X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PubLove @ The Steam Engine, Waterloo Reviews

41-42 Cosser St, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1754 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The staff was really nice, and the location was good. Even thought they didn't had a kitchen, the pub downstairs offer a good menu of food. Nice breakfast, simple rooms but nothing bad.


74%

Room and location were great but the toliets and showers could be cleaner. The rooms security wasnt good the locks were difficlut to operate. However would still recomend great location and good value for money.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The Steam Engine was a lovely place to stay. I thought the room was a bit small. twelve beds means twelve suitcases, and they all need a place. It was a bit crowded at times, but we worked it out. The beds were fine and though there were only 2 showers and toilets for 4 rooms, it worked. there was never a line for the bathrooms, which I did expect.


51%

Os quartos com triliche não são preparados para esse tipo de acomodação. Apertados e sem tomadas próximas. O café da manhã é muito restrito quanto as opções e finaliza muito cedo (9h).


60%

Zimmer extrem klein! Hatten ein neun Bett Zimmer und man konnte sich kaum umdrehen. Die Toiletten hatten teilweise kein Toilettenpapier und auch das Papier zum Händeabtrocknen war einen ganzen Tag lang nicht vorhanden. Wenn man das Hostel nur zum schlafen nutzt ist es gerade noch so ok. Die Lage ist allerdings spitze, da man nur ca 5 Minuten zur nächsten Underground Station (Lambeth North) hat. Das Pub ist sehr gemütlich und die Preise auch ok.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The bathrooms were gross and there was water everywhere. The rooms only had plugs in one area which was inconvenient. The breakfast was good and pub was great! Beds were nice and clean but were three tiered and wobbly. The lockers were very small. Great location near the London Eye and near the tube station. The wifi was excellent! I probably wouldn't stay here again.


97%

I came with a friend, and bought of us thinking that spending two night in this pub was an excellent idea! We were greatfully host from all the staff, especially from Fabio one of the staff member, who really did care about our need, and was kind. The breakfast was delicious, and the room was good. But the best point of this pub was is location: so close of every best places of london. We didn't payed any public transports, everything was accessible .

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Expecting a nice hostel but this is not what we found. We saw the staff yell at guest for a mistake that the staff made. The rooms were incredibly cramped with no breathing space. Also the toilets were clogged 70% of the time and there was always a long line for the bathroom. Breakfast was good and the hostel was in a nice location.


80%

Atmosfera è staff tutto ok. Stanze un po piccole ma per un ostello nella norma. Bagno troppo piccolo ed igiene un po scarsa.

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff was lovely! And the location was near the bus and underground Station - perfect! A pity that there was only one bathroom and the room was very small. But all in all the stay was great!

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was great! Staff, especially Jaan, Daniel and Julieta are amazing :))) I am going to miss them.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Your staff was wonderful! Especially Fabio! Would definitely come back.

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

В целом впечатление хорошее. В хостеле останавливаюсь впервые, но студенческие годы прошли в общежитии и могу с уверенностью сказать: хостел для того, чтобы переночевать и свою функцию выполняет на 100%. В бонус есть очень неплохой завтрак с 7 до 9. Персонал ненавязчивый. Багаж свой можно оставлять в комнате хранения и как в день прилета так и в день вылета (время check in/out не имеет значения что несомненный плюс - оставлять багаж на вокзале дорого). И к тому же они открыты круглосуточно!

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

My highlights to this hostel goes to the staff and the pizza, which were both really great :) The hostel is also well located, so the value for money is pretty much reasonable. My only observations would be for the number of toilets, which I think that wasn't sufficient for the number of guests and their privacy. The room didn't have much circulation area, being a bit cramped sometimes for all the people inside. But in general I think it's a good option for a short stay in London.


86%

Good place good location, nice free breakfast only stopped one night but was able to store luggage and go out.

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Me and my boyfriend went to London for four days and three nights. He has never been to London, so I chose the Hostel because it was on top of a pub,which turned out to be the best choice. Every night we were greeted by a huge selection of good beer, yummy bar food and very friendly people that made our stay as awesome as possible. The rooms are clean and have good beds. There are two showers and two toilets up in the hostel. Breakfast is good,too. We had a real great time and would come again.


60%

Terrible mattress ! Really uncomfortable for sleeping!


97%

Excelente localização, você pode caminhar até o Big Ben e London Eye por exemplo e tem uma estação Lamberth North à uma quadra do Hostel. Funcionários atenciosos. O Pub é show ! Vendem uma pizza sensacional. Recomendo!


100%

Great place to stay in London!! Sunny and Dani were really nice and helpful :)

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

perfect location near the tourist attractions and having the pub downstairs that will serve you drinks and pizza 24-7 is awesome! the staff was nice and friendly as well which made it a nice place to hang out.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback