Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Princes Street Backpackers East

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1,504 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1,504 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.1
Princes Street Backpackers East Located at 5 West Register Street - top floor, , Edinburgh.
Princes Street Backpackers East
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian, Scotland EH2 2AA 5 West Register Street - top floor
72% 1504
55.9535248 -3.1904125
Princes Street Backpackers East
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
7.4

Stayed one night and it was fine for somewhere to sleep but the bed was old and the place is due an upgrade. Location is great right next to Princes St.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
4.0

The hallway at the bottom smells like stale cigarettes due to people not wanting to be out in the rain. The reception area is always a mess & the staff not very helpful. The room was a decent size but the beds were atrocious. The bunks themselves are falling apart, with the wire frame welding coming apart, beds felt unsafe & noisy. Mattress was awful, covered in a plastic film which had holes & burn marks in it. The fitted sheet had holes in it. Noisy, smelly & had dirty showers.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
9.4

Great hostel! Really good value for money. The only thing missing is unlimited free internet!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jul 2016
5.1

Very disappointed - staff were unwelcoming in our experience, the hostel is dingy; re-reading the page description here is laughable because it was so different from the experience. Staff came into our room (after ONE night) while we were gone and picked up all of our things, shoving stuff into random bags. I guess this was so they could vacuum, but just tell us? Spent the rest of our stay trying to figure out where our things were - so bizarre. Most uncomfortable mattress I've had in a hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
8.6

Exactly what you need, nothing excessive and a price to match.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2016
6.0

Booked a 6 bed mixed dorm, it was very average. The window opened fully which was nice, so there was a breeze while you slept. The four flights of stairs can be a killer, and it is a maze once you get inside. Take mind that wifi is only free for two hours duration of your stay which is not great, and the entire hostel has a weird smell, I'm pretty sure it's the carpets.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
5.1

This hostel is very inconvenient. 2 hour of wifi no matter how many days you stay. Almost no power outlets so you can't charge your phone very easy. Beds are dirty. my madrass was wrapped in plastic. Toilets are broken. The walls are painted like if you are in a psy teance club. All this would be ok if they were cheap, but I can stay at much better hostels for same price.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Jun 2016
7.1

no wifi in the rooms, wifi access only free for two hours. great location. hostel is on the top floor, no elevators

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Jun 2016
10.0

Just tinny steps to get to the hostel that all if they could have elevator would be nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
8.9

Nice hostel! The facilities could have been a little cleaner but overall, it was a very convenient location and inviting hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.