Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Portal del Sur

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,401 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,401 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
Portal del Sur Located at Hipolito Yrigoyen 855, , Buenos Aires.
Portal del Sur
Argentina
Buenos Aires Hipolito Yrigoyen 855
85% 1401
-34.6094269 -58.3785796
Portal del Sur
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jul 2016
6.3

This hostel is perfectly fine. The staff are not the friendliest I´ve ever encountered, but they are grand, there is a lovely rooftop bar, breakfast is included and things are generally of a decent standard. The wifi, however, is very patchy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
9.4

It's a very good place TO RELAX AND HAVE FUN ON YOUR OWN / MEET PEOPLE. BEST: ROOF JAM BAR WITH BALCONY. 2ND BEST: COMMON AREA ON 2ND FLOOR - ATRIUM WITH A KITCHEN. Common area on 2nd floor closes early. Probably to avoid people making noise (there are rooms are around it and above it). it's the base of the atrium.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rafael_maverick
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.7

The only complain is the Internet which is not really good especially in the bedroom, but it works fair enough in the 5th floor. All the rest was perfect!!! Very nice and friendly staff. That's my second time and it was definitely great because of the hostel. Great atmosphere! ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Olá Rafael! Esperamos que esteja tudo bem contigo! É com muita satisfacao e sentimento de dever cumprido que sabemos que gostaste da tua segunda estadia aqui no hostel. ë para isso que trabalhamos, para que os nossos hospedes tenham uma experiencia memoravel e inesquecivel! Em relacao ao tema da internet, já estamos a trabalhar no caso, uma vez que vamos proceder a instalacao de amplificadores de sinal nos proximos dias. Um abraco e esperamos ver-te no futuro!

  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Jun 2016
10.0

We loved that hostel! Stayed there for 3 nights. Location was very good. It was a bit cold in the hostel but we had heater in the room so it was okey. The staff was great! They speak English very well and helped us in all the topic that we need. The terrace bar has a very nice view. And the guy in the bar prepare awesome cocktails.:) They organized workshops every evening. We've attended to Tango and Mate tasting. They both were amazing experiences. I would definetely stay there again! Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jun 2016
9.1

Beautiful hostel. Very clean. Secure and safe area. Good location;15 minute walk to good restaurants, 5 minute walk to main plaza with multiple subway lines. Hot showers. Great spread for breakfast. Staff always happy to help. Great place just lacking atmosphere as was low season.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Adele! Hope it's all good with you! We really appreciate your review, it help us getting better. We are happy to know that your stay with us was wonderful and we are starting some new activities and promos to make a better atmosphere during the low season. We hope to see you in the future!! Safe travels and enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Jun 2016
7.1

Good hostel, good stuff, little expensive compared to some other. Plus the taxi we ordered from the hostel to the airport kind of ripped us off/tried to even more, although it was originally already quite expensive. This should be better communicated and controlled by this hostel!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th May 2016
8.3

Overall was a great stay, got an upgraded room to a private which was a nice surprise. Facilities are great. Wasn't much happening here in the way of entertainment/ parties or guest just hanging out. Room was very clean but no heating so a little cold in winter. Breakfast was good :). Would have like a little more help/info about where to go what to do. Overall a good hostel safe and secure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
9.7

The whole hostel itself is super good. Really nice building and well located. Nice rooms, cool bar with a great view. Breakfast is OK... could be better. But apart of that, such a great hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
8.9

Overall a nice place to stay. When we were visiting there was a large group of college-age kids from Mendoza that were on a group trip staying there, so it got quite loud at night. We were in a private room and the noise traveled a lot from all over the hostel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, showers were always hot, and the breakfast provided was small but good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
9.1

Great place! Hostal muy bueno!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.