Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Quetzalroo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 426 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 426 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Jun 2017
10.0

Marcos and Maria are very welcoming and help with any reservations needed. They organize bike tours around the city and I would highly recommend it! So much fun and it was a great way to explore the city! Breakfast is included and wicked delicious - I especially love the different jams they make! I can't wait to visit again and stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jaapdinkelman2166
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.7

Really enjoyed my stay here! The setup of the hostel invites all to sit and join each other in the living room. The staff is really friendly and the bike tour definitely gets my recommendation! Will visit again when I fly out of Guatemala!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
10.0

BEST EXPERIENCE IN GUATEMALA CITY. The owner, Marcus, knows exactly what's going on- he'll bring you to the new and upcoming areas, show you the sad history as well as th amazing future that this country has. His bike ride tour really made the trip, and tons of cultural context to boot! His brother brews artesianal beers which can be enjoyed on the rooftop with a picturesque view of the city (Zona Viva)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
10.0

We had a great time at this hostel. We met amazing people who know a lot about the culture and are truly passionate about it. Thebike tour offered for only 120Q (10us) is a must!!!!! You will discover nice little places in this big city. You will also taste amazing coffee and food, we learned so much.... and had a lot of fun with the guide and the other travellers. Thanks for everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
10.0

I stayed at Quetzalroo when I had to overnight in Guatemala City for a flight. I'd highly recommend, close to airport and free shuttle. Atmosphere was great thanks to Marcos getting everyone involved and taking us for a late afternoon bike through the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th May 2017
9.4

Very clean, quiet and close to the airport. My girlfriend and I stayed here twice and would stay again if ever in Guatemala City

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
9.4

Quetzelroo was my last stop in Guatemala before returning to Canada. I arrived late (after 11 pm) after being stuck in a broken down bus for over half the day. The staff got me settled right away and were very sweet, and accommodating. The next day I was taken around the city on a bike tour by the hostel, my host was the very knowledgeable and attractive hostel owner Marcos. The tour itself was enough for me to give the hostel a 10 out of 10, it was the highlight of my stay in Guatemala city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd May 2017
10.0

Brilliant hostel! Just stayed one night but will stay again on my way back! Close to the airport and the owner will organise an uber for you from the airport. Marcus the owner also took me to a local bar at night and I met his friends and it was a really fun experience to see the real Guatemala (and realise it's not so scary or dangerous). Couldn't recommend this hostel more highly!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th May 2017
7.1

A nice enough hostel which is clean and has comfortable beds. A little expensive for what is, the surrounding neighbourhood reflects this. Not sure its the best location for visiting sites around the city but is close to the airport which is what I needed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marcusnoble
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
10.0

Fantastic place to stay, stayed for 5 nights. Based in a great area, just a few minutes walk from the mall and various restaurants. Maria, Marcos and Veronica were all lovely and so helpful - from bookings cabs, to giving info on the best sights to see, eat or go out in the night. The shared bathrooms were always kept clean and tidy and they even have a cute fluffy dog called Peanut who lazed around near the reception every now and then :) 🐶 Would recommend to anyone of all ages!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.