Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jaypkab4796
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
2.9

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The area is sketchy, their WiFi works in one corner of the building and only on the main floor, all the showers barely work. Wash your hands on floor one because there is actually soap there, then go to floor two to dry them where the blower is. 2 out of 4 toilets work. Our rooms lock you could just shake a little bit and it would fall open and you could enter the room without entering a code. Beer was kinda cold I guess. Does not have a pool table.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2017
7.1

The people in my 15 bedroom mixed dorm were not very respectful of others that we sleeping, and the lockers were quite small. The staff was overall very helpful. However, if the website says that linens are provided, I believe that towels should be given. Or say, "linens are provided except towels". My only other complaint is that the showers would overflow and not drain after only a few minutes of showering. It was nice having the bar downstairs. I recommend grabbing your free pizza on Fridays

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • fjasantos
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jun 2017
8.9

I loved this place. Named after a great ship by Brunel. One of the greatest British engineers. This is what a hostel is supposed to be like. No fanciness. Pitty the WiFi wasn't working that well. Great staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
6.9

Hostel is definitely not in the best shape. Lock on the bathroom door was broken, wifi hardly worked and often hardly a soul to be seen around the hostel. Staff were alright, but taking care of hostel guests seemed like an inconvenience to them. In a nice quiet neighbourhood though, just a walk through the river tunnel away from Greenwich.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
7.1

For a short walk to Greenwich the location isn't the worst, but the beds are uncomfortable, and I felt overall a bit weird being there between the staff and other guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jun 2017
6.9

We had a nice stay at the hostel. We were quite disappointed that there was no kitchen, and the staff could have been a bit friendlier. But overall its a good hostel if you don't want to spend a lot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st May 2017
7.7

I wasn't expecting much with this hostel for the cheap price and it was actually a lot nicer than I expected it to be. I was impressed with the security, there was a code to enter the hostel, a code to get into each room, and some lockers to lock your valuables. Washrooms were cleaner than I expected, only 2 showers for lots of people which wasn't great though. Breakfast wasn't anything to write home about, just some bread with jam. Staff was helpful and pleasant. Good value for money overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
8.6

Excellent value for money, helped by friendly dormmates

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
8.9

In my room the door, the bed and the floor was crepitate and so noisy. That was awful. And on the second night I had two stenchy roommate. That wasn't the best. Just good to know. But the other things was so nice. The staff, the cleanliness and everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
7.4

Pros: relatively cheap, free (simple) breakfast, friendly staff, 24-hour reception. Cons: Uncomfortable beds, not super clean, kind of far from city center (but close to public transportation, which is nice). The lounge was nice to relax and hang out in. Decent value for the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.