Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 2,075 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 2,075 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.5
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo Located at 41-42 Cosser St, , London.
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
England
London SE1 7BU 41-42 Cosser St
75% 2075
51.4969616 -0.1126527
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Nov 2016
8.9

The Hostel is located in perfect location. One can walk to all the sight seeing places from there. They provide free maps. The beds in the hostel are 3 levels. So if someone is moving, you can feel that in upper and lower. The shower and toilets are ok, clean and not always occupied. They provide breakfast as well. So for the budget travellers, I find this Hostel quite ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for your nice comments! :) Hope you enjoyed your stay in London and come visit us again soon! The Steam Engine

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2016
7.7

Good staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! :) Thank you for you review and hope to see you again in the future! The Steam Engine

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
8.9

I very much enjoyed my stay here. The staff were all incredibly friendly, and very helpful. For the price, the location was perfect. I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking to backpack in London.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
6.0

At 9 o'clock in the morning, the bathrooms were dirty and paperless. The internet was very bad. I was unable to access Google Maps.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our staff and would like to apologize if you found the washrooms not up to standard! We have notified our housekeepers to perform more regular cleaning checks! Still, we hope your stay was a most pleasant one! Safe travels!

  • frankdia
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Nov 2016
2.0

It was the worst experience that I have been. It's a dirty, insecure and unfriendly place to stay. I reserved it for 3 nights. In my first night, after nightclub, I went back to the hostel to take a rest and I found that my bed was taken by other person. I went to talk with the receptionist (bartender) and the answer was "sorry, we needed a bed and we thought that u will no come back soon" OMG WTH Is that. I had to wait for 2 hours for the manager give me back my money. PLEASE DONT GO THERe😡😡

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your feedback! We apologize for the issues with your bed, we had an overbooking due to a system error that night. I have talked to the staff involved and your bed was definitely not "given away because we thought you will not come back soon". Due to the overbooking on our system the same bed had been allocated to 2 people and we became aware of the issue after 6am when you came back to the hostel. We are extremely sorry about this, these kind of situations happen extremely rarely and in this particular case the situation was resolved in a best way possible in these circumstances for both guests and a full refund was given to you. Still we hope you enjoyed your stay in London. Kind Regards, The Steam Engine Team

  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Oct 2016
8.9

Great location and staff! I really enjoyed my stay there and would definitively come back! Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review and looking forward to having you back! :)

14th Oct 2016
6.0

This hostel is not worth it. Yes, there is a pub attached which is cool. But the drinks and food are insanely overpriced. The rooms hold 12 people and are unbelievably small. The hostel in total holds 48 people and there are only 2 showers and 2 toilets. And one of the toilets was broken during my stay. Getting ready in the morning was a nightmare due to lack of space and the dirty conditions.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us. We are a backpackers hostel with dorm rooms of 9 and 12 people and anyone booking their stay with us should be aware of that (since you are booking a bed in a 12 bed dorm room). We have had problems with one of the bathrooms, but this has now been fixed. Glad you enjoyed the pub. Considering our central London location, the prices are very reasonable and all our guests receive a 10% discount on all food and drinks and a 25% discount on the brunch menu. Thank you for leaving us a review!

  • vivian95288326
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th Oct 2016
7.7

Nice staff but it's a bit noisy in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear that inconsiderate roommates or noise from the pub made your stay a bit less enjoyable. We always try to monitor the noise levels and our guests sleep is number one priority. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and looking forward to having you back!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Oct 2016
10.0

Good location and rooms. The pub downstairs was an amazing feature of this hostel. It really enhanced my experience in London. Super friendly staff. If Daniel is working the bar, you'll be well taken care of. He's holding the whole place together!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We have to agree, our staff is amazing and Daniel definitely a gem! :) Safe travels and see you soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2016
8.0

All in all, I had a good time at this hostel. The bathrooms in the dorms leave a lot to be desired, in terms of amount of people using them and general tidiness, but if you're young and just there to crash at night while you're backpacking in London, I'd recommend this hostel. The location is outstanding and everyone was friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are constantly working towards improvements and just this week we are getting brand new floors for our bathroom facilities. Thank you for your review and hopefully see you again soon!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.