Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Pura Vida MINI Hostel - Tamarindo

  • Calle Langosta, 200m North from the beach, 20m North from ZEN Restaurant, Tamarindo, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 418 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Aug 2017
10.0

This hostel was fantastic. The people at the front desk were amazing. It was large, clean and felt safe. It is on the end of town but very close to the beach, and right across the street from WAYRA spanish school. They will help with laundry and setting up tours, they also know of many of the cheap things to do around Tamarindo. Abby was helping me and she is great. :) They have a good hang out spot, and access to a pool across town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • conormichaeldillon3676
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
10th Aug 2017
9.4

Really enjoyed our stay here! Private room was a decent size, plenty of chill out areas and a huge kitchen with everything you need. Sarah was also extremely helpful when it came to booking activities etc and places to eat/party!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Aug 2017
7.7

The atmosphere was chilled out and fairly quiet, but made for a relaxing stay. Staff were helpful and kind, and the location was good. Common area was cool and lots of kitchen space. Found it odd to come home to people sleeping in common areas every night, which made socialization difficult at night. Overall enjoyed stay and would recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
2.6

I was not able to stay here. I call two days before to cancel my reservation just because I got the wrong city. They still charge me the all money. Because you beed 7 days to cancel. That is not what they said in the website.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Jul 2017
9.1

Cool staff. Great location. Comfy beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2017
7.7

Room was super cramped, dark and stuffy. I ended going to another place for the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
9.7

We stayed for 3 nights, the hostel is in great condition, we played a couple of pool games and ping pong games, the rooms are clean and have everything you need. Its a great hostel to stay in, I would gladly go again. The ladies at the reception are super friendly and they help you out a lot. Plus they're funny!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Jul 2017
8.3

Great location. Irish girl working there is a legend. Other staff not so great. Dorm door rarely kept locked and main gate to hostel always open so not overly secure. Wouldn't recommend for solo travellers. Great kitchen. Watch out for food thief's. Not hostels fault but damn yo... Why you gotta steal my butter??

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Ireland Thank you for your review. Iam Sorry that you felt that the hostel was not secure,because one of our main concerns is the safety of our guests.We do lock the gate and all guests have a key to come and go as they like but as you can understand it is very hard to make sure that all guest lock the gate as the leave or enter the premises.We have staff of different nationalities,so we can provide a better level of interaction with our guests. .I am sorry about the butter thief will try to get to the bottom of the situation ha ha.Thank you again Hope to see ye again soon. Pura Vida Mini Hostel Family

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2017
10.0

Great location, great and clean facilities and most of all the staff are absolute gems! Would recommend 150%!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • delaneylee9500
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
10.0

Perfect standard for budget travel in Costa Rica

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×