Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 318 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 318 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro Located at Rua Saint Roman #20, , Rio de Janeiro.
Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22071-060 Rua Saint Roman #20
86% 318
-22.9807179 -43.1917619
Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Sep 2016
9.4

Interesting building

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
10.0

Awesome location just a short walk to Copacabana or Ipanema beach. Safety was no issue in this location. Staff were very friendly and helped organise social events and are keen to come out with everyone. Couldn't ask for anything more

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.3

Lovely staff! Atmosphere was somewhat subdued on arrival, but apparently many hostels in Rio were quiet and empty on arrival. Neighbourhood seems a bit sketchy when you arrive, but there's nothing to worry about! Very useful location as well! Would probably stay here again in Rio

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jul 2016
10.0

This hostel was awesome, we stayed here for a week. Rio was our first stop in SA and the staff at Pura Vida made everything so easy. The reception is manned 24/7. We had a private room. Initially the sheets on our bed weren't 100% clean so the staff made sure it got changed that day, we had no issues after that. The deck bar makes delicious drinks & breakfast is good. Whilst the hostel is near a favela, its not in it and we felt 100% secure. Highly recommend this hostel. Thank you for having us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2016
9.4

Kim was extremely helpful and provided useful information for exploring Rio.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tomjmarshall1
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
8.6

Only stayed one night but had a lot of fun. Nothing bad to say really. They did some great deals every day and location was great to easily walk to Copacabana or Ipanema.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
3.1

I didn't expect to rate the hostel like this. Rio is amazing, everything was amazing but the hostel. The staff is not easy going at all, especially the blond woman, I think she is the manager. They get in to your room without knocking at any time, they forget to be kind giving advices or finding a solution to any problem. The positive: the kind girls working at the kitchen and cleaners and one guy who speaks spanish. Everything else is sadly negative, I won't stay there anymore. -10

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
9.4

Its a bit of a hike up the hill and steps, but it's a great hostel with large common rooms and on-site bar. Good showers, too. While I was there I just felt a little odd as it's quite a big place, but it felt like there were about three of us staying there. Regardless - it's a great place and I'd gladly return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
8.0

Excellent location, between Copacabana and Ipanema, the best 2 beaches in Rio. Large building (a former embassy), lots of space in rooms. AVOID Kitchen . Good breakfast, though. Staff are very nice and helpful, esp. Beesan and Kim. Night shift, not very nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
8.3

The only one problem is where it is. The hostel is located in the bottom of a slam. We hadn't had problems, but we never know... Apart from that, perfect!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.