Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Puerta Vieja Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 602 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 602 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Jul 2017
10.0

I love this hostel! I have been here four times and keep coming back. The staff are awesome, the breakfast is great and the security is perfect. Can't thank these guys enough for doing such a good job. San Cristobal has my heart... I'll be back x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jul 2017
9.4

Great location, atmosphere, cleanliness and common areas. Beds were comfortable and clean! They have activities everyday so you can get to know more people. Staff was always helpful. Kitchen spaces and facilities could be improved though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jul 2017
5.7

Oh man, another party hostel with Maluma-Shakira-Ricky Martin-Daddy Yankee-Pitbull-reggaeton beats until 3 am and no sleep. Drunk people running around and acting like teenagers. If you're into this, go ahead, but if you're more into chillout hostels and would like to get some sleep as well, stay away from this one. Plus, in the "high season" they rip off their own guests by charging 50 pesos extra for the excursions - book the same ones through other hostels and save money

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jul 2017
9.7

Great social atmosphere. The outdoor area makes the hostel as well as the bar. They offer cheap drinks and often live music and dancing. They also offer cheap dinners, that although we didn't eat, looked really good. The room was basic but clean. Staff were really friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
10.0

A stellar hostel. Strangely, my dormitory was large (with definitely more than 12 people in it), but it didn't matter because it was remarkably spacious and quiet and with plenty of floor and locker space. Breakfast is incredible. One of the very best places I've ever stayed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Jul 2017
10.0

For reals, the best hostel I've stayed in... and that is out of a lot! Great atmosphere, always something going on, knowledgable and friendly staff. I want to go back to San Cristobal just to stay here again! Met some really cool people here, the bar is always cranking but away from the rooms so if you want a quiet night you're not bothered. Honestly, anyone who complains about this place is one of those people that will find a negative in anything, even when there isn't one!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
8.9

Lovely outdoor space and great breakfast included. Healthy delicious meals for dinner you can sign up for and live music most nights. Comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. Some issues with theft in the girls dorm (locked lockers provided) however the staff were wonderfully helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
9.4

Breakfast was nice. BBQ dinner was super good. It was only 50peso. Not really party hostel. But they have a bar. So you can meet some people. Welcoming staff. Very appreciated to bring me your jacket. 그냥 무난하다. 아침식사 중에 펜케익은 선택하지말것. 먓어뵤윰. 분위기가 멍가 상막햄ㅅ던 호스텔. 커텐이 침대마다 달려있음. 프라이버시좋음

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
9.4

Excellently located hostel with decent facilities and one of the best breakfasts in any hostel you'll stay at. Had events and tours were relatively easy to book although one of mine got lost because the staff didn't do any handover between shifts, which was disappointing. The atmosphere can be weird if there's big groups of local tourists who do not want to associate with others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
10.0

Nice beds, big lockers, great showers, super friendly staff, table-tennis, cool bar, live music, free cocktails, nice breakfast... And the list could go on! The hostel is awesome and San Cristóbal an amazing town :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.