Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Posada los Mapaches

  • Carretera Federal cancun Chetumal, Frente entrada de las Ruinas Tulum, Tulum, Mexico

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
10.0

This hostel was perfect! Super clean and organized and the staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and happy. They provided plenty of advice on things to do locally and were very knowledgable. The rooms were well vented and have plenty of strong fans to help keep us cool. They also provide bikes and locks during your stay which made it easier for us to get around Tulum. The location is excellent too! The hostel is across the street from the Tulum Mayan ruins.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2017
9.7

We had a great time at Mapaches. The complimentary bikes were a nice benefit and the daily free breakfast was outstanding. Chelo is a wonderful host. The noise from the highway was not an issue for us. We heard an occasional screeching car but few and far between and not enough to interrupt our sleep. Hostel is on the northern outskirts of town but it's a short 10 min bike to ride to Tulum city on a well-maintained bike path. But if I could make one suggestion... a mosquito net perhaps.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
8.3

Overall a great stay. Loved the bikes and friendly hosts. Very convenient to travel to the various sites in Tulum and nearby. We definitely should have followed the recommendation to bring ear plugs, though. There is a large speed bump right outside the property. It is extremely noisy during the night as cars slam into the speed bump or screech tires to avoid the speed bump. We unsuccessfully attempted to purchase earplugs in Tulum. Perhaps the hostel could offer earplugs for sale?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
10.0

Chelo is the owner of Posada los Mapaches. She was the MOST wonderful host. When we arrived she asked if we had any dietary limitations, because she cooks breakfast for all of her guests every morning. The location is less than a mile from the Mayan ruins, beautiful beaches, and only a few miles from shops and restaurants. The hostel is composed of several treehouses, and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND paying the extra money for a private room. We had our own bathroom, and it was well worth the money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
9.4

A lovely eco lodge, location is close to most things and you can use the bikes to get everywhere that's not walking distance. The host and her son as well as their two helper friends kept the place looking and feeling amazing! Design, care and love that Chelo has for this place makes it. You stay in her home and she welcomes you like family.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Mar 2017
9.4

Posada Los Mapaches was a magical dream. Chelo was by far the most gracious host I've ever come across during a hostel stay and her grounds are beautiful. We stayed in one of the upper rooms that felt like a tree house. Every morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast al fresca. The bikes were perfect to offset the location, which is directly across the street from the entrance to the Tulum ruins, a short ride from town center and a decent ride to the main beach road. I'd suggest heading to the en

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • otis-b2628
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Mar 2017
10.0

Super place, super host

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Mar 2017
9.4

We had a lovely time at Posada Mapaches, Chelo was very warm and welcoming! Our room (tree cabin) was beautiful and relaxing! Chelo thoughtfully gave us towels, shower baskets and biking gear to help make our stay more enjoyable. The breakfast was amazing and delicious; it was quite filling and sustained us for most of the day :) The hostel is conveniently located across from the Tulum ruins, which was only a short bike ride away. The animals were lovely and fun to play with as well!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Mar 2017
10.0

Posada was amazing! Chelo took such great care of us. The room was great. The property was absolutely beautiful and very relaxing. The breakfast she made for us was the best food we ate in Mexico. It was a 5 min bike ride into tulum but I didn't mind that because it was so much closer to the beach than if we had stayed in tulum. We really enjoyed our stay, Chelo was the best host! Can't wait to go back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Mar 2017
9.4

Fantastic stay at Posada Los Mapaches ! The owner Celo is absolutely amazing- she treated us like her own, was very helpful, with information, advice, maps of the area & where to explore etc. Free bicycles, fast wifi & a very safe environment, amazing breakfasts, beautiful dogs. Loved the jungle setting & the Cabañas. The room was airy & clean from insects. The place is a little outside town centre, but only 10 mins with a good bicycle lane, so not a problem. Will go back. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.