Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Quetzalroo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 448 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Aug 2017
7.4

Quetzalroo offers a convenient airport/bus shuttle during the day--just remember to tip the driver.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • admiraljibbs3350
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
8.9

Great Hotel. One of the owners Marcos was very nice and accommodating. Staff are friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jul 2017
10.0

We had such an amazing experience at Quetzalroo at the beginning of our trip that we decided to return at the end of our trip. Maria is a sweetheart and Marcos went above and beyond what is expected of a hostel owner. Marcos gave us an amazing bike tour of city. He is very passionate and knowledgeable about the history of Guatemala. Marcos also took us out to several bars and clubs, where we had an amazing time. If you are in Guatemala City, you must stay at Quetzalroo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jul 2017
9.4

The staff is very helpful and very kind. The places was very clean, the location in a great area, a lot of restaurant around. They only have wifi in the lobby, so that its no helping to be sociable with the rest of the guest, you need to make an effort. Other than that, I totally recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jul 2017
10.0

Close to the airport. Greatly located in Zona 10. The free ride to the airport is really appreciated.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2017
10.0

Had a great stay at Quetzalroo. Marcos was friendly and inviting. I went on his bike tour the next day and had a great time. It lasted almost the full day and was thorough, entertaining, and he proved to be knowledgable and really likes what he does. We sampled some local food, saw the sights, visited two museums which he guided us through, and had an awesome time. I will definitely stay at Quetzalroo next time I pass through. The hostel was clean, quiet, had breakfast and dinner available

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2017
9.1

If you want a clean, comfortable, inexpensive, chill, and close location to the airport....this is it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
5.7

I waited 50min to checkin eventhough it was 4PM. I got the top bunk bed but there was no ladder to get up to the bed. Everything is pretty old and moldy. Of course no hot water shower... no nice restaurants around the corner. The shuttle from the hostel to the airport was alright- the guy sleeps on the couch and was in a pretty bad mood.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear customer thanks for taking your time to leave us a review. Unfortunately you didn't took the time to try any of our services that upgrades your further travel experience through Guatemala. On Low season we have this type of difficult travelers complains based on self interest and ignorance about our place.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
5.1

The rooms we had smelled stale and foul. The bed was uncomfortable with springs poking us all over. The bedsheets were mildewed and smelled awful. The rooms were not clean. The bathroom was disgustingly dirty and mildewed. There was loud music playing well into the night and so sleep was not to be had. Although we were forced to pay for two nights upfront we did not return for our second night's stay. I do not recommend this hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jun 2017
9.7

Maria and Marcos go out of their way to halp you to enjoy your stay, whether that be with biking tours from the hostel or impromptu bar craw to some of his favourite places in the city. Cosy hostel, homely feel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.