Hostelworld.com

Puerta Vieja Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.5
Puerta Vieja Hostel Located at Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23, Barrio de La Merced, San Cristobal de las Casas.
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Mexico
San Cristobal de las Casas Chiapas 29240 Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23, Barrio de La Merced
89% 301
16.7365370 -92.6401358
Puerta Vieja Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • azritaco
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
9.7

Helpful & friendly staff. Lovely building in a great location. Comfortable beds. Safe & with nice facilities. Just was quite quiet when I was there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2016
6.6

The hostel is very good location, just 2 blocks from the city center plaza. However, the Hostel is not very clean. Sofas in the common area are dirty and the floor of the Hostel too. In addition, beds are not made every day. I think this hostel can improve in many ways. Staff is no local, so they can't suggest any trips or plans.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Mar 2016
8.6

Nice hostel with big common area, and a good kitchen. The best part though is the excellent free cooked breakfast!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2016
10.0

Very clean and affordable hostel in a beautiful building. Within walking distance of everything. Helpful, friendly, and often bilingual staff. Delicious breakfast. Good mix of party scene and privacy (the bar is set aside in a different part of the hostel). The building gets a bit cold, but that's the nature of the city. Buy a wool scarf at the artisan market and you're good to go.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2016
9.7

Big, very well maintained hostel. Nice showers, great breakfasts, good location and very nice and friendly stuff. Good beds in dorms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Feb 2016
3.7

Location is very central, but we found no atmosphere at the hostel. Furthermore it was very noisy and the beds didn't seem very clean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • SentYatse
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2016
8.3

very chilled hostel if u want to party, well located, clean, breakfast was varied and good but the kitchen area perhaps should be bigger -its a big hostel and gets crowded and u have to queue; the staff wasn't helpful when i arrived - i noticed they were more informative with the international arrivals, also they didn't help me to not miss my shuttle to Guatemala (i overslept 50 mins) though it's your own responsibility but the next day when i left i realised they could have made a call to help

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2016
9.7

I visited Puerta Vieja about a month ago. Breakfast was great. The staff were amazing people who I got to know over the course of a few days. The fire pit (it is often chilly at night in town) out back is a fantastic place to congregate in the evenings. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling through San Cristobal de las Casas!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
24th Jan 2016
7.7

Staff were friendly and helpful, location was excellent, and the breakfast was great. Showers were (thankfully) very hot! BUT IT WAS SO COLD IN THE DORMS!!! I had three blankets and was still chilly. And the common areas were so freezing as they are so vast, it put people off congregating there. To be fair when the weather is better I can imagine it is a really great hostel, but maybe some heaters in the dorm rooms would help as it was colder inside than out during the day!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jan 2016
8.3

Excellent breakfast Great chill out areas Can't bet the location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.