Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 2,017 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 2,017 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.1
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo Located at 41-42 Cosser St, , London.
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
England
London SE1 7BU 41-42 Cosser St
76% 2017
51.4969616 -0.1126527
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Aug 2016
4.3

Very worn down and unclean. Stuff broken in the shower, shower door not closing properly. not enough places to leave clothes, towels etc in shower room. Water pooling on the bathroom floor, almost slipped and killed myself. Lockers to small to fit a bag. There wasn't an electric outlet at every bed, so if you wanted to charge your phone over night you might need to ask some if you could leave your phone in their bed... Overall the place just wasn't that thought through.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
9.4

I had an excellent stay at PubLove's Steam Engine! The staff here are great, the people you will meet are awesome, and the location is honestly the number one selling point that this hostel has. As long as you remember that this is a hostel, (not a hotel or private B&B rental) and you keep your expectations in check, this place will actually amaze you. The rooms are a fairly good size, the restrooms are not as bad as most people claim they are, and staying here comes with discounts on food!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2016
5.1

Pros: - beds were clean Cons: - only 1 flushable toilet & the one shower had actual mushrooms growing in it - booked 2 beds together for me and my bf and we were put in separate rooms. We were told we couldn't move though there were empty beds in both rooms till much later that night - no kitchen & pub doesn't serve anything but frozen pizza after 10 and stops serving drinks at 12 - terrible place to try & meet people - staff was generally unhelpful - saw mice running into hostel

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
6.3

Amazing location, pretty cool vibe, we did have 9 people in a small room with only 6 lockers, which only 4 worked and no room for bags on the floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
8.0

Great location! Cool that there is a bar below the hostel. Breakfast was okay.. Nothing special. Bathrooms and showers were not clean. There were some mushrooms growing in one of the bathrooms. Besides for the cleanliness and small area in the room this hostel is pretty reasonable for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2016
7.4

This was a pretty cool hostel only about a 15 minute walk from the middle of the town, but sort of a sketchy part of town and no taxi driver had ever heard of it. There Romanian staff member that was brand new and he was amazing and there was one other guy and one other polish girl who were cool but the rest of the staff were not cool! It seemed like none of the staff knew what was going on and they had double booked beds for 4 different people while we were there including mine.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jul 2016
7.1

Great location, good breakfast but please, do something with your pc system - it's not nice to find two times a stranger in bed

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2016
5.7

The staff were friendly and helpful. The beds were clean although the bunks were so small that you could not sit in your bed. There were two bathrooms for 48 people (if each room had 12 bunks like ours did), and one of the toilets was broken. There were cracks in the floor and pools of water- very unhygienic. The rooms were small and there wasn't much room for 12 people to lay their stuff; it felt crowded. On the plus, it was a decent 20 minute walking distance to tourist attractions.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
5.7

The location of this hostel is ideal. Within a 50 minute walk of all major "tourist" sites. Very friendly staff. I was however disappointed in how misleading the reviews were on the bathroom cleanliness and the size of the rooms overall. The rooms are very crammed with hardly any space to put your belongings. I slept with my bag in my bed just so there was space to move around. There was also only one working communial toilet. Out of the two working showers one flooded a great deal and the other

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving us a review, we really appreciate getting feedback! We are situated a 10 minute walk away from Waterloo station and a 15 minute walk from London Eye and Big Ben. We are a backpackers hostel with dorm rooms so it might get a bit crowded when people have a lot of luggage and big suitcases, but we do have a secure luggage room where guests can store their bags. I apologize for the facilities during your stay - we did have a problem with one of our toilets, but this has now been fixed. I am glad you had a good experience with our lovely and friendly staff! We have staff on duty 24h for our guests, so in case of any questions or concerns someone is always on site to help out. Safe travels and hoping to see you again in the future!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
5.7

Facilities at this place were terrible, there were only two toilets and one of them was out of order so we were sharing one toilet between more than 30 people! And there were only two showers. There were small lockers but you had to provide your own lock. The location was good and easy to find, and the staff were fairly friendly but the atmosphere wasn't very good even though it was at a pub.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.