Hostelworld.com

Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.9
Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro Located at Rua Saint Roman #20, , Rio de Janeiro.
Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 22071-060 Rua Saint Roman #20
73% 289
-22.9807179 -43.1917619
Pura Vida Hostel Rio de Janeiro
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2016
8.6

Great place. Location is awesome, and the deck and common areas are great. We stayed in a casa and it was perfect for us. Kitchen is not great, for cooking or cleaning, if you plan on making meals. Breakfasts are the best we've had in a hostel in south America so far, and evening bar deals are great. The ongoing construction at the moment was a real hassle for our friend staying in a dorm, but that may end soon. Would stay in casas again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
9.1

Beautiful place, one of the best I know so far. Common area are very spacious, there is an amazing terrace with a nice bar. Room are good amd clean, breakfast is nice. Location is ideal, between copacabana and Ipanema. Staff if friemdly and very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
9.4

I booked my first night here and ended up staying the whole time. I paid $22 for the weekend nights and $12 during the week. Beautiful hostel tucked up in a hill on a side street. You get what you pay for- no a/c and the bathrooms are okay, however, plentiful. I never had to wait in a 10 person dorm. The faculty is amazing, everyone is so nice and helpful. The breakfast is also very good. You can choose from eggs, mixed fruit, 2 pieces of whole fruit, or meat and cheese.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Mar 2016
9.4

Cool area close to the beach but was a bit more atmospheric than upmarket ipanema. Also very good value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
8.6

Great location and great staff. Quality breakfast and cheap drinks at the bar (a lot of nights all you can drink caipirinha for five pound). Quite a relaxed atmosphere at the hostel but near a bus stop if you wish to head to Lapa for a night out. There´s a bank just down the road that accepts mastercard, visa etc and the hostel is a five minute walk from post five of the Copacabana. Highly recomended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2016
10.0

Top class.?.Great location....Good atmosphere..Staff were helpful friendly and could not be better.. Only downside of my stay were the short sheets which kept coming off..But overall 10 out of 10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • charlienott
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Feb 2016
6.6

Found some of the reception staff kind of rude and unfriendly. And is at the end of a really dodgy street. But is really clean, good facilities and breakfast and do a free cocktail often in the evening which is nice! Xxx

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2016
9.1

Around 100 meters from Copacabana beach, on the start of the favela, but still very safe. Cool place, lots of common space. They could upgrade the breakfast a bit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2016
5.4

This hostel put a damper on my trip. The staff was helpful enough but the wifi didn't work from our room (middle chalet) so we had to go to the lobby to get stuff done. The room was tiny and smelled like pee, which we remedied by blasting the air conditioning. I wish they told us well in advance that they'd have Samba Parade tickets so I didn't have to book with another company and take a taxi to pick up tickets. On a positive note, they have cable and it's located super close to the beach.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
2nd Feb 2016
8.9

It was a really reasonable to stay in pura vida during carnival season! It was unbelivably cheap compare to its facilities and good location near copacabana beach. They have parties most of the nights and it was a great fun to stay there and hang out with the guys. There is no air conditioner in the room but not really bad to sleep at night. I would recommend this hostel! Good wifi, clean bathrooms and nice staffs:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.