X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Q4 Hotel Reviews

2909 Queens Plaza North, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2172 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The staff was quite friendly, informative and helpful. The facilities were very clean. I have never stayed at a hostel with such a clean and tidy kitchen! This was the first time my friend stayed at a hostel - it was a very positive experience! Thank you!

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Mixed feelings about this place its in a good location but right next to an overground train which runs all night. Its clean and has great facilities like a pool table in the lounge area. However, the matresses and pillows are plastic and feel horrible to sleep on. In addition they charge you $5 to store your baggage after checkout something which I've come to expect as standard from most other places.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

I stayed at Q4 during this freezing winter time, and the heater inside my room was turned off. It had a disabled heater panel on the wall which didn't work. I asked the staff for 2 nights in a row to turn on the heater, and he said he doesn't know why it didn't work, instead offered me an extra thin blanket. I found the main switch at an odd location on the last day which worked. As a result, I couldn't sleep much at most nights, plus I got a cold at the end of my stay.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Stay was good. Lounge area on 2nd floor was very nice, and the kitchen and play areas in the basement were as well. Facilities were very clean and staff was friendly. I was surprised that the front entrance didn't require a keycard, especially since there is a door to the dorms that is not in direct view of the front desk. I did not feel unsafe in the building or surrounding area though. My bed was very creaky, so I'm sure it bothered my roommates when I moved around. Otherwise, Q4 was great.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is really nice and very clean. You get a set up bed and a towel for free. - There are earplugs at the reception, for a very good reason. The Windows are terrible. Never had a hostel THAT loud. Sometimes over 61db with close windows in the night.... Hey new windows guys!

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Q4 is adjacent to many major train lines making access into Manhattan very simple. We actively looking for ways to lessen the noise. Thank you for choosing us. Diana Q4 Management

77%

Easy access, close to the subway, I enjoyed my stay.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I loved my stay at Q4! It was so easy to get to from JFK, the hostel was very clean and staff friendly. Really cool, hipster atmosphere. Will definitely recommend Q4 to friends going to New York!

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing Q4 for your hospitality needs. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you in the future. Diana Q4 Management

86%

The hostel was great. I had a good time there. It was clean and the staff really nice. My dorm was clean and beautiful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you for choosing Q4 and we look forward to serving you in the future. Diana Q4 Management

100%

Great hostel, loved the people up front. No issues at all. Location was right near a couple of metro stations and a bomb bagel place across and to the right. Would stay here again as the bang for your buck is just unreal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We know you have choices in accommodations and we thank you for choosing Q4!! Q4 Management

80%

The hostel is well-situated close to the subway with quick links close to the airport and minutes from Manhattan. However, the quality of sleep here is poor - on the first floor the lobby played music all night, the mattress and pillow seemed to be covered in paper which makes one think they they might have bedbug concerns. There is an elevated subway outside with a large bend in the track, which is VERY loud, and there were sirens at the busy intersection. However, great lounge in basement.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies for the noise level of the trains. Q4 is nearby various train lines making access into Manhattan very easy. We are looking into ways to possibly lessen the noise. As for the plastic on the mattresses and pillows, this is for sanitary reasons only. Here at Q4 we employ a pest protection company that inspects our property twice a month to insure we have no pests of any kind. Thank you for choosing us. Diana-Q4 Management

83%

Clean, very easy to reach manhatan.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana -Q4 Management

77%

The facilities were well maintained and cleanliness was not an issue at all, due to both the diligence of the staff and some of their rules, of which the only rule I found odd was 'no personal linen or towels'. The lounge in the basement is great, and I only wish there were more than a few people on the weekend I stayed. The location has convenient metro access, but there isn't much in walking distance. Biggest negative was the elevated train, one of the few things I can't sleep through.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to maintain the cleanliness of the hostel which is why we do not allow personal linens. Some travelers go from place to place as do their linens so in order to avoid any unwanted "company" we do not allow outside linens. We hope this clarifies things for you. Also, we are actively looking for ways to lessen the noise from the trains. Thank you for staying with us. Diana-Q4 Management

83%

Great base to tour manhattan, wouldn't reccommend for lone travellers looking for the hostel experience but it's NYC so just hop on the metro and you'll have the buzzing city!! Score is also decreased because it was the slowest check-in I've ever experienced. But that's small overall, it's a great clean hostel!

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies for the slow check-in. Overall, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Q4 Management

77%

This could be a truly great backpacker hostel - if there were any backpackers in it. I visited in mid-Nov 2014 and it was pretty much dead. And it's SUCH a shame! This could be a really great hostel - it's has so much going for it. GREAT kitchen and communal areas; everywhere is clean; fast Wifi (seems to have improved in comparison with what previous reviews say). Great location - 5 subway lines on your doorstep, 15 mins to Manhattan. It needs some life breathing into it, and the heating fixing

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies if the vibe was not to your liking while staying with us. We are presently looking into ways to liven up the scene of the hostel. We thank you for choosing us and we look forward to serving you in the future with a new and improved atmosphere!! Diana Q4 Management

91%

Great location, clean rooms , friendly and helpful staff, what else can you ask for?

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Q4 Management

86%

Unfortunately, while every bed had a working lamp, mine had a bunt light bulb. Even asking daily for its changing nothing was done. Couldn’t do my reading in bed had to leave the room for it. Poor maintenance.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the reading light not being in working order. I will personally conduct a through inspection of all lights to assure they all working properly. Please consider visiting us again and we do appreciate your business. Diana Q4 Management

54%

Maybe because the common area is in the basement, it seemed absolutely dead. I think most people going to a youth hostel are looking for at least a somewhat lively environment, but it was dead, dead, dead - because of the way it's set up, it's very difficult to meet many of other guests as the common areas are really out of the way. They charged $5 to keep my bags a couple of hours after check-out. I've never seen that before - surely that should be part of basic guest services?


80%

Everything was clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is close to the subway station, and so is quite convenient.

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you were pleased with your stay. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Q4 Management

91%

Well connected location (Long Island City, QNS with at least five subway lines to choose from), and a great neighbourhood except for construction and noise (thanks for the free earbuds). Linens are free, facilities are clean, and for the price it is a great looking hostel compared to others in Bklyn or Manhattan. Would stay here again the next time I'm in NYC.

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Q4 and we look forward to having you in the future. Diana Q4 Management

91%

good as usual. stay there on overnight to nyc to do buss .. don have anythig to add. its ver close to all trains like q and f and queens is convenient . not far from just step from time square. good kitchen. and well showers were slightly small but ok. relaxing. staff no issues.. don know what they took computers out for. would be good to have free phone box. for local calls .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to possibly serving you in the future, Diana Q4 Management

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(160 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback