X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Pride of Paddington Reviews

1-3 Craven Road, Paddington, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
557 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Amazing place; literally less than 1 minute walk from the underground station!!

  • 12th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Check-in is at the pub counter, so you might not get prompt attention. However, staff were rather friendly and nice when attending to me. Toilets and rooms were rather clean, but that's about it. Bed was terrible, I felt the springs of mine in the small of my back, couldn't sleep properly. Standing lockers were a little small but that's ok; lockers below the bed had locks that fell off, was like that for half the room. Would have appreciate a plug point at the bed for convenience sake though


49%

This hostel was so loud from the pub downstairs and the street outside and the beds were so bad that I couldn't stay more than one night out of the 5 I had booked. It was dreadful if you want to sleep at all! Staff nice though

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

- extrem long delay for the breakfast - double booking: they sent us to another hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. I would like to think that we did the very best for you and your travelling companions, by placing you in a hostel in the same vicinity, at the same cost, and not leaving you high and dry in London with nowhere to stay. We offered you a complimentary breakfast as a gesture of goodwill and so I am disappointed that you have made such comments when this was free of charge even though you didn't stay in our hostel.

77%

I've stayed here before in the 4-bed dorm with ensuite and rated it as an excellent hostel. This time around, I was in a 6-bed dorm with shared facilities, and I can't rate it as highly...but it's definitely still good!! There's no kitchen facilities at all, the dorms are small and cramped with 6 peoples luggage. But, the bathrooms are really clean, the linens are all provided, the staff are great, the free wifi is brilliant, the common room is okay, and the free breakfast is amazing!!


71%

Because of the travel in the pub the staff was very busy, so it was difficult to get "insider" information about where you can go to make some party, what's the best option to get somewhere, what's a must see and other insider tips like that.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

good and calm


94%

Awesome hostel! Warm and confy, very friendly staff, makes you feel at home. Cool atmosphere too. It was my first time in London, and when the day was done I just couldn't wait to get out of the cold and into the hostel. Loved the discount vouchers. Just a few details , the refrigerator in our dorm wasn't working properly, I left my yogurt there and in the the next morning it was frozen. And as a very central hostel of course you'll get some noise at night from the street.Anyway, it was great.

  • 25th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The Hostel is very great. A short way to Paddington Station, so you can get easy to the Tourist attractions by tube or by Bus. The hostel itself was nice. Nice Stuff, great food.. The pub was great and you will get a lot of vouchers to save money. Every Morning you will get a Full english breakfast.. Even there is a pub you wont hear the music in the rooms above the pub. Bathrooms and Rooms are very clean. Will stay here again

  • 25th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff really friendly, hostel as you would expect, Pub excellent. I would stay there again !

  • 23rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Thank you for you free british breakfast.

  • 23rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

the location is ok, pretty near the centre and the city of London ( by walk, or with bus or metro) and Notting Hill gate, Portobello, Hyde Park and Kensington . Rooms are clean. there are a couple of bathroom on the floor, with a shower. Breakfast is included and really good.


86%

I stayed at the Pride of Paddington for a week while on a work experience placement in London. I was in the 4 bed female dorm. The room had good facilities - a little kitchenette area with microwave and kettle, a TV and an en suite bathroom. It's great that a hot breakfast is included in the price too. As far as negatives go, the fridge wasn't working properly and froze my milk solid in just a couple of hours, and the shower leaked. Overall though this was a great hostel in a great location.


89%

Nice place to stay. I only missed space where to make coffee or thee.


74%

This is a hostel above a pub, with pretty basic rooms and facilities. The major draw card is the location, in the middle of Paddington within walking distance to Hyde park and some great restaurants, as well as close to the underground and buses. If you just want somewhere to sleep and shower, this is a good option.


100%

Woken up at 4am by loud people but its above a pub so what do you expect right? But perfect place to stay had the best room better than any hotel we could have stayed at! Defiantly would come again!

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I spent 2 nights with a friend at the hostel in November. We had an eight person room. Small but clean and it had two windows. The mattresses and bedlinen were totally fine. There are lockers, so bring a padlock. The bathrooms were ok as well because they are cleaned many times a day. The free breakfast with good coffee in the hostels own pub was welcoming. The connection is good. Just a few minutes to paddington underground which is still in zone 1. The area is safe with a couple of nice pubs.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice hostel two minutes walk from paddington train station. The room had bed linen, towel and soaps provided and enough lockers for everyone. The room was overlooking the side street, but it wasn't noisy at all. Pub downstairs has a nice atmosphere and easy to go for a drink before heading to bed. I would highly recommend this hostel.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel/pub in the centre of London- located right next to Paddington tube station, which has lines directly connecting to most places in town. The downside to this, is that the road was quite busy, so some people may find it hard to sleep if they are sensitive to noise. The breakfast was an amazing inclusion, as well as the vouchers for discounts on food at the pub downstairs. Staff were very helpful and the facilities were fine (bed was what you'd expect from a hostel).


83%

it was one of the best hostels for the value of the money.


(70 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback