Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pura Vida MINI Hostel - Tamarindo

  • Calle Langosta, 200m North from the beach, 20m North from ZEN Restaurant, Tamarindo, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 330 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 330 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
Pura Vida MINI Hostel - Tamarindo Located at Calle Langosta, 200m North from the beach, 20m North from ZEN Restaurant, Tamarindo.
Pura Vida MINI Hostel - Tamarindo
Costa Rica
Tamarindo Tamarindo 30064 Calle Langosta, 200m North from the beach, 20m North from ZEN Restaurant
85% 330
10.2966989 -85.8422877
Pura Vida MINI Hostel - Tamarindo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
9.1

Great place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.1

Great Stay! Hostel is running by a woman, so everything is super well organised. Nice dorms, kitchen and common area. Easy to meet new people. You can see monkeys around there :) Close to the beach and supermarket (both 5 min walk) and bus station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.9

great hostel, Miriam is a very helpful and courteous staff member.. She is very easy to get along with and makes you feel comfortable. Very social hostel, great common area. My only issue was the lack of space and AC in the 11person dorms.. Too crowded and hot. Great location to the beach and main drag

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jan 2017
7.1

If you're into meditation, leaving dorms and gates open 24/7, no AC in rooms and not too bothered about cleanliness then this is definitely for you.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI there, thank you for your review, you may have missed it however we do offer 2 types of dorms one with fan (the cheaper option) and one with AC. Unfortunately due to your budget you have chosen the dorm with fan, therefore you have received the type of room you had a budget for! Also there are many types of backpackers and they do many different activities, if they choose to meditate or drink its up to them, I do not think we should judge people by the activities they choose to stay. :) thank you for your comments and your stay. :)

3rd Jan 2017
10.0

Loved it so much I ended up extending my stay! Great people (both staff/owner and other travelers) and atmosphere. Very nice communal areas that make it easy to meet people to adventure with. Very knowledgeable staff and a great resource for information for travelling onward and booking nearby tours. The AC dorm was perfect for sleeping at night and I was always able to find a bathroom and/or shower when I needed one. I'll miss this group of awesome people and hope to come back again soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
6.6

Good point : cheap compared to the other one around. Negative point : ants everywhere, not enough toilets and showers, shower same place as toilet so if both shower are taken you cannot go to de bathroom. The mattress was completely dead, me and my girlfriend was attracted in the middle cuz off the sink hole. And to many rules.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
9.4

My stay there was great, staff is really friendly and helpful, dorms are nice, bathrooms are clean, but the best part of the hostel is the hang-out zone where you can easily meet new people. Everybody gets there together in the evenings. The hostel is also super close to the beach and the town (4min walk).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aminazam4783
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
9.4

Great hostel with amazing owner / operator who very energetically tends to the guests. Very social atmosphere. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Dec 2016
9.4

Nice hostel! WiFi, spacious, nice kitchen, there were howler monkeys in the trees across the street when we stayed. A small walk to the beach. Lockers, safe , etc.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Dec 2016
4.3

Our room was full of ants. They were everywhere. In the bed, in our bags, around the door. In the shower. So many ants everywhere it was disgusting. I feel like the hostel has potential but they need to get rid of the bug problem for sure

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, though I really appreciate your comment about ants, here in Costa Rica we do not consider "ants" to be "bugs" as I have explained in a sigh we do have leaf cutter ants that live on the property, and they are absolutely harmless. If you had a problem with an innocent ant, you could have come to the reception to ask for "bug spray" - no problem we have that here as well. We do not like to use chemicals to kill the nature however we do want you to be happy. I am sorry you have not told us about the problem while you were here as we would be more then happy to "spray the chemical" in your room to kill the ants.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.