Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Pura Vida Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 91 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 91 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
Pura Vida Hostel Located at calle guanacaste, 100m oeste de banco national a, Tamarindo.
Pura Vida Hostel
Costa Rica
Tamarindo calle guanacaste, 100m oeste de banco national a
88% 91
10.2961378 -85.8382930
Pura Vida Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • razamor2354
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2016
7.1

This is a low key hostel with a nice staff (Karen and Sandra). I stayed in the dorm room with AC and considering the heat and humidity in Tamarindo during my July stay, I definitely recommend the AC option. The facilities were all suitable for the price although the bathroom could use a remodel or at least a better cleaning. This is not really a party hostel from what I could tell so if that's what you are looking for, look elsewhere. 

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2016
8.3

Place was clean. Stayed in private room with bathroom. AC was lovely. First place we stayed with it. Staff was really helpful with helping us book a coffee tour for our next place. Our room was right in the front and the hostel was pretty loud until about midnight ish...and people were up early talking loud because our room was right next to the front desk. That sucked but other than that it was a good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
7.7

The staff was great but it was a bit far from the beach and up a dusty road. It was a very dark environment and we found the atmosphere not that great. It could have just been the people at the time. Lots of bugs as well. The place was built like a yurt which was kind of cool. The fridge was really messy as well. Super cheap though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
10.0

Staying here was such a great experience! I met a great group of people and we all had an amazing time. There's many mosquitos on the patio but that's just the way it is, welcome to Costa Rica! All the staff are nice and very accommodating. The location is near a few resterants which is easy for breakfast and everything is in walking distance!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
8.6

Staff were very friendly. Laid back atmosphere during day and fun events put on at night. Private double room was big and had air con.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th May 2016
9.7

I had the best time here! The room was clean as well as the outside areas. Staff was very nice and fun to hang out with too :) the live music they have is awesome and tony and his bandmate are amazing guitar players. I can't thank you guys enough! As a solo traveler it was easy to make friends and the facilities are fantastic. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th May 2016
9.1

The pura Vida is a super relaxing place with hammocks and rocking chairs. Every night there is a concert. The stuff is very kind and helpful. I recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Jaelberry8089
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2016
10.0

This was a great experience staying at Pura Vida Hostel. I truly felt relaxed and in paradise the location is perfect and the atmosphere. I love the outdoor kitchen and the lounge area so clean . All the staff are very helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Mar 2016
9.1

Loved this place, Best communal areas, best people, super helpful staff, big lockers, spacious, best vibe. Loved this spot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Mar 2016
10.0

Best hostel ever, Thank you for time of my life Tomas and Sandra. Very clean space and beatiful social area, you meet many frien here for life and staff just makes it peace of heaven...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.