Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Princes Street Backpackers East

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1671 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1671 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Mar 2017
6.9

The location really does beat out all the negatives if you're like me and a hostel is just a place to sleep at night. However, there was only one working shower (in the whole place), no wifi in the rooms, and even though they said I could pay with card I ended up having to pay cash for my reservation. Still, it is very central, the beds are relatively comfortable, and if you can get past the 77 stair walk up to the hostel it's really not a bad place to be for a few days in Edinburgh.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
10.0

Very welcoming place with friendly staff in colourful environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
6.6

Fairly sizeable lockers in rooms, but no locks on doors. Great location though, a fair few long termers. And if there's any wifi at all it's only accessible in the common area, it drops a lot though. There is a nice tv room with plenty of vhs and an xbox to chill in. Showers are a bit dingy and dodgy and toilets are alright.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
6.3

The hostel is ok but I think it should be more clean. They do not change the sheets between guests =( The shower of the bathroom of my level was not functioning so I had to go to another level to take a bath...No bathrooms separated for ladies and gentlemen =( And they should advice that you have to take long stairs to get to the hostel. The location was perfect. The receptionist was ok During the day they will check who is entering the hostel, but after midningth I didn't see any security.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
4.6

This is the worst hostel i have ever stayed in. The staff are incredibly rude and the hotel completely unkept. Extremely LOUD music throughout the night. Lightbulbs left unchanged, plug sockets dont work, toilets dont flush, bathrooms dont lock. The location is very good but no better than the other hostels in the area which are no more expensive and a much, much better standard.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
8.3

I had an awesome stay at the Princes St. Backpackers. Incredible location, you're not far from anything. The staff were very helpful and made you feel comfortable. Love to engage you in conversation. The reception area for this hostel is like 70 stairs up and is quite the hike haha, and lost of the facilities like bathrooms and showers were out of order so I had to go down to the reception area to take my showers, but other then that I was extremely pleased with my stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jan 2017
5.1

Another hostel promising card payments in their advertising and when you arrive, the terminal is "suddenly" broken. Too common these days...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Jan 2017
3.1

Probably the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. Terrible beds, dirty bathrooms, the rooms are dingy, and the kitchen and common room area is unpleasant. Its also up about 5 flights of stairs. It's only redeeming quality is is proximity to Waverley station - about 1 minute walk. I would definitely not recommend staying here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
4.9

The only good thing about this place is the location. Aside from that it was disgusting. None of the toilet doors locked, bathroom seats were broken, there was a DEAD ANIMAL VISIBLE from a hole in the wall in the bathroom. Also, the demographics were weird. All the girls were young whereas all the men were older and creepy. I did not feel safe sleeping at night. If you have low standards stay here. If you don't want to live with creepy old men and dead animals, go somewhere else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
5.4

You definitely get what you pay for. It was the cheapest option, so we decided to go here. The location was great, definitely couldn't complain about that! You have to walk up 75 stairs to gain access into the hostel. It has quirky paintings which over time did look better. The facilities were poor. For one floor only one shower was in working order (8 rooms, all having between 6-16 people in them). The beds weren't that comfy either. I personally won't return, but some do enjoy the quirkiness

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.