X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Promised Land Lodge Reviews

P.O.Box 2725, Zanzibar, Tanzania

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
63 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 99%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The hotel was amazing. The owner, Shipi, was very nice and helpful, even allowing us to ride with him into Stone Town one day. The private beach had many places to lounge, including 3-4 hammocks which allowed unparalleled viewing of the stars at night. The only "problem" with the place is something that cannot be altered: because it is on the south coast, it's a 3 hour daladala (local mini bus) ride to the hotel from the harbor. But that also makes this place amazing, since it is so secluded.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very Friendly staff and well looked after, on arrival the staff were amazing and we feel ended up with the best room!!! beautiful place highly recommended for the price paid...

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent place to spend a few days! Really cool and relaxing!


94%

This is a great place to stay, I would highly recommend it. The staff was very friendly and helpful with everything.

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

This place is pretty far away from other things, but it's a beautiful and amazing place to just relax and enjoy the beach. Plenty of places to lounge, good restaurant, super friendly staff.

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing view,out room was in front of the ocean. The staff was lovely and very caring. The breakfast was included,it was very big but maybe it could have changed a little. You can also have lunch and dinner there, the good is very nice but a bit over priced.


100%

This Place is heaven on earth! I wish we could have stayed forever! There were not many people, it was relaxing and quiet at daytime and nice in the night with bonfires and the locals playing on bongos. Perfect place to go with a little boat to see and swim with dolphins and discover nearby islands. And when you come back from your trips, lay down in the hammock and enjoy the sunset! We'll definitely get married there! Wedding in paradise!


89%

A perfect place to rest and relax. The name of the lodge doesn't give false promises: it seems to be the promised land! Sandy beach, palms, hammocks, relaxed people, dolphins... Awesome fruits, juice and eggs are served for breakfast.The staff is super friendly and makes you feel welcome immediately. There is even a fire place for the evening with staff and guests sitting, singing and playing drums. I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Little piece of paradise talked away in the southwest of the island away from all crowds; our stay could not have been better. The compound is very well put together and maintained. The are hammocks, swings, many seats in and out of shade, a bar (with the gregarious Anu behind it!) and fantastic views of the ocean. We took the dolphin and snorkeling tour with Ali and had a great time eating lunch on the beautiful sand bank in the middle of the ocean. The food is also always fresh and good!


97%

Promised Land Lodge is a super pleasant place to relax. The staff absolutely could not be nicer. The smiles are genuine and you quickly feel like you are among friends. They build a fire every night and there is drumming most nights. The night sky is impressive and the hammocks are super comfortable. There isn't a beach right in front of the place, but a short walk brings you to a small beach and a slightly longer walk will take you to the village beach. At low tide, you can walk quite far.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Beautiful place, amazing value for money. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

Had a great weekend.... Staff was great

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

very lovely people, true atmosphere!


91%

awesome! I love every day, i totally recommend

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

It's a great place. A little out of the way (south west of Zanzibar) but it was an amazing stay. There's hammocks everywhere, overlooking the water, great for relaxing. THe staff are friendly and really helpful with questions about Zanzibar. They even had WiFi, a real rarity on Zanzibar. We'd definitely stay here again.


94%

A small piece of paradise. Perfect for relaxing break away from Stone Town. Staff and people, very nice and friendly.


91%

The hotel is a little bit far away from the village, but has a very relaxing atmosphere, great cuisine and a wonderful location at the beach. The Staff is also nice and helpful. We really had a great time there. I would recommend it even for people who travel with not so low budgets.

  • 18th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Beautiful place with very nice staff. They will show you around and be helpful with any enquiries you might have. Very quiet and peaceful, away from the main tourist areas of Zanzibar. I have really enjoyed my stay

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Good atmosphere and the place is amasing..... but they should warn you before that the bathroom has only saltwater ... bathing and brushing your teeth with salt water is not cool ..


100%

We had a great stay. Excellent value for Money!


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Zanzibar Hotels

Please give us your feedback