Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Portal del Sur

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,460 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,460 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
Portal del Sur Located at Hipolito Yrigoyen 855, , Buenos Aires.
Portal del Sur
Argentina
Buenos Aires Hipolito Yrigoyen 855
87% 1460
-34.6094269 -58.3785796
Portal del Sur
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Nov 2016
9.4

Great place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Anne, hope you're doing great! We want to thank your for your review, it was lovely to have you with us and we're really happy to know that you had a great stay! Comeback anytime soon and safe travels!

18th Nov 2016
8.0

Half Patty's Pub, half the loft from New Girl. Rickety beds, missing ladders, and just a tad drab. Yo barman upstairs, I would of been you're best customer, just lighten up. The no byob policy on the roof is tough one to get over, but I get it. Bathroom is pretty fratty. YO, the building is rad. Fix the beds, breakfast was good. Girl at the desk playing Chet Faker, youre cool, but mix up the tracks. Bariloche sucks stay in BA

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Matteson, hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for leaving us a review, it's important for us to know on what we must work to offer a better service and a enjoyable stay. Have fun & enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
10.0

Fabulous welcome, great atmosphere, beautiful building, pretty view from rooftop bar. Would definitely return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Nardy! Hope you're doing great! Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure to have you here and comeback anytime soon! Safe travels & enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Nov 2016
7.1

Central hostel. Good breakfast. Quiet, definitely not a party hostel. Wifi isn't great. Staff are friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Ruth! Hope you're doing fine! Thank you for leaving a review, it's important for us to know your opinion to work on the things we can improve, then we can offer a better service to our guests. Safe travels and have fun!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
6.9

Not overly impressed. Both male toilets where not working with what appeared to be no real attempts to get them fixed. The clearness of the showers wasn't ideal. However the architecture of the building is great and the roof top bar is cool

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, hope it's all good with you! We're sad to hear that we didn't fulfil your expectations and we'll keep working to give our best to our lovely guests. We had some major problems with the men bathroom during your stay and we tried to give a comfortable solution, sorry for the inconvenience. Thanks and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Oct 2016
9.4

Great place to stay - very very clean (& make your bed everyday!), nice building, friendly and helpful staff, fantastic central location. Decent breakfast and good outside rooftop and communal area. Wifi a bit temperamental, but generally worked and kitchen slightly small for number of guests. Overall very good, would recommend and stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Katherine! Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure to have you here with us and we're welcome anytime! Safe travels & enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Oct 2016
10.0

Excellent central location with easy access to everything. Great old colonial building with atrium, lift, rooftop terrace, cafe and bar. Helpful, cheerful staff with excellent English. Calm and pleasant atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there June! Hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review. We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time with us! Comeback anytime soon cause our doors are always open for you! Safe travels and have fun!

29th Sep 2016
10.0

I can only recommend this hostel. Had a great stay in Buenos Aires thanks to them!! Charming place with a very helpful staff that gave me the best tips about the city. They have loads of free activities that helps you to meet other travelers easily, and for a solo traveler like me that was perfect. Breakfast is tasty with a lot of local things as "medialunas" and "dulce de leche", the wi-fi worked perfectly well and the showers were clean and with good water pressure! Thanks for everything!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Joao! Thank you so much for your review, and you welcome anytime! Have fun and safe travels!

23rd Sep 2016
8.9

Great place - stayed here twice and loved it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Hope you're doing great! Thank you so much for your review, we're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Comeback anytime soon, it's always a pleasure to have you here! Safe travels and enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
9.7

I had a really good time staying there. I would have been better if the bathroom were cleaner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Fernando! Hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review, makes us happy to know that you had a very nice stay and we're making all the efforts to keep the bathrooms clean. Thanks and safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.