X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Princes Street Backpackers East Reviews

5 West Register Street - top floor, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1208 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great place for a cheap double bed. It is across the street from the main train station. Only downside are the 5 flight of stairs you have to climb because there isn't a lift. The staff were very friendly and recommended snax cafe for breakfast. If you stay you get a 10% discount there. It was an excellent Scottish cafe serving haggis and black pudding amongst other traditional food.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel especially for the location just next to the bus station and main Christmas Market. It is quite old but staff is trying to make it better. Room was ok nothing more (no bed lights, only big padlocks for lockers and no towels provided). For one night it is very good hostel.


60%

Didn't get to stay there as I stayed in another city that night! So I got my night refunded. The only think I can say is that there was no problem with the refund!


57%

The rooms can not be locked, as well as the lockers. The linens were very dirty and 100% not washed.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The mattress protector on the bed in the double room had brown stains all over it ! Disgusting!


60%

Location's great and the staff helpful. Facilities old and run-down, few toilets, no lockers, wi-fi only 2 hours. Beds were clean.


66%

Only one bathroom on my floor for five rooms! Great location!

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • ryshanks
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Loved it here, people are so friendly that it has a family-like atmosphere. A centrally located hostel, just across the bridge from the old town. Some great characters staying here. Just don't forget your flip-flops for the showers!


86%

Very good location, Good value for money, room was clean and comfortable.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great atmosphere, price and location. I would definitely stay here again. The only thing that may be an issue is that you only get 2 hours free wifi throughout the duration of your stay. This wasn't an issue for me but is definitely something to keep in mind if you need more Internet access.


94%

such a cool vibe!!


63%

Good for his closeness to the city centre, but not a nice place at all

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Very good location but room very poor and bed uncomfortable. Of all hostels must say that this is the most grotty I have encountered. Location is what you are paying for


89%

Nice little hostel with a lot of rooms! I didn't find it very dirty (as some other reviews suggested), though it was a nice climb to the 5th floor. The staff were great and the kitchen, well-stocked. The dining room is a good place to meet people or just hang out with a beer / cup of tea.


49%

The hostel looked cheap and well situated, but a big disappoinment once I arrived. There was no warm water in any of the showers on my floor. While they promise free Wifi, you only get 2 hours for free for your whole stay and it does not work in the rooms. Also, they say there is a washing machine, but when I wanted to use it, the staff said it was only available after 6 PM every day. When I wanted to wash then, I was not allowed to because it was my last day. The rooms have no locks either.


100%

it was aaamaaazzzzzzziiiiiiinnnnnngggggggggggggggggggggg thanks :)

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

great atmosphere, very sociable people who you get to know very quickly as the hostel has a great common room for everyone. we met very cool and friendly people there, we're even out all together. it was a great time. everything is very easy overthere (except from wifi:()

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Location was perfect. It was almost at right in front of the station. But it's on the 5th floor in the building without a lift. So one who carry a trolley bag should keep this at mind. 24 hour reception is good. Except the location, everything was so poor.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I really like to spend time in this hostel, the staff is very nice and almost people there were very friendly. Anyway, I think that only the security could be improve, because the entrance door on the ground floor is open all the time and the bedroom I was not have any lockers. Recommend this place.


57%

1. only 2 hrs of free wifi regardless of duration of stay; major problem when trying to plan activities 2. lack of enough power outlets in the room (only 2 near the door, adjacent to 2 beds in an 8-bed dorm 3. the bottom of the upper bunk is 1.5 feet from the lower bunk bed so you have no chance of sitting up in your bed and will inevitably bang your head multiple times when getting up 4. the hostel is on absolute top-most floor (almost the roof) 5. no lock on the door or entrance


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback