Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pura Vida MINI Hostel - Tamarindo

  • Calle Langosta, 200m North from the beach, 20m North from ZEN Restaurant, Tamarindo, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 376 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 376 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.3

There was missing à pool to be perfect... Kitchen Good. Very clean. Take care because other guest steel things si fast... Just several meters of the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
8.6

Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, great location (few mins away from the beach), nice atmosphere for relaxing. Cons: Tamarindo is HOT so I would absolutely recommend spending a little more for the dorm with A/C. Also, what the other reviews say about the bugs is more or less true. The ants didn't really bother me but we had a few roaches in our dorm. Other than that the dorms are very clean and beds are comfy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
9.1

This hostel served our needs well; a clean place to sleep, a clean place to cook our food, and close to the beach. Lots of sitting areas outside for r&r or visiting. Staff were friendly, and answered amy questions we threw their way. I would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
6.9

Good location (a bit away from the center which ensures you to have a good night sleep, but still close to everything), big kitchen and nice chill area. Comfy beds, although the dorms are pretty hot. However, you should know that the hostel is full - and I mean FULL - of insects. From ants to cockroaches, be prepared to share the dorm with them...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
5.4

Stayed here overnight with a friend to catch a bus in the morning so we were looking forward to getting some sleep. As we were getting things settled for our trip the next day we realized that the dorm was infested with big reddish-orange ants. They were crawling on our beds, up the walls, just all over the dorm. Needless to say it was hard to get any sleep. Another guy in our room didn't get any sleep because of the ants. He stayed in the lounge area all night....saw him when we left at 5 am.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
8.0

Nice and quiet hostel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
8.6

Lovely hostel, really chilled and so nice to relax in. Staff were helpful and friendly, location was awesome. Only issue was all the ants which wasn't ideal because they kept getting into our luggage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Feb 2017
9.7

This hostel really is THE BEST for meeting people. The huge lounge area and GIANT well equipped kitchen allow for easy conversation with other guests. The owner is the sweetest lady ever and always willing to help you get around and find things to do. At night the hostel shuts down for quiet time, which is great for those who want to rest before going on excursions - and if you want to party, you can go out with all the new pals you have met! Tons of monkeys and lizards hang out around too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Great hostel, very friendly and helpful staff, close to the beach, pet iguana Fred was great, second last morning we had coffee on balcony and got to watch a troop of howler monkeys perform in the trees nearby!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel ... super close to beach and town everything in walking distance, really chill vibe you can be reading a book or socializing all at the same time and it doesn't feel hectic. Clean kitchen. Thumbs up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.