X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Quetzalroo Reviews

6ta Avenida 7-84, Zona 10, Guatemala City, Guatemala

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
243 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Marco was great in walking to a great Italian restaurant a quarter mile away


91%

Get to know Marcos and you'll be sure to have a good time. He's passionate about the hostel it's guests and Guatemala. Do the bike tour and Marcos will fill you with a wealth of knowledge about the history of the fine nation that is Guatemala.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Guatemala City is definitely worth a stay for some days despite what everybody tells you. Despite that the hostel is really good (clean, quiet, lovely staff, great food), Marcos, the owner, took us on a 6 hour bicycle ride across the town and explained the recent history of Guatemala. The next day he took us to an art exhibition, introduced us to his friends and took us to a great party. They make your time special and help you wherever possible. 10 out of 10 points! Thank you very much!


100%

Wonderful! Absolutely best staff of any hostel in Guatemala - so welcoming and helpful. Very clean as well. Would recommend to anyone and absolutely stay again!

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

We had a private room, nothing fancy, but clean + all that was needed for a good night's sleep. Great place to stay for catching their shuttle in the morning to GUA airport for our flight. Very nice, helpful people there.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great staff and friendly environment. Overall an excellent hostel thanks Marco!

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Quetzalroo has a Great Vibe.


86%

Fantastic friendly staff and great location. I just needed a place to crash for the night after travelling for 3 days straight to get to Guatemala. Close to the airport and 10 minute walk to a huge mall and other amenities. The staff was very welcoming and helpful and it has a great communal vibe though I chose a private room which was warm and comfortable. My only comment really is it is a bit more expensive than most by Central America standards. Peanut the dog is gorgeous.


97%

I wish I would have had more than one night there. The staff is amazing and it's definitly one of the coolest places I ever stayed at. I can't wait to get back and spend some more time there. Quetzalroo is a really great hostel.


100%

I loved staying here! The staff were very friendly and helpful. If you want a very cool experience, stay long enough for Marcus to take you on a bicycle tour of Guatemala City!!! It was awesome! He is also a wealth of knowledge with places to stay in other parts of the country. The breakfast was also fantastic! Top notch hostel that I highly recommend if you are passing through, or even staying a few days, in Guatemala City!!

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff were very friendly and helpful!


83%

The Hostel is nice. Marcos did a great job by explaning Guatemala and it's hot spots. I highly recommend the City Tour by Bike. It's fun and you see and do things one usually would miss.


83%

The owner of the Hostel has his own Idea of Introducing Guatemala. If you are arriving the first time at Guatemala, stay here. He gets you all the Information you need and explains you a huge of different possibilties to visit and see. For Busdrop, call them before entering the Bus, if they can catch you up. Be aware they dont do it at Rush-hour times. Overall it was a wonderful stay... Thnks

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

ok, clean. H idden away so people dont really know there are foreign visiters in the neighbourhood.he loce location)( it IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO WRITE IN HERE


100%

The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful in coordinating everything from shuttles, to cross point referencing b/w different touristic options in and around Guatemala City. The atmosphere in the hostel was very lively! The owner was kind enough to take a few of us staying at Quetzalroo around the city and some delicious local restaurants. I travel back and forth between the US and Guatemala, and will definitely be staying here again! Highly recommend to everyone.

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

I had a horrible experience at this hostel. It was completely overpriced for what it was. 'Free breakfast' was toast and un fresh fruit. The English speaking staff was rude, money grubbing and totally unhelpful. I have never done a rating but it seemed necessary after this experience. DO NOT WASTE YOUR $ HERE.

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Guatemala City Hostels

Please give us your feedback