Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Posada del Abuelito

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 1692 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 1692 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
9.7

Great hostel and amazing value for money. Super clean, comfy beds, great location, a little on the quiet side but that's not necessarily a bad thing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Jul 2017
10.0

By far the best part of my trip to San Cristobal. I loved everything about it; the staff was super friendly, the place itself was impecable and super cozy. They also make some of the best homemade jam and butter! I hope to be back soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Jun 2017
9.7

La posada feels more like a mountain boutique resort than a hostel - incredible value for the money! Facilities are so clean, the breakfast is delicious, and the place is so tranquil. This is a perfect place to relax (while looking at the visiting hummingbirds). The only downside is that the atmosphere is too quiet - it was a bit hard to meet people & socialize, and quiet hour starts at 10pm. I left feeling energized and well taken care of :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2017
9.7

Wow, Posada del Abuelito gets good reviews for a reason! It is so well laid-out, with a cute little courtyard, mostly small dorms so you only share with a few other people, and each bed has its own locker, lamp, and outlet. The guy at the front desk was super nice, bilingual, knowledgeable, and helped me keep my money safe in the office. The only reason I gave it 4 rather than 5 stars for "atmosphere" was because I couldn't escape the cigarette smoke in my bedroom. I was otherwise totally happy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jun 2017
10.0

The perfect hostel, that's how you wish all the hostels to be! The people working there very friendly and helpful with everything, super clean and well organics facilities! Definitely recommended to anyone passing through San Cristobal!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

This was the most charming hostel since I started my journey in mexico! Delicious breakfast and helpful staff!! Beds are confy and laundry service 2-3 houses further

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jun 2017
10.0

I have nothing but good things to say - great breakfast (eggs, fruit, toast, coffee/tea, cereal, juice), good location, hot showers, friendly staff; even those who don't speak English try their best. Towels are included together with miniature toiletries. Extra blankets also available to keep you warm at night. Lockers also available at check out. Overall a great hostel which I would return to and recommend to others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jun 2017
10.0

Without a doubt, the best hostel I have ever stayed in! It feels like a hotel but has the atmosphere and community of a hostel. I would recommend it to anyone travelling to San Cristobal. I am totally in love.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
9.7

The beds are comfortable, breakfast is excellent, there are three showers and toilets so you are never waiting, the showers have HOT water, the courtyard is beautiful and has plenty of seating and outlets, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere is excellent. This is the best hostel I've stayed in, and I've stayed in dozens.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
9.7

Amazing hostel! Very beautiful place, great beds and really nice staff. Super clean and you get free towels and toiletries. Great breakfast with eggs, cereal, toast, coffee, milk and juice. There's a little library for book worms and chill areas for the quiet and the social. It is not in the city centre but close enough to walk in 5 minutes. Really enjoyed it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×