X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich Reviews

1 Glenaffric Avenue, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
1079 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Nice location, great hangout lounge and lovely staff.!


49%

Staff wasn't very helpful and the "free wifi" was non existent

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The bathroom


51%

The plug sockets don't work in any of the dorms so everybody is forced to have to charge up there phones, laptops etc downstairs in the pub. I was not happy with this arrangement from the start and sure enough my phone( a Samsung s4 ) was stolen. Later that night another person's phone was stolen as well as another phone the night before. There was no way off catching the culprit as surprise, surprise the cctv doesn't work either which is disgusting. I will never stay in a pub love again.


54%

Staff was friendly and helpful, but the state of the place is really bad. Showers are broken, only one toilet usable on my floor. I was in a 12 beds room and the smell in the room was awfull. Also there were black stains on the walls that looked like mold. It is pretty cheap so there is nothing extraordinary to expect, but this is really not clean enough.

  • 11th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The location of this hostel is great but the hostel itself need better management. There is a clear problem with management at the top and the staff, all the showers have problems. If you get a en suite room with a shower it is pointless as it won't work. The showers in the shower room don't work correctly, sounds like they're going to break. The staff themselves are extremely slow to help out or simply take your order. I waited nearly 20 minutes just to order food at the bar.

  • 3rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I stayed at a smaller dorm 2 years ago & was very happy. This time I stayed in a 12 bebed dorm and I wouldn't recommend it. The communal bathroom is one of thw most disgusting I've ever seen in a hostel and theres no space for your luggage in the room. You couldnt even open the door properly because that was the only space to put bags. Also the hostel should invest in new mattresses. And a mouse was spotted in the lounge area (welcome london^^). The staff was really nice though...


100%

Thanks guys, very happy


60%

It was adequate. My iphone got stolen off of my bed while I slept which was creepy, so make sure to lock your stuff up!! I think it was the maid but I have no proof. No kitchen, wifi works well downstairs but not really in the rooms. On the 2nd floor, log onto the "Nike Zoom" network if it's still around, it worked very well from my 2nd floor room. Would stay again. Not a bad train ride into the heart of London.


80%

Great weekend prices, gorgeous staff, computers for use by backpackers (highly practical if like me you don't carry a laptop) and pleasingly large bathrooms all make for a great stay, with a bus stop almost at the front door, and tube stops less than 10 mins away. Ahe rooms don't contain too many beds, so this hostel affords more privacy than most.lso t

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel was ok, although the first night someone was sleeping in one of our bed and there were some issues with bed reservations (and people having issues to read the bed number) but the staff was friendly and efficient. The location is nice, especially for the proximity with Greenwich. The food at the bar was good.

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Hello, I have already written to complain about this hostel and my comments were passed onto the hostel but they wrote back and whitewashed my complaint. As I have only so many characters the key points are: - Lack of ventilation in dorm due to windows unopened - smelly in morning - Blocked showers with floating hair and grime - according to cleaner for three weeks - People sleeping in the communal area - Mattresses very uncomfortable - Mice in dorm and restaurant - seen by others

  • 16th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

This hostel made me wonder what it's like to stay in a homeless shelter. Cleanliness: Blocked and poorly functioning toilets and showers. A massive mould stain in the ceiling of the bathroom that made me wonder whether I was going to leave with mould spores on my lungs. Staff: Listened to two cleaners swearing at each other and one staff member talking about how 'he was sick and making other people sick'. He also had a very long conversation about midget porn in a common area. Classy.


83%

Had a good stay here, staff really helpful, but the location makes it think if it's worth it.


54%

The pub is awesome and the staff too. But the bathrooms are just disgusting. Please improve that! Its cheap but it should still have a decent, clean bathroom.


34%

I haven't seen such a unhygienic dom.They don't have proper arrangements and a very nasty toilets.They have just one pluck point in one room of 8 beds.

  • 8th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Those stupid one piece toilet paper sheets are incredibly backwards. Not only are you making your hostel look cheap, you are making guests comfort worse. I do not know how any person in their right mind thought "yeah, we can save a few pounds and no one will notice".


97%

My stay was excellent and awesome all at once. The manageress and her team of superb employees looked after me and casted for all of my needs. The new kitchen is catering for tastes and the ales were amazing. Love the crew and I will return. Four thumbs up xxx

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

This hostel need a micro-waves for heating dishes.


69%

Lovely staff, poor facilities


(44 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback