X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Q4 Hotel Reviews

2909 Queens Plaza North, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2488 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Great value for your money. Very close to the subway, which was great.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your delightful review. We appreciate you staying with us. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

74%

Clean Hostel, subway across the street. Kitchen & Lounge is big although there is only one stove, no freezer, a free food shelf would be nice :) Beds are comfy. Overall great value for money considering that it takes you 10-15mins to get into Manhattan. I'd stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank for you for your feedback. We do have a shelf for free food in the kitchen and we will look into getting a freezer. Thank you for choosing us! Diana Q4 Guest Relations

91%

Nice hostel, not too expensive for New York, a bit inconvenient due to being in queens but still right outside the subway so that's cool. Kitchen and common area are nice and well equipped, rooms are a bit loud because of the train, but overall good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We apologize for the noise from the trains. We are actively looking for ways to possible lessen the noise. Thank you for choosing us! Diana Q4 Guest Relations

100%

It'd be perfect if Q4 provides water dispensers. Anyway it's a nice place to stay!


71%

I had a very pleasant stay here. Everything is great! The location is safe and closed to the subway station. And it is only a short train right straight to downtown Manhattan. The noise from the subway trains is really not that loud. Even though the staff is not the most friendly group I have met, but they are very nice and helpful. Beds can be a little noisy, but not a big deal. The whole place is clean and well taken care of. Overall, it is a good place to stay for the price I paid.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are aware of the noise from the trains and we are actively looking into ways to possibly lessen the noise. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to serving you again. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

57%

Receptionist was very friendly. She gave mw all required information. But, at night n I came back, someone else had occupied my bed. This was totally disturbing and unsafe. This could have been managed better.

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We apologize for any uneasiness you felt while staying with us. We do encounter situations where guests occupy the wrong beds. We are actively looking for ways to improve these mishaps. We are honored that you chose to stay with us & we would love to serve you again. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

74%

Not a bad place to stay but the atmosphere was overly antisocial for a hostel. The wifi was horrendously slow and their computer was broken for my entire stay. Could not find a can opener in the kitchen. Staff didn't know where the AC thermostat was in the room and told us it was centrally controlled. Had many nights with an extremely hot room before they found the thermostat hidden behind a locker in our room. The place has so much potential with a great building

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, We apologize if the vibe was not up to your standards. We will actively look into ways to liven up the feel of our property. The AC units can be controlled by the front desk & also by the guests. I apologize if we failed to address your issue more promptly. The computers & wi-fi are serviced by an outside vendor & we apologize for any inconvenience this caused. We are in the process of correcting these issues. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana-Q4 Guest Relations

80%

There should be a power point / outlet for each bed. Apparently for my room 310, all but 3 of the beds do not have direct access to the power point. The Wifi is also pretty unstable - but that is fine.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Vakued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of correcting this issue. We are also looking into better Wi-fi. We apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you for staying with us. Diana Q4 Guest Relations

94%

Great hostel - clean and modern with helpful staff. The basement area was great to eat and chill out in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your delightful review! We strive for excellent customer service and we are pleased to hear that is what you received. We're thrilled you enjoyed our property and we look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Q4 Guest Relations

69%

You get what you pay for here, and they charge you $5 to store your bags! Keep an eye on all the extra taxes that come after you book on hostelworld


86%

I just missed the Breakfast and some TV's to watch.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Unfortunately, we dot have the capabilities to offer breakfast but we do have a fully equipped kitchen on our lower level. We do have TV's in our 2nd floor lounge and on the lower level as well. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Guest Relations Manager

100%

Tooo Good. Right Next to Subway Line E & Line 7. Very approachable. Staff is really friendly & Helpful. Very Clean facility. Kitchen is also very nice and fully equipped.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are please to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was an honor to have you. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Guest Relations

69%

The subway passes right by the hostel; the rooms are not well isolated and its really difficult to get some sleep, even with earplugs. The staff is not very friendly and smiley and seem to be tired of giving any help. The toilet in the room has a very tiny sink that throws all the water out. We had to ask for hand soap and paper. Is conveniently located close to the subway, that takes you to Manhattan in 15', and you have groceries all around, so I guess its ok for the quality-price...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest,Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Q4 is adjacent to most major subway lines making access into Manhattan very simple. We apologize for the noise and we are actively looking for ways to possibly lessen the noise. Also, let me apologize for the lack of attention and unfriendliness of the staff. We strive for excellent customer service & we apologize that's not what you received. We appreciate you staying with us & please consider staying with us again. Diana-Q4

86%

Close to subway stations. Great facilities. The high pitch noise from the subways was very irritating on the first night because the window was not closed. No problem sleeping after the window was closed.


91%

Hostel was very clean and the employees were friendly. Great customer service.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your delightful review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Q4 and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Diana Guest Relations Manager

74%

I would like to have a breakfast.... or a machine to buy some food.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Unfortunately, our location does not have the capability to offer breakfast. We have noted your suggestions to have a vending machine. We appreciate you choosing us and we hope to serve you again. Diana Guest Relations

77%

The location is really good, a few minutes of Manhattan. But, maybe it could be good to isolate the windows (room in the front of the subway).

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate your review. We have noted your suggestions about the windows and we are actively looking for ways to lessen the noise. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Q4 Guest Relations Manager

71%

The best of this place is the location, just one block away from the queens plaza subway stop and three or four stops to fifth avenue. The rooms are clean. However the staff is not to helpful and it could be extremely noisy as they're renovating another hotel nearby and, as I said, the subway runs just a few feet from the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear valued guest, We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Our sincerest apologies if the staff did not address your needs effectively. We are undergoing a retraining process of all front desk agents. Being that Q4 is adjacent to most major train lines we are aware it can be a bit noisy. We are actively looking for ways to possible lessen the noise. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana-Guest Relations

86%

some beds in the middle of the room don't have plugs near them, it's very unconvenient!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We are making some adjustments to the plugs in the rooms. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you for choosing Q4! Diana Q4 Guest Relations

51%

I can not recommend this Hostel - very unpleasant staff and customer service - you have to pay for storing luggage (even in check-out day), wait for check in (we had to wait till 4 PM), noisy train around hostel, lamps did not work, noisy and unwilling staff etc...nothing special.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Valued Guest, Let me begin by apologizing for my staffs' lack of attention and customer service. We strive for the best customer experience and we apologize that this is not what you received. We attempt for early check-in but 4pm is the standard check-in for most hotels. Luggage storage fees are only charged upon departure if the guest does not have a future reservation. I have noted your complaints & will personally assure that they will be taken care of. Thank you for choosing Q4!

(128 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback