Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Portal del Sur

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1602 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1602 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jun 2017
7.7

Bunk beds are a bit shaky, breakfast is great (probably the best one I've had in a hostel). As for atmosphere, the hostel was dead quiet when I was there. The hostel itself is beautiful and overall I'd recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review. We're happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us, and we're sorry that some things were not like what you expected. Unfortunately during the low season and because most of the people stay on the lounge area on the 2nd floor, we don't open the bar everyday for example. If you have the possibility to be back during the high season you'll live a completely different experience... And we'll be waiting for you! Safe travels & have fun!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jun 2017
9.1

Lovely hostel however is very quite and the vibe is very tame and relaxing ! Great if that is what you want, however I was looking for something different. Lovely staff and great nights sleep

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review. It's very important for us to know more about your experience! We're glad to hear that overall you had a great stay, that's our main goal. You're welcome to comeback anytime you want cause we'll always have a bed for you! Safe ravels & have fun!

25th May 2017
9.7

Great for the price. It is located centrally, just off off the Plaza de Mayo. The hostels were clean and the dorms had lockers big enough to fit a carry-on suitcase. My only complaint is that some of the events that they advertise are not always available. For example, one night there was supposed to be a bbq-type dinner on the rooftop bar, but it was cancelled without any notice. Also, sometimes the bar opened over a half hour late or just stayed closed. Overall though, thumbs up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, hope you're doing great! We're super happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us! Thank you so much for your review and you're welcome anytime! Safe travels & enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
24th May 2017
8.0

Pros: great location, lovely building, good kitchen, the cleaning staff do a great job of keeping everything really clean, breakfast is pretty good (although there were only eggs 1 out of 4 days). Cons: bunks a bit unstable, not a lot of atmosphere when we were there (could just be the time of year, but there were also no events as described on hostel world & the bar was either closed or dead), staff were hit and miss. Overall we enjoyed it and I'd stay again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Suari, hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review, we are happy to know that overall you had a pleasant stay with us. When it comes the low season, we close the bar somedays at night. Most of the times because of the cold nights nobody goes up until the roof. By our experience our guests prefer to stay on the 2nd floor talking and drinking and that's why we are selling beers & wine there. During mid-high season the tango lesson & the mate tasting are done at the bar. In the winter we move it to the 2nd floor because it's easy to people to join and interact, All the changes that we do are thinking about our guests comfort & atmosphere, we always keep that in mind. Safe travels & enjoy!

  • ashlee_23
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
17th May 2017
8.9

Lovely hostel, very cute, with super helpful staff! However, the rooftop bar was nearly always dead & it wasn't the most social of places, despite being advertised as so (maybe it was just the time that I was there). Breakfast is one of the best that I've had in a hostel & the kitchen facilities are good too :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there , hope you're doing great! Thank you so much for your review, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. You just came during the low season, that's why the bar wasn't bustling that much, so we want you to comeback during the high season to live it! Safe travels & enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th May 2017
7.4

Between a couple of nightclubs unless you're going out wouldn't stay here on weekends

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review. We're sorry to hear that your experience with us weren't what you expected. We're in touch with the manager of the club next door to solve the issue, cause even for us that are working isn't the best thing too, especially when you never know if they'll throw a party or not. On our behalf we apologise if you couldn't have a good night sleep. Thanks and safe travels!

8th May 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Good location (nearby the most known tourist spots and subway station), friendly atmosphere and good breakfast. Special thanks to FEDERICO and TALES who gave us lots of tips about bars, restaurants and night life. The only thing that could be better is the wifi signal. Sometimes the internet connection is slow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there , hope you're doing great! Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to know that you had an awesome stay with us! It was our pleasute to meet you & host you here, so feel free to comeback anytime you want cause you'll always have you spot at Portal! Safe travels & enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
26th Apr 2017
9.7

We had the best stay here. Staff we're incredibly helpful and very knowledgeable. You could reach anywhere in the city by either walking, buses or trains. Basic breakfast but still tasty! Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Claudia, hope you're doing great! We're really happy to hear that you had such a beautiful time here, and we want to thank you for this review. It was lovely to meet you and it was our pleasure to host you and help you out on the best possible way! We'll be waiting for another visit in a near future! Have fun and safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
9.4

The hostel overall was great, and I would definitely recommend or would return to it, however, my word of caution is that on Saturday nights there is a nightclub nearby that is pumping music until the morning. To my knowledge, Saturday is the only day though with this issue. Otherwise the hostel is great in all respects!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, hope you're doing great! Thank you so much for your review. We're very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. It was our pleasure to meet you, and we hope for another visit as soon as possible! About the club, this week we had a meeting with them and we hope to solve this issue very soon. Safe travels and enjoy!

  • SahandMokhberi
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
8.3

Decent hostel, comfortable rooms but lacked charm. The rooftop bar was great though. We were in a 4-bed dorm and it got VERY loud on the weekends from the disco pumping music next door!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Mohammad, hope you're doing fine! Thank you so much for your review. We're very happy to know that overall you had a nice stay with us. We're having meetings weekly with the club owner to solve this situation as soon as possiblecause even for us to work, isn't the best! Safe travels and enjoy!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.