain but such a safe hostel I left my phone to charge. There are also plugs in kitchen and tv room which you can use. Wifi is excellent. It's extremely hot during the night but I have found that decent fans are hard to come by on the east coast so you'll get used to hot nights. Staff are friendly and the free trips are a bonus. Decent hostel for one or two nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the review! We are glad that you enjoyed yourself. Due to the house being 200+ years old, it has been very difficult for us to put power outlets in some of the rooms, but we are constantly trying to discover solutions for this. Either way, we hope you are having a good trip and welcome you back anytime! Take care - PMB

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
8.3

This place was lovely. The staff are friendly and we saw it being cleaned twice in our one nights stay so no complaints on the cleanliness. There are lockers for your valuables in the dorms and a nice chilled out vibe. Only thing I could have done with was aircon but that's nothing that would stop me from returning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your review! We would be happy to have you stay with us again anytime! As a small team, we do our best to maintain the hostel to its best standard, so we are happy to hear your recognition of this! :) We have tried to install air conditioning in the hostel before, but due to it's age (200+ years) we are unable to break through the hardwood walls to install any extra electric appliances! We do, however, have fans installed in our rooms to help allieviate the heat as best we can. :) Take care and best wishes! - PMB

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel and great staff! Felt like a home to me. Everyone was really welcoming. Place was clean and had a nice atmosphere. Common areas are good and there is free unlimited wifi. Had a great time and would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for the review! We are so glad you could take proper advantage of our free services! It is a pleasure to provide as much as we can! Please feel free to return any time! - PMB

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Honestly the best hostel I've been to! The staff was extremely nice. Only minus is that there is no plugholes in the bedrooms but it doesn't matter cause you can find heaps from other rooms. Bedrooms were spacious and aircon worked well. Kitchen was nice and clean. Couches at the frontyard were nice :) Totally worth every dollar I paid!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you so much for the review! We were very happy to have you stay with us! The plug are a bit of a shame as we can not install any more in the rooms due to the old hardwood walls being impenetrable by any electrician! But we consider it a great way to get people out of their rooms and socializing with each other, as you can find several plugs in all our common areas! Either way, we are happy to hear you enjoyed us and look forward to seeing you again. :) - PMB

  • Beany71
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jan 2017
9.4

The best hostel I've been so far! Staff really nice and helpful, very clean and due to the fact that it was a small hostel and not that many people around, it was very sociable and easy to get to know each other. Staff offers a shuttle from the greyhound bus stop, to the beach and to the koala hospital. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for your review! It makes us so happy to hear that you enjoyed all the free services we provide and are glad to have met you and been able to introduce you to lovely new people. :) Take care and best wishes from all of us! - PMB

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.