X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pride of Paddington Reviews

1-3 Craven Road, Paddington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
809 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Good food and drink, location convenient

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Easy to access. Typical hostel. There was ALWAYS a wait for a bathroom, whether using the toilet or showering. Also, I did not think the bathrooms were up to any sort of a standard, as the ceiling above the shower was moldy and that is a health problem in my opinion. Also, the drains were clogged in 3 of the showers i used, so you stood in 3 inches of water during your shower. The breakfast was meh - eggs were always runny which I hate. Staff was fantastic. Overall 6.5/10 in my opinion.


66%

right on top of the train station. just remember, it is a pub first and hostel second. if you really need something past 19:00 you may get ignored for a while as pub patrons get priority. they can mess up bookings, causing room changes...which are annoying if you are staying multiple nights. good, hearty breakfast.


86%

I had a good stay here. When I arrived it was a little confusing as to where to check in but the staff were friendly and helped me out. They were also great about sorting my early check out. Room was small and packed with beds but comfy beds and nice linen. I hardly slept but it was a good bed. Showers were ok, nice and clean. Difficult to find hair dryers though. Didn't stay for breakfast so can't comment there. Really close to paddington for Heathrow express which was what I needed. Good value


91%

Welcoming, friendly and helpful staff. Thank you Miguel.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Stayed for 3 nights...bed comfortable enough...room a bit small. Decent cooked English breakfast included in the price. Staff in the bar seemed overworked but were helpful and friendly. One negative was that there was no toilet paper in the bathroom/toilet on two mornings when I woke up...not good. Also overpriced beer in the pub. But good value accomodation and would stay again.


83%

The rooms are basic, but the restaurant below makes for a very fun atmosphere. It's like sleeping above Cheers, where everybody knows your name. The staff were very pre-occupied with the bar/restaurant guests when I arrived, but I decided to be gracious and let them do their thing. Loved the included breakfast, and the location so near the train station. However, they really should set aside a separate counter and staffer to handle check-ins.


86%

Easy to get to from heathrow express. Friendly staff who took the time to show me to my room and make sure everything was ok. Nice breakfast in the morning with friendly staff and people staying there


83%

I did have a good experience with the staff at the front desk, they did helped me up when another tenant was bulling me up for reasons he only knew. It is too bad they do not have a common place to chat with the others back packers, to relax and watch TV. If you sit at the tables you might have to consume something. The rooms were too small, Breakfast was OK but they should have complimentary coffee or tea or give you boiling water if you want to bring your own sac of tea.


54%

I was greatly disappointed in that hostel because it was very noisy during night and terrible smell in the room, the room number 4 is very very stinky!!!! however the staff were friendly and free breakfast was not bad. The location is excellent, very close to underground. Price was not bad because it is including free breakfast.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location close to Paddington station, which is convenient for catching the Heathrow Express and the tube. I only stayed here 1 night prior to flying home so was convenient for me. I wouldn't stay here more than that if you are after somewhere with atmosphere. The cooked breakfast was great (and a change to the regular cereal/toast set up other hostels provide). Not the best facilities in terms of showers etc, but adequate for a night or two if you're after somewhere close to the station


97%

I had a very good stay at the Hostel The room (female dormitory) was clean, large enough, with 2 larges windows, a large mirror and a table. I had the good surprise to find cosmetics products for shower on the top of the towel ! There is enough showers and the water is very hot. There is also a hair-dryer available for free. The pub downstairs is very nice, the staff as well, I had a breakfast offered for the first night, and many discount for meals. Only 5min to subway and 10min to Hyde Park


71%

I just stayed for one night. The environment in the mixed dorm was alright but I found the staff not particularly friendly, maybe because they pay more attention to the business in the bar. They ask customers to use vouchers to get breakfast and one free tea and coffee. It costs 2 pounds for luggage storage after check-out. Overall it was a fine stay.


63%

Location is good, breakfast is perfect (thank you) , bathroom clean and water good, stuff nice The big problem: the noise the noise the noise from street The bed shakes and no switch neither light for upbed Poor facility in the chamber. Not quite a pleasant pass night option.


71%

Room and facilities were clean. Staff were disorganized in where everyone's rooms were. They ended up moving some people out of their room to another one in order to accommodate us. Two other backpackers joined us in the newly cleared out room, however, the next morning at 5:30am an unknown person barged into the room and started complaining to one of the new backpackers that he was in their bed. This was very disturbing and left us feeling insecure.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Good hostel to stay, as it's near the tube. And even buses to go places nearby such as oxford street, Lancaster gate, nottinghil gates. It's near the tourist attraction. Despite, for the Muslim. Paddington has a lot of halal food. So there is no need to worry.. There is also telco nearby, just a walking distance. On top of that, it is also near the Paddington main railway station. It's a convenient place to stay! No need to worry abt the toilet.. It's clean than other hostel..

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good value for money. Breakfast very good. Bathrooms, showers, toilets always clean. Broken lock on batrhroom door needs repairing. Common room????? Would definitely go back.


80%

everything was perfect except the shower which was too hot otherwise everthing was fine !!

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostal is literally above a bar which is both awesome and a little weird. It is the best breakfast I had while at a hostal. The have options and it is a full meal rather than a sad buffet. It is a little distant from the center of London but there is a metro station nearby. It was under construcion while I was there which made things slightly more difficult. Otherwise rooms were nice, lots of outlets for charging devices. Bathrooms were ok. Overall enjoyed our stayed.


86%

Showers - always to hot! Beds - fine Commenroom - non existing... Breakfast - very english! Staff - love them!

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(72 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback