Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Portal del Sur

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,525 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,525 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
Portal del Sur Located at Hipolito Yrigoyen 855, , Buenos Aires.
Portal del Sur
Argentina
Buenos Aires Hipolito Yrigoyen 855
85% 1525
-34.6094269 -58.3785796
Portal del Sur
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
7.4

People who worked there were great, just wasn't exactly what I was expecting. The "free activities" they mention are on a schedule and only happen once a week, so if you miss tengo lesson day you miss tengo lessons. The kitchen is HOT and the common room is small and sort of awkward. My room was ok because there was air conditioning but not all of them have it. It has a zero alcohol policy which means you have to buy their very over priced beer and only drink on the rooftop (no view).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
9.7

Excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ericashortte
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.1

the kitchen is not well equipped. rooms are very very super hot if you don't have an aircon. common area is a bit small... but the rooftop bar is really nice and staff are super helpful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.1

The old building has a lot of character if you don't mind the heat in the kitchen and common area (we were there at the height of the summer in January); good location, decent continental breakfast, (weak) wifi in the room, so perfectly OK for a couple of nights if in transit through BA.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
7.7

Was expecting a more lively atmosphere but it was really lacking when I was there, might have been a bad time? Would have rather stayed at Milhouse, which is just down the street and always seemed really lively. They have all the basic amenities plus a/c in the rooms which is clutch in BA during the summer. The downtown area was great for a few days to check out but the best neighborhood is Palermo and that's where I stayed for the majority of my trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
4.0

The reception guy was so annoying and did not help at all. One time we got locked inside the hostel for 15 min because there was no one in the reception to open the door. The 4 dorms room was too small and without AC it was too hot.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
6.9

+ Large lockers that fit your whole backpack. Perfect location. Fun free activities organised by the hostel. The rooftop bar and free breakfast are nice. -- The bathroom was filthy with a lot of fungus on the showercurtain. It was wet all the time. Some room's apparently had airconditioning but mine didn't. You can't choose online. It got really unpleasently hot during the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.0

Great location central to key downtown parts of BA, lovely staff, and a cool atmosphere. Two major complaints, the internet was terrible (like, holding phone in the air trying to get enough reception to load a website bad), which only got worse when more people were using it at peak times. The second issue I had was a 10% commission charged when we paid the bill by credit card at the end was a nasty surprise. Despite those two, I would definitely recommend thanks to the staff and atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
10.0

I choose to stay in a hostel so I could meet people and this one was absolutely fantastic. The free tours are one of the best I've been in (and that's a lot), the guys are really knowledgable and engaging. The staff at the hostel are all so friendly and helpful and the rooftop bar is a great way to finish off an evening.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
8.3

The Portal del Sur is a delight. Although it's run down, it has charm, notably in the ancient timber lift (possibly from the time of the Spanish Conquistadores). The staff were all friendly and helpful; nothing seemed too much bother for them. Their English was excellent, and our Spanish was enough to break the ice with them. This is obviously not a five-star hotel; but the room was clean, the beds were all right and the atmosphere was pleasant. The location is central to many of the sights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.