Hostelworld.com

Princes Street Backpackers East

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.2
Princes Street Backpackers East Located at 5 West Register Street - top floor, , Edinburgh.
Princes Street Backpackers East
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian, Scotland EH2 2AA 5 West Register Street - top floor
74% 1479
55.9535248 -3.1904125
Princes Street Backpackers East
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Jun 2016
10.0

Just tinny steps to get to the hostel that all if they could have elevator would be nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jun 2016
6.0

For the amount that you're paying, you can stay in a much nicer/better hostel with free breakfast... Location was awesome and extremely central, but was definitely one of the grungier hostels I've stayed in. Also everything is under deposit... So have AT LEAST £50 in cash when you arrive.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
8.6

It would benefit from a few simple repairs, but the staff and location make up for this

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Jun 2016
8.6

The only issue was that we had very little time for the WiFi as we were only given an hour each for our time and that most of the bathrooms were closed off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
10.0

The hostel reception workers are extremely nice and helpful. The location is 2 minutes from the bus stop that you take from the airport and the train station is across the street. The rooms were very secure and safe. I will be staying here again if I go back to the beautiful town of Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
6.0

Staffs are friendly and helpful however the facility needs further improvement - no body want to stay in a room with no curtain ...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th May 2016
6.3

I arrived and there was someone asleep in my bed. I went to reception and I was told to just pick another bed that that was fine. I didn't like the vibe in the place so checked out. The place is decorated with outdated murals and could do with updating style wise however the room was fine - had been freshly painted and bunks and lockers all looked in good condition.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th May 2016
8.6

Great location, great staff. We stayed 1 night only but managed to meet fellow travelers and go out with them till late!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
8.3

Overall, we had a positive experience in Princes Street Backpackers East in Edinburgh, Scotland. Staff were really helpful and friendly, the hostel was very well located as it is all within walking distance to the city center and bus station. From a first experience in a hostel, it was amazing. The people that we met were helpful and kind in terms of sharing food and providing information about the city. However, getting a proper internet connection was a problem we faced during our stay. L+S

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
8.6

Really lovely staff. Simple hostel with what you need.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.