X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pousada Favelinha Reviews

Rua Antonio Joaquim Batista, casa 13, Entrada: Rua Almirante Alexandrino 2023, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
117 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great hostel of the tourist-track! Fantastic view and excellent staff!

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

A fantastic hostel, with a great and varied breakfast, helpful and friendly staff and amazing views!


97%

The hostel was located at the top of the Favela with stunning views of Rio. This is the best way to soak in real Rio culture. First time staying in a Favela and that was a cool experience. I only felt unsecured when I entered the Favela because there was a small gang but they are friendly if you are friendly. They don't do any harm to tourists in their own backyard because it would give them bad reputation among the inhabitants. The staff was friendly and took good care of us. Good breakfast.


57%

You should bring your own lock for Security. You need to be fine with walking through the uphill Favela to get there ( it feels okay safe). And you should be s free minded person when it comes to weed and smoking inside and stuff 😀

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The view ist great, here you can relax from Rio and its stress. It takes a while to get anywhere, but that is so in Rio no matter where you are. The owner and his staff give you the feeling of being at home, lots of love in every detail. Great place!

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
66%

It be better if there were no cockroaches in the kitchen, the window above the sink is infested! I missed information snd organization, didn't get info about security, what to do, what not to do, maps and so. Just had to learn with the other guests. Only in the last day I heard about the Morrinhos Project, if i knew earlier would probably make the tour.


69%

The view is amazing - at sunrise and sunset. Basic facilities, basic breakfast and basic security (i.e. lockers and the front door is locked - although the lock is quite flimsy). The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Although this place is situated in the favela, there were never any issues whatsoever. People in the surrounding area were always very helpful when asking for diretions etc. and very polite. Would stay here again.


86%

Lovely breakfast with homemade juice and a lot chooses for the bread. Friendly staff. Patrick (the owner) high/drunk, we don't know, but he was a nice guy. Impossible to find on your own, ask someone, they are helpful. Located in a safe favela. Good busconnections to the town, take bus 006 or 007 just outside the favela. Hot water. Clean, but could be better. If you want the best view of Rio, stay here! Highly recommended.


66%

It was a very good experience. We could know a different part of Rio, living in a favela, with an incredible view of the city. The neighborhood was very quiet and safe. The only disadvantage is that it is a bit far from the beach. I recommend this place for sure!


40%

Hard to start on this one. We never ended staying since instead of a "hello" we got a "sons of whores can leave, I don't need them here, I've worked enough for one day",we decided to leave. Good thing we had another place to stay on a national bank holiday week end where all the hotels in Rio were full. So you have our deposit, and they are willing to pay it back but I don't want to leave them my bank info. The owner's a complete lunatic. I was looking forward to the experience :-(

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

This hostel ist very super located!!!!!! To see the sunrise behind the Sugar Loaf - unbelieveable. The e-Mail-contact before we arrived was top. The is a great german guy working for the rough hostel-lady. He helped us, gave us a friendly warm welcome and let us feel free to discover Rio. The lady-boss istsels seemed not to be interested in us. Good breakfast with great coffee, cheese, hamon and delicious fresh fruits! We enjoyed our stay there and can recommend it.


37%

From the Staff was just Andrea very poor, the rest was really nice!! the two german gays were friendly end helpfull. She was unfriendly and I didn't feel welcome to her hostel. .

  • 8th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Hostel was aweful. Manager intimidating. Reservation had not been received (booked 3 mnt prior) , when we declined sleeping in a dorm room (we are aged over 50), got shouted at, told that our face did not fit, to look for alternative hostel. We did stay as other staff more helpful but had an aweful time; manager refused talking to us and tried to make our stay as negative as possible; no 'big tropical breakfast', terrible atmosphere, no kitchen use. Other guests also looked unhappy.


74%

It is very nice there, but the owner is a so called kotzbrocken, oder drachen :-) Anyway I will suggest it.

  • 19th Mar 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Wow, how do you review this one? A real mixed bag, which ultimately we really enjoyed. The location is good - the favela is safe and has good bus connections from the top (to Santa Teresa and Lapa) and bottom (to Lago do Machado metro). The favela is steep though and it is a bit hard to find it (there are no signs, despite what the website says). There are absolutely stunning views across Pao d'Acucar, especially at sunrise. The down side is that staff are completely uninterested in you and rude


34%

The atmosphere feels like you are disturbing someone in their private home.The Staff was shouting, playing music (and trumpet) 5am many of the mornings we were there. The staff is usually high or drunk. The hostel is located in a favela, and far away from restaurants and markets and the staff does not want to sell you even a bottle of water. No fan in the room, no garbage bin, no room cleaning (we stayed for 6 nights). The main door of the building is always open, so you hope the favela is safe.


46%

The hostel is in the middle of a favela. Because of that, whether you like it or not it definitely has character. The hostel is almost impossible to find. They say it's secure and indeed, the people in the favela we came accross were extremely friendly. At the same time though, I would not come back at 3 o'clock in the middle of the night after a party and risk being robbed or something. You can't use the kitchen which is a shame. What we disliked the most is the attitude of the owner though..


37%

a host who does not like to have people around should rethink their choices. don't bother to pass this on, she won't care!

  • 24th Jan 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Stayed here with girlfriend and really liked it,. If you're looking for over attentive service then it's not for you. Also, a decent breakfast is included in the price. The other favelha residents we met were friendly and helpful. The only thing we would reccommend is to approach it form the top end of Almirante Alexdrinho, as there's much less of a walk and it's not so steep. Also, quite a few buses go up this way through Santa Theresa as well as VW camper vans from Gloria metro.

  • 13th Jan 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

the way to the hostel is very hard. it is in a very poor area and we (two girls) didn´t feel comfortable to walk there around. If somebody is looking for advanture and the real live of cariocas this would be the right place but if you want to enjoy, go out in the evening and feel comfortable you defenitly shouldn´t go there.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(83 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback