X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Q4 Hotel Reviews

2909 Queens Plaza North, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2481 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

It was only a 5min ride on the subway to Manhattan and it was very easy to get there from JFK. The hostel itself isn't really near anything, but it's good that the subway is about a 1min walk away. The hostel is very clean and it's great that they offer free towels. The room I was in was a bit loud as it was right opposite the reception, I would reccommend bringing earplugs if you stayed here. Otherwise it was very comfortable.


83%

The stay as really comfortable. The location is just amazing. 1 minute to the Queens Plaza station which l provides transportation to Manhattan. Pretty safe location too. Facility as adequate for the price range. overall I would recommend it o anyone visiting new york and also stay there the next time I'm in NYC

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future

74%

I don't know what to think about Q4 Hotel. Great new bathrooms, comfortable beds, great facilities but very bad atmosphere : lots of noise (the hostel is just near streets with high traffic and of a air subway line), ans the hostel don't organize any activitie. So the facilities in the basement are not use most of time ! And every people just look his laptop or smartphone in common room. So contradicive feelings for me about Q4 Hotel.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

I stayed for five nights here, I had booked an 8 bed mixed dorm but I was the only woman there! It was kind of awkward for me, so I moved to another room but I had to pay more. If you want to stay in a really really quiet place with a good location (very close tu subway station and manhattan) this is your hostel, if you are looking for a hostel to drink something and meet other people or have party time in it, you won't find that here. It is pretty and clean.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Our most sincere apologize for any uneasiness you felt while staying with us. We try to accommodate all guest to either male or female dorms if traveling alone. Guests are only accommodated to the mixed dorms as a last resort due to limited availability. We thank you for your review, as your thoughts and opinions help make the hostel experience better for other guests. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

60%

--- Very noisy - lots of train noise and traffic. Bathroom door closed very poorly - had to push really hard to close or open. Toilet paper holder was broken. Rooftop terrace was closed. Overall atmosphere of the hostel lacked of a good, friendly vibe. +++ Location. Very close to the subway.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reviewing our property. Our apologies for any inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. We have noted all the discrepancies in the room and have since corrected all the issues. We also apologize that the vibe was not to your liking. Q4 is adjacent to most major train lines making access into Manhattan quick and easy. We are actively looking for ways to possibly lessen the noise. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana-Q4 Guest Relations

66%

The room we stayed in did not allow us to adjust the A/C. Although the staff at check in said that we were able to adjust it, we were unable to.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced while staying with us. The guests may adjust the temperature of the A/C so again our apologies that you were unable to. Thank you for choosing us Diana Q4-Guest Relations

80%

It was a decent stay for a one night stay. The staff gave me a bunk bed of my choice and that was very thoughful of them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

91%

I had a good staying there

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

57%

I felt that the atmosphere of this hostel was very dark. The pictures posted online are similar, however, there is no real light that come in. The rooms are small. We traveled in June and our room air conditioning was turned all the way up. We had no control in turning it down or off. Other hostels I've stayed at in the past have been more inclusive, with activities for their guests. This hostel did not have any organized events.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your comments and will take them all into account. The A/C could've been controlled from the room our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

20%

Charged me for nights I didn't even book and refused to refund me so I lost 50 quid! Expensive for what it is, tight cramped and noisy didn't get any sleep. No locks on lickers and abou a 30 minute journey on the train to get anywhere. The blankets were dirty too.


91%

We only stayed one night passing through but everything was great. Proximity to Tines square for the price and facilities were awesome. Full kitchen, big hang out room. The rooms were a little noisey but almost expected in NYC. Good air-con

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. We are looking into lessening the noise level due to the trains. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

100%

I really enjoy the laid backed, friendly environment and clean space provided. The house keeping are really polite in the mornings, the rooms are always clean and tidy, the beds are the comfiest I've slept on at a hostel and the rooms are kept at a comfortable temperature regardless of the weather outside. The hostel is right by the train, it's not even a two minute walk down the street, and the area is mainly a business sector. Which is both convenient and provides for a quieter environment.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

97%

SUPER CLEAN! It was great. So here are the drawbacks, which aren't many. No control in the room over air conditioning. No elevator. No food in room, but that's why there are no bugs. Location is great but right next to LOUD subway trains and construction. And there is no parking for miles. If you're checking in or out and trying to load into a car, this is impossible.

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 41+

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. The a/c can be controlled from with access from the front desk. We are also looking into a way to lessen the noise level due to the trains. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future.

86%

The location to the subway was excellent! Not a lot in the area as far as restaurants and groceries are concerned. I would recommend to people!

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your delightful review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. Long Island City is an up and coming area, there is a lot of construction to liven up the neighborhood. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

57%

This hostel is really unfriendly, hardly anyone talks to each other. Also the having the air con directly on your bed is not good.

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. I apologize that the vibe was not to your liking. Here at Q4 we aim for a friendly, lively vibe so our apologies if the other guests were unfriendly. We noted your grievances on the A/C and we will look into making some adjustments. Thank you for choosing Q4 Diana Q4 Guest Relations

77%

Earplugs are definitely required, unless you are able to sleep through a brass concert, due to the subway and street noise. Also, the hotel says it controls the AC, but there is a control in the room, so that is a potential conflict among guests. In my room, the AC vent was directly above one of the beds, so the person sleeping there kind of had the ultimate say about it. Otherwise, the hotel facilities are very good and clean, with a good atmosphere.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We value your thoughts and opinions to help make the hostel experience better for guests, we appreciate it so much. We looking for ways to lessen the noise from the subway outside. The a/c panel in the room only allows the guests in the room to turn the a/c either on or off. We hope to accommodate you in the future to accommodating you in the future. Kindly, Lexi Q4 Staff

80%

Great hostel. Was a bit dark in the room at the corner but bathroom was great size and beds were comfortable.


97%

A very clean hostel with great staff in a convenient location. Located next to the train tracks so bring earplugs.


77%

i would come back.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I couldn't breathe in the washroom. (Fan was not working). Outlet plugs were not enough. Not only they were broken down but I also had to climb down from my bed to use them.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(125 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback