Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Portal del Sur

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1540 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1540 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Feb 2017
6.6

A very nice building, but no aircon in the room made a comfortable sleep impossible. The wifi was slow and spotty at best, but mostly it just wasn't working. No locks on the doors of the (male) toilets was a new thing for me. Breakfast was basic, but good. Only stayed 1 night while passing through BA.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thomas, hope you're doing fine! Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience wasn't what you expected, we don't work for that too. We already gave all the infos to maintenance for them to install AC in all rooms, this way we can improve our service. Safe travels and thanks!

3rd Feb 2017
8.6

Nice hostel in good location. Hot showers, staff is nice and the roof bar is great. Some minor issues though.. Wifi was really slow or choppy, some of the pots and pans in the kitchen could be replaced. The building itself could use some renovation, because when it was raining the roof leaks a bit to the downstairs social area and the main door doesn't even open properly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Tomi, hope you're doing fine! Thanks for your review, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are working on the things you pointed out to offer our lovely guests an improved service. Have fun and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jan 2017
10.0

A very nice hostel. Loved the place, in an old style but very confortable. The activities organised are good and contribute to ice breaking. Good atmosphere. The rooms for 4 are confortable. Nice breakfast. Very well located.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Tatiana, hope you're doing great! Thanks you so much for your words, they mean the world to us. We are glad to know that we're doing you job well and our guests are having a awesome experience. Comeback anytime and enjoy your adventures!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
25th Jan 2017
8.6

I really enjoyed my stay at Portal del Sur. The staff were super helpful when I first arrived, and showed me places to go, things to do etc. I really enjoyed the walking tours arranged from the hostel, and I think it's really nice that they put on a different activity each day of the week (M-F). I love the style of the building, it has a lot of character. The kitchen is small yes, but not too many people use it so I never found it to be too crowded. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there Aisling, hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review. It makes us really happy to know that you had a awesome time with us! Comeback anytime cause we'll be waiting for you! Safe travels and enjoy!

11th Jan 2017
7.4

People who worked there were great, just wasn't exactly what I was expecting. The "free activities" they mention are on a schedule and only happen once a week, so if you miss tengo lesson day you miss tengo lessons. The kitchen is HOT and the common room is small and sort of awkward. My room was ok because there was air conditioning but not all of them have it. It has a zero alcohol policy which means you have to buy their very over priced beer and only drink on the rooftop (no view).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Megan, hope it's all good with you! We are glad to know that in general you had a nice stay with us. We are working to improve our service and offer our guests an even better experience. Thanks and enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
9.7

Excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there John, hope you're doing fine! Thanks you so much for your review, it leave us proud to know that you had a great time here! We want to see you soon and enjoy your travels!

  • ericashortte
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.1

the kitchen is not well equipped. rooms are very very super hot if you don't have an aircon. common area is a bit small... but the rooftop bar is really nice and staff are super helpful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Erica, hope it's all good with you! We're glad to know that in general you had a nice stay. About the things you pointed out, we are already working on that. Thanks and enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.1

The old building has a lot of character if you don't mind the heat in the kitchen and common area (we were there at the height of the summer in January); good location, decent continental breakfast, (weak) wifi in the room, so perfectly OK for a couple of nights if in transit through BA.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Dan! Hope you're doing fine! We are glad to know that in general you enjoyed your stay. We'll keep working to give our guests the best experience they can have. Safe travels and enjoy!

1st Jan 2017
7.7

Was expecting a more lively atmosphere but it was really lacking when I was there, might have been a bad time? Would have rather stayed at Milhouse, which is just down the street and always seemed really lively. They have all the basic amenities plus a/c in the rooms which is clutch in BA during the summer. The downtown area was great for a few days to check out but the best neighborhood is Palermo and that's where I stayed for the majority of my trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there Christina, hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review, we're happy to know that in general you enjoyed your stay here. Concerning to the atmosphere it always depends of some factors, but we try to keep it fun and lively, that's why we offer free activities from Monday to Friday. Safe travels and enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
4.0

The reception guy was so annoying and did not help at all. One time we got locked inside the hostel for 15 min because there was no one in the reception to open the door. The 4 dorms room was too small and without AC it was too hot.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Yael! Hope you're doing fine! We're deeply sorry to hear that your experience wasn't pleasant. We work to give our lovely guests an unforgettable time in Buenos Aires. Safe travels and enjoy!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.