X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich Reviews

1 Glenaffric Avenue, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
997 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

The bathroom in the first floor is absolutely disgusting. I understand that you are also a pub and that's the bathroom the people from the pub are supposed to use but have in mind that it's close to the lounge area, if the guests are hanging out there, they will have to use it. Please, put in the website that you don't provide towels, a suggestion would be to allow the guests to rent it. Rent adapters maybe would also be a good suggestion.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are sorry to hear you found our pub toilets disgusting, in the last week, they were deep cleaned, so we hope if you gave us a second chance, you would see an improvement. As for towels and adaptors, we do sell these to guests at around £5 along with padlocks, we are very sorry that no one made that clear to you. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, as we really appreciate all the feedback we are given. Kind regards, The Publove@The Great Eastern Team

86%

A massive thanks to Emma and the team for making my stay so enjoyable! Great pub and separate chill out lounge. Really close to Greenwich which has an awesome market on the weekends and big parks. Hostel was what you would expect from a budget hostel, but with the great atmosphere I would definitely recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for taking the time to write this review! Reviews like yours always put a smile on our faces. We are happy to hear your stay was so enjoyable and we hope to see you again in the future! Thanks again & Happy travels. The Publove@The Great Eastern Team

37%

Bad place, no clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are really sorry to hear that you did not have a great stay with us. We are looking into the cleanliness issues and can guarantee if you came back and gave us a second chance you would see an improvement. Thanks for choosing Publove. The Publove @ The Great Eastern team

100%

Publove ♡ I have stayed at many hostels around London so I could find the best. I have found that Publove @ The GREAT Eastern is truly Great!! Great staff. Great price! Great Location. I have returned here a few times now on my travels to London and highly recommend anyone to stay here. I ♡ PubLove

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

This was my first hostel experience and I was pleasantly surprised with how good it was. The pub and accommodation were very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you!

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review! We are glad you had a great first hostel experience and thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you again. The Publove @ The Great Eastern team

46%

Not staying again in this hostel, bad location, bad smell in the dorms and the lounge, the toilet dirty with no paper, one shower with no door and other with no lock, the rooms dont have lockers for the backpacks, so you have to let your belongins in the dorms or go downstairs to the luggage storage (it may be difficult if you dont have a backpack)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we take our guests views seriously. We are really sorry to hear that you did not have a great stay with us. We are looking into the cleanliness issues and can guarantee if you came back and gave us a second chance you would see an improvement. Thanks for choosing Publove. The Publove @ The Great Eastern team

97%

Will stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We are glad to hear you will be back and that you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you next time. The Publove@ The Great Eastern team

57%

The best part is the great lounge. The worst is the smallest smelly rooms with 9 pairs of feet! food at the bar is limited and expensive, and not many options nearby. the free breakfast is so lame. only close to Greenwich, far from anywhere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, We agree we have an awesome lounge to chill out in! We are sorry to hear about the smelly rooms, next time let us know so we can try and do something about it and we are also sorry to hear that you feel we cater poorly, our breakfast is standard toast and cereals with tea and coffee to keep the cost down for you guys and we offer 10% all food and drinks in the bar as we know your on a budget. Thanks for leaving a review. The Publove @ The Great Eastern team

49%

There were 2 toilette broken, what happen with the shower without door? Breakfast till 9 it's too early in my opinion, above all if there is just bread marmelade and cereals Window in our room it was broken, with a piece of paper to fix it? it's very difficult to jump on the bed (we were also in another publove, and it was much easier) NO SPACE for baggages (even if it was just a backpack) Night Bus from Trafalgar Square, 1 hour.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are really sorry to hear that you did not have a great stay with us. We are looking into the cleanliness issues and can guarantee if you came back and gave us a second chance you would see an improvement. Thanks for choosing Publove. The Publove @ The Great Eastern team

80%

Just an average hostel in London, internet is very fast which is nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are improving our facilities and our hostel environment and if you came back and gave us a second chance you would see an improvement. Thanks for choosing Publove. The Publove @ The Great Eastern team

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
77%

Nice hostel, there is a big comfortable living room for the backpackers, and a pub right next to it. Rooms and beds are ok, although some people may not like the 3 levels bunk beds. The shower in my room sometimes did not have hot water, so I had to go to the common showers. The hostel is situated a bit far away from the centre ; you have to take the DLR (an open-air tube) and they stop a bit earlier than the underground. Staff are very nice and likely to help you in need.


40%

beds were used and dirty when we arrived, so i told the guy at the reception to change them. When i came back some hours later they weren't changed, there was somebody in our bed. I went down to the reception, there was another very friendly guy who changed them for us in the middle of the night. The room in the bathroom didnt open when i was inside, it took me like 20 minutus to get out. The room was smelly and dirty as ****


69%

Like last time I stayed here, the place was adequate enough for my needs: good location for the O2, a place to sleep, decent showers and free breakfast, which was even a little more reliable this time around. However, no proper leisure room or kitchen. And one more minor complaint: I had booked an 8-bed dorm but was placed in a 12-bed room, as they didn't have enough beds in the other room, probably due to overbooking. But at least I was then only charged the amount for the 12er, too.


80%

Overall was pleased with my stay. Rooms were clean, good showers available although think they could use more for the number of guests staying especially as there is a rush in the mornings. Water tends to pool on the floor as no where for it to drain away - only an issue when heavy use of the showers. Common room while has good seating and a pool table there is no TV except in the bar which is always muted. Would be a nice addition. Staff are very helpfull

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


34%

Smelly and dirty rooms. The shower and toilet area had really poor conditions ( often clogged toilets, door that din't close properly, no more hot water in the middle of the shower). Also the staff was unfriendly and unhelpful, for instance we arrived for breakfast exactly at 09:01 (since it is from 7h-9h) and they denied us even a piece of bread, yeah british punctuality but come on!


97%

Far from the center but otherwise it's perfect, should have more britain adapters!!


74%

poor arrangement with the bed space, i lost my personal effects because of this

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Grenada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

I stayed only one night, so the hostel can "get away" with many things, because hey, only one night, right? the thing I disliked the most: we had a room with a toilet and bathroom attached to it, but no hot water in the shower (or there was hot water, but you needed to wait like 20 mins, because the water heater didnt work properly).

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

Staff is RUDE and unhelpful, looks like you disturb them. We did not feel good at all. Room was dirty, you cannot bring food in the room. Shower cold. Breakfast free but poor (milk and low quality cereals - smoke came out from the toaster, and the fire alarm was shouting every morning- how annoying!) Wi fi not good, tables in the common room sticky. Luggage room stinks. Recommended only if you are really out of money, better than sleeping in the street.


40%

Staff: unfriendly, sometimes rough and unhelpful at all. Room: we got the 6 bed mix dorm. Bathroom was dirty. Floor dirty, only one little window. Shower often cold. Too few outlet for so many people. There is a lounge and a bar. However, you MUST take breakfast in the little bar, even if there is no space and lounge is empty (?), kind of stupid rules. Tables were sticky and dirty. Hostel stinks. Wi fi is free but does not work properly. 40 min from the city centre by train. Not recommended.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(555 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback