Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Princes Street Backpackers East

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1,545 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1,545 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.0
Princes Street Backpackers East Located at 5 West Register Street - top floor, , Edinburgh.
Princes Street Backpackers East
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian, Scotland EH2 2AA 5 West Register Street - top floor
72% 1545
55.9535248 -3.1904125
Princes Street Backpackers East
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
4.9

Saw poor reviews for this hostel, but booked anyway because I needed to be close to the station. Rooms were a bit smelly and showers had grime and mould growing. Was only there for a night so was worth it for the convenient location

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
9.4

Absolutely lovely staff, felt like a family. Respectful house mates and a chilled and calm atmosphere. I wish I hadn't had to leave, I was just beginning to male friends. See you all next year! :) xx

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
6.6

It's quite a basic hostel but has all the facilities that you need. The location is seriously convenient if you are arriving by train and for visiting the city. The staff were all quite helpful. I would definitely stay here again for next year's fringe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2016
2.9

In short, we had decided to cancel our booking and leave within 30mins of arrival. The "facilities" we're disgusting and nonexistent, as the shower was out of order and there was no door to the toilet. There was a stench approaching the hostel and in the room. Our dorm consisted of 3 bunks squashed together in a confined space. We have stayed in several other hostels and have never seen such disgusting and degrading accommodation. Standing in there was a health violation & should be condemned.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Aug 2016
9.1

Grand hostel situated right in the city center

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
6.9

I think Alex should change attitude or job unless you don't care about ratings. Ursa was very nice but this guy was super rude. Compare to other UK's hostels this one has some strange rules like 2h Internet per stay or no shower after check out. No breakfast, not very clean and quite expensive but on the other hand very good location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
9.1

I would definitely go back again. The hostel is in a great location and the staff were really friendly and helpful. There was a little noise at night with Fringe events going on elsewhere in the building, bar bottle banks outside and then a building site. The weather was unexpectedly great whilst I was there so we needed to keep windows open, which didn't help the noise. However, I slept well and especially given the very reasonable cost, I certainly can't complain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
8.0

Perfect place if you're looking for a cheap hostel in a great location. Friendly staff and adequate facilities with plenty of bathrooms and toilets. It is by no means a palace but for 20 quid a night during fringe festival you can't complain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2016
6.3

Some of the showers were cold, my room didn't lock, the beds were squeaky and uncomfortable and it would've been good if there was unlimited free wifi. Despite this, the staff were quite friendly and helpful, the location was absolutely amazing, and the rooms (including the kitchen and dining area) were spacious.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Aug 2016
7.1

The bed in the private room was just awful and the room was tiny.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.