X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge Reviews

52 Bridge Street, Napier, Napier, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
56 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 60%Location
  • 63%Staff
  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

It was very dirty and non-organized place. I had booked a room with 4 beds for 4 of us but they said you should go to the 8 beds room with 4 other people! And in a very bad and not polite way and when I said my request they said you can go somewhere else and we had to go somewhere else on that day with a lot of stress. I do not recommend it to anyone.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is a very disappointing review because you were offered several options for your accommodation, including private accommodation in our caravans, which you declined. You are correct in that we did not have a 4 bed dorm exclusively for your group, but your reservation was for 4 beds in mixed dorms, at no time in the reservation process were you promised a private room. Your comments about the place being dirty and non-organised are clearly malicious.

100%

The staff and longer term guests could not have done more to make me feel welcome from the moment I arrived and I was given lots of help about what to do in the area. The hostel quickly felt like a home from home and, if I could have, I would have rearranged my trip to stay longer. I hope I'll be back!

  • 17th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate your comments.

29%

It wasn't clean, the atmosphere was concerning and I just didn't like it at all.

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. It would help if you had spoken to us during your stay,so that we could address your concerns.

54%

I was only for two nights there and I wished it would be only one...two of three showers were so dirty, I didn't want to use them and it not seemed like they would clean the bathrooms daily....




View all Napier Hostels

Please give us your feedback