Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Providenca Reviews

Ribarska 10, Novalja, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained


86 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


We stayed there for 4 days, first it was only for 3 but we decided one more would be awesome! The staff was really friendly and the rooms were good:) we had nice people with us in the room and spent an awesome time there! The only bad thing is that during night it is very hot inside the hostel and when you leave the window open in the early morning a nearby restaurant creates fish smell... But it is really not a big matter :) we definitely thinking of visiting again! Greetings form Austria

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there :) Thanks for the time you took to share your experience. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay at hostel Providenca and met some great people. Im glad that I can share good news with you and all our new guest. The news are that we solved problem with hot rooms by putting air cons in every room so our guest can enjoy in Novalja without dying from the heat:) Hope we will see you again in our small hostel. Warm regards, Sara Š. owner at hostel Providenca


Good, cheap hostel really close to the ferry in Novalja. 15 min taxi from Zrce beach where all the festivals are. Hostel is right in the middle of town and they have a safe where you can lock away any of your valuables

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for kind words and nice review. Hope you truly enjoyed in Novalja and our hostel. Best ragards, Sara Š., owner at hostel Providenca


Taking into consideration that there was a festival on, our stay was pretty good. Although we booked a 3 bed private dorm and got a 4 (to ourselves) but was then asked whether someone else could stay in the room. If they hadn't screwed up the booking there wouldn't have been a free bed, so we said no. We had asked for privacy during this part of our trip. Wifi was horrible and staff weren't trying very hard to fix it. Otherwise, good communal area with good vibe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
First of all I want to apologize. As I told you in email I send you before you came I truly did booked the whole 4 bed dorm for you. I didn't even knew that receptionist ask you for free bed. One guest wanted to extend his stay but I said at least twice not to ask you. Obviously it was our mistake and I apologize once more. Regarding WiFi, we had some problems with it and we will do our best to make it better for next summer .Thank you for your sincere review Kind regards, Sara Š, owner


Definately recommend! Absolutely superb location, couldn't get sny better. Staff lovely especially Sara (I think that's her name) and the boy of a night time, so helpful and welcoming. Facilities great and cleaners in everyday. Only downside is the rooms are very hot! Even with fans. Just be prepared. For the price and location, we can't moan really. You can always escape to the kitchen where there's air con! Definately recommend this hostel.

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your time and especially for these kind words. We put AC in rooms so summer of 2016 will definitely be easier for everybody:) Hope to see you and your girlfriends again some day. Kind regards, Sara Š., owner at hostel Providenca


Advertised air con in room and there wasn't - two fans instead. Kitchen facilities ok. Security - they have lockers but instructed to leave jea at reception which isn't always manner and one night we got back whoever was manning the desk had all their friends with them and they were drinking and rude to the girl we were travelling with. Wasn't the best hostek experience for the money. Good location tongetvthe bus to zrce beach. No many outlets in the room

Owner Comment (Hide)
It is not true that we advertised air con in the rooms. You can check on your booking. We have never said anything about aircon although we have it in common space! You dont need to leave a keys on reception desk, you can always take it with you or leave it in in the safe for free. I`m sorry to here about bad staff experience because we really always try to connect with people.


Nice hostel, was there for 4 nights, very good location, nice atmosphere in the common room and friendly staff. Definitely recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much. Hope to see you again in Novalja.


Needs air conditioning! The room smelt very bad and we couldn't sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We know air con is a must. But we need to point out that everybody knows there is no aircon before they come. You were alone in the room so I dont understand what smelled when there are only beds, lockers and fans in the room.


This hostel is amazing we had such a great stay here. Its clean, peoples who work at this hostel are so nice really helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you girls


This hostel is in a good location and the staff were pretty helpful. Good facilities too but wifi didn't work in our room on top floor. The only thing that let it down was the heat of the rooms, it was like a hot box/sauna and was colder outside in the sun! Never experienced heat like this even with a fan that just blew around hot air. You should definitely think about putting air conditioning in the rooms as everyone in our room found it extremely difficult to sleep

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for feedback. We're definitely thinking about putting air cons, summer in Novalja is extremely hot and we know air con is a must. As for WiFi we just received some boxes from UK to make the signal stronger so we hope that will help.


We had a mix of experiences with staff. The first was okay, the second was excellent and the third was okay again. I'm not sure of the names of any, but the lady working Wednesday evening was excellent in helping us figure out busses to the airport! The rooms were clean enough, and the so were the bathrooms. Thanks for a great stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing Providenca for your stay :) Hope you havent been waiting for a long time on main bus station in Zadar. Enjoy the day..


The staff at this hostel knew absolutely nothing about the surrounding town. We were constantly given wrong information regarding buses. Someone who works there should take the time to learn about the local bus system. We were the only two in our room (a 6 bed room) and could not imagine what it would be like if there had been six beds, the heat would have been unbearable. They also seem to have a serious mosquito problem (7 bites/1 night) Lastly, they really need to put trashcans in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I need to say that Im born in this small town and I know everything about it but regarding to bus schedule to Pag, you ask me just where the bus is. You didnt say you will go to the 9am one. City bus isnt always on time. We have their timetable but it wouldnt be a first time that bus just doesnt come on time so we dont want to say it will be there when maybe it wont .Mosquitos are not hostel problem, they are problem in this area. Thank you for feedback and we will think about your suggestion

View all Novalja Hostels

Please give us your feedback