Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Princes Street Backpackers East

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1,642 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1,642 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.0
Princes Street Backpackers East Located at 5 West Register Street - top floor, , Edinburgh.
Princes Street Backpackers East
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian, Scotland EH2 2AA 5 West Register Street - top floor
72% 1642
55.9535248 -3.1904125
Princes Street Backpackers East
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • MikeCroft
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Jan 2017
8.3

It seems really dingy walking up the spiral stairs, though the location and the clean rooms - as dated or neglected from maintenance they are, it's a very typical and useful backpackers joint. The location is so damn amazing, i dont care its quite dingy looking. You get used to the charm and love the little parts of the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.6

Super friendly amazing staff and top location! Clean rooms with large lockers. Heaps of videos to watch in TV room. Fully equipped kitchen. Only negative for me were bathrooms, very old and no space to put clothes and toiletries except a tiny bench. One I used had no fan or ventilation so walls are covered in water.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Dec 2016
10.0

Good only heating not working

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
5.7

A warm, dry room for a few nights is about as complimentary as it gets. The curtain was a very old and thin sheet that didn't even cover the window. There was black mould from floor to ceiling in one corner of the room. The mattress visibly slumped in the middle so my partner and i rolled together.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
8.0

Really warm room, which was great for chilly December weather, plus comfy bed. The entrance to the stairs could do with a bit of a clean, and the tiles in the bathroom fixed, but otherwise it was lovely. Love the fun carpet and artwork.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
26th Nov 2016
6.3

Have to pay for wifi which is a joke nowadays. Zero atmosphere, pretty awkward. Something like 70 stairs so beware if you have an injury (no elevator). I could feel the springs in the bed- very uncomfortable nights sleep. If you can find somewhere else do, there are much better places.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
7.7

Nice stay, the staff were decent and we had no problems. Only thing is that the wi-fi didn't reach our room which we weren't warned about. For the location and price it's perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
9.1

I stayed one week. The hostel is in a great location, has a good atmosphere and is cheap. I would recommend this place to backpackers looking for somewhere to rest their head.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Oct 2016
6.9

The hostel is nice but too expensive for what they offer

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Oct 2016
6.0

Horrible beds. But great location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.