Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

RK/Buckner hostel Reviews

765 10th Avenue, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained


99 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 63%Staff
  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 53%Cleanliness
  • 51%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Unfortunatley there is no smoking inside and the clients sit outside on the steps, which if one has a window directly above and is highly senstive one might get a cold or suffer allergies. It is a great location near the trolley and several grocery stores. It has a roof top deck and a tv room, but the old historic building is a bit cramped for sitting unless one stays inside the room when one is there which are spacious enough.

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


Have travelled around South America for 7 months and the US for 3 weeks and this is the worst place I've ever stayed. Incompetent and unhelpful staff who almost cost us getting our car towed by giving us incorrect parking info. Also, filthy dirty and smelly. The only positive thing about this hostel is the location which is near the gas lamp district.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologize for the misunderstanding over parking and glad you asked for clarification, which we provided. It is fortunate our staff was also able to prevent your car from getting towed. Our guests' are of course of the utmost importance to us, and we are working very hard to provide an enjoyable and clean environment. Please let us now how else we can improve, and thank you for your review.


Room had no air con so it was impossible to sleep in the heat at night. Staff were nice but didn't have a clue about the hostels policies or things to do in the area. Our room was left open by a cleaner all day after we had locked it so there are some securty issues. 'Continental breakfast' was a bag of dry pancake mix left out. We found 2 cockroaches in our room (no. 29). Have stayed in hostels a fraction of the price that have been heaps better. Would not recomend.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our new staff may have trouble providing a lot of information about the city, but be sure to ask around. We also have many fliers posted on the board and walls concerning activities in San Diego. We are happy to help! Please let our staff know how to make your stay as fun and comfortable as possible. Thank you for your review.


Very good location and some staff knew what they were doing, but needs to be cleaned more often and is probably too expensive for what it is.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Our prices are the lowest in San Diego!


Have a lot of mixed feelings about this place. I had a great time here (ended up staying 1,5 week), met so many cool people and the atmosphere is really relaxed and friendly. There is a lot of things they can improve though. 1. Get lockers to the rooms! 2. Clean better, during my 1,5 week they didn´t clean my room once 3, Only one of the guys in th reception was actually nice and seemed to care about the job. 4. The showers was pretty bad with the pressure I would stay here again though


I walked in and walked straight out. Looks nothing like the pictures

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The bathrooms lack ventilation, having only one toilet it's very stressing. The carpet on the room was damp.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Noisy, dirty


Me and my friends stayed in a 4bedroom and its was aweful. The room smelt really badly. We werent sure what it was exactly. The bathroom was durty aswell. We had a room heading to the street and we heard every single person walking, talking and shouting from the walkingpath. We just stayed for 1 night. The guy who checked us in was okey, he helped us with our luggage. If you dont have to, dont stay at this hostel. Only the location (3 minutes walk away from the center) was great.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


First time! Awesome!


Not for the squeamish. Bad odor upon entering. Complicated locking system. No staff at night. Noisy at night. I could go on. Nice old building. Some staff more friendly. If you need downtown it works.


Not that much. Grey, without a soul. And horrible beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We wish could have seen you at the guest-initiated rooftop party that occurred the evening of your stay, but you were not around. We are in the process of replacing our mattresses. We hope to see you again!


The hostel is really nice, it´s a big and well taken care of building. Staff is greatly helpful with everything you need. Mattresses could be a lot more comfortable, kitchen could be cleaner and there could be a place for everyone to hang out and meet new people besides the tv room....


My bed was not ready at night. Breakfast was good. Hostel in a good location. No lockers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We were very busy the date of your check in, but your bed was made immediately upon your arrival. You were also informed that it was not made yet. We appreciate your kind words.

View all San Diego Hostels

Please give us your feedback