X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PubLove @ The Great Eastern, Greenwich Reviews

1 Glenaffric Avenue, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
980 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 66%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Not staying again in this hostel, bad location, bad smell in the dorms and the lounge, the toilet dirty with no paper, one shower with no door and other with no lock, the rooms dont have lockers for the backpacks, so you have to let your belongins in the dorms or go downstairs to the luggage storage (it may be difficult if you dont have a backpack)


63%

Cette auberge est très éloignée du centre et il n'y a pas grand chose dans le quartier. En plus il n'y a pas de cuisine commune alors que c'est indiqué donc mauvaise surprise en arrivant. Par contre j'étais dans une chambre de 4 et c'était très propre avec une salle de bain dans la chambre donc très bien.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Will stay again


57%

The best part is the great lounge. The worst is the smallest smelly rooms with 9 pairs of feet! food at the bar is limited and expensive, and not many options nearby. the free breakfast is so lame. only close to Greenwich, far from anywhere else.


49%

There were 2 toilette broken, what happen with the shower without door? Breakfast till 9 it's too early in my opinion, above all if there is just bread marmelade and cereals Window in our room it was broken, with a piece of paper to fix it? it's very difficult to jump on the bed (we were also in another publove, and it was much easier) NO SPACE for baggages (even if it was just a backpack) Night Bus from Trafalgar Square, 1 hour.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Just an average hostel in London, internet is very fast which is nice


20%

O ostel não está preparado para receber hóspedes. Os funcionários são mal educados, não estão interessado no bem estar dos hóspedes. Fiquei num quarto, no inverno de Londres, sem calefação. Quando comuniquei ao funcionário do hostel, o mesmo informou que não poderia fazer nada. O café a manhã é muito ruim, os banheiros não são limpos e ficam inundados.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

El peor hostel que he estado. Los baños asquerosos, olían mal todo el tiempo, sucios, con mucha agua en el piso, nunca había papel; eran tres duchas solamente donde una salía agua fría, otra la puerta no cerraba, una porquería. Las camas malísimas: el colchón horrible, no se podía dormir. No había calefacción y la habitación era demasiada fría. El desayuno pobre: café, pan, manteca, leche y un horrible cereal. El STAFF una grosería, no le importan una mierda los hospedes. No recomiendo para nada


94%

En general me ha parecido bien, el desayuno es muy bueno. El ambiente en el lobby es agradable con buena música. El espácio o área/sala comunitária es amplia y tranquila.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice hostel, there is a big comfortable living room for the backpackers, and a pub right next to it. Rooms and beds are ok, although some people may not like the 3 levels bunk beds. The shower in my room sometimes did not have hot water, so I had to go to the common showers. The hostel is situated a bit far away from the centre ; you have to take the DLR (an open-air tube) and they stop a bit earlier than the underground. Staff are very nice and likely to help you in need.


80%

L'ostello presenta alcuni problemi quali l'assenza di maniglie alle porte dei bagni (e quindi una maggior probabilità di restare chiusi dentro se la porta si incastra troppo al muro) o l'acqua calda che stenta ad uscire dalle docce.Per il resto posso dire che non è male. Buona cucina, buone birre, divani comodi e la possibilità di rientrare a qualsiasi ora. Il personale gentilissimo. Quattro ragazzi che rispondono a tutte le esigenze con il sorriso sempre presente! Un buon ostello! Tornerò!

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

beds were used and dirty when we arrived, so i told the guy at the reception to change them. When i came back some hours later they weren't changed, there was somebody in our bed. I went down to the reception, there was another very friendly guy who changed them for us in the middle of the night. The room in the bathroom didnt open when i was inside, it took me like 20 minutus to get out. The room was smelly and dirty as ****


69%

Like last time I stayed here, the place was adequate enough for my needs: good location for the O2, a place to sleep, decent showers and free breakfast, which was even a little more reliable this time around. However, no proper leisure room or kitchen. And one more minor complaint: I had booked an 8-bed dorm but was placed in a 12-bed room, as they didn't have enough beds in the other room, probably due to overbooking. But at least I was then only charged the amount for the 12er, too.


80%

Overall was pleased with my stay. Rooms were clean, good showers available although think they could use more for the number of guests staying especially as there is a rush in the mornings. Water tends to pool on the floor as no where for it to drain away - only an issue when heavy use of the showers. Common room while has good seating and a pool table there is no TV except in the bar which is always muted. Would be a nice addition. Staff are very helpfull

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


34%

Smelly and dirty rooms. The shower and toilet area had really poor conditions ( often clogged toilets, door that din't close properly, no more hot water in the middle of the shower). Also the staff was unfriendly and unhelpful, for instance we arrived for breakfast exactly at 09:01 (since it is from 7h-9h) and they denied us even a piece of bread, yeah british punctuality but come on!


97%

Far from the center but otherwise it's perfect, should have more britain adapters!!


40%

Wir waren nicht in dem Hostel, weil wir mit unseren Kindern, die noch nicht 18 sind, nicht rein durften. In der Bestätigung hat das leider niemand gesagt und wir standen dann ohne Unterkunft da. Das war ziemlich blöd. Der Abschuss ist aber noch, dass uns die 1. Nacht trotzdem abgebucht wurde. Wir haben an Hostelworld geschrieben und nicht mal eine Rückmeldung bekommen! Wir sind sehr verärgert und werden so sicher nicht mehr bei Hostelworld buchen.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

poor arrangement with the bed space, i lost my personal effects because of this

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Grenada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

De kamers waren goed genoeg, de lounge was gezellig, de personeelsleden waren geweldig. Het enigste nadeel was dat de pub vroeg dicht ging, en dat de alcohol niet echt alcohol bevatte (in Nederland is het alcohol sterker). Ook mogen de wc's en de luchtfilters in de badkamer vaker schoongemaakt worden. Maar over het algemeen was het een geweldige hostel

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Tenia desayuno, sin cocina y alejado del centro (45min de viaje)

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback