X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PubLove @ The White Ferry, Victoria Reviews

1a Sutherland Street, Victoria, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
2618 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Nice Staff Excellent Burger and beer


51%

This hostel was only so-so. The wifi did not work on any device, for any person, at any time (and I talked with at least 7 people). The lockers in the rooms are only big enough to hold valuables, and even then seemed pretty weak and questionable. There was a massive shortage of outlets, so charging phones was a battle. Finally, security was mehhh, because the doors are secured by codes that are only changed once a week. Overall, I'm not sure that I would stay here again.


80%

The triple beds are like sleeping in the berth of a ship. Only for tiny people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for leaving the review! Good to see you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we can't change the bed situation straight away, but I will take it with me for the future :) Take care!

54%

Only found two toilets that worked. Shower had yellow smelly curtain. Triple bunk beds were very shakey. Pub was nice but too dark so guests weren't interactinginteracting. Turn up the lights. Storage wasn't that see if every guest could access everyone's bags in that common storage down stairs. Other hostels have the staff onlybe able to access that room. The door also didnt close all the way all the time. Location was way too far from anything interesting. Paid too much for accomodations

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! I want to apologize for your experience with us. The shower curtain is changed for a fresh new one! We like to have our little bar a bit darker as we can put candles in the bar and make it warm and cosy. The lights in our big bar are a bit brighter for the people who prefer a bit of a brighter light. Our code for the luggage gets change really often for safety! We think we have a great location. A lot of the main attractions are close to us, like Buckingham Palace! Safe travels!

100%

Very nice hostel located in a street full of nihgt life and very near the Pantheon and therefore of the main sightseeings, the rooms and restrooms were clean, I like this place because is in an old building so it represents europe as you imagine it, specially the basement where the kitchen and a common area are located, feels like an old castle, overall is very good and wifi everywhere, friendly staff and if you decide to stay there you should check on their webpage... you may get a free beer :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, sounds like your "trip" was quite good. Thank youy so much for the kind words.

57%

Had an awful time at this hostel; bunk beds stacked 3 beds high in tiny rooms - if anybody moves or rolls over the whole structure shakes. No privacy at all, plus an ancient unlock key system so all night you can hear people trying to get in (usually takes a couple times to figure out how to open the door). As if that wasn't bad enough, the staff were practicing music in the staff room. Stayed for several days, got very little sleep here, much worse than other hostels we've stayed in.

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thanks for your review! I'm sad to read our hostel didn't reach your expectations. It's a new thing for us that you were not able to catch a lot of sleep. As you can understand, we need our lock system to make sure our guest feel and are secured and safe. We explain during the check in talk now how to open the door, so hopefully that improves the sleep for our future guests. Also, we provide ear plugs now at the reception!

86%

Excellent location just a short walk from Victoria Station which makes catching coaches & trains the next day easy. They have a fantastic burger menu and a nice snack menu once the kitchen has closed, though lots of this was unavailable when I was there. The 24 hour bar is amazing! Will definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Great to hear you had a great time at our hostel! Our burgers are amazing and how good is the guest discount you get on all the food and drinks you order at the bar?! Amazing that you made use of our great central location! Hopefully we see you soon! Take care and thanks again!

80%

Los tachos de basura de los baños siempre llenos.. solo eso.. desp todo ok


51%

The hostel is one of the dirtiest ever, mold in it, blocked toilets, most showers working bad and some sinks had just hot water. The atmosphere at the pub wnot as expected, none wanted to chat, just using laptops or phones. Phone left 5 seconds in the pub has been stolen. Staff seems to overwork (same person between 8 pm to 9 am) and this is unacceptable as we know the situation in London. However, the location is great (everything is reachable walking) and the price is low enough.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us a review! First of all we are glad you made the most of our great central location! It's a shame you had this experience in the bar while staying with us. Normally our bar is a great spot where a lot of hostel guests meet other travellers and have a couple of beers together and share stories! We trust you went to see one of our lovely reception staff about the problems above as they sort it straight away for you if it's in their power! Take care!

66%

Personnel agréable, disponible 24/24, bon petit-déjeuner, beau cadre, bel emplacement. Seulement deux toilettes/douches/lavabos par étage et dans un état lamentable dès 20h. Douche de l'étage supérieur ne pouvant pas être fermée, tout le monde venait au 1er étage (50 personnes pour 2 douches/toilettes/lavabos). Pas de prises électriques dans les chambres. Lits superposés (où l'on peut dormir à 3) bougent énormément quand quelqu'un bouge peandant son sommeil).

