Hostelworld.com

Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
5.1
Rating 57 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 5.3
  • Staff 5.0
  • Atmosphere 4.3
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 5.0
BOOK NOW
5.1
Rating 57 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 5.3
  • Staff 5.0
  • Atmosphere 4.3
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 5.0
Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge Located at 52 Bridge Street, Napier, Napier.
Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge
New Zealand
Napier Hawkes Bay 4110 52 Bridge Street, Napier
51% 57
-39.4818848 176.8977999
Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Jan 2016
2.0

Horrible place. Full of long term residents. Was very glad to leave and stay in a different hostel in town! Asked within five minutes if we knew a drug dealer to supply them.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iran, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2015
4.3

It was very dirty and non-organized place. I had booked a room with 4 beds for 4 of us but they said you should go to the 8 beds room with 4 other people! And in a very bad and not polite way and when I said my request they said you can go somewhere else and we had to go somewhere else on that day with a lot of stress. I do not recommend it to anyone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

This is a very disappointing review because you were offered several options for your accommodation, including private accommodation in our caravans, which you declined. You are correct in that we did not have a 4 bed dorm exclusively for your group, but your reservation was for 4 beds in mixed dorms, at no time in the reservation process were you promised a private room. Your comments about the place being dirty and non-organised are clearly malicious.

  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2015
10.0

The staff and longer term guests could not have done more to make me feel welcome from the moment I arrived and I was given lots of help about what to do in the area. The hostel quickly felt like a home from home and, if I could have, I would have rearranged my trip to stay longer. I hope I'll be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate your comments.

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2015
2.9

It wasn't clean, the atmosphere was concerning and I just didn't like it at all.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. It would help if you had spoken to us during your stay,so that we could address your concerns.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Nov 2015
5.4

I was only for two nights there and I wished it would be only one...two of three showers were so dirty, I didn't want to use them and it not seemed like they would clean the bathrooms daily....

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.