Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Port Macquarie Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 590 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 590 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lisastorer
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel. Friendly and helpful staff. Great atmosphere. Plenty of organised activities to do. I was only there one night but was super impressed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2017
9.4

Very charming little hostel. Great kitchen, nice rooms and friendly atmosphere. Ben and Sam are doing a good job keeping everyone happy and at the same time everything organized and clean. Had a very nice time there! Thumbs up!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mosh
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2017
9.4

Awesome hostel, would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2017
9.4

Loved this hostel so much! Met awesome people and the staff (Ben, Sammy and Tristan) were so friendly which made the experience even better. Everything is very clean, the kitchen is great and they provide lots of free services. If the weather was better we definitely would have taken advantage of the pool, but even without it we had a great time! Loved that the size of the hostel wasn't too big either :). Thanks Tony and staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Mar 2017
10.0

I couldn't recommend Port Macquarie backpackers more, it's easily the best hostel I've stayed in. Certainly stop there on your way through to Byron as the town is great for a couple of days to break up the journey and the hostel is really nice. It's clean and there are plenty of activities going on. The managers Sammi and Ben couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. It felt like I was just staying at a friend's house. Incredible value for money :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
10.0

Had a great 3 at Port Macquarie! Hostel staff were really good fun 😊 Would definitely recommend this hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
10.0

This place is the best hostel I've stayed at. They've got everything. Pool, snooker table, X-box, beanbags. The staff are super friendly and will help you out whatever the problem. It's clean, the beds are very comfortable and the whole atmosphere is amazing. It's in a great location with several shops/bottle shops around, only a short walk to the nearest beach. Plus a vineyard 5 mins up the road! It has shuttles to the koala hospital and a kangaroo sunset tour which is a must. Love this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey guys! thank you so much for your amazing review! We had so much fun having you here with us and are glad to see that you enjoyed yourselves too! We all wish you the best on your continuing travels :) Take care and have fun! - PMB

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Feb 2017
10.0

Very nice place to stay. Very homey feel to it. Staff were lovely and very engaging with everyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heya! Thank you for the amazing review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us as much as we enjoyed having you! Feel free to come back any time, we would love to have you again! Take care and safe travels! :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Feb 2017
7.4

Hostel was in a great location and the free pick up from the bus station saved a walk up the hill with luggage! Free shuttle to koala hospital and beach was handy as well. We stayed in a 6 bed female dorm which felt a little overcrowded, there was very little room for suitcases and backpacks, and there were only 4 lockers for a 6 bed dorm which does not make any sense! Overall it was okay for a 2 night stay, but would not recommend for a long term stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy us or our backpackers. We do our best to accommodate everyone that joins us with all the free buses, wifi, burgers, games, and all the rest that we include. The 6 Bed is usually a very spacious room and although we can suggest that others keep their things tidy, we cannot be held responsible for your messy roommates. The limit on the number of lockers is to save space, and as most of our travellers travel together, they end up sharing a locker anyway. We wish you could have elaborated on the score our staff recieved from you so that we could focus on improvement. Overall, we hope you enjoyed the 2 days despite all that.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
10.0

Brilliant place! Really friendly, helpful staff. Quite a few shuttle busses to various activities throughout the week. The cleanest hostel I've stayed at in Australia! Loads of areas to socialize and meet new friends and other travelers. Definatly coming back at some stage!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for the great review! We very much enjoyed having you here and hope you can come back sometime soon! Until then, take care and safe travels! :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.