X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo Reviews

41-42 Cosser St, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1786 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Pretty good place lacked atmosphere but was pretty empty when I was there the staff are really nice and helpful wasn't too keen on the 3 level bunk bed though!!


100%

I really enjoyed my stay here.


80%

Staffs were very kind, close to sightseeing places and clean. the only downside was bed. it's triple so i even couldn't sit up.

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Close to the Bakerloo tube line and easy walking distance to many tourist attractions that on a first visit you would want to see. Rooms are crowded if everyone is getting ready but clean which is what matters most. Only two bathrooms HOWEVER I only had to wait once!


91%

A bit off to train stn, but metro stn nearby Walkable to wesminster area/ london eye area Hostel itself is very clean, well maintained Friendly staff Good atmosphere and peaceful at night. Locker provided, luggage provided. Possible for 1pm lockout (additional 3pound), which is not provided in any other hostel and it could cause much convenience Good hostel to stay


94%

Very clean, small and secure. Not busy. Good pizza 24 hours a day.

  • 4th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Staff very friendly, but the rooms are too small. No space for suitecases...


71%

The location is the best part about this place! Walking distance to Parliament, The London Eye and Westminster Abbey. The upstairs part of the bar is the hostel area. It has 4 rooms and two bathrooms. The bathrooms are clean but wake up early or really late if you want to use them without a wait. The bunk beds are 3 high and the mattresses are terrible but that is to be expected. The staff is not very helpful when it comes to suggestions for the city or pointing you in the right direction.


97%

Great people, good beer, just a relaxing place overall

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice pub but rooms are tiny and the 3 story beds are pretty much a safety hazard.


94%

Great location. Really lovely friendly staff. Cool pub. Had a lovely birthday there.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a great stay at this hostel! Take the time to visit the pub (not loud at all if you want to sleep) and get to know the crew and the 'locals' - they are a lot of fun Showers and rooms are clean and nice. I was staying here when it was 28 degrees and the rooms were cool enough. Security is good - the door to the dormitory and each room have it's own code lock and there are lockers (bring your own lock or buy one at the hostel) Definitely staying here next time :)

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place to stay. Excellent location. The staffs were good also. Definitely indicate it to friends.


100%

Beat hostel ever stay, good bar good staff and good location.

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Well run hostel in a convenient part of town. 24 hour bar with drinks and pizza is a definite plus. 12 person dorms dont have enough space for bags which can lead to it feeling a little cramped. Overall good place to stay.


100%

A realy realy peaple funny, and atmosphere is the best!! I realy wanted to come back again ;D

  • 12th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location for me since I was going out in the London Eye area that night! Quiet location but still easy to get into more lively areas! Great pub downstairs which is open for guests close to 24hrs/day! Very friendly staff!


51%

This hostel is the most expensive I've ever been in the UK, but the service is very lame. The dorm rooms are very tiny, so it's kinda awful to put 12 guests there. It is so tiny, that if you get the top bed in the dorm you might smack your head with the ceilling. The towel service is a shame, you can't rent one, you have to buy one for 5 pounds, but if you want to save some money, you should go to the pharmacy around the corner and buy one for one pound.


89%

Really enjoyed my stay! First of all I was greeted by a very nice blond girl who was working behind the bar/ receptionist and she was very lovely throughout my stay! Also when you check in you get a voucher for 1/2 priced drink which really surprised me and made my evening working in the bar area much more pleasant! Location was amazing, 10 minute walk to London eye and the nearest tube was literally 5 minute walk away. Recommended to everyone who is travelling on budget!

  • 7th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

English pub-turned-hostel with all that brings of atmosphere and patrons. Good experience with great people. Facilities are all average and clean, though dorms can get cramped (not that you'll do anything else than sleep in there anyway). The only minus is the unannounced security check of the lockers, where they will remove your belongings for safe-keeping in the reception if they do not deem your padlock safe, without warning or a notice of any kind. Not a bad idea, but should be announced.


(1154 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback