Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,991 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,991 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.2
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo Located at 41-42 Cosser St, , London.
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
England
London SE1 7BU 41-42 Cosser St
76% 1991
51.4969616 -0.1126527
PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
5.7

The location of this hostel is ideal. Within a 50 minute walk of all major "tourist" sites. Very friendly staff. I was however disappointed in how misleading the reviews were on the bathroom cleanliness and the size of the rooms overall. The rooms are very crammed with hardly any space to put your belongings. I slept with my bag in my bed just so there was space to move around. There was also only one working communial toilet. Out of the two working showers one flooded a great deal and the other

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
5.7

Facilities at this place were terrible, there were only two toilets and one of them was out of order so we were sharing one toilet between more than 30 people! And there were only two showers. There were small lockers but you had to provide your own lock. The location was good and easy to find, and the staff were fairly friendly but the atmosphere wasn't very good even though it was at a pub.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
8.9

We arrived after midnight and were treated by a super sweetened efficient reception gentlemen. He had our keys and bill ready at hand, which was amazing, because we were exhausted. No fuss. The bill was accurate. The room was cramped, smelly, but cheap for London. The location was close to the Tube, which we needed, Breakfast was early, which worked for us. Beds were clean, showers sparse...we skipped it, as there was one working on upstairs for who knows how many triple bunked rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
1st Jul 2016
8.0

The bed was clean and comfy, and already made, which was great! But the bedroom door slammed every time someone left. People were in and out so from 6am it was just continuous banging! The bathroom was pretty dirty and the cleaner rolled her eyes at me when I asked for toilet paper, even though there hadn't been any since the night before! But the bar was lovely and the burger was great!!!! Though for the price of your bed, it would be nice if breakfast didn't stop at 8:30. At least 9:30 pls

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jun 2016
8.0

Loved the location of this place (15 min walk to Big Ben and it's above a pub with amazing food and drinks!). Major downside was having 15-20 ish people sharing two bathrooms and showers, which were pretty much constantly soaked/needed cleaned. Considering how inexpensive this place is, it's definitely worth it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Paraguay, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jun 2016
8.9

I met really nice people in the one night I stayed there. I'm sorry I can't remember the name of the guy from Nepal, but I want to thank him for being so helpful and nice. The location is great, really close to the attractions, the wifi is very good, the breakfast was pretty good, overall was really nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jun 2016
7.7

The staff were great and were very hospitable. By far the worst thing was the wifi connection, which was intermittent at best. The beds were clean, the room and the bathrooms were not. It's a good hostel for groups, but without a common area (other than the pub downstairs), you don't meet to many other travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
7.1

Not the best hostel I've stayed in but also not the worst - The location was good and easy to access all tourist areas by tube and the staff was friendly. The hostel was not the absolute cleanest - they did have someone clean every day but the building was older so there was no way to get it 100% clean. It is also small, so may be hard to meet new people, but the staff was friendly and tried to create a good atmosphere. Recommended stay if you do not plan on spending too much time at the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
8.9

The hostel is located just around the corner from the tube station and there's bus stops even closer. It's located at an angle to the main road so you don't constantly hear cars passing even when you leave the windows open at night. The staff was super friendly and helpful, the pub was clean and nice, the breakfast sufficient. I've never had bedding that nice in any hostel, so that was a pleasant surprise. Only thing is that there's just two showers and two loos, but they were kept 90%

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
6.0

The hostel was in a great location and it was really easy to find. The downside was that the room was very small for the number or beds and so it was stuffy and hot in the night. The breakfast was terrible (but it is free!).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that some of the aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectations. Our breakfast is a basic continental, but remember that guests get 50% off from the brunch menu! Take care!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.