Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Posada del Abuelito

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 1692 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 1692 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Jul 2017
10.0

The most beautiful hostel we have stayed in yet! Lovely staff, super comfy beds, beautiful gardens, clean, good breakfast etc. Absolutely loved our stay here and highly recommend it to all! Good location close to both the centre and the Santa Domingo markets!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2017
9.4

Lovely hostel, great staff and breakfast. Lots of little extras to make your stay easier, like free and unlimited drinking water (plus better for the environment!), labels and boxes to put your food in when using the fridge or cupboards, a locked cabinet to out any valuables (although maybe not the most secure, but you can leave valuables with reception if needed), lots of toilets to use if you are using the shared bathrooms etc. Would really recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2017
9.7

Amazing place! The dorms are really nice and clean, the atmosphere is lovely and the homemade jam for breakfast the best in the world.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • danalee39867950
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
14th Jul 2017
9.4

This hostel has more of a guest house/homestay experience. Aesthetically pleasing place to spend a few days relaxing. Breakfast is standard with that famously delicious home made jam. Kitchen is well supplied for those who prefer cooking. Beds are comfy, there are lockers to lock valuables and the bathroom were spacious and clean with running hot water. Not in the city center but a short walk to it. Staff were a bit new when I went but did their best to find me info I needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Jul 2017
7.7

Rooms and bathrooms were clean. Breakfast was good. The hostel is close to everything, just 10 mins to the centre. The atmosphere was lacking however, the outdoor area is really nice but awkward to socialise. They have a free luggage storage and don't mind you hanging around until your bus which was really helpful for our late transfer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
8th Jul 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've stayed in throughout my 6 months of travel so far. I stayed in both a private room and 4 bedroom female dorm. Best dorm experience I have had. Fantastic breakfast, very clean and comfortable. Lots of different common areas and a good crowd. Enjoyed the tours I booked through the hostel. About a 10 min walk from the main strip, however worth the walk. Only bit of feedback is that the hostel needs to check the lights as I came across a couple which didn't work.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sophiedickman
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
9.4

Very peaceful, fantastic breakfast, amazingly friendly staff, warm fire every night and a 10 to 15 walk to everything. A home away from home, we will be back for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2017
8.9

Brilliant location in the centre of SCDLC. The hostel itself is set on beautiful grounds, you could spend all day there quite happily! The person who I think was the manager could perhaps have been a little friendlier, it was difficult to communicate with him at times, but other staff were great. The fire and book room were a lovely addition, especially after a day of torrential rain! I would thoroughly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2017
9.7

LOVED it. Felt like home, but better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

Wonderful place. Clean, thoughtful and very friendly backpackers and staff. I arrived early from an overnight bus and they were so accommodating and let me have the delicious breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×