Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 388 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 388 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • fapples
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Aug 2017
6.0

The staff were lovely and really helpful. However my room smelt terrible and none of the guest spoke English it felt like they were staying there long term. Glad I only booked one night

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing and reviewing us! We feel bad that your stay did not met your expectations and we apologize for our failures. We'll use your feedback to correct errors and improve. We work hard to provide the best stay to our guests and we would like to try to change your mind. We will contact you again soon. Thank you and Pura Vida!

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

Todo fue genial. Los trabajadores son súper amables y atentos! El lugar esta muy bien ubicado, a pocos metros de Copacabana y la habitación muy bien para el precio que se paga. Recomiendo totalmente que vayan!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Gracias por elegir a Pura Vida Hostel y darnos su evaluación! ¡Saber que usted disfrutó su estadia nos mantiene motivados y nos da energía para ser aún mejor la próxima vez que venga! Al retornar haga su reserva directamente con nosotros por email (info@puravidahostel.com.br) y mencione el código "PURAVIDA FRIEND" para ganar 10% de descuento en la reserva! Una vez más, gracias y Pura Vida!

  • Chrisharis1234
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Jun 2017
10.0

Very good Hostel and I would certainly come back! Nice room and staff. Great location close to the beach, bars and restaurants.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing Pura Vida Hostel and for your evaluation! Your satisfaction keeps us motivated and gives us energy to do even better next time! When you return, make your reservation directly with us by email (info@puravidahostel.com.br) and mention the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND" to get a 10% discount on your reservation! Once again, thank you and Pura Vida!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Great Hostel! Good location, good room and very nice atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing Pura Vida Hostel and for your evaluation! Your satisfaction keeps us motivated and gives us energy to do even better next time! When you return, make your reservation directly with us by email (info@puravidahostel.com.br) and mention the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND" to get a 10% discount on your reservation! Once again, thank you and Pura Vida!

25th May 2017
10.0

One of the Best Hostels I ever stayed! Good rooms, great bar and parties and great location uper close to the beach and metro.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing Pura Vida Hostel and for your evaluation! Your satisfaction keeps us motivated and gives us energy to do even better next time! When you return, make your reservation directly with us by email (info@puravidahostel.com.br) and mention the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND" to get a 10% discount on your reservation! Once again, thank you and Pura Vida!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
10.0

This place is amazing! The location is great, the rooms are great and the staff are amazing! I loved my time in rio here! I would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your opinion and for choosing us! Your satisfaction is our fuel and it makes us work harder to have more fun with guests here. Please note that returning guests get a 10% discount! Just book by email (info@puravidahostel.com.br) and mention the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND". We are waiting for you as soon as possible - Pura Vida!

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
10.0

Stayed for a week, than moved to Leblon for a friend's bday but had to come back for another week, with our friend of course! Why? Location- 5 m walk from Copacabana beach, 10 from Ipanema, Great cheap local food outside the hostel and a supermarket 3 m away. Located by a Favela giving it a true RJ vibe. Staff- From Felipe the owner down to the World Packers, all were friendly, happy and helpful 24/7. Vibe- Huge TV for football games, Skateboards for rent and happy hour every day! PURA VIDA!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your opinion and for choosing us! Your satisfaction is our fuel and it makes us work harder to have more fun with guests here. Please note that returning guests get a 10% discount! Just book by email (info@puravidahostel.com.br) and mention the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND". We are waiting for you as soon as possible - Pura Vida!

  • Juschase00
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
8.0

PROS:great location,had an awesome group at the hostel so made many friends & the atmosphere was great (I traveled solo).Enjoyed the barbeques they did.Aircon worked well in my private room. CONS:Some Staff understood English well,others not so well thus struggled with some tourist bookings I made with them,but they do try hard (so an unfair con). The room was overpriced for Carnival.Coming back from parties to those stairs was terrible,but if you fit you good,if not you probably need it anyway.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
24th Feb 2017
7.7

Close to both Copacabana and Ipanema, though on the edge of a favela. I found the staff fairly unhelpful and even rude at times. Considering the inflated price for Carnaval I expected more - there was a BBQ on the first night of Carnaval and the staff took us to a bloco, but after that we were left to our own devices. They could have provided information about what was happening each day or something. Luckily there were great people staying here, and lots of space for socialising.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for choosing us. The Bar opened everyday during Carnival all days with a warm up and after that a Bloco. All the schedule was on the reception board. we are sorry if the communication was not very clear. We will take that as an opportunity to improve it. Thank you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Feb 2017
4.9

Stayed here for carnival and it's lucky we had great people in the hostel to get around with because this hostel lacked some serious atmosphere. It was carnival time and the hostel staff had nothing really organised at all, and the bloke with the Afro at the front was not one little bit interested in helping out one little bit, frustrating and grumpy man. Once the main carnival was finished this place was absolutely dead, stay near lapa or Ipanema.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.