Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pura Vida MINI Hostel - Tamarindo

  • Calle Langosta, 200m North from the beach, 20m North from ZEN Restaurant, Tamarindo, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
10.0

Great staff, fantastic location - hostel is a few minute from the beach. They have a great fully equipped kitchen so you don't have to spend money in expensive restaurants. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2017
10.0

Great spot. Quiet yet close to beach, shopping and eating. Miriam and staff beautiful, friendly and knowledgeable of the town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Apr 2017
9.7

Very good hostel. Close to the beach and downtown buy not so close that you can't sleep due to the noise. The staff is super friendly and the facilities are great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.3

There was missing à pool to be perfect... Kitchen Good. Very clean. Take care because other guest steel things si fast... Just several meters of the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Apr 2017
8.0

They had hot water! This is rare in Costa Rica - pretty good location, had AC in our room so that was also fantastic. We enjoyed hanging out in the multiple common areas/hammocks that the hostel has.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
11th Apr 2017
8.0

Nice hostel, chill vibe

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
8.6

Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, great location (few mins away from the beach), nice atmosphere for relaxing. Cons: Tamarindo is HOT so I would absolutely recommend spending a little more for the dorm with A/C. Also, what the other reviews say about the bugs is more or less true. The ants didn't really bother me but we had a few roaches in our dorm. Other than that the dorms are very clean and beds are comfy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
9.1

This hostel served our needs well; a clean place to sleep, a clean place to cook our food, and close to the beach. Lots of sitting areas outside for r&r or visiting. Staff were friendly, and answered amy questions we threw their way. I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
6.9

Good location (a bit away from the center which ensures you to have a good night sleep, but still close to everything), big kitchen and nice chill area. Comfy beds, although the dorms are pretty hot. However, you should know that the hostel is full - and I mean FULL - of insects. From ants to cockroaches, be prepared to share the dorm with them...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
5.4

Stayed here overnight with a friend to catch a bus in the morning so we were looking forward to getting some sleep. As we were getting things settled for our trip the next day we realized that the dorm was infested with big reddish-orange ants. They were crawling on our beds, up the walls, just all over the dorm. Needless to say it was hard to get any sleep. Another guy in our room didn't get any sleep because of the ants. He stayed in the lounge area all night....saw him when we left at 5 am.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.