Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Port Macquarie Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 602 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 602 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
7.4

Enjoyed our stay here very much. Was not busy when we stayed so me and my girlfriend had a 4 bed dorm to ourselves which was nice. Staff nice. Always ask how we was and what we had been doing in the day. Kitchen toilets all clean. Only downside was there was no plug socket in our particular room. Another issue was out late check out. We got bus at 01:30 but had to pay 10 dollars to use hostel until then which was not stated on website or in hostel world so was addition cost for us.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure to have you and your girlfriend stay in our little Hostel, even if it was a bit quiet! Unfortunately due to the nature of the house, Certain rooms don't have power points, due to the age of the house (200 years) and the way it was built, we cannot break through the hard wood to run plugs into all of our dorm rooms, we try and make up for this by placing as many as we can elsewhere throughout the Hostel. We will be attempting to rectify this with your room in August when we close for renovation. As for the late check out, we allow all our guests who are catching buses to stay for free until 5PM, after 5PM we ask for the $10 to make it fair for the other guests who have paid to be there after that time and use the facilities, and on the Hostel as a business. We cannot help what time your bus comes. The $10 charge to stay after 5PM was originally thought up by backpackers like yourselves when asked what was fair for backpackers and the Hostel as a business. I hope this didn't ruin your time in Port too much! Regards and safe travels, PMB Team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th May 2017
6.0

For backpackers it would probably be enjoyable for you to stay in. Despite its dated and dirty first impression the room was clean and the beds comfortable. Kitchen looked well cared for. It looks as though the hostel is set up for you to enjoy with movies and play stations etc. Seems to be fairly social and staff help to make the most of your stay. The negatives- no power points in room, $20 deposit for key, pay in cash as extra charge for card, staff unorganised/lost keys to deposit box.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We�re sorry to see that you didn�t like our hostel, however we�re glad you agree that we appeal to Backpackers as that�s who we set ourselves up for. We�re also sorry that you found your room to be dated and dirty, however you also said it was clean and comfortable, we�re not too sure what to make of that. By dated and dirty I can only assume you are referring to the fact the house is over 200 years old and that we have tried to preserve as much of its historic features as possible, the vast majority of guests give good feedback about this and say it gives it a vintage, homely feel. It�s the same reason that there are no Power Points in the room you stayed in, as we cannot break through the Hard-Wood of the house without risking the structural integrity of the property. There are plenty of power points throughout the hostel however, some right outside your door which you must have completely missed. The key deposit is $20 as that�s how much it costs to have a new key cut if a guest loses it or forgets to hand it in, which does happen. From my own experience as a backpacker, Key deposits are pretty much a standard practice across Australian Hostels. You also say we were unorganised and that we lost the keys to the deposit box, however it�s not like you had to wait around for us to find them as I gave you $20 straight away out of my own pocket. I can assure you that�s the last time I�ll be doing that. As for the $2 credit card charge, this only applies to Australian cards, we don�t set these charges, they are set by the bank, Luckily we have a cash machine just across the street. We�re sorry that you didn�t enjoy our Hostel, May I recommend that you try a Hotel next time you stay in Port Macquarie, they would probably cater for your needs better than a backpackers could! Regards, PMB Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2017
10.0

A wonderful little hostel with great and helpful staff, a very clean kitchen and brilliant location. 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • richard-jones
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
10.0

Stayed here for five nights and don't regret a single one. The on site staff, Ben and Sam are so friendly and welcoming. The hostel itself is clean, comfy beds, brilliant facilities, but ontop of that, they offer a huge range of extra activities at no extra cost, like kangaroo sunsets and koala hospital. The location is perfect, within walking distance from town centre and the beach. I have no hesitation rating this 10/10, I had a brilliant stay and I would recommend it to anyone staying in PM.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.0

Really nice place to stay, comfy beds, 24 hour check in, clean room, clean kitchen, free pool, movie room, good wifi and really cool hosts! Would stay again if I was here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lisastorer
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel. Friendly and helpful staff. Great atmosphere. Plenty of organised activities to do. I was only there one night but was super impressed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2017
9.4

Very charming little hostel. Great kitchen, nice rooms and friendly atmosphere. Ben and Sam are doing a good job keeping everyone happy and at the same time everything organized and clean. Had a very nice time there! Thumbs up!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mosh
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2017
9.4

Awesome hostel, would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2017
9.4

Loved this hostel so much! Met awesome people and the staff (Ben, Sammy and Tristan) were so friendly which made the experience even better. Everything is very clean, the kitchen is great and they provide lots of free services. If the weather was better we definitely would have taken advantage of the pool, but even without it we had a great time! Loved that the size of the hostel wasn't too big either :). Thanks Tony and staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Mar 2017
10.0

I couldn't recommend Port Macquarie backpackers more, it's easily the best hostel I've stayed in. Certainly stop there on your way through to Byron as the town is great for a couple of days to break up the journey and the hostel is really nice. It's clean and there are plenty of activities going on. The managers Sammi and Ben couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. It felt like I was just staying at a friend's house. Incredible value for money :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.