Hostelworld.com

Princes Street Backpackers East

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,435 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,435 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.1
Princes Street Backpackers East Located at 5 West Register Street - top floor, , Edinburgh.
Princes Street Backpackers East
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian, Scotland EH2 2AA 5 West Register Street - top floor
74% 1435
55.9535248 -3.1904125
Princes Street Backpackers East
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
10.0

I just stayed for one night. Everything was great ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
9.4

This was the perfect location for anyone who enjoys a quick and easy stay. 24 hour service and an ease into the place, I didn't even mind the steps up it all the time. Completely worth the money and I would go back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
8.9

The hostel really made me feel as home. The people there are very nice and the place is very clean.( they clean it everyday! ) If you want to cook, the kitchen has everything you need. If you want to relax, there is a cute TV room! The only disadvantage I found is that the Internet is limited. You may need to pay for the Internet or sort some ways out if you need information online. Plus, I' d definitely like to go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Apr 2016
6.3

Well located, all decorated with murals and with clean facilities, the Princess Street Backpackers could be a cool place to stay. Unfortunately, I don't if I have been unlucky but the welcoming was very cold and so was the general atmosphere. It's the first time I've been in a hostel where people didn't engage with each other and didn't even smile. The (too) many papers stuck to announce rules and recommendations everywhere contrast with the hippy vibes of the murals.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Apr 2016
8.0

I wouldn't mind staying here again if I was in Edinburgh. You have to climb 5 flights of winding stairs to the hostel which is a bit cumbersome if you have a lot of luggage. The room was clean but there weren't curtains or blinds which was sucked for changing and blocking the sun. The actual hostel wasn't loud but there was a concert venue somewhere in the lower floors that was pretty loud one of the nights. Great location to all of the sites.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
8.0

The hostel was very basic but not bad. mostly longtermers and the people weren't that freindly . it was clean but only a few hobs worked properly in the kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
27th Mar 2016
8.3

great Street art style hostel. it's cosy and old classic hostel. it's near to the station makes it comfortable to reach everywhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Mar 2016
4.6

The hostel is located super close to inner city and all the touristic places, however it is situated at a higher level and their is no elevator. So be prepared to climb a lot stairs with your luggage. Moreover, the window in the room we stayed did not close, therefore it was pretty cold in the room. There was mould on the walls. Most of the toilets were not working, however, the showers looked relatively nice. The sheets where super old but the also mattress was saggy/disgusting!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2016
6.9

Expect to climb a lot of stairs. Because the hostel is set in a rather old building, there are no elevators. The staff is very friendly and helpful. When we got to our rooms, we got a rather stuffy feeling and opened a tiny set of windows that had no lock set. There are lockers provided in the room, but you have to bring you own lock. Maybe because the bedding and sheets are somewhat old, but we did not get the most "clean" feeling about room. The location is prime - the highlight of the stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Mar 2016
4.9

I stayed with two friends for one night over Easter. All three of us have collectively spent about 6 years travelling all over the world staying in all kinds of accommodation and unfortunately I don't remember staying anywhere as bad as this for a while. Besides the staff who were friendly and helpful the hostel has seen better days. You can sense how dirty the place is from the stairwell and the rooms and especially the bathrooms are no better, they were discusting. Wouldn't recommend!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.