Hostelworld.com

Port Macquarie Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.3
Port Macquarie Backpackers Located at 2 Hastings River Drive, , Port Macquarie.
Port Macquarie Backpackers
Australia
Port Macquarie New South Wales NSW 2444 2 Hastings River Drive
93% 457
-31.4348698 152.8999257
Port Macquarie Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
9.7

Great clean and cosey hostel and the staff are realy friendly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, it was good to have you, if only briefly! Have fun with bumblebee, and good luck with your firespinning career!

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th May 2016
8.0

Pros: Dylan and the rest of the staff were awesome, a good atmosphere in the hostel Cons: a bit far away from City center (1.5 km) and the koala hospital (2 km. the shuttle happens only if there are at least 4 that want to go), no electrical output in some of the rooms (it's an historical house and they aren't allowed to add them) and no place to store valuables during the stay or luggage after checking out while waiting for the bus/train Overall- good hostel that I do recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi :) Thanks for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. It makes us happy to make you happy, and we would have been glad to store valuables for you if you'd mentioned that you wanted somewhere to store them. Yes, the free shuttle we offer to local attractions only goes if there are enough lovely guests to go! Hope you enjoy the last bit of your trip, and your mum's delicious food when you get home :)

27th May 2016
10.0

This is a lovely small hostel where everyone hangs out together in the evenings and is extremely inviting. The place is clean, well located and relaxed. Would definitely recommend. P.S. ask Dylan to sing; he's got a lovely voice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

aw shucks! that's very kind of you. it was fun having you and your alien eyes here :P safe travels, have fun, keep being you!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd May 2016
9.7

We had an amazing time here, people were amazing as was the manager. Made some great friends wish we had stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the lovely review! We're glad you felt comfortable and met some cool people - and you were the cool people that other people made friends with :D You're very welcome to come back and stay longer any time!

20th May 2016
10.0

Best place to stay in Port Macquarie. It's a home away from home, but with an upgrade because of the awesome porch out front to watch all the excitement of the city. Staff is excellent and are filled with great ideas on activities to do in and around town. The place has a great atmosphere from the moment you walk in! Super clean, comfy beds, great kitchen and prime location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thanks for the review :) It was fun having you two here, always awesome having a verandah crew to watch the excitement of the city with. Thanks for the souvenir Canada pin! I'll keep you updated with your funny video daily subscription... I'm sure you'll enjoy the next stops on your trip, let me know how you go :)

9th May 2016
9.1

Very cosy hostel, great staff, good kitchen and clean rooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! It was fun having you here, and we got to learn something about humour and juggling, too... keep on keepin on, and enjoy your trip!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th May 2016
9.7

Receptionist was an absolute champion, good location, friendly people and great atmosphere. Comfortable beds, very clean hostel - doesn't smell like a hostel! Love it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You're an absolute champion! Next time you'll just have to stay a bit longer... next time I fly I'll go have a look in the cockpit, maybe I'll see ya there!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2016
10.0

Dylan the manager picked me up from the bus stop and was so friendly, funny and welcoming from the start, Tony the owner was funny and friendly too - see you in Alaska! I felt so comfortable at this hostel that I didn't want to leave, and extended my stay. Aine the cleaner does such a great job and is so lovely. Would definitely recommend to anyone, great atmosphere, and free coffee :D hope the next hostel I stay in has such a handsome manager ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Haha glad you like us, we like you too. Always a nice start to the day hearing your cheeky giggle... well, after you had your 10 coffees, anyway. Good luck with your goal of becoming a koala, you can do whatever you set your mind too. Have fun! See you next time

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th May 2016
9.7

A driver came and picked us up from the bus stop. Our room was a very good size and the toilets were clean and the shower provided an extra bit of room so you can get changed. They offered a couple of trips. The manager was great and could help you whenever you needed and was able to tell you where everything was that you needed. The vibe was great and an enjoyable experience. Overall it was a great stay and would 100% recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're so happy you enjoyed your time here, it was good having you guys around, and what a birthday we all celebrated! Glad we could help :) Wouldn't have been the same vibe without ya! Keep on enjoying your trip :)

  • kathander
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th May 2016
10.0

Loved this place! Had the greatest time with the greatest people :) super relaxed and homely atmosphere. I can highly recommend this place anytime! Cool with cool on - as I say ;-) See you soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

we don't have ALL the greatest people, now that you're gone :( thanks for coming, keep me updated on all your cat-sitting adventures. cool with cool on!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.