Hostelworld.com

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 2127 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 2127 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • aawwinston
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.7

Crazy friendly staff that answered all my questions no problem. Loved the old English building atmosphere and the pub downstairs was a huge plus. Great price given its location. With Waterloo and lambeth north tube stations that close i was able to get anywhere really quickly. Being in walking distance to the Westminster area made me feel like I was right in the heart of London! Excellent first hostel experience for myself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
7.4

Manuel was the best person on the staff. He treated us really well and went out of his way to ensure that we were always being helped. He made us feel very welcome

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
8.6

I enjoyed staying at this hostel! I was definitely pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere and the cleanliness. The staff was very helpful as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! :) Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Safe travels and hope to see you again in the future! The Steam Engine

12th Jan 2017
9.7

Very nice place, great staff. The wifi was not good, unstable signal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for the kind word :) We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels for the future and come visit us again! The Steam Engine

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
8.0

The staff are cool but the overall place as a hostel isn't the greatest. Rooms are small. Bathroom was dirty and shower was filled with hair making it so nasty. It's great for a pub but as a hostel I wasn't to happy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
5.1

The rooms are quite small and the lockers are only big enough to put the essentials in. We stayed in a 12bed mixed room and it was quite humid and hot. There are only two showers and two toilets for the entire place. Often the paper towel would run out or get stuck and it would be a long time before it was replaced/fixed. The showers didn't seem as though they were cleaned that often so every time I did shower I poured soap over the bottom. If it was cheaper I wouldn't have minded these problems

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Dec 2016
5.1

Wi fi hard to conect and slow! Staff very cold, I had been stuck outside 4 am knock on the door about 40 minutes. I arrive for breakfast one minute later they finish and there was nothing there I just wanted a glass of juice and I think they could offer me. Just the guy who check me in was nice and friendly! In the morning some girls start to pack they things about 5 am and I couldn't sleep anymore, the room was very small.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Dec 2016
6.9

The bunk beds were stacked 3 on top of each other so if you were in the middle or on the bottom you couldn't sit up in bed without hitting your head. Also during my stay there was construction going on and the power was out for awhile so I had to get ready in the dark. The food at the pub was good though and you get a discount. It's an alright place but you can stay somewhere better in London for less

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Dec 2016
5.7

The place was ok, that's about it. Nothing special. It's a 3 bunk bed, so it feels kinda like a pack them high sell it cheap operation. Being on the bottom bunk meant you were a few centimetres away from the ground. This didn't feel particularly amazing. Honestly, go elsewhere this is disappointing.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, sorry you were left disappointed with our hostel. We are a backpackers hostel with bunk beds and dorm rooms, of which information and pictures are available when making a booking, so this shouldn't have come as a surprise. Still we hope you had a great time in London and wish you all the best in your future travels. The Steam Engine

  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
8.9

Location Location Location, breakfast is very early, though perfect for those who want to hit the road early. No lounge area or rest place, as the facility is shared with the bar downstairs, there is a nice beer garden, but not a solution during the winter cold days. The hostel applies discounts for residents on meals with exclusive 24/7 service. With right mind, it can be the right place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.