Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1191 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1191 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
5.7

Mice everywhere, owners don't care. Staff is excellent, food is decent, rooms are clean but public rooms variable. Bar is very quiet, but game room is good for a few beers- be warned, alcohol shuts off at 11 sharp. Showers barely drained at all, out of order. Travel into London is a long/expensive train and light rail there and back; can take over an hour each way. Free breakfast is probably the most basic of any hostel I've been in- security is overbearing but also never implemented.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.6

Not a super social hostel, but easy o get to places and good facilities for a cheaper price than a lot of london hostels

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2017
8.6

Very cool option for budget stay. I had bad luck with fellow travelers since they were ridiculously loud half of the night, but other than that I am. pretty happy with my stay. The room was spacious and clean. All basic facilities available. Breakfast included however it consists literally from toast of bread and cereals with milk :) so don't get too excited :D good option for a cheap place to stay. Oh, and staff was super friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • celempke4233
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
9.7

Really loved the location of this pub: out of the tourist-packed areas but still easy to access everywhere you might want to go. Wonderful, friendly staff, very chill 'come as you are' atmosphere. Not a party hostel, but one full of good (independent) people. Super easy access to both the Thames River walk and the nearest Tube station, plus lots of buses even late at night. Only reason I didn't give it 10 out of 10: No kitchen! No fridge, not even a microwave. :(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.0

Many showers and bathrooms were "out of order". And they were not very good. But the bedrooms and the people are very nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jaypkab4796
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jul 2017
2.9

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The area is sketchy, their WiFi works in one corner of the building and only on the main floor, all the showers barely work. Wash your hands on floor one because there is actually soap there, then go to floor two to dry them where the blower is. 2 out of 4 toilets work. Our rooms lock you could just shake a little bit and it would fall open and you could enter the room without entering a code. Beer was kinda cold I guess. Does not have a pool table.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2017
7.1

The people in my 15 bedroom mixed dorm were not very respectful of others that we sleeping, and the lockers were quite small. The staff was overall very helpful. However, if the website says that linens are provided, I believe that towels should be given. Or say, "linens are provided except towels". My only other complaint is that the showers would overflow and not drain after only a few minutes of showering. It was nice having the bar downstairs. I recommend grabbing your free pizza on Fridays

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2017
6.9

This was okay as far as basic accommodation. A bit out of the way but close enough to a subway line. The breakfast could be a little better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • fjasantos
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jun 2017
8.9

I loved this place. Named after a great ship by Brunel. One of the greatest British engineers. This is what a hostel is supposed to be like. No fanciness. Pitty the WiFi wasn't working that well. Great staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
6.9

Hostel is definitely not in the best shape. Lock on the bathroom door was broken, wifi hardly worked and often hardly a soul to be seen around the hostel. Staff were alright, but taking care of hostel guests seemed like an inconvenience to them. In a nice quiet neighbourhood though, just a walk through the river tunnel away from Greenwich.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×