Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Princes Street Backpackers East

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 1,626 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 1,626 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.0
Princes Street Backpackers East Located at 5 West Register Street - top floor, , Edinburgh.
Princes Street Backpackers East
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian, Scotland EH2 2AA 5 West Register Street - top floor
71% 1626
55.9535248 -3.1904125
Princes Street Backpackers East
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
26th Nov 2016
6.3

Have to pay for wifi which is a joke nowadays. Zero atmosphere, pretty awkward. Something like 70 stairs so beware if you have an injury (no elevator). I could feel the springs in the bed- very uncomfortable nights sleep. If you can find somewhere else do, there are much better places.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
7.7

Nice stay, the staff were decent and we had no problems. Only thing is that the wi-fi didn't reach our room which we weren't warned about. For the location and price it's perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
9.1

I stayed one week. The hostel is in a great location, has a good atmosphere and is cheap. I would recommend this place to backpackers looking for somewhere to rest their head.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Oct 2016
6.9

The hostel is nice but too expensive for what they offer

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Oct 2016
6.0

Horrible beds. But great location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Oct 2016
3.7

Fix the toilets, use more fragrant laundry soap, fix the lights in the rooms, repaint the walls

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
4.3

Do not stay here unless you are desperate! Showers and location were the only positive for me. Bathrooms were out of order or regularly coated in vomit, let alone what looks like a coating of black mould. My room (room t) had no lock, and I was told to 'just use your shoulder'. Despite the promise of free WiFi and sunday dinner, neither were present or ever addressed upon check in, guys, just take it off of there, thats false advertising. Peeling paint, dated facilities and an expensive price

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
3.1

Truly gross. Everything was filthy, from the crowded reception area to the sticky dining room. Toilets and showers were out of order on all floors but one. Dorm room had torn, dirty carpet, an indescribable smell and barely enough room to house the discheleved bunk beds. The light fixture was dangling from the ceiling as well. Tried to get a refund with no luck. Unless you are fine with these disgusting conditions, go elsewhere!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
6.0

You get much less than you would get in other hostels for the same money. For one, there is no wifi. Half of the bathrooms/showers are broken. The bedding is very old, reminds me of something that my grandmother has continuously used since the 1950's. It also smells very strange. Other than that, if you need a short stay, one or two nights, it is totally fine. If you need to stay longer than that, nah.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Sep 2016
7.1

A lot of students staying and living in the hostel. Staff are not very friendly and hostel needs maintanance. Showers are not good . However the atmosphere was good and location was top notch

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.