Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pura Vida MINI Hostel - Tamarindo

  • Calle Langosta, 200m North from the beach, 20m North from ZEN Restaurant, Tamarindo, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 366 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 366 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Mar 2017
5.4

Stayed here overnight with a friend to catch a bus in the morning so we were looking forward to getting some sleep. As we were getting things settled for our trip the next day we realized that the dorm was infested with big reddish-orange ants. They were crawling on our beds, up the walls, just all over the dorm. Needless to say it was hard to get any sleep. Another guy in our room didn't get any sleep because of the ants. He stayed in the lounge area all night....saw him when we left at 5 am.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
8.0

Nice and quiet hostel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
8.6

Lovely hostel, really chilled and so nice to relax in. Staff were helpful and friendly, location was awesome. Only issue was all the ants which wasn't ideal because they kept getting into our luggage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Feb 2017
9.7

This hostel really is THE BEST for meeting people. The huge lounge area and GIANT well equipped kitchen allow for easy conversation with other guests. The owner is the sweetest lady ever and always willing to help you get around and find things to do. At night the hostel shuts down for quiet time, which is great for those who want to rest before going on excursions - and if you want to party, you can go out with all the new pals you have met! Tons of monkeys and lizards hang out around too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Great hostel, very friendly and helpful staff, close to the beach, pet iguana Fred was great, second last morning we had coffee on balcony and got to watch a troop of howler monkeys perform in the trees nearby!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel ... super close to beach and town everything in walking distance, really chill vibe you can be reading a book or socializing all at the same time and it doesn't feel hectic. Clean kitchen. Thumbs up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
8.9

Pura Vida Mini Hostel was a great place to stay. The staff was awesome and the place overall had a really great atmosphere. I would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.9

Really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. Great location and good vibes. Lots of bars nearby and each night everyone seems to go to the same one, so it's easy to find a crew to go out with and party. Close to the beach, and helpful staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Feb 2017
6.0

The Hostel is located near shopping and beach, it was a bit noisy, so bring your earplugs. During checkout (7am)there was no one at the front desk, we needed our deposit back so we had to wait. he arrived an hour late.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
6.9

The staff was excellent and very helpful. **ask to see the room first**. My double was directly behind the reception desk - the windows don't fully close so I had to listen to all reception conversations very loudly, most all the time. Also had a security motion light by the other window that shined very brightly off and on all night. Only other big complaint is that the entire hostel was without water for a night/morning. Excellent common area, good vibes, good location, just be picky w/ rooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.