X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PubLove @ The Green Man, Paddington Reviews

308 Edgware Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
2701 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The lockers only fit small locks. There's not really a central area to hang out accept for the bar and when you're on a tight budget its a bit pricy to drink since there's nowhere else your allowed to on premises. There's no microwave to make food and the only fridge is behind the bar. The staff was friendly, everything was clean and beds were comfy. My stay was great and I still was able to meet others, it just was a different environment with the reception being a bar. Also WiFi is terrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there. I'm sorry to read our hostel didn't reach your expectations and I would like to apologise. Our bar is open for our hostel guests 24 hours and this is what we use as our common area. Also with the guests discounts you can enjoy a good affordable English beer while sharing your experiences with other guests! I apologise for technical difficulties with the wifi. We always offer guests to use our computers/devices if needed. Thank you for leaving the review and we hope to see you again!

71%

Pub food is great! Don't count on a reliable wifi connection. Printer not working while we were there and no-one seemed to be doing anything to try to fix it. Good location for the money but I wouldn't stay more than two nights.


74%

Great location, many cheap fastfoods in close proximity and the city center in walk distance. Takes about 40min on foot to Victoria coach station and 12min to Hydepark. Undergrand and bus station are right next to pub. Hostel itself feels like built for hobbits but it seems to be standard in England.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

The hostel is not noted anywere on the outside of the building. The six women's dorm is 3 bunks each stacked up with out even room to open your suit case and have another person in the room. Bathrooms are dirty and even the shower curtain smells of bio (don't think it been cleaned or replaced forever) there is no kitchen to use which is one of the points of hosteling. Lastly the "breakfast" you get one toaster with 6 slots to over 30 people who are staying there and horrible plastic dish wear

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. We are sorry you didn't have a good time in our hostel. We haven't got a kitchen for guests in our hostel but we do allow guests to eat food at the bar and we also sell food at a discount for guests 24 hours a day but we are very sorry you found this inconvenient. We always welcome reviews wether they are positive or negative as they help us progress so thank you for the feedback. Take care, The Green Man

74%

Would love to see bigger lockers. Charging station with multiple connectors would be cool.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Glad to see you had a good time in our hostel! We do have a luggage room which is secure if you want to store big items as the lockers upstairs are mainly for smaller valuables. Always appreciate the feedback so thank you for the review! Take care and hopefully we see you again! The Green Man

80%

Awesome place. Great location for the cricket!

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oh we do love a bit of Cricket! Cheers for the review mate and we're glad to see you had a good time. Hopefully for the next match you get a bit more luck, hehe. Take care! The Green Man.

69%

Was a bit of an odd crowd there- some people infact living there. There were rats in the rooms and the bunks were kind of unstable. I had a massive gap between my bunk and the wall making it very easy to fall through. You get what you pay for thoufh

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The pub downstairs is a good space to hang out, but the actual hostel rooms aren't very nice. Be prepared for triple decker bunks, and a very small room for the number of people they pack in. There was nothing really awful about it, but also nothing particularly nice. However, the price was really good for London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Glad to see you enjoyed our pub! We are sorry the rooms weren't up to your standard and we are always welcoming feedback as it helps us progress so thank you for the review. Take care and safe travles, The Green Man

100%

Very good location in central London. All the staff are really friendly and helpful and jack the manager is great.


66%

Value for money is okay.


100%

It was good, very helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for leaving a review. Our staff are always trying to keep things exciting for our guest and we are glad you had a swell time at our hostel. Look forward to seeing you again! The Green Man

100%

Everything was perfect. I'd recommend sound proof window of room 3 b/c it's too noisy due to traffic n ambulances sirens.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for leaving us a review. We always welcome any feedback so we can help improve our hostel and sound proofing is definitely something we can look in to. Take care and we look forward to seeing you soon! The Green Man

94%

Great central location with immediate access to the tube, which I didn't actually use since it's also walking distance from Hyde Park, Oxford Street and much more. Friendly staff in the pub below the hostel, which has a good range of drinks and (it seems like) good food. I stayed one night in the 9-bed mixed dorm which was compact but not cramped. Toilets quite small but clean. Perfect for what I was after; a cheap, decent and well-located hostel. Would return.


71%

Good location, friendly staff, the wifi was a bit dodgy. Breakfast could be improved with a fruit or oats for a healthier option. Only basic cereal and bread with condiments. No common room but the bar downstairs. The bed was a little uncomfortable too. Everything was really clean and there is free luggage storage and small lockers in the room.


86%

Location, staff, guests and facilities good. Nice to be able to sit in the pub with food and laptop. No granola at breakfast


46%

the fundamental issue there no where to chill out on the triple bunk beds are hard to relax on , the fellow guest look miserable and too many are economic migrant


91%

Really friendly staff, the pub was beside the bus station, hot showers always clean and working perfectly. Confortable beds.


49%

When am come to the hostel around 1 PM,i was very rude man and not helpfull... he would rather sell beers, than helping me. The room was dirty, lot's of dust, and i asked them to take a bed higher, becuase of my asthma, they promise me to help me the Next day, but a heard nothing! It' was unisex bathrooms, and it was also dirty there... The breakfast was okay.. but the staff was not wiling to make it Nice to eat there... Some one tried to stealing my phone and sleeping in my bed the last nigth


91%

Just a quick stay but was very easy and convenient staying their.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey dude! Good to see you had a good time! Safe travels, The Green Man

74%

Security is excellent and staffs are friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, Thanks for leaving a review! We make sure all our staff are giving 100% when helping out people new to London. It's a very big place so it's important to give good advice on getting around and what the best attractions are. Hopefully we shall see you again! Take care, The Green Man

(1841 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback