X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Portus House Istanbul Reviews

Mumhane Cad, 31, Kemankes Mah. Karakoy, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
232 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The staff were amazing , helping us even with luggage (we stayed on the top floor and had no elevator) . The room is great , spacious, very comfortable bed and a good bathroom . The location , although near the Galata Bridge, left us a little scared at night, because it was very dark . But nothing that would compromise our stay. We used the shuttle service to both airports in Istanbul and all went well . Thank you, Portus House Team!


100%

Portus House has a perfect location close to old city and modern city. There are many restuarants around so you don't need to think where to eat. The staff was excellent and very helpful. The room was clean, breakfast was sufficient!. Thanks for everything.

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for your lovely comments, we were thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay. Please come again, come as you are. with deep grattitude, Your Portus House Team

100%

Very helpfull staff, clean rooms and good breakfast. The guys at the reception always willing to to help. The house is walking distance main sightseeings.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guests, Thank you for your trust, time & kindness. It was a pleasure to host you all. Snowy Greetings from Istanbul, Your Portus House Team

91%

Great room. Really really friendly staff. Lovely free breakfast. Would recommend!


97%

24-hour reception, very helpful and fun staff (all of them), and excellent cleanliness! The various guides available were a life saver :)

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Life saving is our specialty :) Thanks for your lovely comments, you have been wonderful guests. with Love from Istanbul, Your Portus Team

97%

We had a great stay at Portus House. Although off a smaller side street it was easy to find using the directions provided, we even found it without a map! The staff were fantastic, very eager to help and with superb restaurant and sight-seeing advice. We hadn't held out too much hope for the breakfast provided but the mezze style spread was a great beginning to the day. We would HIGHLY recommend and thank Portus House.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Finding us without a map shows definetely your great sense of orientation. Good for your travel partners! Thanks for the praise, it was great to host you all. with Love from Istanbul, Your Portus Team

86%

Everything was good. Only thing I would comment room, bathroom, stairs and corridor was very narrow. and it is of course comes from nature of building itself. Since the building is located on small plot of land I accept it as normal. Also it would be better make doors with key card access.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good to read that you were pleased with your stay, you put a smile on our faces. Also thanks for your precious time sharing your experience here. We will definetely look into your suggestion. with Love from Istanbul, Your Portus Team

94%

Great location for such a big a city! Staff was helpful but sometimes difficult to understand. Very clean and the breakfast is a great plus!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Daniel, We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here. Language barriers are there to overcome. All our best from Karaköy, Your Portus Team

100%

Superb hostel with brilliant customer service.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to host you all! Hopefully until next time, With Love from Istanbul, Your humbled Portus Team

97%

Lovely staff, great location not far from Taksim with easy access to the old town (short walk or T1 tram). We switched to this side of town after spending our first few nights in Sultanahmet, and much preferred this location! Rooms and facilities are clean and nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You have such great taste to prefer this location over the old city! After all, who wants to be in Disney World all day & night? Sunny Regards from Karaköy, Your Portus Team

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

Excellent, helpful staff, but would suggest clearer directions on how to find the place.

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


34%

Not only a little value for money. Small room. Noise from other room. narrow stair to get upiside. Bad one night experience, should not change the original place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Yang, We are very surprised and saddened by your comment. I wonder what one must have had to endure in order to provide the worst of all ratings. Would you please kindly enlighten us? 1. Sorry your neighbors were noisy. It happens sometimes, we do kindly interfere when it is brought up to us. 2. I just measured our stairs, they are exactly 135 cm wide. 3. Value for money: no comment, it is truly relative. Warm Regards from Istanbul, Your Portus Team

89%

Portus House is located 5 minutes away from Karakoy dock and tram stop, 10 mins to Galata Tower. Location is therefore outstanding for this little B&B. Rooms are nice and clean and breakfast is very good. Staff also is really willing to help. We stayed at this hostel 2 times during our stay in Turkey. Highly reccomended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the rest of the community. It was great to have you and we look forward to welcoming you again one day. All the Best from the entire Portus Staff

100%

special thanks to the friendly night staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much. It was a pleasure to meet you. Our nigh owls were delighted to help at any hour :)

97%

The hostel staff was wonderful. One of the staff members even took us to help find the best place to buy apple tea when we couldn't find it. He was willing to do this during his time off and he was very helpful. The only complaint was there wasn't hot water consistently. Several times we had to take lukewarm showers.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your praise. We like to contribute to the ultimative Istanbul experience, so almost no wish is too much for us. Thank you also for the feedback regarding the water. We checked and were not able to lock down an issue, though we will definetely keep an eye on it. Hopefully until next time. Warm Regards, Your Portus House Team

100%

Fantastic place to stay, every member of staff was friendly, helpful and made us welcome, a great reflection on the people of Turkey. Thank you

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your humbling words. Indeed, it was a pleasure to serve you and we are happy to contribute to a pleasant experience for you. Every time. Hoşcakalın! Your devoted Portus Team

97%

Wonderful staff, great location!


100%

Really clean, more a hotel than hostel - lovely beds, bottles of water on arrival and maps in the room. Amazing service too- We had to leave for the airport at 5am and they had organized a packed breakfast for us as we wouldn't make the free breakfast. Upgraded on our first night. Highly recommend!


97%

Portus House was an excellent choice. Although not exactly in the epicenter of Istanbul, it is located within walking distance from everything you would like. Staff was always warm and willing to help us in any way and made us feel welcome and "at home". The house was super clean - it definetely was cleaner than most of the hotels I have stayed in and I have stayed in quite a lot of good hotels. The room was spacious and always warm (we visited Istanbul in a period of heavy snowing weather).

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Perfect place (for me), nice and friendly stuff. Very clean! Nice breakfast. I missed only common room.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(117 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback