X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo Reviews

41-42 Cosser St, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1700 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great location. Really lovely friendly staff. Cool pub. Had a lovely birthday there.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a great stay at this hostel! Take the time to visit the pub (not loud at all if you want to sleep) and get to know the crew and the 'locals' - they are a lot of fun Showers and rooms are clean and nice. I was staying here when it was 28 degrees and the rooms were cool enough. Security is good - the door to the dormitory and each room have it's own code lock and there are lockers (bring your own lock or buy one at the hostel) Definitely staying here next time :)

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place to stay. Excellent location. The staffs were good also. Definitely indicate it to friends.


100%

Beat hostel ever stay, good bar good staff and good location.

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Well run hostel in a convenient part of town. 24 hour bar with drinks and pizza is a definite plus. 12 person dorms dont have enough space for bags which can lead to it feeling a little cramped. Overall good place to stay.


100%

A realy realy peaple funny, and atmosphere is the best!! I realy wanted to come back again ;D

  • 12th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location for me since I was going out in the London Eye area that night! Quiet location but still easy to get into more lively areas! Great pub downstairs which is open for guests close to 24hrs/day! Very friendly staff!


51%

This hostel is the most expensive I've ever been in the UK, but the service is very lame. The dorm rooms are very tiny, so it's kinda awful to put 12 guests there. It is so tiny, that if you get the top bed in the dorm you might smack your head with the ceilling. The towel service is a shame, you can't rent one, you have to buy one for 5 pounds, but if you want to save some money, you should go to the pharmacy around the corner and buy one for one pound.


89%

Really enjoyed my stay! First of all I was greeted by a very nice blond girl who was working behind the bar/ receptionist and she was very lovely throughout my stay! Also when you check in you get a voucher for 1/2 priced drink which really surprised me and made my evening working in the bar area much more pleasant! Location was amazing, 10 minute walk to London eye and the nearest tube was literally 5 minute walk away. Recommended to everyone who is travelling on budget!

  • 7th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

English pub-turned-hostel with all that brings of atmosphere and patrons. Good experience with great people. Facilities are all average and clean, though dorms can get cramped (not that you'll do anything else than sleep in there anyway). The only minus is the unannounced security check of the lockers, where they will remove your belongings for safe-keeping in the reception if they do not deem your padlock safe, without warning or a notice of any kind. Not a bad idea, but should be announced.


86%

The staff are friendly, the location was so great. just in the central of London.


86%

It's all above a pub, which lends to a steady stream of people to talk to (although, it's generally an older crowd than most of the hostels). It's also right near the South Bank, which is one of the coolest parts of London. Felt safe.


86%

Such a lovely hostel and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They were also very accommodating; allowing me to store luggage there for a week while I was away. The hostel is clean if a little squishy but the pub downstairs and the great atmosphere make this hostel enjoyable and fun I would stay there again.


94%

It's a really nice place for a good price


86%

Was a pretty good place, no complaints. Staff were helpful on arrival. The hostel was connected to a pub but the pub was mainly filled with older people, like 50-60s so it didn't attract many other young people. The hostel part had a security code which was good and so did our room door which made you feel pretty secure. Toilets were pretty good. Realllly good location right near Waterloo station which made it an easy walk to big Ben etc and also to tower bridge area.


66%

The facilities were not the best. Sharing one bathroom for 4 different rooms of 9 people, it gets messy and crowded. Lockers were available but they were quite small so only certain things can actually be put in it (no big bags, suitcases, etc).


74%

Good staff, especially the Eastern European man who assisted my son during a diabetic attack on Wed June 19


77%

There isn't any toilet paper in the toilets. The location is excellent. From the Hostel to London Eye takes 10 minutes.

  • 14th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff at this hostel were absolutely exceptional. They were extremely friendly, always willing to chat, and they went out of their way to make sure that our experience was the best it could be, without us even asking.

  • 13th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

positive: - location - style - staff was nice although they have 12-hours-shifts, wow negative: - 3 people sleeping above one another - less toilets, wet floor and very narrow - Bar (where we could take the breakfast) smelled like spilled beer always - no facility for cooking or at least a fridge

  • 11th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(1105 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback