X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Promised Land Lodge Reviews

P.O.Box 2725, Zanzibar, Tanzania

Reviews & Ratings Explained

96%

Rating
52 Total Reviews
  • 97%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 100%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 94%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Little piece of paradise talked away in the southwest of the island away from all crowds; our stay could not have been better. The compound is very well put together and maintained. The are hammocks, swings, many seats in and out of shade, a bar (with the gregarious Anu behind it!) and fantastic views of the ocean. We took the dolphin and snorkeling tour with Ali and had a great time eating lunch on the beautiful sand bank in the middle of the ocean. The food is also always fresh and good!


97%

Promised Land Lodge is a super pleasant place to relax. The staff absolutely could not be nicer. The smiles are genuine and you quickly feel like you are among friends. They build a fire every night and there is drumming most nights. The night sky is impressive and the hammocks are super comfortable. There isn't a beach right in front of the place, but a short walk brings you to a small beach and a slightly longer walk will take you to the village beach. At low tide, you can walk quite far.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Beautiful place, amazing value for money. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Had a great weekend.... Staff was great

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

very lovely people, true atmosphere!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

awesome! I love every day, i totally recommend

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

It's a great place. A little out of the way (south west of Zanzibar) but it was an amazing stay. There's hammocks everywhere, overlooking the water, great for relaxing. THe staff are friendly and really helpful with questions about Zanzibar. They even had WiFi, a real rarity on Zanzibar. We'd definitely stay here again.


94%

A small piece of paradise. Perfect for relaxing break away from Stone Town. Staff and people, very nice and friendly.


91%

The hotel is a little bit far away from the village, but has a very relaxing atmosphere, great cuisine and a wonderful location at the beach. The Staff is also nice and helpful. We really had a great time there. I would recommend it even for people who travel with not so low budgets.

  • 18th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Beautiful place with very nice staff. They will show you around and be helpful with any enquiries you might have. Very quiet and peaceful, away from the main tourist areas of Zanzibar. I have really enjoyed my stay

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Good atmosphere and the place is amasing..... but they should warn you before that the bathroom has only saltwater ... bathing and brushing your teeth with salt water is not cool ..


100%

We had a great stay. Excellent value for Money!


100%

Staying at promised land was truly a magical experience. The setting, staff and food were fantastic. I would return in a heartbeat and have already recommended it to others travelling to Zanzibar!

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Our 7 day stay at the Promised Land Lodge was absolutely fantastic. The only two minor things that could be done to further improve the experience would be to make the internet access a little easier (although it was very nice to allow us to use the dongle and computer) and to provide a tiny bit more variety in terms of meal options.


91%

A great place to stay if you hate the hords of the north. A quiet place, a great location (no beach though), a lovely and caring staff, and a somehow improvised wifi connection if you have your own laptop (a luxury in this area !). We just missed some variety in the menus to make our stay perfect. The Promised Land will remain in our memories for a long time, thank you !


100%

Best place to go on Zanzibar. I'm sending all my friends there! Really quiet, close to dolphin diving and some amazing snorkelling and super relaxed atmosphere in an amazing setting. Truly paradise!


86%

Excellent stay at promised land lodge, staff were friendly and welcoming. Only negative is the price of the food is not really value for money, I wouldn't mind paying the prices but 12,000 tsh for a bowl of past and some tomatoes isn't very good value. Apart from food prices/quality couldn't fault it. Thanks :)

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay if you want to absolutely relax and get away. Shebbi, Anu, etc. were all very kind. Everything I asked for, they did all they could to help me out with. The food was excellent and I got to go out and hunt for Octopus for free. They also offer free guided trips to town and the local caves. Most importantly, while you're at this hostel, none of the annoying touts that pervade the rest of Zanzibar will bother you. You will be in complete serenity with the other guests.


89%

Excellent stay couldnt have asked for anything better :)

  • 21st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Absolutely GREAT place with GREAT people - both hosts with their adorable daughter and Anu with domino game and jokes.We would definately recommend this place for other tourists! It is even more beautiful than in pictures. Food was great and bar just near the water-perfect. You do not even need to step out from this place - everything what is necessary is there.


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Zanzibar Hotels

Please give us your feedback