Hostelworld.com

Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 347 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 347 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • gabbo178755
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
5.4

I stayed in the 4 bed dorm. The room could only be described as a prison cell. It was tiny! Top bunks required a big climb and there was no railing to stop you falling off them. There is no air conditioning anywhere in the hostel which in Rio is very uncomfortable. The security guy at night time likes to play videos really loudly so there is always noise even when everyone is asleep.The bathroom facilities are terrible.Even the toilet doors are fogged glass so you can see people take dumps.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
5.7

No air conditioner during summer, so mosquitoes threw a party! And in the bathroom, the doors are made of glass, so you can see the people doing their stuff (pooping!). Really disturbing experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
10.0

Great place to stay! Good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2016
9.1

Was suspicious about the location, as people had told me it was a dangerous spot close to a favela, but I felt very safe and very close to all, that I needed in my two days stay... VERY sweet and helpful staff and I give my warmest recomendations to stay there!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
10.0

Perfectly located just 3 minutes from Copacabana and about 7 from Ipanema! Amazing historic house with an extraordinary ambience, nice bar in the back, awesome club in the basement. But don't worry, parties don't happen every day so that won't keep you from getting enough sleep. Very social place, perfect to make new friends. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly and speak various languages. The dorms are spacious and the privates really pretty. Would definitely recommend staying there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Oct 2016
9.4

This place is great, staff is helpful and makes you feel at home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Oct 2016
8.6

Really clean hostel, only stayed 2 nights on layover in Rio so not sure of how social the hostel is, it's kind of on the outskirts of a favela but not dangerous at all...super close to the beach. Beds are a bit small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Oct 2016
9.7

This was an incredible hostel especially for the cheap price! The staff were welcoming and would go out of their way to help you. The building is beautiful and they have their own bar with a great atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lisakatemcgrath
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Oct 2016
6.6

The hostel itself is very big with decent sized rooms. We didn't feel overly safe though due to the location close to a favela so we were nervous walking home at night. 5 minutes walk to Copacabana beach. Staff were helpful with advising on tours and restaurants. Breakfast was basic but good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Sep 2016
9.4

Interesting building

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.