Hostelworld.com

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,955 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,955 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.4
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo Located at 41-42 Cosser St, , London.
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
England
London SE1 7BU 41-42 Cosser St
76% 1955
51.4969616 -0.1126527
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • alewetzki1
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
8.3

Bathroom could be better but overall great place with great food right down stairs!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
8.0

This is an excellent spot to stay if you want to be fairly central in London, not your typically hostel environment as their is no common area or kitchen. Rooms are small but was quiet when we stayed even thou all 12 beds were full. Downside could be the only 1 working shower, it did not affect us when we stayed but it could be an issue. Overall I would stay here again especially if only in London for a night or 2.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for your kind comment, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay!

17th May 2016
6.9

We had a pretty good stay. Beds are stacked 3 high and the rooms are very crammed. Had to sleep with my bag in my bed because there was no other place for it. There is only one toilet in the hostel part but that never seemed to be a problem. Most of the staff were amazing. However, they say breakfast is 7:30 to 9, but they put the food/tea away at 8:30. The staff did get a bag of bread out for us when we came at 8:40 but he seemed very inconvenienced by it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2016
8.6

the lockers were very small (my normal sized backpack barely fit) which sucks in a 12 person dorm. breakfast was lackluster. location was about 20-30 minutes from some of the Westminster sights (Big Ben, London Eye, etc). but overall it was clean, it was safe and I felt comfortable. also being above a pub was convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • divechick108919623
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th May 2016
9.1

Convenient , clean , cheap but but noisy when things are on downstairs in the bar and people hanging around outside after hours. Plastic mattresses are sweaty jn warm weather.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for you comments and we hope to see you again

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
9.7

Very nice hostel! Loved the people! Loved the location! Loved the beer and the food! (you also get a discount) The best place in London, for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for you comments and we are hope to see you again

  • janaplow
  • Jamaica, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2016
8.6

Centrally located. Not too far of a walk from most places. Best thing about this place is the staff. Daniel is great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hope to see you again. Thank you

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th May 2016
8.3

Wonderful staff. Great location. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thank you. See you again

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
8.0

The atmosphere in the hostel is really good, the staff friendly and helpful with anything you need 24hrs. It is good that you can leave your luggage if you arrive early or after checking out. The price is high because is London but is too much for the hostel, bathrooms are bad, not enough for the amount of people staying there and the floor is always wet. Rooms are small and have just a small locker. Beds and the pub downstairs are the only thing really clean.Free breakfast is a plus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We hope to see you again. Thank you

5th May 2016
7.4

INCREDIBLE location, and a free breakfast as well. I would definitely recommend this place to fellow travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments see you soon again

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.