Hostelworld.com

Portal del Sur

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
Portal del Sur Located at Hipolito Yrigoyen 855, , Buenos Aires.
Portal del Sur
Argentina
Buenos Aires Hipolito Yrigoyen 855
85% 1380
-34.6094269 -58.3785796
Portal del Sur
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th May 2016
8.9

A great hostel with lovely rooftop bar. Double room was spacious and staff really friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
7.7

The hostel is beautiful but the location is not incredible. There's not much to do in San Telmo. There was big constructions next to my dorm's window so i could sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2016
6.9

Not a bad hostel but the bunk i was in sqeaked and moved around really badly. and had holes in the welds wich seemed dodgy. Other than that a good hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
8.6

This hostel is in a great location. It is very clean with good facilities including a computer for people staying there to use and breakfast is included. The bar is great and there was live music which was excellent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
8.3

Staff were very helpful. Beds were comfortable and the hostel was convenient for Plaza del Mayo as a spot to start exploring Buenos Aires. Place was clean and very quiet when we visited, but had comfortable spaces to socialise. Bathrooms were adequate.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Badass hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
10.0

This place is great. I was thinking I wanted to stay in Palermo but I'm glad I decided to stay in San Telmo. There is really good food walking distance and if you want to go to Palermo to go out it's an easy subway ride away. The hostel is very vertical, with 5 or 6 floors, and an awesome roof top bar. Also the breakfast was great, the medialuna a delicious. This place is little more low key and not really a party hostel but that was what I was looking for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Apr 2016
8.0

Good hostel, very close to the metro and downtown. Rooms are cleaned every day, and there is a decent sized kitchen and common area. They also provide a good breakfast. One negative is that there is no atmosphere, the bar is never full and people are very dispersed through the hostel- which is due to the hostel being spread over 5 floors. But overall we had a good stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
8.0

Things we liked - well-located, spacious rooms, nice building. Things to improve one - wifi was a bit sketchy, shower was a little small (but good temperature).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
8.3

Awesome location - close to main streets and restaurants. Staff were amazing, very helpful and gave is lots of tips. Could speak both english and Spanish so that was handy. They had a full schedule of things we could do which was great. We didn't stay in the weekend so there wasn't much going on - nice and quiet. everyone was chilled and relaxed. We would have preferred somewhere which was more active at night times - drink and mingle, etc. but recommend to others that like quiet and chil

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.