Hostelworld.com

PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1154 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1154 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Feb 2017
10.0

Well its good. Please open the bar all night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
5.4

Let's start with the positives: the location is great since it's close to Greenwich, a lovely walk and a nice neighborhood. The staff was very friendly and helpful. However, on a negative note, the security wasn't optimal. Our locker was forced and belongings were stolen, which was kind of unfortunate. In addition, it seemed like there were a lot of solo-travelers but little interaction, so atmosphere-wise it wasn't the greatest.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
8.9

Very clean and friendly staff. Lockers managed to fit my very large laptop in them which was surprising. It would have been better if there was a microwave in the communal area. But other than that it was pretty good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
10.0

Awesome place to relax and enjoy london

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
7.4

Decent hostel with free breakfast (cereals, toast and tea). Not too much atmosphere on the night I visited and slightly shabby appearance in places but ideal for a short stay. Serves food and drink in evenings in the bar section. Well located near to the foot tunnel over to Greenwich and close to tube. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
9.7

I had a really nice time at The Great Eastern. Its a far from the center of the city but there is a underground stop real close which made getting to the rest of the city really easy. The hostel has a really relaxed environment. Great place to relax after a long day of running around the city. At night they play music and their song choices are great. I did not eat from the hostel but I am told its good. All in all, great place to sleep if you spending time in London.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Dec 2016
5.1

Well, London is very expensive, I guess with this place you get what you pay for....it's cheap! So... just expect an uncomfortable bed and a toilet that's all I got. Atmosphere was depressing, staff not very helpful. Most of them definitely look unhappy (grumpy!) with what they do, especially the guy (with beard) serving breakfast. Mattress was uncomfortable and the lockers in the room are very small. No cooking facilities... At least a microwave and kettle should be provided

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Dec 2016
9.7

Great value for money, quiet location, cleanliness. Staff is very nice as well :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Moldova, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Dec 2016
8.0

Overall a very pleasant place but they definitely need to improve some stuff. The mattress I had was very bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Dec 2016
9.7

I've stayed in a 4bedroom female dorm with en-suite bathroom. I can only recommend it. Spacious room. Cozy lounge and pub. Good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.