X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pura Vida MINI Hostel - Tamarindo Reviews

Calle Langosta, 200m North from the beach, 20m North from Kahiki Restaurant., Tamarindo, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
42 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Awesome hostel to hang out and meet people. Just a pity they stop the hostel life at 11 pm. All in all the hostel has a nice outdoor area with places to relax.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome hostel! I already miss the relaxed vibe there! I will definitely recommend Pura Vida MINI hostel to other travelers! Cheers Oskar

  • 7th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing staff and clientele. Perfect proximity to the beach and the towns amenities yet far enough away from the noise and chaos of the Tamagringo nightlife. Would gladly stay there again!

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent wifi, hammocks and great vibe!


94%

The hostel is about 5 minutes from the main road. That was really nice because you could have a good sleep and not be woken up at 4 am by dance music. A relaxed hostel, not a party hostel.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel is great! The staff are super helpful and the set up is super chill and comfy. Happy to give advice on trip plans and buses. Rebecca (desk staff) has done a bunch of travelling round Costa and has some great recommendations so be sure to ask. We definitely hit some up and they were spot on.


91%

Hostel with good vibes and nice commom area. At front desk we met Rebeca, always with a smile on her face and very helpful! And the most cute and sociable cat, Simba! Room (private) was fine, though pretty hot (we used the fan the whole night). There was a promise of hot water in showers, as usual in Costa Rica there was none. Day was so hot that cold shower was just what I needed,


86%

There for a night, everything was great (room, kitchen, location, a/c) except the guy who was working the front desk, didn't seem like he was having a good day and wasn't the most responsive and seemed to take us as a nuisance. Otherwise, stay was good.


100%

This is a great hostel. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The facilities were great, especially the common area. The hostel is also very close to the beach and only a few minute walk to the center of town. Will definitely be staying here again.


94%

I had a great stay here! I am especially thankful for the manager Rebecca and all her great tips on things to do in Costa Rica! I also loved the tranquil and relaxing vibe of the day beds and hammocks!


89%

Good hostel, quick walk to shops and town. Lots of places to relax. New buildings are nice. Good kitchen too.


86%

Extremely clean and the kitchen was well stocked. The owner was really helpful and knowledgable about routes/buses/times etc. The AC in our room started dripping inside badly the first night. We told the owner about this and she had a repairman come in that day to fix it! Two negative things was that the pool access, while lovely, is not close

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Good place. Didn't like the owner. Had a wierd system for next day reservations but the rooms are good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Olivier, your rooms cost was $26/per night (not bad for private room, 2 people and AC). You paid: $26 less the deposit you paid on Hostelworld which was $3.90 = $22.10 + 13% VAT tax ($2.9) = $25 which is exactly what you paid (still not bad for 2 in private room/AC). Since you really liked your stay and the cheap price you decided to stay extra night and you paid the same price, hence your comments "bullshit reservations" we do not understand as you booked directly with HostelWorld.

100%

Super cool hostel, good value, clean, it ticks all the boxes. The owner Miriam is super nice!


100%

The owner of the hostel was very friendly accommodating. There was always a staff member available and willing to help with any questions. The location was ideal up the road from the beach and the town. Direct access to excursions set up for you through the hostel all you had to do was pay and show up.Very calm and cool atmosphere in which the people staying there have the opportunity to meet one another and hang out.Keep in mind esp when booking shuttle services name is Pura Vida MINI hostel.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was awesome. Pura vida!


100%

A good chilled out atmosfare with with an excellent staff that will help you with everything you need! Comfy beds and a big kitchen to cook in


86%

Marchicio I hope I spellcorrectly is a top host alongwith his sister fernanda. Made our stay!


91%

Very Nice hostel, Nice personnel spécialy mauricio ! Hostel cheap with a lot of people to meet, the commun area was spécialy Nice to discuss with everyone !! Mehdi

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place! Good location, good price, good deal, has all the amenities, I recommend it 100%!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Tamarindo Hostels

Please give us your feedback