X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Princes Street Backpackers East Reviews

5 West Register Street - top floor, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1313 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Perfect location, 2 mins from Waverley station. excellent value, especially during the Fringe when everything is overpriced.

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

I stayed in a few hostels this summer, and this was one of the better ones if not the best! That said, it was not at all convenient to have to pay them in cash as I had planned to use a credit card and was not able to do so. Also, during such a busy season it was inconvenient to have the showers on our floor be out of order. And it is really, REALLY annoying to not be able to get wifi in the rooms, and to have to pay for it past a certain point!! Still, a very decent value for the money.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Mirror and facillitles need build up on the wall anywhere. Include upstairs are not safely.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Limited wifi, really disappointed with showers :( Really friendly staff :)


37%

several broken shower rooms, high charge ( compared to the quality,) untidy stairs people who are arranged to lower bed are unable to sit and the hostel has NO SIGNAL outside

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Very nice staff. Could leave a bag after check out which was very nice. Quite okay kitchen. Been in room H and don't recommend, there was a lot of noise from the street (and pub downstairs which was throwing bottles to the bin at the morning), showers close to the room were in poor condition (didn't look clean), although bigger bathroom was quite okay. Generally; very nice location - close everywhere, very nice staff/people, not nice rooms (at least H), average bathroom condtion, a bit damp.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Comfortable and clean, with a very friendly staff. A traditional hostel in the best sense. I enjoyed staying at Princes Street Backpackers very much!


86%

friendly easy-going , recommend !

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The room and toilets were in the worst condition imaginable. I have been staying in many hostels but never seen something like this. Staff was helpful and friendly though.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Luxembourg
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Even that just cheap and Hostel, there was a PUB downstairs, really really noisy!! I can felt wall and floor vibrations. But if you don't care about voice and vibrations and you still can sleep all night. you can choose there.

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

The very first impression when you step into the hallway is, that this isn't a clean hostel. In the reception there is a small poster with the hostels policy. One of the things written on it is, that if the hostel doesn't live up to your expectations, then it must be your own expectations which are wrong. Not the hostel's. We got the impression, that really is a youth hostel with very young people. And also, the bed was awefull. But good location!

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Plugs over the bed are the best thing I've seen in a hostel! 2 usbs and a worldwide adaptor is brilliant. There were no curtains in Edinburgh where the sun comes up at 4 and sets at 10?!


83%

Very good place to stay. People are friendly, and location is great. You can see that place would need some refurbishment but for the many we pay I cant complain.

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is perfectly located in the city centre, so you can go walking almost everywhere that is of touristic interest in the city. Clean and tidy. Great people. Overall, really good experience, and great value for money.

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

There was no good commonroom to meet new people.But it's very central. You just have to go through a dark street in the eveninh. And that's not that nice if you are a girl on your own. But it is ok!

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

This hostel had the weirdest smell to it!! I could barely stand sleeping in my room the smell was so horrible. And I don't think it was just because I was the only girl in a 16 bed dorm. Toilets were always dirty and the shower wasn't great. The 'common' space was poorly set out and not very welcoming so I never really met anyone in this hostel. Also the only hostel I've stayed in that my clearly labelled food was misplaced/stolen. Not a great experience. On the positive side good location


77%

Everything is good except the building is a little bit old. Friendly and helpful people, very good location!

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

As a transsexual, who at times enjoys dressing as a reptile, I found this hostel to be quite nice. All I required was a bed to sleep in, a shower to shower in, and a good place to shed my scales. This is what I got.


74%

Great hostel! You get 2 hours free wifi, can't see why there should be a limit:( Overall clean and cozy. Hostel was like a maze with small staircases and hallways everywhere:). Lockers under the beds. Kitchen had the basic, but the stoves didn't work only two out of eight were in function:(. Next to the train and bus station. Staff were nice.


91%

The best location for a decent amount of money. Clean and nice rooms, always available showers and toilets. Comfy dinning room where you can always meet new people, read a book or play guitar )

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback