Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Princes Street Backpackers East

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1797 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1797 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Jul 2017
6.9

Toilets were not in great condition. The winding hallways a bit confusing and disorienting. Climbing up all the stairs was a hassle as well. However, I enjoyed the people I met and it's a bed for the night. You get what you pay for and this is a decent budget hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Jul 2017
7.1

The location + price is great, the staff is friendly and helpful but the rooms are not the best. They are tiny, beds are uncomfortable and the carpet and the wallpaper are loose. Showers and bathrooms were out of order on my floor. Wifi only works on one of the 3 floors. The kitchen has lots of equipment and gets cleaned every day. They have guitars, games and books in the common room. The hostel itself is on the top floors, so you need to climb up 77 stairs, no elevator.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
5.4

Almost all the toilets were out of order, the place is not clean, not ventilated and there are too much stairs. Only good point would be the location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
8.6

Very good location (literaly in front of train station, at the very heart of Edinburgh, and a very nice atmosphere, once you've been up the 77 steps to the top ;) It would have been definitly wonderful if more sanitary facilities were available ...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
10.0

Very good location, organized and great staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Jun 2017
7.7

Not a party/ good upbeat atmosphere but otherwise a very good hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • redrosebeetle
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Jun 2017
3.7

There are cracks and holes in the walls. Pretty sure my duvet had dried blood stains on it. Staff were very friendly, though.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Jun 2017
8.3

The location of the hostel couldn't be better, as it's right next to the Waverley train station. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The only downside to me were the beds; I have stayed in hostels before, and would never expect an Au-ping mattress or anything of the sort, but my mattress seemed to be some sort of ski piste. To be fair though, I didn't roll off it while sleeping. Otherwise I thought the hostel was a bit pricey (for a hostel), but the view from our room was amazing!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2017
6.9

As others have said, it's fine if you just need somewhere to sleep. The bunk beds are really close together, there was no working washroom on my floor (both were closed for maintenance), the washroom I ended up using on a lower floor wasn't particularly clean. My bed was also quite springy and not comfortable. The hostel has cool art on the walls and lots of potential but they need to update and clean some of their facilities. Location is great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jun 2017
9.4

It was really great the location was perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.