Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 2295 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 2295 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2017
8.0

This was my first stay at a hostel, and it was a pleasant one! The staff were brilliant, really friendly and chatty which made the stay all the better really. Security wise, there are two doors that require codes to get past them, so it felt quite safe. The beds are also very comfortable, and we both slept well. Unfortunately, there was only one working toilet between everyone, and the bathrooms weren't very clean. This was the only letdown though, and we would probably stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ustcemre5284
  • Turkey, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2017
4.0

This is the worst hostel i have ever seen !!!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
8.9

Amazing location, 10 min walk to big attractions- so very good price considering this! Security in rooms was good- need a code to get into the main door and then a different one for rooms- good if you're prone to losing keys. Great pub below- great way to meet new people, staff were also lovely. Really comfy beds (probs the best I've stayed in). The hostel is a little shabby and only two showers/ toilets on whole floor- but get up early and this ceases to be a problem. Would definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
8.9

Even though I only stayed for one night, I really enjoyed my time at PubLove! The staff were helpful and friendly. The environment was very chill! The beds were good enough for a hostel and the security was good (several secure doors needed to go through to get to your room). It's located in a great location (walking distance to several main sights-Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, London Eye) and also only about a couple minutes walk away from an Underground entrance. I would gladly stay there again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Aug 2017
8.6

Great little hostel. Rooms are quite small and cramped but hey its cheap what do you expect. Bar downstairs is great if not a little pricey but the staff are fantastic. Even gave us free shots through the night. Would definately recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! We are very happy you enjoyed your time at The Steam Engine and the staff look forward to a repeat visit one day!

29th Jul 2017
7.7

This proved a very affordable option for London. In a location very near a lot of the tourist attractions, and public transport. The pub is a bit noisy and the staff isn't very engaging off-hand. There is no real option for people to interact with each other/ no lobby outside the pub. The 20 bed room was spacious. The bathrooms were dirty. The photos represented are not actually what this location offers. Nice cheap bed for a few nights. Cheap food for good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hostel in general. We do hope that the 24 hour pub would provide ample opportunity for the guests to interact and have fun.

  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
8.6

The cleaning time should be before check out time. Location and prices is very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come again!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2017
6.0

Lovely staff, great location. However there were only two shared toilets for the whole hostel and they weren't very clean. Also, lockers in my room were not very secure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2017
7.4

We stayed 3 nights and the location is awesome. The bar downstairs was good service and open at perfect times. My only complaint really is the cleanliness. The bathrooms/ showers were super gross/ smelling of mold. One toilet wasn't working at one point. Also for as many people staying there - there were only 2 toilets and 2 showers. Avoid if your a clean freak.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jul 2017
4.3

Quite dirty and the place needs quite a bit of updating. Shower drain blocked, only 3 power points work between 9 beds, 1 out of 2 showers had hot water, the bathroom smelt and had toilet paper drenched in yellow liquid left on the floor during the whole stay, bathroom was filled with baby spiders and had to wear shoes everywhere because the floor was covered in heaps of dirt

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.