Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Puerta Vieja Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
Puerta Vieja Hostel Located at Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23, Barrio de La Merced, San Cristobal de las Casas.
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Mexico
San Cristobal de las Casas Chiapas 29240 Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23, Barrio de La Merced
94% 412
16.7365370 -92.6401358
Puerta Vieja Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
9.7

Great stay at this hostel, perfect location, great facilities and fluffy blankets in the comfiest beds I have slept in in a hostel! Nigel was amazing and introduced us to mezcal! Everything you could want in a hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jan 2017
10.0

Everyone working and staying here were super friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are delicious and the dinners amazing! The bed was really comfy :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
8.6

This was our first stay ever at a hostel, so we really had no expectations at all. We have so far stayed at one more hostels and it clearly showed that La Puerta Vieja is an amazing hostel, we had a great time here, the staff was friendly, the atmosphere was great, the breakfast was good too. The only thing I noticed was that the hostel had so many people than a single receptionist could handle, other than that it was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
9.7

Beautiful backyard which we enjoyed even with the bad weather. Jolly staff kept everyone smiling, definitely a nice environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Dec 2016
9.7

Fantastic hostel! The staff/volunteers were great. The location of the hostel is perfect: very near the centro area. There is a lot of room inside and outside the hostel, and the facilities are beautiful. Free cocktails on Fridays is amazing as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Dec 2016
10.0

Best Hostel Ever!!! Clean Cheap Really close to downtown Cool Staff Amazing common areas (Pingpong, foosball, fireplace, bar and even yoga clases) Really Cool vibes

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Dec 2016
8.6

As a couple we stayed in a private twin room. It was huge and the bed was super comfortable. The free breakfasts are big and not bad - a good money saver. A social place, easy to meet ppl. Kitchen and showers are a bit dirty. We were there during Dia de la Virgen de Guadalupe and as this hostel (and our room specifically) is on a main road, it was super loud. We'd take the buzz of the festivities over sleep anyway - just bear in mind if you stay here during a Mexican holiday it may be very loud!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • pablo_montoya4309
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
10.0

wonderful hostel. Staff were friendly and even made an effort to remember who I was after I left town for a few days and then returned later. Hot showers are killer and last a lONG time which is rare backpacking through MX. Great events every night of the week - Friday night BBQ was delicious and wonderful value. great location near town centre as well. would absolutely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
30th Nov 2016
9.7

Great hostel- comfortable beds quiet rooms, Included breakfast is good value. Bar out the back has a garden area, fire at night, cheap and delicious drinks and cheap food deals each night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
10.0

Loved the hostel. Everyone is very friendly. They let us have breakfast when we arrived from the night bus. Beds have curtains! And most of the nights in the week they have some special offers at the bar which makes it easy to meet people. Ladies be careful 😂

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.