X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Portal del Sur Reviews

Hipolito Yrigoyen 855, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1105 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Very nice hostel with a lot of character. The roof top bar is a major bonus as that is one thing BA lacks a lot of. Very nice place.


83%

Terrífico! Un ambiente tranquilo y bienvenida para personas de todas partes. Un staff muy útil y simpatico.


94%

It's the second time we stayed at Portal Del Sur and the vibe is great. If you're a couple, the private ensuite is good and the location and facilities (roof-top bar, breakfast included) can't be beat. The staff is really helpful too.


91%

Loved the atmosphere and rooftop bar, great for meeting loads of new people. Lots of activities available a lot of fun all going out together. First time in BA so booked here and Millhouse to try the two and would say Portal is better for sure! Less of a business, way more fun and welcoming. Very clean bathrooms and facilities in general. Loved this place.


97%

Really nice and welcoming hostel. Good atmosphere and the staff is very kind and helpful. The only drawback in my opinion is the lack if ac in the hostel. Some room have ac but being everywhere else is really unbearable in buenos Heath.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Our bedroom door was extremely hard to lock and there was one key in a mixed dorm of 4 makes it very tough to keep your things safe! The aircon is a must theres no other airflow to speak of but thery are super noisy. It was $19 a night so i guess you get what you pay for. Staff are all friendly and the free activities are great.

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Sweeet hostel! Had an amazing time, created a family like atmosphere with the the other people staying at the hostel. The roof top bar was very cool and the staff was amazing especially Manuel the italian man was very helpful and professional.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

GREAT hostel! I came here to stay 1 week and ended up staying 4. The staff is excellent and the accomodations are great. There is a beautiful rooftop bar with terrace. Activities are planned almost every day and there are affordable Spanish lessons right in the hostel. A great choice for any type of traveller!


77%

It's an okay hostal. Not a good crowd of people . And although it's central I don't recommend this location in buenos aires


89%

Very friendly staff and a nice atmosphere!

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I had the greatest time in Buenos Aires and at Portal del Sur Hostel, the staff was very helpful and always keen to answer any inquire in the nicest way. It feels, not only safe, but also, cozy and fun inside. The location is very in the middle of every good thing there is to see and visit in Buenos Aires. The roof top bar gives you the perfect opportunity to meet and have a drink with people from every part of the world. My mum and I had the best time at Portal del Sur !.


100%

It´s been a very pleasant time with employees in Portal del Sur. Very eficient and extremely friendly! La pasé Bomba con el grupo de gente que trabaja en Portal del Sur! Muy efectivos extremadamente acogedores!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Granted I haven't spent a lot of time in South American hostels, but I was very impressed with this hostel. The maids do a thou rough cleaning job every day, the layout is very conducive to socializing. It's got a awesome roof top bar with reasonably priced drinks, it is centrally located in the heart of the city, and the staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hostel to any friends heading to Buenos Aires.


54%

My flight got into BA late, and staying here was a last minute resort. I immediately checked out the next day. The cleanliness of this hostel was no bueno. I was give sheets with what looked like an old blood stain and immediately showed the staff and prior to doing so was witness to a couple cock roaches. I arrived hungry, But immediately lost my appetite after 10 min of being here. If it wasn't so late I would have checked out. I had to keep telling my mind it was just like camping.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I can't recommend this place enough. We were supposed to stay 3 nights only but ended up extending our stay for two weeks. This place has a decent, chilled out vibe during the day and at night there is a brilliant rooftop bar. The staff were excellent - extremely friendly and always helpful.


100%

Great friendly staff with a relaxed attitude and everyone is willing to help you find your way. A+ team


77%

Employees were very nice and helpful, their valiant efforts to use English with me was greatly appreciated. Breakfast was very light and in limited supply. The bunk beds were terribly insecure. Showers and bathrooms were fine. Kitchen was fine. Public area and bar were fine. Strong room to store your belongins and lockers for your bags

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice place!!!:)


83%

Staff was perfect. The hostel has really atmosphere. But there were bedbugs in a couple of rooms. But they did everything to get rid of them. The hostel gave the money back to the travelers in those rooms and gave them a room without bedbugs ;-)


54%

# 1 i had to pay the price for 2 (two) people in a tiny private room with soiled bedsheets, yuk!!!!!!!!!!!!! blood stains etc. on it. can you believe that. 40 dollars for soiled linens. i wish i had a chance to get my money back. # 2 a late check out was impossible due to the inflexibility of the cleaning staff # 3 the breakfast was sub-standard. a.) they started clearing the tables as well as the buffet prior to the time of 11 am, in order to leave exactly at 11 am. thats just not

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Buenos Aires Hostels

Please give us your feedback