X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo Reviews

41-42 Cosser St, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1888 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Nice and clean. Staff were friendly and professional. Plus they had triple-bunks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Come and visit next time you are in London! Happy travels

77%

The hostel was just ok. Good value for the money and pretty good location. It will spare you the super expensive metro system. The rooms are too small for the people sleeping there and there are not enough plug ins for the cellphones; a huge disadvantage. Do not miss the burgers the pub serves; just amazing. Breakfast was complete and included, which is just great !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, happy travels!

49%

The quality of the beds was horrible, squicky matresses with iron springs sticking out. My sheets had a blood stain. The whole place smelled like a toilet most of the time, because there were too many people for only two toilets. No space for luggage in the room, so everybody had to leave their stuff on the floor, making it really messy and difficult to walk around.

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review. We have recently changed all our beds and mattresses, which means more space and brand new comfy beds! The sheets are freshly changed every day, but if you encounter any issue please do not hesitate to have a chat to the receptionist (at the end of the day we are here 24/7!). Take care!

74%

The location is greeeat! The staff in general are really helpful. However, the first day I was there our room was flooded by water because of the rain and all my stuff got wet, so I was not really happy, but I think that maybe I would stay there the next time I travel to London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for your review. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the water incident, it is the first time it occured to us and as soon as we found out we did our best for it to be solved immediately. Hope to see you back soon!

89%

Amazing location and security in this hostel. Less than a 20 minute (or less if you're a fast walker like me) from parliament, Big Ben, and the London eye. There is a door code to get into the hostel area, and another door code to get into your room. All rooms have lockers. Very safe and a great location. They also have decent food for a decent price (8-10£ for a burger and fries). My only complaint was that there definitely wasn't a lot going on in the pub, other than that it was great!

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we area really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you come here and decide to do so in a warmer time of the year you will find a more vibrant atmosphere - January is not the most lovely of the months. Happy travels!

29%

Pictures on website are stock photos, not the actual hostel. Very misleading. My bed was disgustingly dirty with black hairs all over it

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for your review. We are truly sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. Regarding the pictures, most of them are a bit old - we have refurbished the bar to higher standards and that is why it looks different. All the beds are newly made every day, but if you encounter any problem, please do not hesitate to tell a member of staff and we will do our best to help you out. Take care!

71%

Bien situer j'ai pas aimer just les lits

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Algeria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently replaced all beds and mattresses so if you come back to London make sure you try them out! :)

91%

Great location and staff, i would only say that the room is quite dark and there was no heater even though it was winter.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review, it means a lot to us that you enjoyed it! Sometimes the heater goes off automatically but if you have any problem with this do not hesitate in tell a member of staff. At the end of the day we are here 24/7 :) Happy travels

77%

Rooms and amenities were small. Pub downstairs is great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for giving your feedback! We are happy you enjoyed staying with us and thanks for pointing out the factors that we can improve. Happy travels!

34%

the room and the bedding is too humidity.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. W

89%

All the staff are good and this makes for a pleasant atmosphere. Its a great place for a single traveller as there is a all night bar. But its never too noisy. This hostel is situated in a convienient and nice part of London with a safe feeling atmosphere. The Argentinian in is still as gorgeous as ever.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your reviw! We are glad to hear that you felt like at home when staying hear. Come back and visit when you are around, take care!

74%

Nice place with nice people, the pub is super great with 10% off for guests! Only downfall is the super cramped bunk rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for feedback and your nice words! We are always glad to get both positive and negative feedback. Happy travels

60%

The bar is amazing. If the whole hostel was as awesome as the pub, it would be 10! The hostel: Bathrooms are DISGUSTING! It wouldn't take much to make them more functional, minimal and not totally gross. Even separate mens/womens that are open inside would be better. The carpeting on the stairs and hall was very worn. Unfortunately, even in a full room of 9 and people sitting around the pub, none of the people staying at the hostel were friendly. This was after amazing days in Berlin hostel.

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • nealalan
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks a lot for your feedback, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere. We clean the toilets daily and we have changed our carpets a couple of months ago, so we are sorry to hear that they did not meet your expectations. We always like to hear both about positive and negative feedback so thanks again!

97%

Really friendly staff, couldn't be happier with the service and the whole experience!

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The cleannes was really poor. I slept in a really uncomfortable bed,the springs were diving in my body during all night.

  • 26th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect stay at the Steam engine hostel. Very nice people, good mat, clean dormitory, and so good food !!! Thank you. If i come back to london, i would stay again at the Steam engine.

  • 25th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The staff was great and really friendly! The food at the pub was delicious and location is nice for easy access to main tourist attractions. Biggest issues were the small rooms packed with a lot of people. Also only two showers and two toilets for a lot of people. Impossible to keep things very clean in that atmosphere. If you want a cheap place to sleep at night in central London it's not a bad spot, but definitely not a luxury hostel.


83%

Great location, friendly staff, overall had a good stay.


86%

The Argentinian girl who works there is gorgeous.


80%

The staff are the best thing. They make a effort to be polite friendly and chatty. Which makes a difference. So its great for single travellers.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(1195 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback