X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich Reviews

1 Glenaffric Avenue, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
1019 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Those stupid one piece toilet paper sheets are incredibly backwards. Not only are you making your hostel look cheap, you are making guests comfort worse. I do not know how any person in their right mind thought "yeah, we can save a few pounds and no one will notice".


97%

My stay was excellent and awesome all at once. The manageress and her team of superb employees looked after me and casted for all of my needs. The new kitchen is catering for tastes and the ales were amazing. Love the crew and I will return. Four thumbs up xxx

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

This hostel need a micro-waves for heating dishes.


69%

Lovely staff, poor facilities


89%

Accommodation is basic, but pretty good for the price. Surprisingly good views from the rooms. Atmosphere is excellent. Staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful; day or night. Easy to socialize with other guests or keep to oneself, whichever you prefer. Next time I'm in London; I will definitely stay here. Top tip: ask at check-in a first floor room and get a balcony

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Lovely staff and great value for money, despite the rather gross toilets and showers.


63%

The dorm number 7 was really hot in the night, no air coming in. Thumping base music ALL night long from downstairs in the bar area, even after the bar was closed!!? But good location and secure


77%

Poor breakfast, no place for close our baggage and feel safe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we are sorry you didn't enjoy our breakfast. For the luggage we provide small lockers in which you can lock your belonging so they are safe. We hope you will give us another opportunity, you will see an improvement. Thanks for choosing PubLove@The Great Eastern.

94%

I went to this hostel as it was recommended to me by a friend. The staff were really helpful especially with directions and places to go to. The breakfast was great value considering I only paid £13 a night, there were cereals, muesli, oranges, toast along with tea and (instant) coffee. I loved the fact we got discount at the bar and there was free luggage storage on check out. It wasn't the cleanest hostel but I made friends, had a good nights sleep, had a hot shower and a good breakfast!

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We are glad to hear you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you next time. Thanks for choosing PubLove! The Publove@ The Great Eastern team

97%

I stayed two days in The Great Eastern and it was the best hostel I stayed in London. The staff were awesome and extremely helpful. The bar downstairs had a huge range of products and a really chilled vibe. It was a little unclean but mainly due to other hostel guests being dirty and there isn't a kitchen but that wasn't really an issue for me. Overall I recommend the place! Thanks for a great stay!

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We are glad to hear you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you next time! Thanks for choosing PubLove! The Publove@ The Great Eastern team

69%

Apart from having a really cool pub downstairs, this hostel is very average. The rooms are small and the beds are not that good. The bathrooms are a little smelly, and there's not enough showers for everybody. But the major issue is the location, since you have to take, from the city centre, different transportations (tube and DLR) to get there.


46%

The bathroom in the first floor is absolutely disgusting. I understand that you are also a pub and that's the bathroom the people from the pub are supposed to use but have in mind that it's close to the lounge area, if the guests are hanging out there, they will have to use it. Please, put in the website that you don't provide towels, a suggestion would be to allow the guests to rent it. Rent adapters maybe would also be a good suggestion.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are sorry to hear you found our pub toilets disgusting, in the last week, they were deep cleaned, so we hope if you gave us a second chance, you would see an improvement. As for towels and adaptors, we do sell these to guests at around £5 along with padlocks, we are very sorry that no one made that clear to you. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, as we really appreciate all the feedback we are given. Kind regards, The Publove@The Great Eastern Team

86%

A massive thanks to Emma and the team for making my stay so enjoyable! Great pub and separate chill out lounge. Really close to Greenwich which has an awesome market on the weekends and big parks. Hostel was what you would expect from a budget hostel, but with the great atmosphere I would definitely recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for taking the time to write this review! Reviews like yours always put a smile on our faces. We are happy to hear your stay was so enjoyable and we hope to see you again in the future! Thanks again & Happy travels. The Publove@The Great Eastern Team

37%

Bad place, no clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are really sorry to hear that you did not have a great stay with us. We are looking into the cleanliness issues and can guarantee if you came back and gave us a second chance you would see an improvement. Thanks for choosing Publove. The Publove @ The Great Eastern team

100%

Publove ♡ I have stayed at many hostels around London so I could find the best. I have found that Publove @ The GREAT Eastern is truly Great!! Great staff. Great price! Great Location. I have returned here a few times now on my travels to London and highly recommend anyone to stay here. I ♡ PubLove

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

This was my first hostel experience and I was pleasantly surprised with how good it was. The pub and accommodation were very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you!

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review! We are glad you had a great first hostel experience and thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you again. The Publove @ The Great Eastern team



View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback