Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Portal del Sur

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1572 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1572 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Apr 2017
8.6

Awesome location. Super friendly/helpful staff - particularly handy if your Spanish is rusty ...or non-existent like mine :/ The roof deck bar is a bonus - a good place to meet people. I also recommend the walking tours with cultour.com to Bocas and San Telmo, the hostel organises this for you if you're interested. Rooms & linen basic. Only issue was noise (from the street, not from inside the hostel). Overall a great place to base yourself if you enjoy being in the heart of the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
9.7

Had a great stay at Portal Del Sur. Breakfast had lots of variety, staff were helpful and friendly. Clean sheets on the beds made for a comfortable stay in a central location! :) Made many great memories!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.1

This hostel is really great for single travellers as well as for small Groups. Bathromm is cleaned verry often and beds are made every day. The kitchen is a bit small for all guests, but this is only a problem in the evening when everyone wants to make dinner. Breakfast is really good too. One negative point: we had no electrecity for ONE day! You could not even use the toilet. The staff tried to fix the problem but they always sad two hours, two hours and in the end it were about 12 hours!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Franziska, hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review. We're glad to know that you had a nice experience with us. We apologise for the power problem, and we tried to fix it as fast as we could, but unfortunately wasn't in our hands. The company cut the power without a previous notification and we call them many times to know what was happening. All they said was that the problem would be solved in about two hours. Safe travels and have fun!

10th Apr 2017
10.0

Overall great hostel. Location was right near all major metro/bus stations, rooms were clean, staff was helpful. Rooftop bar/breakfast spot was nice. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Nic, hope you're doing great! Thank you so much for your words, it was our pleasure to meet you and have you here! We're really happy to know that you had a blast and we'll be waiting for your next visit! Safe travels and enjoy!

2nd Apr 2017
10.0

Es uno de los mejores hostels en los que me he quedado en Sudamérica. Staff muy amable y simpatico. Todo muy limpio y te hacen la cama a diario!!! Buen desayuno con vistas. Wifi funciona. Ofrecen actividades gratis, tours y transfer al aeropuerto. Lockers bien grandes. Muchas zonas comunes. Muy bien, muy recomendable. Muy contenta. Y repito, muy limpio.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hola Ana, esperamos que te encuentres bien! Muchas gracias por tu review. Es muy importante para nosotros saber que la pasaste re bien! Fue un gusto tenerte acá y vamos a estar esperando una nueva visita. Seras siempre bienvenida! Saludos y buen viaje!

  • tus_wow1715
  • Russia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th Mar 2017
9.4

Already left a review before, saying that I would stay again. And at the end of my trip I stayed again, some things I liked more than the first time, breakfast got even better. The atmosphere was as nice and I met some very lovely people again. Staff helped me a lot, although during the first half of the day there are so many people checking in/out, asking things, booking excursions, transfers etc., that it may take a while to wait for your turn.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there Natalia, hope you're doing great! Thank you so much for your words, they mean a lot to us! We're extremely happyto know that you had a great time with us, and feel free to comeback as soon as possible, cause we'll always have a spare clean bed for you! Safe travels and enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
27th Mar 2017
10.0

Really great hostel, one of the best i've stayed at!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Linnea, hope you're doing great! Thank you so much for your words, they mean a lot to us! It was our pleasure to have you here and help you on the best possible way! We'll always have an empty & clean bed just for you! Safe travels & enjoy!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.1

I came back here 10 years after my last stay here and enjoyed my stay again, the bar is great for meeting people, breakfast looking over the city is a lovely start to the day and it's located close to everything. The 4 bed dorm with en suite was comfortable and there were lots of free hostel activities. I just did the free La Boca tour, tour guide was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Deborah, hope you're doing great! We're so happy to hear that after this long you came back and enjoyed your stay, that's your goal! To make our lovely guests happy and give them a wonderful time while in BA. Comeback anytime you want cause we'll always have a spare bed for you! Safe travels and enjoy!

6th Mar 2017
8.6

Nice hostel in a cool old building near downtown BA. Walkable to most things downtown, and the rooftop bar is a great place to hangout in the late afternoon/evening hours. Hostel has daily activities, but I wasn't able to go because of three days(!) of protests in the area. There's a faint mildewy smell in some areas of the building, and the towel provided was really, really, small... but overall I'd recommend to anyone wanting to stay close to the action in Buenos Aires.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Tim, hope it's all good with you! Thank you so much for your review. We're happy to hear that overall you had a pleasant stay with us, and we'll keep working to improve so next time you visit us you can enjoy it even more! Safe travels and have fun!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Feb 2017
8.6

GOOD: Very charming hostel in an old building, colourful and green, organised around an inside patio and with a cute rooftop. Small scale, around 20-25 guests, which is enough to socialise without being overcrowded. Very nice staff, super accommodating. the ceiling fan was not working so they changed my room without any issue. BIG cupboards with locks NOT GOOD: No tours organised by the hostel itself Most power sockets didn't work in room Bed bunks very VERY shaky and no ladder

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Camile, hope you're doing fine! Thank you so much for your review. We're really glad to hear that in general you had a pleasant stay with us! We'll keep in mind the things you pointed out to improve the quality of our service and facilities. Safe travels and have fun!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.