Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Portal del Sur

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1587 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1587 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th May 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Good location (nearby the most known tourist spots and subway station), friendly atmosphere and good breakfast. Special thanks to FEDERICO and TALES who gave us lots of tips about bars, restaurants and night life. The only thing that could be better is the wifi signal. Sometimes the internet connection is slow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there , hope you're doing great! Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to know that you had an awesome stay with us! It was our pleasute to meet you & host you here, so feel free to comeback anytime you want cause you'll always have you spot at Portal! Safe travels & enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Apr 2017
9.7

We had the best stay here. Staff we're incredibly helpful and very knowledgeable. You could reach anywhere in the city by either walking, buses or trains. Basic breakfast but still tasty! Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Claudia, hope you're doing great! We're really happy to hear that you had such a beautiful time here, and we want to thank you for this review. It was lovely to meet you and it was our pleasure to host you and help you out on the best possible way! We'll be waiting for another visit in a near future! Have fun and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
9.4

The hostel overall was great, and I would definitely recommend or would return to it, however, my word of caution is that on Saturday nights there is a nightclub nearby that is pumping music until the morning. To my knowledge, Saturday is the only day though with this issue. Otherwise the hostel is great in all respects!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, hope you're doing great! Thank you so much for your review. We're very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. It was our pleasure to meet you, and we hope for another visit as soon as possible! About the club, this week we had a meeting with them and we hope to solve this issue very soon. Safe travels and enjoy!

  • SahandMokhberi
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
8.3

Decent hostel, comfortable rooms but lacked charm. The rooftop bar was great though. We were in a 4-bed dorm and it got VERY loud on the weekends from the disco pumping music next door!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Mohammad, hope you're doing fine! Thank you so much for your review. We're very happy to know that overall you had a nice stay with us. We're having meetings weekly with the club owner to solve this situation as soon as possiblecause even for us to work, isn't the best! Safe travels and enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Apr 2017
9.1

Nice relaxing hostel, secure 4 bedroom rooms with big lockers (bring your own lock). Beautiful rooftop for breakfast and a bar. Staff happy to help. Only one block from ave de mayo and ave de Julio.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Shaun, hope it's all good with you! Thank you so muhc for your review, it makes us happy to know that you had a pleasant time while staying with us! Comeback anytime soon, cause you'll always have a clean spare bed for you! Safe travels & enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Apr 2017
8.6

Awesome location. Super friendly/helpful staff - particularly handy if your Spanish is rusty ...or non-existent like mine :/ The roof deck bar is a bonus - a good place to meet people. I also recommend the walking tours with cultour.com to Bocas and San Telmo, the hostel organises this for you if you're interested. Rooms & linen basic. Only issue was noise (from the street, not from inside the hostel). Overall a great place to base yourself if you enjoy being in the heart of the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there Victoria, hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review, it helps us to improve our service and facilities. it'salways good to hear that you have a nice stay with us, it was our pleasureto help you the best possible way! Come back anytime soon & have fun! Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.1

Great Hostel! Staff is very friendly and it is easy to meet people here as a solo traveler because of the common areas. Very centrally located and extremely clean. The rooms get a bit cold at night during this time of the year but there are extra blankets. You can stay up on the rooftop till late and drink cervezas etc but you can also get a good sleep if you want. Downside: They suddenly put up the price without prior notice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Victorine! Hope you're doing great! We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we work for that! Thank you so muchfor your review, and during these days we are changing the AC's from cold to hot for your comfort! About the price, during weekends it's a little bit more expensive than week days. Comeback anytime soon & safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2017
9.7

Had a great stay at Portal Del Sur. Breakfast had lots of variety, staff were helpful and friendly. Clean sheets on the beds made for a comfortable stay in a central location! :) Made many great memories!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, hope you're doing great! We're really happy to know that you had an awesome stay with us, we work to give you the best experience in the city! Thank you so much for your review, it was lovely to meet you and comeback anytime soon! Safe travels & enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.1

This hostel is really great for single travellers as well as for small Groups. Bathromm is cleaned verry often and beds are made every day. The kitchen is a bit small for all guests, but this is only a problem in the evening when everyone wants to make dinner. Breakfast is really good too. One negative point: we had no electrecity for ONE day! You could not even use the toilet. The staff tried to fix the problem but they always sad two hours, two hours and in the end it were about 12 hours!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Franziska, hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review. We're glad to know that you had a nice experience with us. We apologise for the power problem, and we tried to fix it as fast as we could, but unfortunately wasn't in our hands. The company cut the power without a previous notification and we call them many times to know what was happening. All they said was that the problem would be solved in about two hours. Safe travels and have fun!

10th Apr 2017
10.0

Overall great hostel. Location was right near all major metro/bus stations, rooms were clean, staff was helpful. Rooftop bar/breakfast spot was nice. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Nic, hope you're doing great! Thank you so much for your words, it was our pleasure to meet you and have you here! We're really happy to know that you had a blast and we'll be waiting for your next visit! Safe travels and enjoy!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.