Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Portal del Sur

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,425 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
Portal del Sur Located at Hipolito Yrigoyen 855, , Buenos Aires.
Portal del Sur
Argentina
Buenos Aires Hipolito Yrigoyen 855
86% 1425
-34.6094269 -58.3785796
Portal del Sur
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
9.7

I had a really good time staying there. I would have been better if the bathroom were cleaner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Fernando! Hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review, makes us happy to know that you had a very nice stay and we're making all the efforts to keep the bathrooms clean. Thanks and safe travels!

17th Sep 2016
8.6

Very good location, very nice staff (spanish and english speaking), simple breakfast (medialunas with coffee, juice) and incredible view from terrace. Wifi doesn't work in the room (3th floor). Recomendable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Marta! Hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review, we're happy to know that in general you enjoyed your stay with us. Comeback anytime soon cause we'll be waiting for you!

9th Sep 2016
8.6

Stayed in a twin room which was fairly nice and had an ensuite. Hostel overall was lovely - great use of the space in the building with the small common area and excellent rooftop bar / breakfast area. Staff were really friendly and we booked a tango show through the hostel that was excellent and very reasonably priced. Relaxed atmosphere that probably suits couples / small groups more than solo travellers. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Hope it's all good with you! We´re really glad to hear that you had a great time with us here, and our door will always be open for you! Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again! Safe travels and enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Sep 2016
8.0

Good hostel. The receptionist was very helpful. The location is ideal with lots of restaurants and facilities. The hostel also offer free activities throughout the week. Recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Sook! Hope you´re doing fine! We´re happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us, and we want to thank you for your review cause it´s the best way to help us to improve. We'll always be here with the doors open for you. Safe travels and enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
15th Aug 2016
7.7

really central and close to Plaza de Mayo and Avenida de Mayo, they offer many different activities during the day/night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Selina! Hope is all good with you! Thank you so much for your review, it helps us to improve our services and turn the hostel into a better place. It makes us happy to know that you had a nice stay in general, and we're already on the move to improve the things you pointed out. Have fun and enjoy!

5th Aug 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel with a REALLY good staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Dominic! We're so happy to hear that you had such a nice experience here with us! We'll be waiting for you in the future! Safe travels and enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jul 2016
6.3

This hostel is perfectly fine. The staff are not the friendliest I´ve ever encountered, but they are grand, there is a lovely rooftop bar, breakfast is included and things are generally of a decent standard. The wifi, however, is very patchy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Hazel! Hope it's all good with you! We'd like to thank you for your review, it´s the best way for us to improve our service. We're sorry to hear that your experience wasn't the best, and let us apologize for the inconvenients with the staff. Regarding to the wi-fi we're always telling the providers about this issue and they tell us everything is working fine, so now, we bought some range extenders to install for the guests to have a better connection. Thanks and enjoy your trip.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
7.7

Portal del Sur, in my opinion was pretty good. Breakfast would've been if it wasn't just sugar and more sugar! The showers are great! Remember though, showers are shared so don't jump out in your bday suit. The atmosphere was great, I liked that rooms opened up to a central community where everyone came out to hang out, watch tv, and eat. I like the fact that it forced you to chat and make new friends. Location was ok. Price wasn't terrible, but should be cheaper!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Fernando! Hope you're doing fine! Thank you so much for your review and we´re glad to hear that you had an overall nice stay. We'll keep in mind your suggestions and we can tell you that at the moment we're working to provide new products at the breakfast. About the price, it´s a little bit hard because of the inflation and the economy of the country. Stay safe and enjoy!

11th Jul 2016
9.4

It's a very good place TO RELAX AND HAVE FUN ON YOUR OWN / MEET PEOPLE. BEST: ROOF JAM BAR WITH BALCONY. 2ND BEST: COMMON AREA ON 2ND FLOOR - ATRIUM WITH A KITCHEN. Common area on 2nd floor closes early. Probably to avoid people making noise (there are rooms are around it and above it). it's the base of the atrium.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Matheus! Hope it´s all good with you! We would like to thank you for your review. It´s really important for us to know the experience you had and we're truly happy to hear that you enjoyed it! Safe travels and we're waiting for you in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
8.0

Enjoyed the location near San Telmo, especially for the market on Sunday, plus there are some good restaurants and bars. Staff were cheerful and welcoming, and helpful with suggestions. Hostel had a nice atmosphere, although the common space is a bit small (and could use some new couches). We had a private room and bath, and it was spacious and clean. Stayed end of July, so it was a bit chilly and very damp in the room. Wifi worked better in common area. Overall good stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Venessa! Hope it´s all good with you! We´re glad to hear that overall you had a good stay, and we wanna thank you for your review cause it helps us to improve. Hopefully next time your experience turns out to be even better cause we´ll work for that. Thanks and safe travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.