Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Porzellaneum

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 977 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 977 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
4.9

The lock on our room door worked intermittently, there was no lock on the ladies shower door, the curtains in our room which were ancient did not close properly.and the room was extremely shabby. It was very noisy in the early morning.There is no direct access to hot drink making facilities, we had to ask at reception for cups of hot water, and the staff were often impatient when ask questions, for cups of hot water and directions ,which were vague and not really helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2017
6.9

This is the only hostel I found that offers 2 beds dorms. it's close to tram and supermarkets. Rooms looks like old student pesions, but they are quite quiet. Only drawback is the squeaky floor, which is really annoying in some rooms. Be warned about collective showers, some people may not like it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
8.6

Security - luggage store found opened upon return, no locks on showers. Rooms seemed secure however. Location - 15min walk from the old city, or 10min to nearest metro. Near several bakeries and supermarkets. Facilities - breakfast is €5.50, includes coffee, so alright price. Laundry is €5 for a load (washed and dried), which is a good price compared to other hostels on our trip. Staff - More than 5 star. Incredibly helpful. Helped us plan our 3 days in Vienna, advising us on prices, etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
9.1

Had a wonderful time staying there! Great location, affordable, convenient, the staff were friendly & helpful. I stayed in a single room, which was clean, simple & plain, which is expected for such a cheap price. Located in a peaceful part of town, within walking distance of the Rathaus & the Votive Kirsche so I didn't really need to use public transport much. Lovely courtyard with plants to unwind or enjoy your breakfast. :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
9.7

Basic but perfectly comfortable, very clean, lovely relaxation spaces. Staff were very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Located in a quaint little area, a short walk from the centre. Great value for money, and all you need if you're just looking for somewhere to bed down while exploring the city during the daytime.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Abiancaoliveira
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2017
8.9

No elevators and no fan/air conditioner. Toilet/shower far from the rooms. My internet ticket expired after my departure and I stayed without access to wifi. Didn't know if you get a new one. Besides that, really good hostel for a good price! Nice staff, a guy super nice help me with the luggage and stuff :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2017
7.7

Very clean and comfortable beds. No rules posted so we had two gals that had no respect for anyone else and would not be quiet even at midnight. Then woke up early and just started talking and woke everyone else up. Was nuts.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your comment.

5th Aug 2017
7.1

There's no kitchen and it's set up like a dormitory, so not like a hostel at all really.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
8.9

Nice location! Very helpful staff! Near the tram. It is a dormitory so you get that unique old school university vibe. Safe, relaxing, and pretty quiet. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2017
4.3

The worst hostel experience I have had. The bed was small, and I am not that tall. Giant sink in the room but no soap. The toilets were dirty and showers filthy, without privacy barriers, and did not work properly. You may have to go up or down hazardous spiral stairs to use the one for your gender depending on your room location. The place being old is no excuse for any of this. I am not sure how secure the magnetic keys are. Staff was meh. I expected more value when I read previous reviews.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your personal comment on our house . Like you wrote in your own review other reviews of our other guest and our overall ratings prove the satisfaction of our guests.We are sorry to read about your personal experience. We are trying harder every day to better ourselves.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.