X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Princess Salme Inn Reviews

Mizingani Road, Malindi, Opposite New Fish Market, Opposite Harbour, Zanzibar, Tanzania

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
116 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

A terrific value for Stone Town, and still has the Zanzibari feel. It is a great location for arriving or departing with ferry. Stone Town is easily walkable, so even though Princess Salme is a bit out of the centre of attractions, it is still easy to get around. The fun part of Stone Town is walking around anyway. Stay was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was plentiful,and rooms full of character. Considering you are right by the chaotic port, it feels calm and peaceful in the hotel.


100%

This is one of the best place that I have stayed in. The staff is amazing, the tours they booked for me were great and at a very good price, and the hostel itself is very good, with mosquito net, good bed, hot water and toiletries. I totally recommend this place.-


86%

The location was perfect for walking around Stonetown and the breakfast was AMAZING. Having breakfast on the rooftop terrace (with wifi) was a great experience. We only stayed one night as we were going to Paje the next day. The only difficulty we had was at check in. The car we arranged with them never showed up and the check in process was long (and painful) for being 1 am. But otherwise, great place to stay in Zanzibar.


86%

Helpful staff, good facilities. The room is a little bit small.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

We got a Free upgrade and the breakfast was the best we had in 3 weeks of travelling!

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff are very friendly and are able to organise trips around Zanzibar for a reasonable price. If you go as a group the price is cheaper. The rooftop area is a good place to relax with a few beers and meet other guests. My room was very comfortable with a big four poster bed and mosquito net. The only real drawback is the location of the hostel, it is only 15 minutes walk from the main part of Stonetown but you have to walk through a very busy area by the port surrounded by fast cars.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

Clean, good staff, nice well equipped rooms and excellent value, couldn't fault it.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kenya
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Basic but good, and nice upstairs seating area for breakfast/evening beers. Facilities good and clean, and good laundry service.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

I really enjoyed the staff but felt there was lack of proper food handling for breakfast. I feel they should use only filtered or bottled water for cleaning fruits and tea and coffee.


94%

The accommodation here felt like 5 star luxury after staying in very basic accommodation for 2 weeks previously. The rooms are very clean, good air con, no need to use mosquito net, comfy bed, hot shower, safe in the room. Free tea and coffee all day, social roof top terrace, which is a nice place for a drink, tasty breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff. Very happy with my stay, and I would stay here again.

  • 1st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice place. Staff was very kind and helpful and had could give good advice of where to go and what to see in town. Nice atmosphere, we felt very welcomed.


74%

Friendly staff and pleasant stay with opportunity to hang out at the roof top terrace.

  • 20th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice friendly staff. A little bit out of the main tourist area but still easy walking distance to everywhere. The rooms are very basic but very clean and well worth the price. Also as everyone else has mentioned the breakfast was really decent. Would definately recommend.


97%

everything was great, except I was not leaving from the ferry port (which is right in front), so the location is a bit away from the centre... but its a short walk. everything else was god enough


89%

The 2 rooms on the first floor (both with shared bathroom) are rather gloomy, but breakfast was excellent.


100%

Very happy! The staff were friendly, and the breakfasts were AMAZING! (Seriously, fresh fruit, eggs cooked to your preference!)


94%

Great hostel. Friendly staff, walking distance to the cente of stone town, good showers, great rooftop dining/ kitchen/ lounge with 'honour system' beers.

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful. The breakfast is really good and they have some drinks at good prices and free tea. The rooms were perfectly adequate as was the bathroom. The only slight complaint I have is that the sheets had stains on them, but to be fair I didn't even point this out to them/ask them to be changed so it wasn't that bad. Right next to the ferry and good location for town. Might be quite difficult to find if not shown as it is behind another building.


86%

Super friendly staff give this place a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Breakfast was a delicious mix of western and African to chose from. My only comment would be that they could be better sign posted from the road


97%

Princess Salem Inn is secure and people who works there are friendly and they help you if need anything. At our last day at princess, we asked to leave our luggage during the day.. No problem, they stored it until we came back. Breakfast was really good and a room there is well worth the price!

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(74 results)


View all Zanzibar Hotels

Please give us your feedback