Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Princes Street Backpackers East

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1,587 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1,587 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.1
Princes Street Backpackers East Located at 5 West Register Street - top floor, , Edinburgh.
Princes Street Backpackers East
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian, Scotland EH2 2AA 5 West Register Street - top floor
72% 1587
55.9535248 -3.1904125
Princes Street Backpackers East
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
5.7

mice in bedrooms no running water one of the days we were there

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Sep 2016
8.6

It is stated in multiple places that there is free dinner on Sundays, but at the hostel I was told that was stopped some time last year already, which was very disappointing. Otherwise, it's a decent hostel for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
6.9

First of all, the location of the whole buidling is very good, very close to Princess Street, and main train station. However, this hostel lies on the 4th floor of the building with no elevator, which means staircase is your only choice. Second, There is NO LOCK for personal wardrove, therefore, you d better to bring your all lock. Besides, on the day I lived, there is no wifi connection which hostel staff did not even recognise and check . Overall, good enough for the low price but exellent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Sep 2016
6.3

Only stayed for one night. There was no wifi and in our hostel part only one or two showers. The rest were out of order. In addition, in the common kitchen there were no space for save more food. The room was ok but noisy, and with big lockers and individual sockets.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Sep 2016
6.3

The location is very good. However, several showers and toilets were out of order. No Wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
9.7

We has a really nice time in Edinburgh and for Us search this hostal it was great because it had anda very good location, also the stuff and people it's very nice and on this place you can feel like at home. Totally recomended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2016
4.3

Where to start? The building says it is a non-smoking facility but it truly reeks of smoke. I think they should be honest about that. The staff was actually pretty helpful as my friend and I needed help printing our boarding passes and they let us use their computer to print them. The facilities were not what o expected. Black mold in the showers and sinks, and a terrible smell. The one redeeming quality about this hostel was that the bed was super comfortable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Sep 2016
6.3

If you're looking for a cheap place to sleep in a great location in Edinburgh this is it. If you're hoping to meet people, have enough space to cook your food, or use a bathroom that doesn't have plaster peeling off the walls and mould growing in the corner, this isn't it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Sep 2016
5.4

While this hostel was decent for the price paid, there were several aspects about the stay that I did not enjoy. The beds were very uncomfortable, the showers were decent, but the toilets were broken and grimy, and, while the staff was very funny and personable, the other guests were a bit dodgy. And the lockers weren't entirely functional and secure. I didn't end up leaving very many things behind. I would stay here again if I really needed a place, but by no means my first choice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
4.3

I had heard some negative things but didn't think it was that bad until I got there. It's a bloody maze to get around, it's old and out dated, they're holes in pretty much every wall where huge pieces of wall are missing, it's moldy and smelly in the showers. The staff forgot i was waiting to check in for over 20 minutes, they charge you for wifi, laundry, everything else they can, the beds suck and make noise plus the nose from outside, will NEVER stay there again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.