Hostelworld.com

Princes Street Backpackers East

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1653 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1653 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 5.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
8.3

I had an awesome stay at the Princes St. Backpackers. Incredible location, you're not far from anything. The staff were very helpful and made you feel comfortable. Love to engage you in conversation. The reception area for this hostel is like 70 stairs up and is quite the hike haha, and lost of the facilities like bathrooms and showers were out of order so I had to go down to the reception area to take my showers, but other then that I was extremely pleased with my stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jan 2017
5.1

Another hostel promising card payments in their advertising and when you arrive, the terminal is "suddenly" broken. Too common these days...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Jan 2017
3.1

Probably the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. Terrible beds, dirty bathrooms, the rooms are dingy, and the kitchen and common room area is unpleasant. Its also up about 5 flights of stairs. It's only redeeming quality is is proximity to Waverley station - about 1 minute walk. I would definitely not recommend staying here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
4.9

The only good thing about this place is the location. Aside from that it was disgusting. None of the toilet doors locked, bathroom seats were broken, there was a DEAD ANIMAL VISIBLE from a hole in the wall in the bathroom. Also, the demographics were weird. All the girls were young whereas all the men were older and creepy. I did not feel safe sleeping at night. If you have low standards stay here. If you don't want to live with creepy old men and dead animals, go somewhere else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
5.4

You definitely get what you pay for. It was the cheapest option, so we decided to go here. The location was great, definitely couldn't complain about that! You have to walk up 75 stairs to gain access into the hostel. It has quirky paintings which over time did look better. The facilities were poor. For one floor only one shower was in working order (8 rooms, all having between 6-16 people in them). The beds weren't that comfy either. I personally won't return, but some do enjoy the quirkiness

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
8.3

A great location with friendly, helpful staff. Internet access available in common areas but none in the dorms unfortunately. Kitchen facilities are available and allows you to take care of yourself for a fraction of the cost of the local eateries. Bring a padlock though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • MikeCroft
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
5th Jan 2017
8.3

It seems really dingy walking up the spiral stairs, though the location and the clean rooms - as dated or neglected from maintenance they are, it's a very typical and useful backpackers joint. The location is so damn amazing, i dont care its quite dingy looking. You get used to the charm and love the little parts of the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.6

Super friendly amazing staff and top location! Clean rooms with large lockers. Heaps of videos to watch in TV room. Fully equipped kitchen. Only negative for me were bathrooms, very old and no space to put clothes and toiletries except a tiny bench. One I used had no fan or ventilation so walls are covered in water.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Dec 2016
10.0

Good only heating not working

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
5.7

A warm, dry room for a few nights is about as complimentary as it gets. The curtain was a very old and thin sheet that didn't even cover the window. There was black mould from floor to ceiling in one corner of the room. The mattress visibly slumped in the middle so my partner and i rolled together.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.