Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Port Macquarie Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 562 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 562 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Feb 2017
10.0

Very nice place to stay. Very homey feel to it. Staff were lovely and very engaging with everyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heya! Thank you for the amazing review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us as much as we enjoyed having you! Feel free to come back any time, we would love to have you again! Take care and safe travels! :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
10.0

Brilliant place! Really friendly, helpful staff. Quite a few shuttle busses to various activities throughout the week. The cleanest hostel I've stayed at in Australia! Loads of areas to socialize and meet new friends and other travelers. Definatly coming back at some stage!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for the great review! We very much enjoyed having you here and hope you can come back sometime soon! Until then, take care and safe travels! :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
8.3

This place was lovely. The staff are friendly and we saw it being cleaned twice in our one nights stay so no complaints on the cleanliness. There are lockers for your valuables in the dorms and a nice chilled out vibe. Only thing I could have done with was aircon but that's nothing that would stop me from returning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for your review! We would be happy to have you stay with us again anytime! As a small team, we do our best to maintain the hostel to its best standard, so we are happy to hear your recognition of this! :) We have tried to install air conditioning in the hostel before, but due to it's age (200+ years) we are unable to break through the hardwood walls to install any extra electric appliances! We do, however, have fans installed in our rooms to help allieviate the heat as best we can. :) Take care and best wishes! - PMB

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel and great staff! Felt like a home to me. Everyone was really welcoming. Place was clean and had a nice atmosphere. Common areas are good and there is free unlimited wifi. Had a great time and would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for the review! We are so glad you could take proper advantage of our free services! It is a pleasure to provide as much as we can! Please feel free to return any time! - PMB

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Honestly the best hostel I've been to! The staff was extremely nice. Only minus is that there is no plugholes in the bedrooms but it doesn't matter cause you can find heaps from other rooms. Bedrooms were spacious and aircon worked well. Kitchen was nice and clean. Couches at the frontyard were nice :) Totally worth every dollar I paid!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you so much for the review! We were very happy to have you stay with us! The plug are a bit of a shame as we can not install any more in the rooms due to the old hardwood walls being impenetrable by any electrician! But we consider it a great way to get people out of their rooms and socializing with each other, as you can find several plugs in all our common areas! Either way, we are happy to hear you enjoyed us and look forward to seeing you again. :) - PMB

  • Beany71
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jan 2017
9.4

The best hostel I've been so far! Staff really nice and helpful, very clean and due to the fact that it was a small hostel and not that many people around, it was very sociable and easy to get to know each other. Staff offers a shuttle from the greyhound bus stop, to the beach and to the koala hospital. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for your review! It makes us so happy to hear that you enjoyed all the free services we provide and are glad to have met you and been able to introduce you to lovely new people. :) Take care and best wishes from all of us! - PMB

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jan 2017
8.9

Port Macquarie backpackers was amazing! Fitz, Trish and Roman were so friendly and welcoming. My partner and I had a lovely stay. Really relaxed atmosphere. Was a bit warm in the room but the fan helped. We were taken to the koala hospital, kangaroo sunset and the light house which was brilliant. Thank you for a great stay :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank YOU for your review! We loved having you here, and would welcome you back any time you need! We enjoy taking it easy and wish to give everyone a relaxing feeling, after all you are meant to be on holiday! Take care and hope you are having a good time on the rest of your travels! - PMB

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
8.9

Lovely staff, always wanting to help or offer something for free a lot of the time. Like shuttles etc to see kangaroos or to the beach. Originally only going to stay a night ended up staying another!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thank you for the review! As we say, you pay for your bed and the rest is free! We love being able to share with everyone and encourage that kind of behavior as much as we can. :) We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it! We wish you had stayed for even longer! Come back anytime! - PMB

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
10.0

Just amazing!! Can't praise them enough! The staff where so inviting and showed us around in a friendly way. The evening was so relaxed and we where able to eat at anytime which was nice as some places close there kitchen. The pool was super clean and the rooms where immaculate. Would defiently stay there again because of the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey!! Thanks for the amazing review! It does so much for us, we are very grateful! We are so glad you enjoyed staying with us as much as we enjoyed having you! Please feel free to come back anytime and enjoy our 24 hour kitchen as much as you like! Take care and best wishes! - PMB

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
9.4

I absolutely loved my stay and could happily have stayed longer!! Everyone who worked there were really friendly and always welcoming and up for a chat, and the people staying there were nice, the small hostel was homely and made it easy to get to know everyone.. the pool was great when it gets too hot and the hostel was only a short walk to wherever you needed to go, highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thank you for the review! We love to meet new people and had a great time getting to know you. :) We are so glad that you enjoyed staying here and would welcome you back any time! Take care and safe travels! - PMB

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.