X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Posada San Francisco Reviews

Calle San Francisco 405, In front of Plaza Colon, San Juan, Puerto Rico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1517 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

A hostel with easy access to Old San Juan and Isla Verde.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

AC very loud!!!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Messed up our check out date. Thank god we went back to the hostel before leaving for our full day excursion and noticed our key didn't work anymore. If we hadn't noticed, we'd have been locked out...our excursion got us back to the hostel at 10pm. We even told them the wrong name and check out date was written on our door and they didn't make the connection that out key cards would be affected. We're lucky it work out fine...totally incompetent. Bathrooms were super disgusting...clogged showers

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We did not mess up your checkout date on reservation. It was a simple mistake of the Keycard not programed to the check-out date. Even If you would have come back at 10pm it would have ok. We have staff 24 hours on call. There was NO ISSUE. There are 16 bathrooms in the hostel. If There was one clogged - you cant generalize. We clean them daily.Staff will notice a problem and fixed it. If it happens during the night then USE ANOTHER BATHROOM. Learn to have a good time!

83%

They need a sign on the first floor directing Hostellers where to go to check in, or include it in the confirmation email. . No signage whatsoever makes it difficult to find the front desk on the 6th floor. Other than that, the place is clean, beds comfy, location is on point, no complaints.


89%

Perfect location in Old San Juan, within walking distance to everything you need! The balcony was my favorite part- it overlooks a huge courtyard & it was nice to sit out there, have a drink & hangout. Room was clean (very bare) & had AC. Security is excellent for each floor/room you need a key. Bathroom very clean but no hot water. The staff was friendly but didn't add anything to the stay or go above and beyond to help with things to do, etc. Definitely recommend!


97%

Excellent, though basic, rooms. Great communal areas. Amazing location. Good atmosphere.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel! Highly recommended!


100%

We enjoyed our stay at Posada San Francisco! It was clean, the rooms were cool, and the location was perfect if you're wanting to stay in Old San Juan. It was within walking distance from the bus station, restaurants, and Nuyorican Café, where we went to dance salsa!

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Airco was very noisy, as was noted in other online reviews. Towels were not replenished after the first batch in the bathroom ran out. Other than that, no ill to speak of this hostel. It might be basic, but well taken care of and great location.


100%

Posada San Franciso was by far the cleanest hostel I ever stayed at! I also loved that the rooms had air conditioning great for the hot and humid Puerto Rican climate. I stayed with a friend and every morning we made our own breakfast. The kitchen is very clean and they had a lot of utensils and pots/pans for you to use. There's also a large share table where you can share and split food items with people currently staying at the hostel. In all my entire experience was GREAT!

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location in Old San Juan. Very secure and clean. Multiple showers on each floor. Bike rental available. Easy to meet awesome people in the common areas.


91%

Posada San Francisco is an excellent hostel stay -- clean and conveniently located within walking distance to many of the tourist sites that anyone would like to see while in Old San Juan -- Castillo San Cristobal, El Moro, restaurants, museums, parks, beaches, free trolley, cheap bus transportation, taxis outside the door, etc. Constant ocean breeze makes everything nice. Fridge and air condition in private rooms a plus. :)

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel was located right in the center of Old San Juan and was walking distance from everything! The communal balcony had a view of the town center, which had a live salsa band playing and tons of people dancing while we were there. We felt very safe and comfortable. Definitely happy we chose this hostel!

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The best location in San Juan! Staff super friendly, very clean. Rooms have AC units. Building is secured with a card system, similar to what is used in college dorms. Definitely recommend! Oh and there is wifi in the balconies.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location in the heart of old San Juan (right in front of Plaza Colon), the dorms were clean (clean mattress too so no bed bugs), the showers were cleaned once a day but looked a little bit old. The only downside was their poor wifi reception, however the ice cream shop at the corner had excellent wifi 24/7. I'd definitely go back to this hostel and would recommend it for any travelers on a budget.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Usually I have some kind of suggestion for a hotel to make an improvement, but I can't think of anything for this hotel. I loved staying at hostel posada SF. I loved the views, the air conditioning, the private room, the price, the funky elevator, the people. Everything was awesome, and I can't wait to go back.


100%

clean, great location, friendly staff very hospitable.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This is the sweetest little hostile find. Great customer service. Great location. Super affordable. I wouldn't stay here for an extended vacation but for one night to see OSJ and then travel around- it's perfect. The room was clean and AC was great. The bathrooms are Clean- just old. Pretty basic but that's all you need for a short stay.


89%

This was me and my husband's second stay at this hostel. The staff is friendly and you pay half the price you would pay at a hotel. It is nice that your room has a refrigerator and air conditioning. You can also book a room with a tv. This hostel is really popular so book way in advance if you want to snag one of the private rooms with a tv. It is good that they have a vending machine on the 6th floor so you can get some late night munchies. They also have a nice kitchen on the 5th floor.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

This is a great place. An older building in which the hostel takes up 3 floors. Each floor has a balcony with a few tables that look right onto Colon Square. You can see the fort 1 block to the east. I did not see a sign for the hostel and as it is on the 4th, 5th, and 6th floors it took some looking around. Essentially it is next door to a local sports bar and a couple doors east of Caficultura, a very good place to get breakfast and coffee. Go in take the ancient elevator to the 6th floor

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(129 results)


View all San Juan Hostels

Please give us your feedback