Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 306 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 306 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro Located at Rua Saint Roman #20, , Rio de Janeiro.
Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22071-060 Rua Saint Roman #20
83% 306
-22.9807179 -43.1917619
Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • tomjmarshall1
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.6

Only stayed one night but had a lot of fun. Nothing bad to say really. They did some great deals every day and location was great to easily walk to Copacabana or Ipanema.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
3.1

I didn't expect to rate the hostel like this. Rio is amazing, everything was amazing but the hostel. The staff is not easy going at all, especially the blond woman, I think she is the manager. They get in to your room without knocking at any time, they forget to be kind giving advices or finding a solution to any problem. The positive: the kind girls working at the kitchen and cleaners and one guy who speaks spanish. Everything else is sadly negative, I won't stay there anymore. -10

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
9.4

Its a bit of a hike up the hill and steps, but it's a great hostel with large common rooms and on-site bar. Good showers, too. While I was there I just felt a little odd as it's quite a big place, but it felt like there were about three of us staying there. Regardless - it's a great place and I'd gladly return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
8.0

Excellent location, between Copacabana and Ipanema, the best 2 beaches in Rio. Large building (a former embassy), lots of space in rooms. AVOID Kitchen . Good breakfast, though. Staff are very nice and helpful, esp. Beesan and Kim. Night shift, not very nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
8.3

The only one problem is where it is. The hostel is located in the bottom of a slam. We hadn't had problems, but we never know... Apart from that, perfect!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
29th May 2016
6.6

First off, place is beautiful. Great location as well, just a block from the beach. Kind of in a shady part of Rio, but people seemed friendly. kitchen staff wasn't as friendly as those in the front desk. seems like they're giving you a favor just by talking to you. the beds and pillows are definitely the most uncomfortable ones i have slept in. felt as if i was sleeping on the floor and using a rock as a pillow. I can tolerate most things, but an uncomfortable bed is unforgivable for a hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st May 2016
9.4

amazing showers for a hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Apr 2016
8.6

Great place. Location is awesome, and the deck and common areas are great. We stayed in a casa and it was perfect for us. Kitchen is not great, for cooking or cleaning, if you plan on making meals. Breakfasts are the best we've had in a hostel in south America so far, and evening bar deals are great. The ongoing construction at the moment was a real hassle for our friend staying in a dorm, but that may end soon. Would stay in casas again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Apr 2016
9.4

Big dorms but plenty of fans. Brekky was decent. Good location a few blocks from the beach. Not too social when I was there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
9.1

Beautiful place, one of the best I know so far. Common area are very spacious, there is an amazing terrace with a nice bar. Room are good amd clean, breakfast is nice. Location is ideal, between copacabana and Ipanema. Staff if friemdly and very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.