Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1,148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1,148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2
PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich Located at 1 Glenaffric Avenue, , London.
PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich
England
London E14 3BW 1 Glenaffric Avenue
75% 1148
51.4886652 -0.0058257
PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Jan 2017
7.4

Decent hostel with free breakfast (cereals, toast and tea). Not too much atmosphere on the night I visited and slightly shabby appearance in places but ideal for a short stay. Serves food and drink in evenings in the bar section. Well located near to the foot tunnel over to Greenwich and close to tube. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
9.7

I had a really nice time at The Great Eastern. Its a far from the center of the city but there is a underground stop real close which made getting to the rest of the city really easy. The hostel has a really relaxed environment. Great place to relax after a long day of running around the city. At night they play music and their song choices are great. I did not eat from the hostel but I am told its good. All in all, great place to sleep if you spending time in London.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Dec 2016
5.1

Well, London is very expensive, I guess with this place you get what you pay for....it's cheap! So... just expect an uncomfortable bed and a toilet that's all I got. Atmosphere was depressing, staff not very helpful. Most of them definitely look unhappy (grumpy!) with what they do, especially the guy (with beard) serving breakfast. Mattress was uncomfortable and the lockers in the room are very small. No cooking facilities... At least a microwave and kettle should be provided

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Dec 2016
9.7

Great value for money, quiet location, cleanliness. Staff is very nice as well :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Moldova, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Dec 2016
8.0

Overall a very pleasant place but they definitely need to improve some stuff. The mattress I had was very bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Dec 2016
9.7

I've stayed in a 4bedroom female dorm with en-suite bathroom. I can only recommend it. Spacious room. Cozy lounge and pub. Good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Oct 2016
3.4

Our stay here was terrible. At our second night there, we found that someone else was sleeping in my friend's bed. Turned out, they didn't do her check-in the day before properly so they double booked the bed. In the end, she had to stay on the couch in the lobby. That's not okay. Moreover, filrthy showers, bad atmosphere. Yuck.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
10.0

A great place to stay! Awesome staff, convenient location, very affordable, and just good vibes in general! Go down to the bar for a pizza and a pint and chat with the the bartender or just get some sleep, (my room was quite after 10pm anyway) Will defiantly return if I'm in need of another hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for such a lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next time! Kind Regards The Great Eastern team

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2016
7.7

Great and friendly staff, breakfast is good - Callum and Duarte were very helpful with advice about local areas and things to do. The only problem is the lack of kitchen for guests to use - and variety on pub food. The pizza is good, but how much pizza can you eat in a week?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review! We appreciate you enjoyed the continental breakfast and our staff; we always try our best! Thank you for your stay and hope to see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
24th Sep 2016
6.6

OK hostel. Had a heroin addict in our room who got kicked out, wasn't the greatest situation. I think it's just the area though, a lot of junkies. Tried to order pizza and they only had 2 out of the 5 pizzas on the menu. No kitchen available at all, supermarket a bit of a walk away and the staff checking us in were definitely not organised at all. It's okay for a night if you're desperate but wouldn't stay any longer because there isn't much to do around the hostel at all. Horrible breakfast too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your feedback. Apologies for the issue with one of the guests. Just on the other side of the river there are plenty of things to do, including seeing the Cutty Sark! Remember our staff are always here to help and can also advise you on this. We hope in spite of the inconvenience your stay in London was a pleasant one. Thank you for your stay and all the best!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.