X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Punto Urbano Reviews

Av.Godoy Cruz 326 Ciudad Mendoza, Mendoza, Argentina

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
108 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

After a friend and I had all our stuff taken we coincedently found ourselves at Punto Urbano Hostel due to a friends recomendations, little did i know it was going to be the best hostel i,ve stayed at; great atmosphere, amazing breakfast and the nicest staff (A big thanks to all the staff i met; Magali, Maya, Andrew, Estefanin, France' and Barbara your were all extreemly kind to us and a big help to getting us back on our feet. Muchos Gracias Saludos George

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muchas gracias a ti también! We are happy that you liked our hostel.

100%

Really, good hostel; favourite so far in South America. Really friendly and helpful staff. Even though there were tours offered through the hostel they were more than happy to help you if you wanted to do things yourself (such as the bike and wine tour). Loved the breakfast; crepes, pastries, and omelettes. Excellent kitchen. Great social areas; especially the garden out back with guinea pigs! Excellent location (really close to the central market). They had a laundry machine too; free to use!


100%

Had a great time at this hostel! All the feedback about the breakfast is true, best I've had in South America so far. Overall good atmosphere with fun activities and really nice staff. Big thanks to Andrew for all the help!


94%

The best breakfast we have found in 6 weeks travelling: pancakes, as many pastries as you can eat and watermelon. Fantastic. Really great internet and computers to use. The staff are friendly and speak excellent english. The free wine tasting is also a plus, about a couple of glasses each per person. Mendoza doesnt have a lot to do but this hostel means it doesnt matter because you can just stay in the large garden and read or chat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We have to disagree that Mendoza doesn´t have a lot to offer. If you are interested in wine you have 2 big wien areas for visiting and if you want to make sports Mendoza offers you all kind of adventure sports: rafting, zip lining, horseback riding, trekking and much more.

100%

I had such a fun time here. Best breakfast ever!


100%

THE BEST- Free wine hour everynight, Amazing Breakfast, Staff love life and make sure you do to, Amazing backyard, Good kitchen, Washing machine to use for free, and easy to meet other backpackers. Overall a sociable, inviting and comfortable hostel, with everything you need within walking distance. My friends got robbed and lost everything, the hostel helped in any way they could plus more!!. Thanks guys! Go to this hostel to this hostel for a legit Mendoza experiance!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your description of our hostel and its vibe. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

91%

Free wine + good breakfast + free laundry makes this hostel a steal for the price...!!!! It also has a great atmosphere that comes from free wine hour where everyone gathers in the large kitchen to cook. They also have events a few times a week like emanda class, wine tasting, mate class (yes all free) and a big BBQ with plenty of food and drink to go around. This combined some of the most friendly staff (especially Maga!) really makes this a MUST stay when you are in Mendoza!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thank you for your comments and are glad that you liked our hostel and activities.

63%

This hostel is very average, but please think twice before booking this hostel's horseback riding tour. My saddle was not properly attached, so shortly after starting it broke and I fell off the horse, and seriously bruised by head, tailbone and ribs. Our guide, Adrienne, was very friendly but completely unprepared for this situation and started blaming the gauchos, joking and trying to pretend that everything was fine. Please consider your safety first and book with a more reputable tour group.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your comments and apologize for the inconvenience. We will talk with the owner of the horseback riding place for improving the facilities.

89%

Amazing hostel, very easy to meet people here. Asado night is very good, with free red wine all night. Amazing breakfast, best in South America so far. Showers need a make over. Wifi doesn't work outside, but I actually liked that, because then people are actually talking to each other instead of looking at their phone ;). Highly recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your comments. We appreciate that the wifi was not a problem for you and you see the advantage of not having internet all the time.

49%

when i arrived bed in the evening was not made (because landry service was late in the morning). no toilet paper in room and rubbish bin in bathroom full (because they dont empty them on sundays) and in most common toilets there was no toilet paper either (because showers are integrated in toilets and it would be impossible to keep the paper dry). my gutts were close to exploding - big problem. showers disgustingly filthy. only hostel since 10 years i left only hostel i left after first night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We apologize for the inconveniece you had and will improve the cleanliness and the other facilities.

60%

I had a private ensuite double room and was just one person. The private rooms are located on the second floor, in the rear overlooking the courtyard. The noise level of the others partying until 1:00am was strange. I wouldn't mind, it WiFi worked in the room. The bathroom door handle fell off in my hand as I opened it. The pillows were very old. A little fresh paint on the walls would make this room feel and smell better. Mixing the hot & cold water was impossible. Nice people work there though

Owner Comment (Hide)
On behalf of our hostel, I would like to extend many thanks for your description of our services. We try to be very attentive with our services but it seems we still have to improve them.

60%

The room is clean at first glance but the dust seems to be brushed under the bed, it was disgusting.The bed was uncomfy, the pillow was non existent. But you come to expect this in hostels. The main issue becomes apart when you try to sleep. The hostel is a giant echo chamber. All night you hear slamming doors, toilets flushing, drainage, door bell, people walking, talking, kitchen being cleaned and prepped. I mean all night, 24 hours a day. If you want a good night sleep don't stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We are going to improve the cleanliness and the services.

80%

Quite good, not superclean, but nice atmosphere free wine every night. Great breakfast


94%

Had a nice time visiting Mendoza. The staff at this hostel were friendly and helpful. Yes the breakfast was very good here and the courtyard in the back is a great spot to chill on sunny days. Nice to be there during part of the wine festival. Having a journey up to Aconcagua and checking out the incredibly colourful mountains en route was spectacular. Try to get a weather update before going up there though because you'll want clear conditions and this said, use plenty of sun protection.Cheers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and suggestions. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

94%

One of the best hostels I have stayed at in South America: Awesome backyard and kitchen invite a communal atmosphere of revellry! ´)


97%

Everything was great!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Only issue was the lack of Internet access.

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thank for your comment and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We try to provide a good internet connection but sometimes it doesn´t depends on us it depends on the provider.

97%

I stayed here for a few nights while enjoying Mendoza. The hostel has a great atmosphere and it's easy to meet other travelers there. The kitchen is huge and easy to use. Breakfast is great with the omelettes and crepes. The backyard is great for chilling with a glass of wine and friends. The rooms were average but did have lockers. All of the staff rocks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

94%

This hostel is exceptionally good. They offer the best breakfast I enjoyed in hostels so far (Although, when you get up a little later much of the food might be gone already. Sometimes they are somewhat inattentive regarding refilling milk, coffee, bread, ...). They arrange many activities for the evening that helps to get to know people. They have free wine happy hour from 8-9pm, asados, empanada classes, much more. When you go to Mendoza, stay in this hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
On behalf of our hostel, I would like to extend many thanks for your description of our services. We are grateful that you recommend us. We try to be very attentive with our services but it seems we still have to improve them.

91%

Great breakfast, the outdoor area is very nice/relaxing. They have lots of activities at the hostel and set you up on tours. The only negative would be the showers are not nice and there's few of them. I enjoyed my stay.


100%

Loved this hostel and it is great value for money. Cooked breakfasts were amazing and the hostel is in a convenient location. All backpackers were welcoming and friendly to one and other and got into the spirit and enjoyed the evenings drinking wine and hostel dinners together


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all Mendoza Hostels

Please give us your feedback