Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Port Macquarie Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 470 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 470 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
Port Macquarie Backpackers Located at 2 Hastings River Drive, , Port Macquarie.
Port Macquarie Backpackers
Australia
Port Macquarie New South Wales NSW 2444 2 Hastings River Drive
94% 470
-31.4348698 152.8999257
Port Macquarie Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • EmmaFay90
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
8.0

Lovely staff! Natalie & Jake were there when we were. Also Tony, the guy who owns it, was awesome, gave us some really good tips about places to hit on our way up the East Coast. I'm fairly certain we booked a female only dorm but there was one guy in there, we weren't bothered so it wasn't an issue, just FYI. Also, we didn't have to strip the beds when we left, nor make them when we got there so I'm not sure how often they're washed. Really enjoyed our stay there and would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the nice reveiw.Beds are made up clean everyday day for our beautiful guests, and we ask you only to remove your pillow case so the cleaners know whitch beds to strip and remake, that is our job and what you are paying for.Travel safe hope you got some YUMMY prawns at Yamba Thanks Tony

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
5th Sep 2016
8.6

Doesnt greet guests, signs everywhere. I know not to take long showers when im on the toilet. Not just because of common sense but because signs everywhere. If you want to stay for the overnight bus you have to pay 10 dollars. Wifi works, kitchen is nice, free pool (both kinds). Staff (the couple working there) is amazingly friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review . We do have signs about short showers, because Australia is the driest continent on earth, and being eco-friendly we like to try and help out our planet. The late bus charge is for your convenience to use the hostel at night after you checked out in the morning, you can’t pay for 1 night and stay 2 it’s not fair to other guests if you’re staying here to midnight for free when everybody else has paid for that night. And it’s your choice to pay or not. Our kitchen is nice, because it’s new and was designed to be social with 4 cooking pionts , and yes our new managers are stars. Travel safe Tony

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
8.9

Nat and Jake were fantastic hosts, nice modern kitchen and a great chilled out vibe at the hostel! A great place to relax and chill out without the massive party vibe that you get with other hostels. We stayed for a week, and would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Great to have you guys here for the week, makes the job easy having nice people around, travel safe, Tony

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
8.9

Tony, Nat & Jake really set the tone for the great atmosphere at PMB. Tony has owned the place for nearly 15 years and Nat & Jake are long time travellers. The atmosphere is chilled out and very homely. It's a house layout vs a larger complex so you naturally mix with other guests in a way that feels like you're all staying together. The free Wi-Fi is good and works everywhere, kitchen is well supplied, good showers, exceptionally clean and close to GH stop but Nat will pick you up anyway.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving us a review! We loved having you to stay and appreciate the feedback. Safe travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.4

Lovely quiet hostel. Great communication from understanding staff. Our room was very cute and colourful. Felt much more like being at home than in another large generic hostel. As a stop off on the way to Sydney ideal, but probably wouldn't be loads to do for a number of days.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
8.0

I imagine this place is great in the summer when there's lots of people there and using the pool and veranda. Unfortunately I was there in winter and it was really quiet so basically no atmosphere, plus it was freezing at night. No on-site staff so had to call a number when I arrived for Tony to come and let me in. He was very friendly though and made sure I knew/had everything I needed before he left again. Really good kitchen, clean bathroom, free pool table, close enough walk into town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
9.7

Great clean and cosey hostel and the staff are realy friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, it was good to have you, if only briefly! Have fun with bumblebee, and good luck with your firespinning career!

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th May 2016
8.0

Pros: Dylan and the rest of the staff were awesome, a good atmosphere in the hostel Cons: a bit far away from City center (1.5 km) and the koala hospital (2 km. the shuttle happens only if there are at least 4 that want to go), no electrical output in some of the rooms (it's an historical house and they aren't allowed to add them) and no place to store valuables during the stay or luggage after checking out while waiting for the bus/train Overall- good hostel that I do recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi :) Thanks for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. It makes us happy to make you happy, and we would have been glad to store valuables for you if you'd mentioned that you wanted somewhere to store them. Yes, the free shuttle we offer to local attractions only goes if there are enough lovely guests to go! Hope you enjoy the last bit of your trip, and your mum's delicious food when you get home :)

27th May 2016
10.0

This is a lovely small hostel where everyone hangs out together in the evenings and is extremely inviting. The place is clean, well located and relaxed. Would definitely recommend. P.S. ask Dylan to sing; he's got a lovely voice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

aw shucks! that's very kind of you. it was fun having you and your alien eyes here :P safe travels, have fun, keep being you!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd May 2016
9.7

We had an amazing time here, people were amazing as was the manager. Made some great friends wish we had stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the lovely review! We're glad you felt comfortable and met some cool people - and you were the cool people that other people made friends with :D You're very welcome to come back and stay longer any time!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.