Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Portal del Sur

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
Portal del Sur Located at Hipolito Yrigoyen 855, , Buenos Aires.
Portal del Sur
Argentina
Buenos Aires Hipolito Yrigoyen 855
86% 1412
-34.6094269 -58.3785796
Portal del Sur
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
15th Aug 2016
7.7

really central and close to Plaza de Mayo and Avenida de Mayo, they offer many different activities during the day/night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Selina! Hope is all good with you! Thank you so much for your review, it helps us to improve our services and turn the hostel into a better place. It makes us happy to know that you had a nice stay in general, and we're already on the move to improve the things you pointed out. Have fun and enjoy!

5th Aug 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel with a REALLY good staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Dominic! We're so happy to hear that you had such a nice experience here with us! We'll be waiting for you in the future! Safe travels and enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jul 2016
6.3

This hostel is perfectly fine. The staff are not the friendliest I´ve ever encountered, but they are grand, there is a lovely rooftop bar, breakfast is included and things are generally of a decent standard. The wifi, however, is very patchy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Hazel! Hope it's all good with you! We'd like to thank you for your review, it´s the best way for us to improve our service. We're sorry to hear that your experience wasn't the best, and let us apologize for the inconvenients with the staff. Regarding to the wi-fi we're always telling the providers about this issue and they tell us everything is working fine, so now, we bought some range extenders to install for the guests to have a better connection. Thanks and enjoy your trip.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
7.7

Portal del Sur, in my opinion was pretty good. Breakfast would've been if it wasn't just sugar and more sugar! The showers are great! Remember though, showers are shared so don't jump out in your bday suit. The atmosphere was great, I liked that rooms opened up to a central community where everyone came out to hang out, watch tv, and eat. I like the fact that it forced you to chat and make new friends. Location was ok. Price wasn't terrible, but should be cheaper!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Fernando! Hope you're doing fine! Thank you so much for your review and we´re glad to hear that you had an overall nice stay. We'll keep in mind your suggestions and we can tell you that at the moment we're working to provide new products at the breakfast. About the price, it´s a little bit hard because of the inflation and the economy of the country. Stay safe and enjoy!

11th Jul 2016
9.4

It's a very good place TO RELAX AND HAVE FUN ON YOUR OWN / MEET PEOPLE. BEST: ROOF JAM BAR WITH BALCONY. 2ND BEST: COMMON AREA ON 2ND FLOOR - ATRIUM WITH A KITCHEN. Common area on 2nd floor closes early. Probably to avoid people making noise (there are rooms are around it and above it). it's the base of the atrium.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Matheus! Hope it´s all good with you! We would like to thank you for your review. It´s really important for us to know the experience you had and we're truly happy to hear that you enjoyed it! Safe travels and we're waiting for you in the future!

  • rafael_maverick
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.7

The only complain is the Internet which is not really good especially in the bedroom, but it works fair enough in the 5th floor. All the rest was perfect!!! Very nice and friendly staff. That's my second time and it was definitely great because of the hostel. Great atmosphere! ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Olá Rafael! Esperamos que esteja tudo bem contigo! É com muita satisfacao e sentimento de dever cumprido que sabemos que gostaste da tua segunda estadia aqui no hostel. ë para isso que trabalhamos, para que os nossos hospedes tenham uma experiencia memoravel e inesquecivel! Em relacao ao tema da internet, já estamos a trabalhar no caso, uma vez que vamos proceder a instalacao de amplificadores de sinal nos proximos dias. Um abraco e esperamos ver-te no futuro!

  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Jun 2016
10.0

We loved that hostel! Stayed there for 3 nights. Location was very good. It was a bit cold in the hostel but we had heater in the room so it was okey. The staff was great! They speak English very well and helped us in all the topic that we need. The terrace bar has a very nice view. And the guy in the bar prepare awesome cocktails.:) They organized workshops every evening. We've attended to Tango and Mate tasting. They both were amazing experiences. I would definetely stay there again! Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you so much for your review! We're so happy to hear that you had a lovely time here! We hope to see you in the future! Safe travels and enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jun 2016
9.1

Beautiful hostel. Very clean. Secure and safe area. Good location;15 minute walk to good restaurants, 5 minute walk to main plaza with multiple subway lines. Hot showers. Great spread for breakfast. Staff always happy to help. Great place just lacking atmosphere as was low season.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Adele! Hope it's all good with you! We really appreciate your review, it help us getting better. We are happy to know that your stay with us was wonderful and we are starting some new activities and promos to make a better atmosphere during the low season. We hope to see you in the future!! Safe travels and enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Jun 2016
7.1

Good hostel, good stuff, little expensive compared to some other. Plus the taxi we ordered from the hostel to the airport kind of ripped us off/tried to even more, although it was originally already quite expensive. This should be better communicated and controlled by this hostel!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review. Its very important for us cause it help us to improve. We're sorry for the inconvenient and we're glad to tell you that we sent an alert for the taxi company to solve that issue and keep an eye on their drivers. Safe travels and have fun!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th May 2016
8.3

Overall was a great stay, got an upgraded room to a private which was a nice surprise. Facilities are great. Wasn't much happening here in the way of entertainment/ parties or guest just hanging out. Room was very clean but no heating so a little cold in winter. Breakfast was good :). Would have like a little more help/info about where to go what to do. Overall a good hostel safe and secure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.