Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 364 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 364 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Juschase00
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
8.0

PROS:great location,had an awesome group at the hostel so made many friends & the atmosphere was great (I traveled solo).Enjoyed the barbeques they did.Aircon worked well in my private room. CONS:Some Staff understood English well,others not so well thus struggled with some tourist bookings I made with them,but they do try hard (so an unfair con). The room was overpriced for Carnival.Coming back from parties to those stairs was terrible,but if you fit you good,if not you probably need it anyway.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
24th Feb 2017
7.7

Close to both Copacabana and Ipanema, though on the edge of a favela. I found the staff fairly unhelpful and even rude at times. Considering the inflated price for Carnaval I expected more - there was a BBQ on the first night of Carnaval and the staff took us to a bloco, but after that we were left to our own devices. They could have provided information about what was happening each day or something. Luckily there were great people staying here, and lots of space for socialising.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for choosing us. The Bar opened everyday during Carnival all days with a warm up and after that a Bloco. All the schedule was on the reception board. we are sorry if the communication was not very clear. We will take that as an opportunity to improve it. Thank you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Feb 2017
4.9

Stayed here for carnival and it's lucky we had great people in the hostel to get around with because this hostel lacked some serious atmosphere. It was carnival time and the hostel staff had nothing really organised at all, and the bloke with the Afro at the front was not one little bit interested in helping out one little bit, frustrating and grumpy man. Once the main carnival was finished this place was absolutely dead, stay near lapa or Ipanema.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Feb 2017
7.1

Inflated carnival prices were not justified. Location was great, in between Copacabana and Ipanema and close to a metro station. Hostel was clean enough, and the cleaners came to your room daily. Staff weren't great, could have given so much more information about Carnival and what was happening but were very very unhelpful. This has only been rated so highly because of the people we met making our time there, and not the Hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Feb 2017
5.1

The location is good as it is close to the beach however, the hostel backs onto a favela and the whole area feels very unsafe. The staff aren't very helpful. They say the bar will open but half the time it doesn't or there is no one behind the bar/the prices are the same as outside the hostel. The bathrooms and rooms are not very clean. Had to make our own beds (which is fine) but it allows you to see how dirty the beds are, not to mention some mattresses are still covered in plastic

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • gabbo178755
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
5.4

I stayed in the 4 bed dorm. The room could only be described as a prison cell. It was tiny! Top bunks required a big climb and there was no railing to stop you falling off them. There is no air conditioning anywhere in the hostel which in Rio is very uncomfortable. The security guy at night time likes to play videos really loudly so there is always noise even when everyone is asleep.The bathroom facilities are terrible.Even the toilet doors are fogged glass so you can see people take dumps.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
5.7

No air conditioner during summer, so mosquitoes threw a party! And in the bathroom, the doors are made of glass, so you can see the people doing their stuff (pooping!). Really disturbing experience.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
10.0

Great place to stay! Good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2016
9.1

Was suspicious about the location, as people had told me it was a dangerous spot close to a favela, but I felt very safe and very close to all, that I needed in my two days stay... VERY sweet and helpful staff and I give my warmest recomendations to stay there!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
10.0

Perfectly located just 3 minutes from Copacabana and about 7 from Ipanema! Amazing historic house with an extraordinary ambience, nice bar in the back, awesome club in the basement. But don't worry, parties don't happen every day so that won't keep you from getting enough sleep. Very social place, perfect to make new friends. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly and speak various languages. The dorms are spacious and the privates really pretty. Would definitely recommend staying there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.