X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Q4 Hotel Reviews

2909 Queens Plaza North, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
3000 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Great location and price. Close to bus stops and subway line. Hostel is near Manhattan.

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best location! Easy to get from the downtown, Jfk airport as well. Nice staff and clean room even I was stay one night, It was nice. However the room was bit cold. Of course they have heater, but not enough for me.

  • 30th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

The heating was not working, when we tried to speak with your staff they only responded "its a problemas in All the building' and when we asked for more blankets he Said "I don't have more"

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Good place to stay. I will come back again .


100%

This has been my second time at Q4, and I have been so pleased with both experiences. Q4 has a great location next to two major subway stations, grocery stores, restaurants, etc., and the surrounding area in Queens has its own charm. I would 100% recommend this hostel for people looking to find a cheap, safe, and convenient hostel outside of Manhattan.

  • 14th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to serving you again. Kindest Regards, Diana-Q4 Guest Relations

100%

Very Helpful & Courteous Staff


94%

Great place. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly.

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Zimbabwe
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your great review! We are please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Q4 and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Diana-Q4 Guest Relations

86%

It was easy to find off the E subway. The bunk beds were actually comfortable also. The showers were better than the ones I had in my hotel. The desk staff was very nice, they printed off directions for me and pointed out several thing to do for the following day that I had not considered but enjoyed very much.

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time to write an awesome review. We strive for excellent customer service and we re pleased to hear that is what you received. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to serving you again. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

69%

The common area and kitchen is nice. The neighborhood is safe and next to a few lines. The rooms are insanely small and smelled weird. There was an old lady in our room that just sat in bed and ate all day. They didn't change our sheets while we were there. Staff was nice though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do apologize for the "weird" smell from the room. We have HK 7 days a week and try our best to keep the hostel clean. We also apologize if you were unsatisfied with your roommate. Since it's shared accommodations we cannot control this factor. Sheets are changed upon request. We thank you for staying with us. Diana-Q4 Guest Relations

80%

Was a great looking hostel, very clean and very well-maintained. I guess because we didn't travel during peak travel times it was pretty lifeless at the hostel and not much was going on. The staff however was friendly and helpful when needed! It's super loud at this hostel as well so that is a bummer. Noise travels through the walls and windows super easily. It was nice they had earplugs for us though! Overall was an average hostel. Location was great and it was easy to access and get around.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize that the atmosphere at the hostel was not to your liking. Q4 is adjacent to many major train lines making access into Manhattan very quick and easy, we are aware of the noise and are actively looking for ways to lessen the noise. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana-Guest Relations Manager

94%

I really enjoyed my stay at the Q4 hotel. This is third year in a row I stay there when I am visiting New York and I definitely recommend it. Only reason I marked average for security is because no one asked you to identify yourself as a hostel guest when returning to the hostel. The rooms have coded keys so I see why they are not too concern. That aside I really like the Q4 Hotel and will continue stay there when in I am in NYC.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate your continued patronage of our hostel. Our staff does become familiar with the guests and that is the reason they do not ask for identification. We thank you again for choosing and look forward to serving you again. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

60%

+ Really close to 2 subway stations, big kitchen - Unhelpful and disinterested staff no laundry facilities Supermarket 20mm away - Weird atmosphere, people not talking - Freezing rooms (heaters randomly stopped, no isolation....). Had the same report from people from other rooms. Staff (or management/owner) doesn't seem to care - Bathroom door room 106 really hard to open and close and makes loud squeaky noises etc... Wouldnt recommend staying there

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to review our property.I apologize if your stay didn't meet your expectations. I also apologize if the staff seemed unwilling to assist you.I have recently underwent a re-training session with all the staff. The heat in the dorms is controlled by the guests & the front desk can also help with this. I have also made repairs to the door in room 106. Please consider staying with us again as we would love the opportunity to make your stay a memorable one. Thank you for choosing the Q4. Diana-Q4 Guest Relations

77%

Great hostel and really affordable. However, my room was really cold despite the heater at the maximum... Also, only six lockers for a eight-bed room.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the cold temperature in the room. We have recently inspected all rooms and units to assure that everything is in working order. We are also in the process and installing all missing lockers. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana-Q4 Guest Relations

77%

Convenient and reasonably priced. We could not get the television in the basement to work. That would have been a plus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We apologize for the TV not working properly, anyone of our FD staff would of gladly helped you with that. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana-Q4 Guest Relations

54%

very noisy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review of our property. Q4 is adjacent to most major train lines making access into Manhattan very simple. We are aware of the noise from the rails and are actively looking for ways to possibly lessen the noise. Thank you for choosing Q4. Diana-Guest Relations Manager

91%

I only stayed for one night for my following flight, but I can say my experience staying here was great. The staffs were nice and helpful, and the kitchen that also lounge room was huge and cozy. The location was also easy to reach by subway. One thing for me, I got the top bed and there was no outlet near my bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Q4 Guest Relations

91%

Overall I had a great time.Would highly recommended it to all backpackers on a budget. Keep up trhe great work.

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

86%

there could be a inhouse cafe in addition to having a kitchen....

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would love to offer a cafe but unfortunately due to space limitations we cannot. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again. Diana-Guest Relations Manager

51%

The hostel isn't that bad, except for the recepcionist. They should have a better mood for that position. The heat was't working one night and that really was bad. I asked for more blankets and guess what??? They didn't have any extra. That sucks... I mean you guys should be prepared for this types of problems. Having extra blankets is a "must" if you want to run this type of business.


49%

There were some important things to improve: - Bed's sheets didn't feel like clean on the first day and they were not change neither there was an option to get a clean set. - Bed's sheets were broken in one of the sides, seems to be old and wore. - No elevator for people or just the luggage, we had to carried with two big bags up to the 3rd floor - There was winter (-2| C) and the was a huge cold leak on the cell's window. - Some front desk employee seems tired and not so much helpful.

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(176 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback