Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

PubLove @ The Crown, Battersea

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 804 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 804 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
6.9

We a group of 4 arrived at Publove on 17-June for a night stay. We had checked in internet and had mixed reviews regarding the hostel. To our surprise, the staffs were very polite & helpful. The mats were clean, the room was though bit congested & super HOT due to summer. Pros 1) Helpful Staff 2) Neatness 3) Availability of toilets & shower rooms 4) Do not go by the internet reviews 5) Complementary breakfast Cons 1) Bad place to visit during peak summer - The rooms do not have fans available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your stay and your review! We really appreciate it. We apologize for the heat in the rooms, and we're working on getting more fans for the rooms to better deal with this issue. The Crown

2nd Jun 2017
8.0

Nice pub on ground level, helpful and fun staff! not the most home-y or social atmosphere but you're bound to have good conversations, and some great drinks with other travelers. Strange that there was no kitchen, and you had to go to a back room to eat any outside food on the premise, no alcohol allowed other than through the bar. Bunk rooms were clean, not a lot of storage space. And bathrooms may not have been cleaned during my 2.5 days there..? Overall worth the money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for leaving us a review! We do have a cleaner coming in every morning to clean the entire hostel. The staff is always available at the reception to give a quick clean if you asked them. As we are dealing with the bar, the kitchen and the reception at the same time, it can be tricky for us to be everywhere when need it but we tried our best to satisfied everyone. I will take your comment to the cleaning team and make sure they will spend more time on this part of the hostel. The Crown

1st Jun 2017
7.4

Publove was a decent experience. Clean, decent security, &it was close to a bus stop. Despite being integrated into a pub there wasn't much of a party atmosphere. The pub closed at 12pm on a Fri, which seemed early & overall just seemed to have a dead atmosphere. Odd note, about this hostel was that it had a crazy number of doors which can be hard to maneuver if you have a large backpack on. Literally 11 doors you have to go to get to your room from the front door. Maybe it's a London thing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for your review! So I think by 11 you meant 4 doors. Those doors are also fire proof just to make sure that we reach the safe and safety regulation :). We are open 24hours for guests only has we do not own a license for late refreshment for normal costumers. Thank you for staying with us. The Crown

20th May 2017
9.1

I LOVE publove

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
7.1

Showers are often broken and hot water runs out, beds are stacked 3 high and no chairs in rooms so there's nowhere to sit. Staff are great and the pub down stairs is quality.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • saffireheart76
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
8.0

My one complaint: they did not really have wifi. They have a network for you to connect to, but it doesn't do anything. Claiming to have wifi when it's not functioning is a lie. Otherwise my stay was great. I was a little worried about having my stuff stolen but they have lockers. I was able to leave my larger backpack with a lock on it in the room. Other people left their luggage in the room during the day. The staff was really nice, the other patrons were nice as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for leaving us a review! We are currently working on improving the internet. You can always ask the staff members to reset the wifi if this one isn't working. Hope we will see you again! The Crown

7th May 2017
5.4

Location is sub optimal, breakfast consists of dry cereal, bread and a toaster, milk and coffee. "hostel guest eating area" would be better served as a kitchenette area for longer term guests. Bathrooms and showers are dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2017
9.1

Nice place to be, nice staff. Only regret the absence of a kitchen and lack of space in the rooms when full. But all the rest is very good ! Thanks !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for leaving us a review! We are happy to see you had a good time with us! We do have a microwave facility for hostel guests that is placed in a staff only area. If you asked the staff members behind the bar they will be more than happy to let you use it. We also offer 10% off on food and drinks and 25% off on the brunch menu. Thank you again! The Crown

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
9.4

Thanks to the staff who made me welcome, and stayed upbeat and friendly all night, amazing considering the long shifts they do!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank your for your review! We are always happy to hear that the staff made you feel welcome and were friendly! We hope to see you again one day! The Crown

26th Apr 2017
4.3

Booked online for a 9 bed but were given a 12 bed, only 2 toilets and 2 showers for the entire hostel. 3 high bunk beds are just horrible, it's impossible to sit on your bed and there's no chairs in the rooms. They make it very difficult to bring your own food and outside alcohol is not allowed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.