X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo Reviews

41-42 Cosser St, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1734 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

It was great! Staff, especially Jaan, Daniel and Julieta are amazing :))) I am going to miss them.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Your staff was wonderful! Especially Fabio! Would definitely come back.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good place good location, nice free breakfast only stopped one night but was able to store luggage and go out.

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Me and my boyfriend went to London for four days and three nights. He has never been to London, so I chose the Hostel because it was on top of a pub,which turned out to be the best choice. Every night we were greeted by a huge selection of good beer, yummy bar food and very friendly people that made our stay as awesome as possible. The rooms are clean and have good beds. There are two showers and two toilets up in the hostel. Breakfast is good,too. We had a real great time and would come again.


60%

Terrible mattress ! Really uncomfortable for sleeping!


97%

Excelente localização, você pode caminhar até o Big Ben e London Eye por exemplo e tem uma estação Lamberth North à uma quadra do Hostel. Funcionários atenciosos. O Pub é show ! Vendem uma pizza sensacional. Recomendo!


100%

Great place to stay in London!! Sunny and Dani were really nice and helpful :)

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

perfect location near the tourist attractions and having the pub downstairs that will serve you drinks and pizza 24-7 is awesome! the staff was nice and friendly as well which made it a nice place to hang out.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

no habian lockers para dejar el bolso y como habia tan.poco espacio tuvimos q dormir con los bolsos sobre la cama, en el tercer piso de un camarote, claramente se caia todo, muy incomodo y peligroso!


77%

Good stay, good recommendation from staff on beer, the chicken gougan was a good bite. Sturdy security and locks and lockers for items.


69%

This hostel gets the job done. The triple bunk beds were an issue - I could feel the mattress springs, and it was precarious climbing into and out of my top bunk 7 feet above the floor. With three triple bunks in a small bedroom, we were crammed in like sardines. However, I still had an overall positive experience. There were enough small lockers for valuables, and the pub downstairs was nice for a late night snack or drink. I wasn't blown away by Steam Engine, but it worked well enough.


100%

Great atmosphere, Sunny, Daniel, Agne and Julieta were great !!


100%

Dan and Juliette were exceptionally helpful, and make great cocktails!

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The bottom bed is directly on the floor and a lot less space in room 2

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

나쁘지 않음 샤워시설은 좀 더러울 때가 있지만 사용할만함 펍 분위기 좋고 피자 맛있음 스텝들도 친절한 편


20%

Ich hab das Hostel Ausbrechern gebucht, weil ich dachte es ist in Waterloo Sydney. Nach dem ich gemerkt hab das es in London ist. Hab ich sofort eine Email an das Hostel geschickt. Und trotzdem wurden mir 160$ abgezogen. Das ist eine unferschämt heut. Und bis heute hab ich mein Geld nicht zurück. Cheers Manuel Belmann

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Is a totally dirty place. It do not have a kitchen for the travelers use. The rooms are totally awful. Do not have lockers for free and you have to buy a towel because they do not rent it. The lockers are too small. You are to buy even the adaptors. The staff is good specially Agne that always have a smile on her face.


100%

Steam Engine was awesome. Everything was excellent. Nice people welcoming customers, nice room, confortable bed, warm room, excellent security. There was Suni, the girl from Spain who was very helpful at all time. I had a gret time at Steam Engine.


89%

Excellent hostel, great friendly staff, close to tube, 24hours opening, free breakfast,would go back


40%

This place was very dirty, to many people in one room, smelled in the rooms, bathrooms were gross, shower light kept turning off in middle of shower, hot water was on for like 1 minute then turned cold. Lockers are small, cannot fit a suitcase. Breakfast was average. Location was alright, 5 minute walk from tube. I think it's a bit overpriced for what you get, I wouldn't stay here again.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback