Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 2,033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 2,033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.1
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo Located at 41-42 Cosser St, , London.
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
England
London SE1 7BU 41-42 Cosser St
75% 2033
51.4969616 -0.1126527
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Sep 2016
9.4

Gorgeous pub, the rooms were nice enough. People were friendly and there was always someone to talk to if there was any inconvenience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
7.4

Rooms were clean, great location, bathrooms could have been cleaner

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
2.0

bathroom floors were wet all the time. beds are tiny those door locks r aweful

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. We are constantly improving our facilities and at the time of your stay we did have a problem with the bathrooms. The beds, though, are standard single beds with comfy new mattresses. Thank you for your feedback and safe travels for the future!

17th Aug 2016
4.3

Very worn down and unclean. Stuff broken in the shower, shower door not closing properly. not enough places to leave clothes, towels etc in shower room. Water pooling on the bathroom floor, almost slipped and killed myself. Lockers to small to fit a bag. There wasn't an electric outlet at every bed, so if you wanted to charge your phone over night you might need to ask some if you could leave your phone in their bed... Overall the place just wasn't that thought through.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are continuously working to improve our facilities and apologize if you found them unsatisfactory during your stay. The lockers upstairs are meant for the guests to keep their valuables and are not meant for bigger bags, we do have a secure luggage room downstairs where guests can store their bags and suitcases. Thank you for your feedback!

16th Aug 2016
5.1

The shower was broken. The staffs are very helpful, but the owner is not polite. The breakfast is very simple. The hostel is recommended only if you can't spend too much money with accommodation.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We apologize for the shower, one of the shower head holders was very temporarily broken, but was fixed as soon as possible. We hope this didn't ruin your stay too much. We appreciate all feedback, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Safe travels and see you soon!

8th Aug 2016
9.4

I had an excellent stay at PubLove's Steam Engine! The staff here are great, the people you will meet are awesome, and the location is honestly the number one selling point that this hostel has. As long as you remember that this is a hostel, (not a hotel or private B&B rental) and you keep your expectations in check, this place will actually amaze you. The rooms are a fairly good size, the restrooms are not as bad as most people claim they are, and staying here comes with discounts on food!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are happy to hear that you had an excellent stay with us! We are proud of our staff, atmosphere and the location is not to complain about either. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and see you soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2016
5.1

Pros: - beds were clean Cons: - only 1 flushable toilet & the one shower had actual mushrooms growing in it - booked 2 beds together for me and my bf and we were put in separate rooms. We were told we couldn't move though there were empty beds in both rooms till much later that night - no kitchen & pub doesn't serve anything but frozen pizza after 10 and stops serving drinks at 12 - terrible place to try & meet people - staff was generally unhelpful - saw mice running into hostel

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. When making a booking not too much ahead and the hostel is full, the situation might occur where we are unable to allocate people in the same room, but of course we always do everything possible to make sure that doesn't happen. Our kitchen closes at 10 pm and opens at 9am, during the time the kitchen is closed we serve pizzas and crisps, so something is always on hand for our guests. The bar closes at midnight for outside customers, but stays open 24h for our hostel guests with a 10% discount. We appreciate all feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
6.3

Amazing location, pretty cool vibe, we did have 9 people in a small room with only 6 lockers, which only 4 worked and no room for bags on the floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We have some extra lockers in the hallway as well and downstairs we have a bigger locked luggage room where guests can store their bags and suitcases if needed. We are glad to hear that you generally enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for leaving us feedback!

2nd Aug 2016
8.0

Great location! Cool that there is a bar below the hostel. Breakfast was okay.. Nothing special. Bathrooms and showers were not clean. There were some mushrooms growing in one of the bathrooms. Besides for the cleanliness and small area in the room this hostel is pretty reasonable for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We apologize for the issues with the bathrooms at the time of your stay. The location is quite perfect with major transport links nearby and just a 15 minute walk to many main attractions. Hope you took good advantage of our bar discount for our hostel guests and hopefully see you again soon!

31st Jul 2016
7.4

This was a pretty cool hostel only about a 15 minute walk from the middle of the town, but sort of a sketchy part of town and no taxi driver had ever heard of it. There Romanian staff member that was brand new and he was amazing and there was one other guy and one other polish girl who were cool but the rest of the staff were not cool! It seemed like none of the staff knew what was going on and they had double booked beds for 4 different people while we were there including mine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.