X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo Reviews

41-42 Cosser St, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1888 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

El hostal necesitaba más limpieza, más espacio en las habitaciones y más duchas.

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias por la resena. Lamentamos oir que no todo haya sido de su agrado. Lo tendremos en cuenta para mejorar en el futuro. Gracias!

77%

Nice and clean. Staff were friendly and professional. Plus they had triple-bunks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Come and visit next time you are in London! Happy travels

91%

Me encanto el lugar, esta muy bien ubicado.

  • 31st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel was just ok. Good value for the money and pretty good location. It will spare you the super expensive metro system. The rooms are too small for the people sleeping there and there are not enough plug ins for the cellphones; a huge disadvantage. Do not miss the burgers the pub serves; just amazing. Breakfast was complete and included, which is just great !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, happy travels!

71%

El personal, por lo general, encantadores. El primer día llegamos tarde por problemas con el bus, y el chico de recepción nos hizo una pizza a las 2 de la mañana sin poner pega alguna. La ubicación es inmejorable, a 12 minutos andando del Big Ben y a 8 de London Eye. Había paradas de bus y metro muy cerca. Las duchas pequeñas, y las habitaciones también, de literas de 3. Pero por el precio, bastante bien.

  • 19th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muchas gracias por la resena! Nos agrada saber que tuvieron una buena estancia con nosotros. Cuidense!

91%

El hostal tiene un ambiente excelente y el personal siempre esta dispuesto a ayudar. Me hubiese gustado encontrar los baños más limpios y los cuartos con mejor calefacción.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias por tu comentario! Nos place saber que tuviste una buena estancia con nosotros. Tendremos en cuenta los puntos a reforzar para mantenerlo nuestra prioridad, aunque referente a la calefacci'on, le echaremos un vistaz si bien no a veces es debido a que la ventana puede haber permanecido abierta durante el dia. De nuevo, gracias por la review y esperamos verte de vuelta si vuelves a pasar por Londres!

83%

Tres bon sejour, un peu déçu par les espaces sanitaires qui reste très sommaires et pas toujours tres propres en fin de journée. Quand a l'ambiance, je trouve dommage que le pub ne soit pas plus mis a profit pour permettre aux voyageurs de se rencontrer, échanger, débattre. Sinon tres bon staff!!


20%

Funcionários nem sempre receptíveis. Muito caro paro o serviço oferecido. Quartos e banheiros nunca limpos. Café da manhã pão com cereais e suco.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We are sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. As other reviews will attest to, our staff is often praised for their friendliness and helpfulness, so we assure you this is definitely out of character for our team. And regarding the price, it is true that the rates are slightly higher during the weekends due to the rise of the demand. Take care.

49%

The quality of the beds was horrible, squicky matresses with iron springs sticking out. My sheets had a blood stain. The whole place smelled like a toilet most of the time, because there were too many people for only two toilets. No space for luggage in the room, so everybody had to leave their stuff on the floor, making it really messy and difficult to walk around.

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review. We have recently changed all our beds and mattresses, which means more space and brand new comfy beds! The sheets are freshly changed every day, but if you encounter any issue please do not hesitate to have a chat to the receptionist (at the end of the day we are here 24/7!). Take care!

74%

The location is greeeat! The staff in general are really helpful. However, the first day I was there our room was flooded by water because of the rain and all my stuff got wet, so I was not really happy, but I think that maybe I would stay there the next time I travel to London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for your review. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the water incident, it is the first time it occured to us and as soon as we found out we did our best for it to be solved immediately. Hope to see you back soon!

89%

Amazing location and security in this hostel. Less than a 20 minute (or less if you're a fast walker like me) from parliament, Big Ben, and the London eye. There is a door code to get into the hostel area, and another door code to get into your room. All rooms have lockers. Very safe and a great location. They also have decent food for a decent price (8-10£ for a burger and fries). My only complaint was that there definitely wasn't a lot going on in the pub, other than that it was great!

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review, we area really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you come here and decide to do so in a warmer time of the year you will find a more vibrant atmosphere - January is not the most lovely of the months. Happy travels!

29%

Pictures on website are stock photos, not the actual hostel. Very misleading. My bed was disgustingly dirty with black hairs all over it

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for your review. We are truly sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. Regarding the pictures, most of them are a bit old - we have refurbished the bar to higher standards and that is why it looks different. All the beds are newly made every day, but if you encounter any problem, please do not hesitate to tell a member of staff and we will do our best to help you out. Take care!

71%

Bien situer j'ai pas aimer just les lits

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Algeria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently replaced all beds and mattresses so if you come back to London make sure you try them out! :)

91%

Great location and staff, i would only say that the room is quite dark and there was no heater even though it was winter.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review, it means a lot to us that you enjoyed it! Sometimes the heater goes off automatically but if you have any problem with this do not hesitate in tell a member of staff. At the end of the day we are here 24/7 :) Happy travels

63%

The water pressure is weak and so is the water flow when i run the hot tap in the room. I don't understand why sockets are just on the second bed. !! Really Uncomfortable ..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We had some problems with the water pressure and are currently solving them. I hope these aspets did not affect an amazing stay in the city! Take care

77%

Rooms and amenities were small. Pub downstairs is great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for giving your feedback! We are happy you enjoyed staying with us and thanks for pointing out the factors that we can improve. Happy travels!

83%

Solo el baño debe de mejorar un poco en cuanto a estructura!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, we are looking into it! Happy travels

94%

El hostel esta muy bien. Tiene un bar muy animado en la planta baja y encima estan las habitaciones y los baños con ducha. Un punto negativo es que las literas son de 3 cmas, un poco apretados, pero no es nada que no se vea en las imagenes. La comida muy buena y el servicio excelente.

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias por la resena! Nos alegra saber que tuviste una estancia tan agradable. Cuidate

34%

the room and the bedding is too humidity.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. W

89%

All the staff are good and this makes for a pleasant atmosphere. Its a great place for a single traveller as there is a all night bar. But its never too noisy. This hostel is situated in a convienient and nice part of London with a safe feeling atmosphere. The Argentinian in is still as gorgeous as ever.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your reviw! We are glad to hear that you felt like at home when staying hear. Come back and visit when you are around, take care!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback