X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Promised Land Lodge Reviews

P.O.Box 2725, Zanzibar, Tanzania

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
45 Total Reviews
  • 97%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

very lovely people, true atmosphere!


91%

awesome! I love every day, i totally recommend

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

A small piece of paradise. Perfect for relaxing break away from Stone Town. Staff and people, very nice and friendly.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

The hotel is a little bit far away from the village, but has a very relaxing atmosphere, great cuisine and a wonderful location at the beach. The Staff is also nice and helpful. We really had a great time there. I would recommend it even for people who travel with not so low budgets.

  • 18th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Beautiful place with very nice staff. They will show you around and be helpful with any enquiries you might have. Very quiet and peaceful, away from the main tourist areas of Zanzibar. I have really enjoyed my stay

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Good atmosphere and the place is amasing..... but they should warn you before that the bathroom has only saltwater ... bathing and brushing your teeth with salt water is not cool ..


100%

We had a great stay. Excellent value for Money!


100%

Staying at promised land was truly a magical experience. The setting, staff and food were fantastic. I would return in a heartbeat and have already recommended it to others travelling to Zanzibar!

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Our 7 day stay at the Promised Land Lodge was absolutely fantastic. The only two minor things that could be done to further improve the experience would be to make the internet access a little easier (although it was very nice to allow us to use the dongle and computer) and to provide a tiny bit more variety in terms of meal options.


91%

A great place to stay if you hate the hords of the north. A quiet place, a great location (no beach though), a lovely and caring staff, and a somehow improvised wifi connection if you have your own laptop (a luxury in this area !). We just missed some variety in the menus to make our stay perfect. The Promised Land will remain in our memories for a long time, thank you !


100%

Best place to go on Zanzibar. I'm sending all my friends there! Really quiet, close to dolphin diving and some amazing snorkelling and super relaxed atmosphere in an amazing setting. Truly paradise!


86%

Excellent stay at promised land lodge, staff were friendly and welcoming. Only negative is the price of the food is not really value for money, I wouldn't mind paying the prices but 12,000 tsh for a bowl of past and some tomatoes isn't very good value. Apart from food prices/quality couldn't fault it. Thanks :)

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay if you want to absolutely relax and get away. Shebbi, Anu, etc. were all very kind. Everything I asked for, they did all they could to help me out with. The food was excellent and I got to go out and hunt for Octopus for free. They also offer free guided trips to town and the local caves. Most importantly, while you're at this hostel, none of the annoying touts that pervade the rest of Zanzibar will bother you. You will be in complete serenity with the other guests.


89%

Excellent stay couldnt have asked for anything better :)

  • 21st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Absolutely GREAT place with GREAT people - both hosts with their adorable daughter and Anu with domino game and jokes.We would definately recommend this place for other tourists! It is even more beautiful than in pictures. Food was great and bar just near the water-perfect. You do not even need to step out from this place - everything what is necessary is there.


91%

This is a beautiful, secluded hotel that rents out individual huts. Some of the huts are connected, and the walls are paper thin so there is no noise barrier. The showers are salt water (not as salty as the sea), so you never really feal clean. The staff was amazing, and I hope to return to this place within the next few years.


74%

This hostel was very laid back and all of the staff were friendly and welcoming. We loved out time at Promised Land except for a few things. It would be good if they had fresh water showers instead of salt water, and the rooms were quite dark (due to the fact that they were made out of all natural fibers and had only two small windows). Also a fan or air conditioning would be very much appreciated! Delicious food, lots of cold drink choices and comfy hammocks. We would definitely go back!

  • 24th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We spent 7 nights at the Promised Land Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. Shebi, Anuar, and the rest of the staff were were extremely welcoming from the moment we arrived and took care of us with a smile throughout our stay. Mafta and the rest of the kitchen staff cooked absolutely delicious Zanzibari seafood meals for very affordable prices. We saw the entire Island and all agreed that Promised Land Lodge is the most beautiful corner of all of Zanzibar!

  • 21st Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Thanks Mafta


97%

Amazing place with warm people. The food is delicious too.

  • 19th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Zanzibar Hotels

Please give us your feedback