Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 1,138 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 1,138 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.3
PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich Located at 1 Glenaffric Avenue, , London.
PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich
England
London E14 3BW 1 Glenaffric Avenue
68% 1138
51.4886652 -0.0058257
PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Dec 2016
9.7

I've stayed in a 4bedroom female dorm with en-suite bathroom. I can only recommend it. Spacious room. Cozy lounge and pub. Good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Oct 2016
3.4

Our stay here was terrible. At our second night there, we found that someone else was sleeping in my friend's bed. Turned out, they didn't do her check-in the day before properly so they double booked the bed. In the end, she had to stay on the couch in the lobby. That's not okay. Moreover, filrthy showers, bad atmosphere. Yuck.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
10.0

A great place to stay! Awesome staff, convenient location, very affordable, and just good vibes in general! Go down to the bar for a pizza and a pint and chat with the the bartender or just get some sleep, (my room was quite after 10pm anyway) Will defiantly return if I'm in need of another hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for such a lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next time! Kind Regards The Great Eastern team

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2016
7.7

Great and friendly staff, breakfast is good - Callum and Duarte were very helpful with advice about local areas and things to do. The only problem is the lack of kitchen for guests to use - and variety on pub food. The pizza is good, but how much pizza can you eat in a week?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review! We appreciate you enjoyed the continental breakfast and our staff; we always try our best! Thank you for your stay and hope to see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
24th Sep 2016
6.6

OK hostel. Had a heroin addict in our room who got kicked out, wasn't the greatest situation. I think it's just the area though, a lot of junkies. Tried to order pizza and they only had 2 out of the 5 pizzas on the menu. No kitchen available at all, supermarket a bit of a walk away and the staff checking us in were definitely not organised at all. It's okay for a night if you're desperate but wouldn't stay any longer because there isn't much to do around the hostel at all. Horrible breakfast too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your feedback. Apologies for the issue with one of the guests. Just on the other side of the river there are plenty of things to do, including seeing the Cutty Sark! Remember our staff are always here to help and can also advise you on this. We hope in spite of the inconvenience your stay in London was a pleasant one. Thank you for your stay and all the best!

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
6.6

I didn't get the room I ordered: 15 bed dorm instead of 6 bed dorm

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
17th Jul 2016
6.6

Staff were excellent, location a fair way out of London but train station close. No cooking facilities and no eating in rooms. Met some great people here and had a great time. Breakfast was included but not the greatest.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
8.6

Originally very pleased with this hostel it seemed clean and the staff were all very friendly however we left a bag of cookies on the floor overnight and in the morning something had eaten them (most likely a mouse) which wasn't very settling to know since they're a pub that serves food. Other than that a really nice place id recommend it aslong as you don't take food into your room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
2.0

They call me in the same day to cancelled my booking so I asked the lady who makes a call if gonna charge me the deposit that you need to leave when you are having a reservation, obviously she says no. After a few days money is take it from my bank account to this hostel. Terrible service and unclear specification.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! We are really sorry that your booking had to be cancelled due to a problem to our reservation system. You were not charged for your stay, though there is a few pounds amount that is held automatically as a deposit we have refunded it to your credit card. We apologize for any inconvenience this may has caused to you and we invite you to join us for a free cup of coffee or tea next time you ll be around the area. Best Regards,Fran,The Great Eastern

  • nadimsky1687
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
25th Jun 2016
3.4

Pros: A free breakfast and a large TV to watch the football in the pub. Cons: Lockers are very tiny, there are NO self-catering facilities, not even a microwave, no kettle, no iron, and the location sucks, as it's in the middle of nowhere. Nothing nearby. The wi-fi only works downstairs in the pub, not in your room.The food and drinks sold in the pub are very expensive, even with the discount. 10% discount is a joke. I certainly wouldn't recommend this place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Nadimsky! Thank you for taking time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and our function room. Sorry to hear that you didn't like the location. We are constantly trying to improve our facilities so that we can provide you a better stay in the future. Best Regards, Fran,The Great Eastern

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.