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

If you want somewhere central (5 mins from coach station) to sleep that is cheap then it is ideal. Showers are hot water and door locks work. Bit chaotic as some showers being refurbished but workmen helpful. Cereal, coffee and toast all included in the mornings too which was a nice surprise. Those people who could be bothered to look up from their devices were friendly although bar staff sometime struggle with english.

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to get back to us, we really appreciate it. Good to read you had a good stay with us! As we are constantly improving our hostel, we need workman to fix some things for the benefit of our future guests, and hopefully they weren't too much in your way. Hopefully we will meet you again. All the best!

66%

Ottima posizione dell'ostello, ma sfortunatamente l'ostello non dispone di cucina, i letti non sono granché, l'unica cosa positiva dell'ostello è che nelle camerate non manca lo spazio.


23%

Es el peor lugar donde he dormido en mi vida, el gerente es un incompetente, nos trato con desprecio y había gente de más en cada habitación que se acostaba donde podía, el desayuno de bajísimo nivel sucio

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

El hotel estaba muy sucio, los baños lo peor sucios y viejos. El dueño muy poco profesional tuvimos un problema y no nos atendió mandó a una trabajadora a solucionar el problema. Nadie tenia su cama. Cuando te ibas a acostar en la cama que te habian asignado habia alguien durmiendo. El desayuno escasisimo y en un espacio muy pequeño para tantos huespedes. Nada recomendable


29%

Worse experience ever. After my friend and I pre-booked our beds, we came in late from a night out to find people sleeping in our beds because they overbooked. They did nothing to compensate for it were rude about it, and we ended up having to share the last bed left in the hostel without getting any money back. It was all older men and women, the breakfast was cereal and toast. Overall they had terrible customer service. I'd never stay there again, and would never recommend it.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there, Thanks for taking some time to leave us a review. I want to apologize for the way things got handled during your stay. It is certainly not the way it should be dealt with, and I will follow this up with the staff to make sure this won't happen again. We improved our free continental breakfast and added 3 types of cereal and 4 different flavours of jam. I hope your stay didn't affect your time in London and hopefully you made use of our great central location!

74%

Good reception, good rooms and great location. You can go walking to the Buckingham Palace, Big Ben and etc, and its also close the Victoria Station. The pub is neat but very calm and was a little bit empty at the days I was there. Negative points are taken (only in the English standard ) and the limited breakfast time ( from 07 to 09) . They make quite disclosure of pub burgers , but when we got back to the hostel for dinner , 22:00 , informed us that the kitchen closes 21: 00hs .

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello there! Thanks for such a balanced review! It's great to read what we are doing well, but we also like to see our negative points for the benefit of our future guests. Our location is amazing indeed, we love it! We have 24 hour food going on, so there's always something to snack on. Our main menu runs from 12hr/15hr - 17hr/21hr and before, during and after our main menu, we still have our amazing snack menu which include some great pizzas, chicken wings and many more. Safe Travels!

34%

Per carità posizione Ok , ma a Londra ci si muove solo con i mezzi quindi tanto vale. Stanze con odore da incubo , letti scomodi 3 docce e 3 bagni per 25 persone , pub al piano terra caro 10 sterline per un hamburger , non c'è la cucina , si pagano lucchetti ( 4 sterline ) adattatori corrente ( 3 pounds) e addirittura asciugamano per la doccia ( 5 pounds) non ci andate è' meglio ...

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Bas prix mais la qualité n'est pas là. Dortoirs inconfortables. Espace douches toilettes, tout le temps dégueux. Par contre le personnel très sympas!!! (heureusement)


69%

No privacy curtains in the bed and power sockets are lacking. The beds have no individual lights plus I was given a bed that had a used duvet and pillow.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We appreciate your recommendations about individual lights and privacy curtains! That sounds awesome, but unfortunately this is not something we can change straight away. But perhaps in the near future we can say we do have these great additions to our hostel! We trust you talked to our staff about your bed situation, they go upstairs and change it for you straight away. Safe travels and hopefully we can meet again in the future!

66%

Bâtiment et bar vraiment très attirant. La propreté de la chambre et des sanitaires l'est beaucoup moins. Il y a de gros efforts à faire là-dessus. Rapport qualité prix correct.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback