Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Quetzalroo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 410 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 410 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Even though we just stayed for two nights,we enjoyed it so much! The staff is really friendly and so helpful. They make a stay in guatemalacity worth it,try out the bicycletour and you will see you will love the city as much as we did!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
9.4

A great place for quiet and relaxation. I highly recommend taking the bicycle tour, it provided a local perspective of Guatemala city and the country's history. Allan was an excellent tour guide and took me to some of his favourite spots. The staff were friendly and helpful. They also serve a local craft beer of which I tried two types, both delicious! I would gladly return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
8.0

The hostel was nice, clean, and safe. The staff is not extremely pleasant, they have their affiliates and will not offer any other advice outside of their partners. May have preconceptions of Americans.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
7.4

A decent hostel and I would stay again. Security is fine; true lockers could be yanked open, but they're a deterrent. Plugs inside too for the super secure-minded. Location is in a safer area and in walking distance to food and drinks even at night. I didn't meet Marco really, but the other host, a woman, asked a bit too many questions... Good atmosphere from the guess. Relatively clean (floors a bit dirty). Price seems a little high in comparison to other hostels in the area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
9.1

The hostel is nice and clean. The location is a bit outside the tourist area in the city but in a very nice area. They provide a shuttle to/from the airport and have a good breakfast in the mornings. Most of the staff is great but during checkin the lady did not speak much English and did not understand that hostel world takes a deposit from the charged room rate. I could not explain to her about this deposit in English, thankfully a guest who spoke Spanish was able to help out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
10.0

Thank you Marcos, Maria + everyone else! One of my best stays ever. Thanks for taking us out and for all the awesome recommendations! Everyone is so friendly, and I honestly had an awesome time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
9.4

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in!The owner Marcos himself picked me up from the airport and welcomed me super friendly.He works 24/7 to assure your stay is as comfortable as possible.They assist you with your further travel plans and anything you need.If you wanna learn more about the history of Guate and get to know the capital within a day Marcos' diversified bike tour is a Must-do! He'll show you the best food in town as well will he party with you by night.Good breakfast included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2017
9.4

Marcos is such a nice guy! If you want to get the real history on Guatemala, this is the place to be. He can provide you with great information for a traditional Mayan cuisine and is a great source of the Guatemalan history. I'd stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
10.0

Big fan of Quetzalroo. Great location in the city and the staff was super nice. Absolutely would go back and stay there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Vhanko
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
8.9

I have stayed here many days now, and I love all the people who work here as well as the atmosphere. Marcos is all about local education, and Maria is a sweet house mom :-D I feel safe in this neighborhood, though the surrounding businesses are more pricey than other parts of the city. It's a great location for a base of exploration of the city, but in a classy business district near bus lines. Will continue to stay here for many visits to come!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.