X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Posada los Mapaches Reviews

Carretera Federal cancun Chetumal, Frente entrada de las Ruinas Tulum, Tulum, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
587 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 96%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 98%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Such a great vibe - Chelo provides a home style hostel experience that is uniquely mexican. Amazing home cooked breakfasts, bikes included! Chelo provides awesome local advice to make the most of your stay, save money and avoid the crowds.

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

A wonderfully run hostel, fantastic breakfast and comfy rooms! The lady who runs the hostel will treat you like family. The use of the bikes at the hostel was very convenient to ride to both Tulum beach and the Grand cenote.


100%

We had a great time at Los Mapaches!!! Chelo was helpful and sweet, the rooms were beautiful, and the delicious breakfast, free cool water, and bikes were worth the price of the room alone. Would highly recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Tulum, we would return in a heartbeat!


89%

los mejores desayunos hechos por chelo. chelo makes the best breakfast!!! :)


97%

Chelo, who runs the hostel is a very nice lady with lots of information about what to do. Breakfast is very good and filling. The place is perfectly kept and very clean and a 10 min bike ride to the ruins and to a beautiful beach.


86%

Great place, right opposite of the ruins. The host is super friendly, you can't imagine. The breakfast provided is among the best you will get throughout your trip. Good place for couples. But: You must like animals (the place is pretty much only separated from the jungle by a wooden wall and she has a couple of pets). In addition the place is right at the highway. Apart from the hostel, I dont really think Tulum is worth visiting in comparison with many other much nicer places in Yucatan.


100%

Awesome and beautiful hostel with the kindest owner. A little ways from town but right across the street from the ruins. Bikes are included in the nightly rate so it is just a quick bike ride into town. I would definitely stay there again!

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic place, very close to Tulum ruins. The family running it is wonderful, very helpful in finding cool things to do in the area, and you get free bikes to use during your stay. The breakfasts are great, nice freshly made juice, fresh fruit and a worm dish. Best place we stayed in Yucatan peninsula on our trip.


97%

I can't say enough good things about our stay at Posada los Mapaches. Our host Chelo was welcoming, friendly, and patient, even when our flight was delayed by five hours and we missed check out. Breakfast is incredible. You sleep in a tree house with a thatched roof. Rooms are comfortable and facilities meet every need. Clean and friendly place right next to the ruins. You can very easily hop on the bike path into town as well.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night on our way to Belize. We will come back on our way back to Cancun. We received a warm welcome from the lovely host and she took our passports. I guess because of bad experiences with guests during spring break. You will get them back when leaving. The tree top rooms are very nice. The outdoor shower toilets are clean. The breakfast was great and you get a lot. Only downside is the highway which is guite noisy during the night! Tulum beach nearby.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

What a unique and cute establishment. Very rustic and cute. Picturesque !!! Dona Chelo works very hard to keep it clean and bug free. And she has a sense of humor. She is the epitome of a house mother, and keeps tabs on everyone. Her cinnamon coffee is beyond compare, and her breakfast fruit plate is a work of art.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Really enjoyed our stay here. The owner Chelo was one of the most friendly and helpful hosts we had during nine months of travelling.


100%

Chelo is an amazing host! Everything was perfect including cleanliness and atmosphere! But above all, her hospitality exceeded my expectations! It felt like being at home! I can't wait to stay again!

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

great location by Tulum ruins, bike included, delicious and generous breakfast. Spacious, very clean and all well organized. Best of all is Chelo making sure we had a good time. Muchas gracias y has ta pronto :*

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The staffs are extremely nice and helpful. They give you tips on where to go. And we LOVE every suggestion they gave. They give you bikes when you arrive, which is a great way to get into the Tulum town center. Biking takes about 10~15 min. However, it gets quite dark at night when biking. But they give you a flash light as well!

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

chelo and sons are amazing, thoughtful, caring and funny! chelo knows everything about the tulum area re: sightseeing tips, restaurants etc. If you are looking for a really sociable hostel to meet young people to go out on the town with, posada los mapaches caters more towards those looking to stay in for a chat and a good night sleep. Bike rental is included and can use them to get to the beach in 10 minutes, getting to town is 10 minutes.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Even though it was a short stay we couldn't have been more happy about the place. Great service!!! Chelo's (the owner) advise really helped us to get around. I would definitely stay here again!

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Wonderful hostess! She was kind and helpful and always available. It is a ways away from the town centre and the beach but with the bicycle included it was perfect. Close to the ruins, easy ride on a bike path to town and a quick ride to the public beach entrance just south of the ruins. And delicious breakfasts!!


97%

Chela, the owner of the hostel, is fantasic - a very welcoming and informative lady. Her breakfasts are amazing - full of fresh fruit, a hot plate that changes daily and good cinnamon coffee. The bike scheme is a great one and it takes less than 5 minutes to cycle to the beach next to Tulum's ruins.


89%

Chelo is an amazing host. Very welcoming, knowledgable, generous and extremely friendly. The breakfasts are wonderful. There is a fair amount of traffic noise but you soon get used to it and having the bikes included, along with lights and locks, means you're in the perfect central location between beach, ruins and the town.


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Tulum Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback